Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Yet another Garda Vetting Query

• 06-08-2014 5:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭

How do I even start. I have got a job teaching in the UK through a recruitment agency that are wanting garda clearance. Grand. How ever they won't write a letter requesting to send out the form for me to fill out which is supposedly what I have searched online and the gardai have said to me is the procedure.

The recruitment agency (based in the UK) keep on saying that all they want is a "standard check and not an enhanced one) and that it shouldn't require a letter.The gardai tell me that they will not do one - the agency has to make contact. This has been going on this past month and I'm really fed up as no one seems to know that answer or have a suggestion of going about this.

I rang my local garda station and they put me on to the seargent and she seemed to know what I was on about. She told me to go into the office and one "of the lads" would give me "the form". So off I went into the office and all I got was sorry the recruitment agency has to contact the central garda vetting unit. Ughhhhh. Back to square one.

Can someone please help me out with this - point me in the right direction.

I should note that I only qualified as a teacher this year and in order to do my practice placement - I had to get garda vetted - do you think this maybe would suffice? I know its with a different place - but does anyone know if this would do? The agency don't have a clue regarding this either.

Many thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

Sounds like your job is looking for a police certificate of character. These are provided at local level in Garda stations. Contact your local district headquarters office.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭Starkystark

Sounds like your job is looking for a police certificate of character. These are provided at local level in Garda stations. Contact your local district headquarters office.

Thanks for the reply. Hmmm the garda told me that I could only get this done if I wanted a visa or am setting up a business abroad? or is that another form he was on about?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

Thanks for the reply. Hmmm the garda told me that I could only get this done if I wanted a visa or am setting up a business abroad? or is that another form he was on about?

I believe the policy has recently changed so that they can be issued for foreign employment. He may not be up to date. As i said, contact the district headquarters office.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭Starkystark

Thank you!