Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Golf Trendline vs Comfortline

• 05-08-2014 8:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 964 ✭✭✭

Hey lads,

I am looking to buy a new petrol Golf soon and am looking at either the Trendline or Comfortline. There is a few grand in the difference, with the Comfortline the medium spec model of course.

Not sure which to go for, need to test drive both but wondering whether people have any opinions on whether the extra few thousand is worth it for the Comfortline? What do you get in the Comfortline which you don't in the Trendline, in your opinion?

I am looking at the specs online but just keen to get people's thoughts.

I test drove a Highline and it drove like a dream, but a shade pricey..

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I think the upgrade to Comfortline is horrendous value for what you actually get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 964 ✭✭✭riveratom

colm_mcm wrote: »
    I think the upgrade to Comfortline is horrendous value for what you actually get.

Yeah that's the thing, I'm really not seeing anything much to justify an extra ~€3k? Now I haven't driven either model but I am guessing it is mainly some interior upgrades and slightly higher hp that justifies the higher price in the Comfortline. Plus alloys possibly..

A 90 TDI Trendline is €23990
    A 105 TDI Trendline is €24395 (€500 odd extra)
    A 105 Comfortline is €26075

The Comfortline alloys are 15 inch. Which is on the small side.

I think It breaks down like this
    Rear electric windows
    Better audio and trip comp
    Cruise control
    Tiny alloys
    Rear armrest
    Bluetooth

The 105hp is only 5 speed too.

What will turn into €27k is a lot for a basic enough Golf.

A 90 TDI Trendline is €23990
    A 105 TDI Trendline is €24395 (€500 odd extra)
    A 105 Comfortline is €26075

The Comfortline alloys are 15 inch. Which is on the small side.

I think It breaks down like this
    Rear electric windows
    Better audio and trip comp
    Cruise control
    Tiny alloys
    Rear armrest
    Bluetooth

The 105hp is only 5 speed too.

What will turn into €27k is a lot for a basic enough Golf.

Yeah, I'd be looking at the basic Trendline I think - the 85hp starts at €20,395 which is a lot more reasonable.

Those are the extras I spotted too, the armrest and cruise control, etc - hardly anything to write home about!

I drove the Highline and it is really comfortable - would be hoping the Trendline is in the same ballpark comfort and handling-wise...

That's petrol you're looking at so?

Trendline has smaller wheels, so in theory should be more comfortable.

Are you doing PCP or finance or something? Have you looked at the competition?

That's petrol you're looking at so?

Trendline has smaller wheels, so in theory should be more comfortable.

Are you doing PCP or finance or something? Have you looked at the competition?

Yup, petrol. I was looking at diesel too but just can't justify spending an extra €3-4k when I don't exactly do huge mileage. Plus would prefer to stick with petrol all else being equal.

Cool, think the Trendline is the one for me if I do go with the Golf.

Yeah would be PCP, would be putting in a deposit of approx 15-20%.

I am open to looking at the competition alright, but just haven't seen much to compete with the Golf in terms of design and 'cachet / cred' (not that I am big on brands as such). I was actually looking at 0% on a new Kia, but they just don't appeal to me or have the same style as the Golf. It would be my first new car so reckon I should just go for what I really want.

I had a quick glance at Mazda.ie and did see some stylish looking cars.

Then there is the Ford Focus but I don't know, just not mad into the idea of buying a Ford. Again, I think the Golf's are in a different class style-wise. I have heard the Focus is a lot of fun to drive though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Why not look for a demo or pre reg 141 or 142 Highline instead or does it absolutely have to be brand new?

I had a 14 reg courtesy Trendline for a few days back in February as aside from a half decent stereo it was a terrible bare place to be. No multifunction steering wheel, hard seats, plastic wheel trim, manual rear windows and no cruise control. On the plus side it was well insulated and solid on the motorway. Was still glad to hand it back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

Good lord that is mental money to be paying imo. Where is all that cash going for such a bare trim?

Why not import a well specced 2nd hand example?

bazz26 wrote: »
    Why not look for a demo or pre reg 141 or 142 Highline instead or does it absolutely have to be brand new?

I had a 14 reg courtesy Trendline for a few days back in February as aside from a half decent stereo it was a terrible bare place to be. No multifunction steering wheel, hard seats, plastic wheel trim, manual rear windows and no cruise control. On the plus side it was well insulated and solid on the motorway. Was still glad to hand it back.

Really? The Trendline does look a bit 'basic', but I was hoping it would still be relatively comfortable. I guess you have to pay a good bit more (i.e. the Highline), to get that real comfort?

The main things I care about really are comfort, good handling, and that the car looks good. I'm not bothered really about huge hp or gadgets and gizmos.

You reckon going for the Highline might be worth the extra money possibly then? The reason I'm thinking of a new car is that there a surprisingly small difference in price between say a 2011 model and a new model of any car. So I figure go for a new car and enjoy all the benefits.

What would be more comfortable - or just a better buy - than the Trendline in other cars in the same class? Any ideas on the Ford Focus for example?

Moneymaker wrote: »
    Why not import a well specced 2nd hand example?

VW bank do some savage finance deals

Yup, he's right :) €20k Trendline would come in at around €340/month over 36 months with a ~€3k deposit.

In fact, I test drove the high spec Highline with sports package and it was going to come in at approx €400/month over 48 months I think. A fair whack of cash but a top of the range model which looks very impressive.

Beware balloon payments at the end

€400x 48 is only €19200.
    €340x 36 is only €12240. Even with €2000 up front, there's €8k odd missing from the equation

That's fairly reasonable in fairness. Personally if I was buying new and committing for that length of time, i'd want as good a spec as possible. Paying monthly for a poverty spec car would eat away at my soul. :pac:

I'd be in for a Highline if it was me and I could afford it.

Moneymaker wrote: »
    That's fairly reasonable in fairness. Personally if I was buying new and committing for that length of time, i'd want as good a spec as possible. Paying monthly for a poverty spec car would eat away at my soul. :pac:

I'd be in for a Highline if it was me and I could afford it.

You make a very good point and this is what I am coming to realise. If you are going to be spending on a new one and paying for a certain number of months, then you might as well just go for it...

May need to test drive the Highline again...except a 142 rather than a 09 this time... :D

On that actually, I was quoted €14.4k for that 09 Highline with finance..

Drive a Trendline and a highline and see what you think.
    In my opinion you'd be bonkers unless you're actually into the extras.

You can buy a 50" samsung TV FOR €599 for example. Would you be seen as throwing your money away if you had 5 of these in your house?

I'm not saying extras aren't nice, but there are so many nicer cars for the money.

Drive a Trendline and a highline and see what you think.
    In my opinion you'd be bonkers unless you're actually into the extras.

You can buy a 50" samsung TV FOR €599 for example. Would you be seen as throwing your money away if you had 5 of these in your house?

I'm not saying extras aren't nice, but there are so many nicer cars for the money.

I think I will do that alright.

Yeah I know what you mean, it does feel like you are paying a premium just because it's a Golf. Highline 3dr is nearly €28k with monthly payments at over €400, it's a lot isn't it!

What would you say are nicer cars for the money? My options are wide open here really..

Good value for money + comfort + reliability + a good looking car (subjective I know) is all I need.

Mini Cooper S 2.0 for €27430 as an example
    192bhp
    Tax band B
    0-60 in 6.8

Just as an example

Even a diesel Mini Cooper is under €24k

Why not look at an almost new Highline, your saving a few €k that way and it's still practically a new car with most of the warranty left on it:

http://www.driving.ie/used-cars/Volkswagen/Golf/HIGHLINE-1.2/49514001614140160/

Mini Cooper S 2.0 for €27430 as an example
    192bhp
    Tax band B
    0-60 in 6.8

Just as an example

Even a diesel Mini Cooper is under €24k

Actually I am thinking of something similar in the low €20k ballpark, so for the same price range as the Trendline or perhaps the Comfortline.

Will check out the Mini Cooper though..

Why not look at an almost new Highline, your saving a few €k that way and it's still practically a new car with most of the warranty left on it:

http://www.driving.ie/used-cars/Volkswagen/Golf/HIGHLINE-1.2/49514001614140160/

Great idea mate, just thinking along those lines myself now. Bound to be some 131s out there too..

Look at the seat Leon as well. Made on the same platform as the new Golf. Personally I'm not fully sold on the looks but you certainly get more for your money

Yeah was only looking at the new Leon yesterday! It occurred to me to check them out again and you're going to laugh as I currently drive a 00 Leon :)

The new models looks class I think. Just not sure if I want another Leon though. A possibility however..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,705 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

My dad was looking at the new Mazda 3 and from what he was telling me you can get a top spec Mazda 3 for 28000 or there about. I believe that comes with leather seats and a 2.0 litre diesel engine.
    He said it drove really well and is considering pulling the trigger.

The 3 saloon is feckin lovely looking too.

It's actually based off the floor plan of the last 6 so it is only a little smaller than that and a lot more space than the previous 3

Jaypers yeah, totally gorgeous car and only €244/month finance with a deposit. That could be sweet in fact..

riveratom wrote: »
    Jaypers yeah, totally gorgeous car and only €244/month finance with a deposit. That could be sweet in fact..

You can pay up to 30% of the cost of the car up front so if you could afford it that might bring down your monthly repayment on a high spec to what you were looking at for the comfort golf.

emmetkenny wrote: »
    You can pay up to 30% of the cost of the car up front so if you could afford it that might bring down your monthly repayment on a high spec to what you were looking at for the comfort golf.

Yes exactly, the €244 is with a 30% deposit so it brings down the monthly repayments by nearly €200/month..

Both the hatchback and the saloon are gorgeous. Looks like they put the Golf in the shade in fact..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,226 ✭✭✭Stallingrad

The new Golf is bland lump of metal in any trim. Saw a GTi and even that looked underwhelming, and that red strip running though the lights, tacky or what? Mazda 3 all the way, so much better value with a great engine and fabulous styling.

The Golf isn't gorgeous to be fair.

Yes exactly, the €244 is with a 30% deposit so it brings down the monthly repayments by nearly €200/month..

Both the hatchback and the saloon are gorgeous. Looks like they put the Golf in the shade in fact..

Go bring one for a spin. You'll never know until you try it whether you could live with it for 3 or four years.
    Maybe ask the dealer if you could take a demo model for a longer drive, an hour or two or if you get a sound one you might get it over night.
    No harm in trying anyway.

Go bring one for a spin. You'll never know until you try it whether you could live with it for 3 or four years.
    Maybe ask the dealer if you could take a demo model for a longer drive, an hour or two or if you get a sound one you might get it over night.
    No harm in trying anyway.

Yup, that's the plan - going to test drive one tomorrow. Can't wait! It will all depend on how it drives but visually they make the Golf look like a lump of metal on wheels, to paraphrase the earlier poster (and I still really like the Golf).

Let us know how you get on !!

Thoughts on the Ford Focus lads? I am driving both the Focus and the Madza 3 tomorrow :)

Good reviews and it's a gorgeous car too imo. Looks like it handles very well and is nice to drive, and the reviews seem to back that up too.

Focus has got progressively uglier through the years. The current one is clumsy and awkward looking IMO. I wouldn't rate the interior either. That said I hate the mondeo too for the same reasons

I think the Mondeo is wayyy more awkward and bulky looking than the Focus, which I reckon looks pretty slick (although I can see how someone else could see it as 'blocky').

Read a review on the Telegraph and they give it a 7/10, which funnily enough is what they also give the Madza 3. They say the Focus isn't that stylish on the inside too actually, but great to drive (handling, etc).

Someone signed this off

2013_ford_focus-st_tlight_lt_21313_600.jpg

Someone signed this off

2013_ford_focus-st_tlight_lt_21313_600.jpg

What would Henry say to that.... :)

Just to be clear, I don't have an issue with the colour

Well that's not what I figured you were pointing out ;)

Thoughts on the Ford Focus lads? I am driving both the Focus and the Madza 3 tomorrow :)

Good reviews and it's a gorgeous car too imo. Looks like it handles very well and is nice to drive, and the reviews seem to back that up too.

The missus has a 12 Focus. It's a 1.6 diesel and is frugal enough. She says she gets at least 400/500 km from half a tank at the very least and that would be a good bit of town driving.

I've driven it a few times and it's pokey enough and comfortable on a long journey.

The missus has a 12 Focus. It's a 1.6 diesel and is frugal enough. She says she gets at least 400/500 km from half a tank at the very least and that would be a good bit of town driving.

I've driven it a few times and it's pokey enough and comfortable on a long journey.

Frugal sounds good. Something interesting I spotted earlier on the Telegraph review is that what you save on the Focus vs the Golf, you make back and then some in resale value on the Golf. As in the Golf costs less in the long run.

Yea id say it would. How long do you plan on keeping the car ? 4 years ?

Check out the price of a similar spec 2010 models that your looking at now and see what the difference is now.

Just to note OP that the current Focus is getting a revamp in the next few months.

Interesting, cheers for the heads up. Could be a way of getting a big discount from the dealer, if the current model will be 'out of date' soon...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

In my opinion, the Focus is old hat compared to either the Golf or the new 3. The facelift will freshen it up no doubt but the current one is beginning to look dated.

If you want a highline Golf go for a demo or even a year old one. It's a much nicer place to be than a trendline VW, and you'll most likely get the more powerful version of the 1.2tsi then too which will make the car nicer to drive.

I think I said this already, but I couldn't buy a new car and make payments for 3-4 years, in a base model. You're committed to the car for 3-4 years, i'd want the best spec and the nicest place to sit in and drive as I could possibly afford.

If you can afford a Highline, go for it I say. Strong resale value will ease the pain :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭RedorDead

If you find trendline or comfortline golf spec a bit spartan why dont you look at an almost new A3?

http://www.carzone.ie/used-cars/audi/a3/used-2014-141-audi-a3-a3-1-6-tdi-105-dublin-fpa-8aa13bdf47af84900147affcde3d3237

Audi Ireland now do pcp deals on nearly new models

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Or possibly something like this:

http://www.carzone.ie/used-cars/seat/leon/used-2014-141-seat-leon-1-2-tsi-style-dublin-fpa-8a78aa0a3f3c4858013f3d7253927e96

Interior will be a notch down on the Audi and Golf though, but better than a Focus/Astra. Better spec on that one too.