Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Report a garage for trying to rip me off?

• 10-08-2014 1:54pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 167 ✭✭

Wipers weren't working on car. I looked under the bonnet and seen the linkage had come apart from the wiper motor. I could see that the motor for the wipers was still working. It was raining and the time and brought it to a small closest garage and the single owner/mechanic looked under the bonnet and told me to turn on the wipers. He said the wiper motor is dead and will cost 200 for a new one and roughly 100 for labour and 60 for linkage. Well I told him where to f-in go and will be reporting him. He got offended and told me to f off. Probably thought I was a pushover and would have saying yes. Brought it to my local garage when it stopped raining and he charged me 95 euro for new linkage and labor.

What are my options here as I don't want him doing it to someone else and really want to report him for trying to screw me over! Big difference between 95 euro and 360 euro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,766 ✭✭✭RossieMan

Report him for what?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Part breaks, goes to garage, get's quote, unhappy with quote, walks away

Ummmmm..... :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

Who you gonna report him to, his Ma? (oh ,am I allowed say that Mods?) He's a single trader responsible to no one, you did the right thing, walking away, period

• Closed Accounts Posts: 167 ✭✭Dowl88

Fair enough but trying to con me saying the motor is dead. Is that like some sort of fraud. Just raging with the fecker is all.

Hate that kind of people! Maybe I just need a rant ha.

Fecking Gangster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭JohnBee

dgt wrote: »
    Part breaks, goes to garage, get's quote, unhappy with quote, walks away

Ummmmm..... :confused:

I thought it was the whole lying about what needed to be fixed part that was bothering the OP no?

JohnBee wrote: »
    I thought it was the whole lying about what needed to be fixed part that was bothering the OP no?

Exactly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Are you certain the motor isn't on its last legs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

colm_mcm wrote: »

Exactly.

colm_mcm wrote: »

Yep Positive. Perfectly fine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

And how would this mechanic guy know if the motor was on its last legs?

Look lads don't be apologists. Most like this guy got caught red handed and I agree with the OP in my book this smells like attempted fraud.

And I agree there probably isn't a place to report him to but that actually describes a sorry situation in itself. Is there no overseeing governing body ensuring businesses don't act like complete cowboys?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭dmc17

Dowl88 wrote: »
    Yep Positive. Perfectly fine.

You sure? Just that I've got a lovely new one here and it can be yours for the low price of €200. But be quick. Offer ends midnight tonight!

Boskowski wrote: »
    And how would this mechanic guy know if the motor was on its last legs?

Look lads don't be apologists. Most like this guy got caught red handed and I agree with the OP in my book this smells like attempted fraud.

And I agree there probably isn't a place to report him to but that actually describes a sorry situation in itself. Is there no overseeing governing body ensuring businesses don't act like complete cowboys?

Was looking on Google but don't seem to be.

Anyway he'll probably get caught out soon enough by other people and loose his business. Just annoys me that if say an old women or something went to him he would probably try and rip them off.

The amount of high horses in the motor section lately is crazy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,782 ✭✭✭Damien360

Assuming this garage is in your home town, the best you can do is tell your friends, pub mates, and anyone else you know except boards as you cannot name them.

In time, word will spread and people will avoid that garage. The same goes for bad takeaways, restaurants etc. It is called local knowledge. No point giving out on boards about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

Damien360 wrote: »
    Assuming this garage is in your home town, the best you can do is tell your friends, pub mates, and anyone else you know except boards as you cannot name them.

In time, word will spread and people will avoid that garage. The same goes for bad takeaways, restaurants etc. It is called local knowledge. No point giving out on boards about it.

No, probably they won't. In general, the obliging, well priced and friendly Indy garages go bust from lack of profit, while the rip-off, rude and indifferent ones podder along nicely reaping fresh/forgetful meat. Profit makes a business, and usually being nice and obliging/straight doesn't make a profit. Sadly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭The_Honeybadger

No, probably they won't. In general, the obliging, well priced and friendly Indy garages go bust from lack of profit, while the rip-off, rude and indifferent ones podder along nicely reaping fresh/forgetful meat. Profit makes a business, and usually being nice and obliging/straight doesn't make a profit. Sadly.

Not so sure about this, I know of a number of garages near me that have an excellent reputation for honesty and doing a good job and they are thriving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

mickeyk wrote: »
    Not so sure about this, I know of a number of garages near me that have an excellent reputation for honesty and doing a good job and they are thriving.

And I know of a chain who have a rep for being rip off merchants and they're fairly profitable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭The_Honeybadger

And I know of a chain who have a rep for being rip off merchants and they're fairly profitable

Fair enough, that doesn't mean an honest one can't survive though.