Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Insurance transfer?

• 07-08-2014 6:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭

Hoping you can give me a bit of info, lads.

My car (BMW 320Ci) will be off the road from today until Monday so I'm wondering if it's possible for me to be able to transfer my insurance (Fully comp) to another car (320D) tomorrow morning for a few days until I get my car back and if so, will it cost much? I know I should ring my insurer but they're closed at the minute and I only found out I'd be without my car an hour or so ago.

Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,330 ✭✭✭readytosnap

have done that several times before, usually there won't be a charge for the 1st time ( but they could charge you an admin fee for any future transfers ( within the same year), just ring and tell them you need to transfer and for how long, I've never had an issue ( with at least 3 different insurers).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭vandriver

Some of the very cheap guys charge 40 Euros to make policy changes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

Thanks, lads. I'm with No Nonsense and they're pretty reasonable so hopefully it'll be grand. Do they transfer it there and then? No need to wait for a disc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,330 ✭✭✭readytosnap

you wont be getting a disc, but you will be insured, they will transfer from when you tell them but never in arrears if you know what I mean, ring them at 10am the earliest transfer will probably 10:01

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

You will not get a new disc for a temporary transfer. Expect to be charged an admin fee though as most insurance companies make their money from admin fees which allows them to offer slightly cheaper premiums. A bit like a cheap Ryan Air flight ticket while charging you a fortune to reprint a boarding pass.

Do they usually charge 2 admin fees? i.e transferring it over and the transferring it back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,261 ✭✭✭mgbgt1978

According to the nononsense site FAQ's there is an admin fee of €25 for any changes or amendments to your policy.
    I'm sure they could charge this for the changeover and the change-back.

Some companies charge both times, some just once.
    If you know exactly when you are changing back to the original car see if you can just put it down as one amendment....i.e. a change of vehicle for an agreed period of time.

mgbgt1978 wrote: »
    According to the nononsense site FAQ's there is an admin fee of €25 for any changes or amendments to ypur policy.
    I'm sure they could charge this for the changeover and the change-back.

Feckers. Has to be done though, I suppose. Thanks for the help, lads.