Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sunday Independent - Obsession with Gerald Kean and Lisa Whatserface

• 11-08-2014 11:26am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭

I used to buy the Sunday Independent, but got fed up with Barry Egan's interviews with either Gerald or Lisa. Sweet Jaysus, he seemed to interview them every week.

I mean who gives a flying crap if they're on or off, or when they're getting married,/splitting up.

I think the worst was when they had that party and the Sunday Indo splashed a load of photos of them dressed as aristocrats. Cringefestival.

So now more Sunday Indo in my house.

Rant over .

I long ago gave up buying the indo and never read it unless I was in a coffee shop with free newspapers and it was the only one, its still very popular, however its floundering and does not know how to pitch itself anymore most of it journalists are middle aged and older and the younger one seem to be going for jaded irony because they don't know what to do.

While I don't think print media is on the way out it audience is getting smaller all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

giving niamh horan a mouthpiece is also a reason to avoid it. luckily you can read about her latest horseshyte here than clicking on the sindo site itself

http://balls.ie/rugby/article-exactly-irish-womens-rugby-without/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,896 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Perhaps it's because they were sort on someone to dress scantily for the cover of their Life magazine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

To be fair, Lisa has a solid and substantial presence I quite admire.

Wonder how much she paid to get them done.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

The only reason I feel sorry for z list celebs in this country is because they will inevitably find Barry Egan following them home in the evenings, wanting to be their friends, and wagging his little reporters pen at them in the hope of getting a quote.

Thats why I reckon people like Gerald Keane etc throw him the odd stick to fetch and little bone to chew on now and again.

It keeps the annoying little fúcker quiet and stops him jumping up and down in front of them with excitement for another few months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

Perhaps it's because they were sort on someone to dress scantily for the cover of their Life magazine.

Hope you're talking about Lisa there...

Although I wouldn't be surprised if Gerald appeared in next week's Life in a gentleman's negligee....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

giving niamh horan a mouthpiece is also a reason to avoid it. luckily you can read about her latest horseshyte here than clicking on the sindo site itself

That was brilliant dissection by Balls.ie - was one of the worst pieces of "journalism" I've ever seen. I've read better graffiti in the jacks than that pieces of drivel. Glad to see Niamh getting a backlash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭Umaro

My parents live near them down in Brittas Bay. Few years ago their place was robbed and Lisa tied up (or something).

She pretty much evaporated all goodwill from neighbours when the only identification she could offer for the robbers was "they had local accents!"

Cheers for that...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Is she one of the Whatserfaces from Cahirciveen?

I think my mother went to school with her aunt if so.

Umaro wrote: »
    My parents live near them down in Brittas Bay. Few years ago their place was robbed and Lisa tied up (or something).

She pretty much evaporated all goodwill from neighbours when the only identification she could offer for the robbers was "they had local accents!"

Cheers for that...

If you don't mind me saying so what a odd reply, if who ever robed her had local accents they had local accents why would that evaporated sympathy for her ? was she suppose to say they had Dublin accents to save face for the locals or what.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭gordongekko

Umaro wrote: »

Cheers for that...

We're ye worried that she was onto ye?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

I enjoy Egan's musings and observations. Bit of light hearted fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,896 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

boobar wrote: »
    Hope you're talking about Lisa there...

Although I wouldn't be surprised if Gerald appeared in next week's Life in a gentleman's negligee....

It will be for the "Men's edition".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Is she one of the Whatserfaces from Cahirciveen?

I think my mother went to school with her aunt if so.

Yes you're correct, that's her.

Was your aunt one of the WindyshipperHenderson's from Cahirciveen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,123 ✭✭✭eviltimeban

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,648 ✭✭✭honeybear

My parents buy the Sindo every weekend and that is the only reason I half read it (I buy the Times). This week, I passed by Niamh Horan's article as it was accompanied by 3? photos of her! It looked ridiculous-from what I can recollect the main gist of the article was about looking good on the rugby field.
    What really irked me about the Sindo yesterday was the front page which featured a subheadline about Jim Stynes wife finding love again with his friend. When I reached the page, there must have only been a few lines about this new relationship-the article was mostly about herself and Jim. Thought it was misleading (nothing new there, I suppose)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

I assume Gerald pays money to PR types to pimp him as an imaginary celebrity. In reality he is a crap lawyer, as numerous reviews on RateMySolicitor showed, and a lot of fake "positive" reviews on RateMySolicitor later showed. Really he should grow up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

I'm sorry did I miss something ? Who are these people ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 416 ✭✭Steppenwolfe

How did he become a celebrity? He's a solicitor isn't he. He's always on RTE on some show or other. Heard him talking shyte on the Finucane radio show recently. I know once you're a part of the RTE clique your in for life. I'd just like to know how he went from being a solicitor to some kind of z list celebrity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭porsche959

Lapin wrote: »
    The only reason I feel sorry for z list celebs in this country is because they will inevitably find Barry Egan following them home in the evenings, wanting to be their friends, and wagging his little reporters pen at them in the hope of getting a quote.

Thats why I reckon people like Gerald Keane etc throw him the odd stick to fetch and little bone to chew on now and again.

It keeps the annoying little fúcker quiet and stops him jumping up and down in front of them with excitement for another few months.

Some time at the tail end of the Celtic Tiger, a friend encountered Egan and Brendan O'Connor on the beer, his comment was it was clever of Egan to go on the beer with the one person in Ireland who made him look polite and retiring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

I can honestly say I know not of these two souls.