Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Financial stress..and fecking taxes

• 13-08-2014 9:08am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,381 ✭✭✭

So August is here, kids school stuff needs to be bought, I can afford this.
    The car needs new tyres, I can afford this.

But the fecking car tax is also up and the TV license man wants his cut too.....I cannot pay these too.
    I really do worry about this water tax, I think this one will break me.

Its only a matter of time before people start to put off getting safety concerns like tyres done...taxes in this country will kill someone.

Rant over... :-(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Ditch the car.
    Nobody needs a television.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

snubbleste wrote: »
    Ditch the car.
    Nobody needs a television.

He probably needs the car to get around though - especially if he's outside Dublin

The TV license will soon be replaced with their Broadcasting Tax anyway so you'll also need to get rid of the smartphone, tablet, laptop or anything else capable of picking up RTE's crap

OP is right though.. it's getting beyond a joke at this stage and corners are definitely being cut by a lot of people I'd say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Pay for the vital things first.

A TV licence isn't vital.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,381 ✭✭✭Doom

Vital things will get done...fecking taxes will be getting shelved for now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

You will get month out of having no car tax and you can give the TV license man the run around for a long time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,036 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Doom wrote: »
    So August is here, kids school stuff needs to be bought, I can afford this.
    The car needs new tyres, I can afford this.

But the fecking car tax is also up and the TV license man wants his cut too.....I cannot pay these too.
    I really do worry about this water tax, I think this one will break me.

Its only a matter of time before people start to put off getting safety concerns like tyres done...taxes in this country will kill someone.

Rant over... :-(

Welcome to 21st Century Ireland and it isn't going to get better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,088 ✭✭✭OU812

switch the TV licence to monthly - €13.33 per month with no additional cost for splitting the payment.

I also switched the car tax to half yearly & started paying the next amount required into a specific account so that it's there when they come looking for it.

I know no one want to here it be we are not a highly taxed nation we are average I feel sorry for you, I found it was having children that took all my money especially school and college.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭R P McMurphy

mariaalice wrote: »
    I know no one want to here it be we are not a highly taxed nation we are average I feel sorry for you, I found it was having children that took all my money especially school and college.

We may be pay average taxes but are subject to excessive indirect taxation and high costs of service provision. We really need to start to see some value for money

Yip...indirect taxes is a killer, paying tax after tax is already deducted from wages.
    I honestly think if I never worked and decided to by a lay-about on the dole in a council estate I'd have more money in my pocket.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Why does nobody ever do anything about the ridiculous gouging that goes on with kids' books in Irish schools? I've never seen such an odious practice as this crack of changing the course books every year to bleed money out of cash-strapped parents of young children. Yet nobody does anything about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

_Kaiser_ wrote: »

The TV license will soon be replaced with their Broadcasting Tax anyway so you'll also need to get rid of the smartphone, tablet, laptop or anything else capable of picking up RTE's crap.

And getting rid of the house too. That can probably pick up the RTE signal alone. Go live in a cardboard box.

Why does nobody ever do anything about the ridiculous gouging that goes on with kids' books in Irish schools? I've never seen such an odious practice as this crack of changing the course books every year to bleed money out of cash-strapped parents of young children. Yet nobody does anything about it.

The kids school finally have gone with a book rental scheme, hence....this year is affordable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭twistables

Totally agree, time for a revolution to take back this country likethet did 100 yrs ago!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

You could kill or injure yourself or others by not replacing the car's tyres. No-one is likely to die or be maimed if you put the TV licence off for a couple of months.

twistables wrote: »
    Totally agree, time for a revolution to take back this country likethet did 100 yrs ago!!

Only problem is, the evil is money and taxes, somewhat like an unseen enemy......not a foreign country or invading army this time.
    If someone called to the door of your house and asked for more tax, people would fight in the streets to stop this, but when it deducted by electronic means its hard to fight the enemy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

twistables wrote: »

Them days are long gone. Nowadays much of the Irish electorate actually support this stuff (have a read of the threads over in Politics or Irish Economy)

You could kill or injure yourself or others by not replacing the car's tyres. No-one is likely to die or be maimed if you put the TV licence off for a couple of months.

I agree that's why the tyres will get done, believe me there are people out there knowingly driving defective cars because they cannot afford to fix them because of taxes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭sammy37

Unfortunately i have two cars in the family (would rather have one but needs be)and they are a serious drain on my income between motor tax, insurance petrol ,tyres and that bloody nct every year. I am like you op some bills are going to have to be renaged on and it looks like the water charge and tv licence will be the ones to suffer .I just dont have the money for them and i hate owing anyone money but i have to prioritise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Dayum

The TV license is one of the biggest extortion scams we have in this country.

Dayum wrote: »

I agree mostly...but the water tax, something that was free, handed to a private company which will charge us into poverty..scumbags

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

sammy37 wrote: »
    Unfortunately i have two cars

first world problems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,718 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Most schools have book rental schemes now and it's a massive saving. We have two primary school children returning in September and books and copies is under a hundered for both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,718 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Dayum wrote: »

I agree.simce leaving home 20 years ago I've never once paid it.
    The new broadcasting charge will have to be paid though. Still, we've had a good run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

_Brian wrote: »
    Most schools have book rental schemes now and it's a massive saving. We have two primary school children returning in September and books and copies is under a hundered for both.

amazing the way they can do this now

- now that tablet computers are getting good ( and cheap)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 815 ✭✭✭animaal

first world problems

Yes, this is the First World.

If you only want to discuss Third World problems, you'll have to find a different website. Maybe Liberia has its own discussion forum?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭Banjaxed82

first world problems

Hardly first world problems. Myself and my wife both have a car. Unfortunately the logistics of dropping off/collecting kids from various babysitters/grandparents/different school finishing times means one car can be as useless as no car in my situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭varuka

When stuck....Do like many first world citizens do... pay by credit card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Mr.McLovin

OP could go to prison for not paying TV licence and be killed in prison, bet ye didn't think of that! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭chrysagon

And yet the media tells us the rescession is over!!!

when all these property, water and other taxes hit home..going to be even worse!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

He probably needs the car to get around though - especially if he's outside Dublin

The TV license will soon be replaced with their Broadcasting Tax anyway so you'll also need to get rid of the smartphone, tablet, laptop or anything else capable of picking up RTE's crap

OP is right though.. it's getting beyond a joke at this stage and corners are definitely being cut by a lot of people I'd say.

In one of Brian Cowens last interviews before he slipped neath the waves,he made a pointed reference to how Ireland was going to experience a 10% reduction in it's overall Standard of Living.

That "Overall" bit,when translated into everyday reality,really does mean gettin rid of the Car,Telly,Broadband or other currently treasured subscriptions...either that or face bankruptcy..?

I believe that's exactly what's occuring now...the added taxation measures coupled with the maintaining of State Social Support programmes,means that somebody's Standards HAVE to change,and it looks as if the Government has decided that it's preferred option is a reduction in Blue Collar SoL,as this demographic are less likely to cut up rough.

That's the deal,and it looks as if we'll just hafta suck it up...or start Burning Witches.....;)

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,834 ✭✭✭Captain Flaps

Go to the post office and get a direct debit form for your TV License. They'll DD you 13.33 per month, meaning that the TV License will cost you 159.96 instead of 160 AND you get the added bonus of knowing that you're sucking up that little bit more of their admin resources.

Last time i saw Cowan i was jetting out of the airport, and he didnt look like he has lost 10% of his weight from having to cut back!!!

Mr.McLovin wrote: »
    OP could go to prison for not paying TV licence and be killed in prison, bet ye didn't think of that! :mad:

Good point, but if his luck is that bad that he manages to get himself killed during the couple of hours he spends in prison, well, when your time's up, it's up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

In the normal run of things,yes...however in modern Irish terms,it's just as likely that you'll end up in Jail for non-payment of a TV Licence Fine yet be given the probation act for a serious RT Offence..?

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭Red Nissan

Yet nobody does anything about it.

My youngest finished college this year, along with his four other sibblings, he was often sent to school without new books, especially those that cost big money and were on the best sellers list too.

I agree mostly...but the water tax, something that was free, handed to a private company which will charge us into poverty..scumbags

Water was never free.

Tony EH wrote: »
    Water was never free.

i never paid for water..

You've never paid taxes then. ;)

Tony EH wrote: »
    You've never paid taxes then. ;)

stop splitting hairs...:)

i meant directly...per litre...to a company that will nail us over nxt few yrs

You've still paid for water. You'll just be paying twice now.

To a private company, who I'm sure, just like Greyhound, will have our best interests at heart.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Dayum

I've no issues with paying for water per se...

The problem I have is with the system they're implementing. There is no competition in the water market. What they're doing is basically fascist. They're handing off a public body to a private company. They're not opening up the market. So in affect, we'll still receive the same old crappy service, except now we have to pay for it whether we like it or not.

What should be done is allow the market to operate. Dozens of companies should be competing for our cash. I.e - One company will offer normal water, others will provide non-fluoride water and others still will provide mineral water. But of course they're not interested in us - only what their mates can pocket. The same with government everywhere.

Go to the post office and get a direct debit form for your TV License. They'll DD you 13.33 per month, meaning that the TV License will cost you 159.96 instead of 160 AND you get the added bonus of knowing that you're sucking up that little bit more of their admin resources.

+ 20 cent per direct debit coming out of your account x 12 = €2.40 extra on top of your €159.96.

And are people really happy paying it monthly for the rest of your lives? Vs getting it out of the way in one go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭sammy37

first world problems

I never said it was a first world problem but i was making the point of having two cars is making it very hard for me to pay my other bills if you could be bothered to read my post correctly.

+ 20 cent per direct debit coming out of your account x 12 = €2.40 extra on top of your €159.96.

And are people really happy paying it monthly for the rest of your lives? Vs getting it out of the way in one go.

Are you really happy having a yearly €160 bill to look forward to? It's six of one, half a dozen of the other. I just suggested a more manageable approach for the OP who's struggling financially, a monthly 14 quid bill is easier to swallow.

No, I wouldn't be happy with having a yearly bill. But then I don't like any bills. If that was me facing the 160 bill, I would be saving up for it cause I know it was it coming.... But then, not everyone is like me. ... Do they still do the TV licence stamps at the post office, that might be another option for the OP.

Not to be anal, but you save up by putting a few quid by for it. When the direct debit cost is almost the same as the one-off cost (which it is here, for something like car insurance you're looking at an extra 40 quid or so) what's the difference whether you put the few euro aside or pay it off? OP has a license due NOW, I suggested a cheap way of sorting it. Over the next year they can probably save and pay it off in one go next time round but really we're not talking about a massive difference here. I'm not sure why you're so adamant that this isn't a good idea.

Wait, you don't have any bills? What?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 680 ✭✭✭MS.ing

post the keys back to the banks. thats fool proof. youd be an idiot not to

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Tarzana

When is this coming in?

Tarzana wrote: »
    When is this coming in?

Intended for the end of this year, now delayed a (short) while, so as not to hit at the same time as people get their first water bills.