Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

To get a diesel tank or not.

• 13-08-2014 7:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭

Never bothered with a tank before as I always used jerry cans for diesel and never used a large volume of diesel.

So far this year I have used 1000lts. As i never used this much before I'm in the range of getting a large diesel tank.

Would I be better off getting a single large tank or keep using cans.

What would be the advantages of the larger tank or what would be peoples opinions

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭Roundbale

Assumed if a farmer had a tractor he'd have a tank, if just for convenience. How far do you travel for the diesel if you're buying it by the Jerry can, down to the petrol station I presume?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭visatorro

Reggie. wrote: »
    Never bothered with a tank before as I always used jerry cans for diesel and never used a large volume of diesel.

So far this year I have used 1000lts. As i never used this much before I'm in the range of getting a large diesel tank.

What would be the advantages of the larger tank or what would be peoples opinions

if you can lock it and keep it safe it's handy alright

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

I was told recently too that agri-diesel nowadays, will only last for 6 months before it deteriorates. Worth bearing in mind.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,754 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Only buying 500L at a time here, if it's stolen the most they'll get is 500L There could be a saving of 15cent a litre compared to buying at pumps.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

I don't know if I'd bother for 1000 ltrs . How many ltrs does the tank on the tractor hold ? Would it be as handy to just fill up at the pump when you need it .
    We have a tank at the house here but I won't fill it anymore because lads were tending use it to fill up when they "borrow " one of the tractors :mad:
    €120 goes a long way in the 956 for all I do with it .
    I was thinking about a bowser that I could put a few hundred in and leave out the back of my own house , would be handy for silage time instead of cans aswell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Roundbale wrote: »
    Assumed if a farmer had a tractor he'd have a tank, if just for convenience. How far do you travel for the diesel if you're buying it by the Jerry can, down to the petrol station I presume?

Local tractor dealers. About 6 mile away. Never used over a 1000lts before per year so never bothered with a large tank

moy83 wrote: »
    I don't know if I'd bother for 1000 ltrs . How many ltrs does the tank on the tractor hold ? Would it be as handy to just fill up at the pump when you need it .
    We have a tank at the house here but I won't fill it anymore because lads were tending use it to fill up when they "borrow " one of the tractors :mad:
    €120 goes a long way in the 956 for all I do with it .
    I was thinking about a bowser that I could put a few hundred in and leave out the back of my own house , would be handy for silage time instead of cans aswell

Tractor holds about 100lts. When I'm busy and back in the yard changing implements I usually top it up so it's rarely even half full. It can be a job with the cans do trying not to spill diesel all over the bonnet. The 398 fill at the front not under neath the cab.

blue5000 wrote: »
    Only buying 500L at a time here, if it's stolen the most they'll get is 500L There could be a saving of 15cent a litre compared to buying at pumps.

I'm buying it from the pumps for 92 cent at the minute

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

I'm buying it from the pumps for 92 cent at the minute

Think our local is 99cent the robbing hoor .

Yeah a few thieves out there alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭The Letheram

Anyone price it recently? €0.84 per litre seems to be the best about here for 1000L.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Zr105

If your going to get a tank id certainly recommend putting it in a locked shed with a lock on the tank top and bottom,

Id recommend getting a filter on the tank(id actually consider it a necessity to be honest), especially if only using it at low volumes as there's to much of a possibility for dirt to form in tank. Even if it cost €100 tank filter is a lot cheaper than a heap of tractor filters and possible other damage on top of filters. Using it at low volumes id say only go for 500l at a time,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Reggie, what tractor do you have? If its newish with a common rail diesel injection system, you might be as well sticking to the (clean) 25 litre drums. Modern diesel with the added ethanol or Bio ingredients does not keep well, and can bugger up the component in the newer tractors. If its from the mechanical injector pump era, not so much of an issue.
    Yourfiirst priority would be how well can you lock it into a secure shed?

I know its probably a bit more expensive but would you consider the likes of this;

http://rotech.ie/product/440-ltr-mobile-tank/

You could throw it into trailer and bring to get filled then lift out into corner of shed, just hook leads to battery then and pump it in, has the advantage that if working away from home you can throw it in trailer behind the jeep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

99c. Must shop around

just do it wrote: »
    99c. Must shop around

For 1000L or at the pumps?

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Reggie, what tractor do you have? If its newish with a common rail diesel injection system, you might be as well sticking to the (clean) 25 litre drums. Modern diesel with the added ethanol or Bio ingredients does not keep well, and can bugger up the component in the newer tractors. If its from the mechanical injector pump era, not so much of an issue.
    Yourfiirst priority would be how well can you lock it into a secure shed?

Massey 398

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

For 1000L or at the pumps?
    At pump

At 10-15c/l difference you wouldn't be long paying for a tank if you were using any amount at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭larrymiller

Jesus I'd nearly want a lorry in the spring between all the tilling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭jimmy2pens

Whats my local lad so, a F...... charging 1.05

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,471 ✭✭✭sandydan

how far are you from local depot , some will fill tank for you there at 85c/litre just ring and make sure you are there at opening time or whatever, just tell them you are afraid of borrowers.
    the 398 should take 120 litre without being empty .or get clean plastic barrel wash out with a few litres of dsl , some have plug holes in bung ,screw tap suitable for hose in there and fill, avoid those that have been at sea they crack easily. local depots here in west cork obliges even for 25lt drums, id put soltron into tank it sorts out diesel problems if getting tank full. they deliver 500lt no problem when passing nearby'
    defo put tank in shed and preferably get bunded tank. plenty tanks available S/H
    id check with insurance if putting in farm-shed just to cover your ass in case of fire , i did with fbd and no problem.id avoid those narrow rectangular 1000lt tanks if putting outside as wind knocks them easily

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭eric prydz

Id be inclined to go for a tank because no matter how clean you think you have 5 gallon drums you inevitably end up with dirt getting in the tank .
    Make sure that you put the tank high enough to allow it to fill fast or put a pump on it along with some water and sediment filters and you wont know yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Usually drive to the pump and fill directly. Last time I filled up was with a crowd don't usually go to. Just checked receipt. .. €1.029.

I'd also add though that price/L shouldn't always be the only criteria used. I was buying cheap petrol for a while from a supplier here and car would start cutting out at times, especially if accelerating out of a junction. Thought twas something wrong with car. Changed supplier and now not a bother. Water don't combust well apparently.

sandydan wrote: »
    how far are you from local depot , some will fill tank for you there at 85c/litre just ring and make sure you are there at opening time or whatever, just tell them you are afraid of borrowers.
    the 398 should take 120 litre without being empty .or get clean plastic barrel wash out with a few litres of dsl , some have plug holes in bung ,screw tap suitable for hose in there and fill, avoid those that have been at sea they crack easily. local depots here in west cork obliges even for 25lt drums, id put soltron into tank it sorts out diesel problems if getting tank full. they deliver 500lt no problem when passing nearby'
    defo put tank in shed and preferably get bunded tank. plenty tanks available S/H
    id check with insurance if putting in farm-shed just to cover your ass in case of fire , i did with fbd and no problem.id avoid those narrow rectangular 1000lt tanks if putting outside as wind knocks them easily

A mate of mine uses an ibc tank. I have a shed that I could put it in and let the hose out the door when needed and no evidence from the outside

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭johndeere3350

I'd get a 1000 litre tank if I was you put it up at a good height so you have a good gravity flow. Last fill I got was 86 cent a litre.
    We would typically go through a 2000 a week on the busy weeks 3 tractors.
    But if your not using that much I'd buy a thing called fuel set.
    It stops the diesel from turning to jelly and stops it freezing in the winter 250ml does 1000litres
    Last time I got it was around 25 a bottle.
    Most marine boat places do it I tink

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭ellewood

At 10-15c/l difference you wouldn't be long paying for a tank if you were using any amount at all.

Well my local friendly Glanbia charge around the E1.10/L
    So if it can be got for 0.86/L that's a big difference
    Its the convience tho of having a tank its a balls going off getting drums of diesel and filling with a funnel twould be handy to just pull out to tank and fill up when needed.
    I fill up anytime im in cremary with tractor
    Only use maybe 700L/year average

Anyone know what cost a tank, hose, filters nozzle etc would cost new?

Is it worth taking the chance on 2nd hand ones incase they leak or bust?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭johndeere3350

ellewood wrote: »
    Well my local friendly Glanbia charge around the E1.10/L
    So if it can be got for 0.86/L that's a big difference
    Its the convience tho of having a tank its a balls going off getting drums of diesel and filling with a funnel twould be handy to just pull out to tank and fill up when needed.
    I fill up anytime im in cremary with tractor
    Only use maybe 700L/year average

Anyone know what cost a tank, hose, filters nozzle etc would cost new?

Is it worth taking the chance on 2nd hand ones incase they leak or bust?

There not dear only a couple of 100 the filters would be a few pound alright another 100 or so.
    I'm 99% sure you will have to pump the fuel through them filters tho as gravity won't be enough.
    A pump would be up on 300 although I got one off eBay for 100.
    The thing is the cheap clumps say pumping when you take your hand off the trigger the dear ones don't so will last longer.
    Tbh with you I don't even use a filter on the main tank I just put a Smal gauze type inline one on the fuel line of the tractors.
    There only a few euros in the local factors and you can see into them so we just trow in a new one if we ever see a bit of dirt in them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

86c for 500 lts last Monday

Geez it's amazing the price some of ye are charged for diesel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

I was in the same boat and security was my no1 issue. Diesel in 500litre v 5 gallon drum us working out 15/18c a litre cheaper . I still have to take the plunge to fill the tank

So recently i cleared a corner of a lockable shed and build 1 bay of scaffold and sourced 5 steel scaffold boards and put the tank on it.

1 bay of scaffold - €30
    5 steell board - €15
    1 tank - Free
    1 x new 3mtr fill pipe - €25
    1 x fuel level guage - €17
    1 inch fittings/ on/off valve - €60

total €147

divide by 0.15c litre is 980litres. . Thats not factoring in time and expense to go to the local garage to get MGO or the chocolate i would buy

I was in the same boat and security was my no1 issue. Diesel in 500litre v 5 gallon drum us working out 15/18c a litre cheaper . I still have to take the plunge to fill the tank

So recently i cleared a corner of a lockable shed and build 1 bay of scaffold and sourced 5 steel scaffold boards and put the tank on it.

1 bay of scaffold - €30
    5 steell board - €15
    1 tank - Free
    1 x new 3mtr fill pipe - €25
    1 x fuel level guage - €17
    1 inch fittings/ on/off valve - €60

total €147

divide by 0.15c litre is 980litres. . Thats not factoring in time and expense to go to the local garage to get MGO or the chocolate i would buy

The beaut of my mates ibc tank is that he can see the level of diesel in it and he marks it every so often aswell

the fuel level guage is the same. turn it on it reads the same level as the tank. :P. then turn it off.

Must come and "inspect" this setup. Could you have it full before I have a look :rolleyes: ahem

ye sure spin over in the tractor :rolleyes:

I'll bring drums your sound :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭micraX

In one yard, where common rail tractors are usually parked up and fuled we have a steel tank with a filter and electric pump, about 1000l then we have a plastic one gravity fed into that in the spring.it's inside the locked shed. In the other yard we have 2 1000l tanks outside in a bunk. Sometimes in the spring we get the lorry to fill the tractors onsite or in the field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

We've a tank, simple job gravity fed no filters etc. but we found it was hard starting the tractor on the new diesel if it was in the tank for a while so we're back on the drums. but its good to have the tank if the duty is gonna change you can order in some before the price rises

ganmo wrote: »
    We've a tank, simple job gravity fed no filters etc. but we found it was hard starting the tractor on the new diesel if it was in the tank for a while so we're back on the drums. but its good to have the tank if the duty is gonna change you can order in some before the price rises

that's why i used soltron, used to pull damn thing to start ,but someone said if possible get black tank ,green deteriorate in sunlight with dsl or parrafin in them why green deteriorates and not black i dont know steel would be better than all imo only for condensation problems if not full most of time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭trixi2011

AFAIK diesel in IBC tanks can react to light and cause dsl to spoil

trixi2011 wrote: »

Only learned that earlier today.....cheers

trixi2011 wrote: »

maybe it reacts to light in green tanks as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Just paint the tank black. Steel tanks prone to condensation, leading to rusting (oil floats on water, so rusts at the bottom) Galvanised tanks are a big no-no for diesel. Reacts in some way, I believe.

There not dear only a couple of 100 the filters would be a few pound alright another 100 or so.
    I'm 99% sure you will have to pump the fuel through them filters tho as gravity won't be enough.
    A pump would be up on 300 although I got one off eBay for 100.
    The thing is the cheap clumps say pumping when you take your hand off the trigger the dear ones don't so will last longer.
    Tbh with you I don't even use a filter on the main tank I just put a Smal gauze type inline one on the fuel line of the tractors.
    There only a few euros in the local factors and you can see into them so we just trow in a new one if we ever see a bit of dirt in them.

You can get filters for gravity flow. They are normally cheaper than ones that can keep up with pump flow(filters generally between tank and pump)

Also i have something in my head that I've read before that ibc's and diesel dont mix but see thats been said already now

Cheers for all replies so far folks

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭pajero12

Also worth bearing in mind especially as were getting on in the year for those who wouldn't be going through a major amount of diesel, 'Summer Diesel' wouldn't have anti freeze in it so when harsh cold comes the whole tankful could be spoiled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭49801

Tempted to pick up a fuel tank off of a truck that is not as big as standard tanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭dzer2

Have 1500ltr tank in locked shed with pipe and filter also have filter on nozzle. Diesel unlikely to freeze in shed in harsh conditions. Local man puts 500 ltrs in at a time when needed paid 72 +vat last time.
    Diesel and petrol allows a fungus to grow and if you are not using implements for a while you should drain carberators and tanks before hibernation.

49801 wrote: »
    Tempted to pick up a fuel tank off of a truck that is not as big as standard tanks
    know a few that did that to make sprayer, used as portable fuel tank as well.

dzer2 wrote: »
    Have 1500ltr tank in locked shed with pipe and filter also have filter on nozzle. Diesel unlikely to freeze in shed in harsh conditions. Local man puts 500 ltrs in at a time when needed paid 72 +vat last time.
    Diesel and petrol allows a fungus to grow and if you are not using implements for a while you should drain carberators and tanks before hibernation.
    soltron will stop that, i found out the hard way when injector pump in 390 actually started to leak through the casing, the block at rear was chewed like woody woodpecker attacked it, took it to commercial repair man in Bantry, so got pump off digger and new block for rear, injectors were banjaked as well , he saw it regularly in trawlers before in any tractors, water encourages the growth, he recons it is now not as bad as depots had to clean out storage tanks everywhere to combat problem.soltron was what he recommended(on its own only) and he does not sell it, he recons about an eggcup of water encourages growth of that fungus in both steel and plastic tanks alike.
    soltron is not a cheap remedy but im using it since repairs cost me approximately €300. its sold almost everywhere.
    he also told me that in summer Bio product is added to dsl in accordance with EU rules, however in winter its prone to freeze and stay in tank, in so doing if only summer dsl is added the Bio % is increased if topped up using summer dsl only and this in turn effects engine performance in winter months , but that varies according to supplier, i think he said that added bio diesel is banned or % reduced in US, but not sure