Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

slaughter free farm

• 04-08-2014 3:52pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭

Seen this on twitter. Don't really see what the idea or the aim of it is tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Seen this on twitter. Don't really see what the idea or the aim of it is tbh

For the craic of it i suppose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

So when numbers build they will just sell them on for someone else to slaughter pretty much like most farms :)

Sam Kade wrote: »
    So when numbers build they will just sell them on for someone else to slaughter pretty much like most farms :)

Well then I'm a slaughter free farm so.....Bloody copy cats :rolleyes: :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

The extreme animal rights movement in the UK advocate cattle not being used for either dairy or beef production and instead left live out their days on farm at one extreme with others advocating there be no cull in dairy herds with cows being allowed to die 'naturally'

We have had some of the extremists from this movement move to Ireland in the last few years where they have been involved in the running of various 'rescue' centres, 'anti Cruelty' pressure and anti hunting groups. I can't wait till they attempt to influence public opinion on 'farming' and other dubious activities
    We may all start growing beans now
    ..:rolleyes:

Next they will be giving cows pace makers sure they are doing it with dogs and cats already.

Maybe we should set up a few old cows homes :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,458 ✭✭✭✭Base price

I wonder will they try and stop the cattle from been tested for TB etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭larrymiller

gozunda wrote: »
    The extreme animal rights movement in the UK advocate cattle not being used for either dairy or beef production and instead left live out their days on farm at one extreme with others advocating there be no cull in dairy herds with cows being allowed to die 'naturally'

We have had some of the extremists from this movement move to Ireland in the last few years where they have been involved in the running of various 'rescue' centres, 'anti Cruelty' pressure and anti hunting groups. I can't wait till they attempt to influence public opinion on 'farming' and other dubious activities
    We may all start growing beans now
    ..:rolleyes:
    How long would they live?

The extremists or the cattle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

Bloody fruitcakes. Would love to let them out into a field of bulls for a hour. That would cool their holes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

mf240 wrote: »
    Bloody fruitcakes. Would love to let them out into a field of bulls for a hour. That would cool their holes.

Lookingvat photos they have up on Twitter. They had an open day and there was kids sitting out in a field beside oxen bulls.
    Wonder what insurance would cover them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭Roundbale

Only thing slaughtered on my farm is the cheque book.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Damo810

Well I'm looking forward to them using bulls to pull ploughs, best of luck to them..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭trixi2011

some people really do a good need a good kick in the hole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Rabbo

What happens to these cows inevitably get terminal illnesses. Do they let the animals suffer until they die or do they advocate euthenasia?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Lookingvat photos they have up on Twitter. They had an open day and there was kids sitting out in a field beside oxen bulls.
    Wonder what insurance would cover them

They might have people signing disclaimers before entering.
    Something along the lines of

''We allow all our cattle to behave as they would in the wild, this means they can get a little moody at times =)
    Freedom and equality for all animals!
    Please sign here if you agree that you are not going to sue us or defame us in case of injury!''

Or something equally ridiculous.

.Kovu. wrote: »
    They might have people signing disclaimers before entering.
    Something along the lines of

''We allow all our cattle to behave as they would in the wild, this means they can get a little moody at times =)
    Freedom and equality for all animals!
    Please sign here if you agree that you are not going to sue us or defame us in case of injury!''

Or something equally ridiculous.

See here

http://www.ahimsamilk.org/2014/05/02/a-revolutionary-dairy-for-the-future-the-ahimsa-vision/
    Our Vision is for a sustainable organic dairy where no cow or bull calf is ever killed and all can live out their lives until their natural end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Lads and lassies we have to watch how we deal with these people. It's not good enough dismissing them as but jobs and leaving it at that. We have to engage in a calm, reasoned and logical manner rather than insulting them. Let them show themselves up as the wackos that they are but if we come across as ignorant bumpkins then we are helping them gain supporters

We've seen what a bad job UK and US farmers have made with dealing with these groups and we need to make a better fist of it over here

Ah jaysus!! Hahahaha

Present Practice- Conception Bull for first pregnancy followed by
    artificial insemination (AI) for future pregnancies
    Ahimsa Vision- Natural insemination by bull

The cow gets a treat from the bull instead? Fook sake, I'd say a lot of cows are happier to have a one shot AI man instead of a tonne bull jumping on her for a couple of days!!!

They want 135k for there first yr? For what?

I've had PETA people straight out tell me that AI is rape.

Not only is that factually wrong I think it's highly insulting to victims of sexual violence

Have seen comments on videos on YouTube similar to that. Some people are too ignorant to learn and understand

That's where we have to take the high line and educate rather than insult. Most of these people have their hearts in the right places but they
    A) have no knowlage of farming because they grew up in a city and
    B)have gotten their information from these groups who are way ahead of us when it comes to an online profile.

I try to take the line "I'm a farmer.if you would like to know about the subject ask me not them"

Dairy carrie is an excellent blog at bridging the gap. He post "sometimes we are mean to our cows" is shining light in how to present the facts to the wider public

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

I nearly fell off the chair laughing reading that, cheers, ha

If that is from youtube videos they are more than likely teenage girls who think they can change the world :rolleyes: the % of vegans in the world is below 1% so their are in the minority. That McCartney fella going on about if slaughter houses had glass walls people wouldn't eat meat, I bet he never saw the inside of a meat factory. He still hasn't copped on to the fact they are not called slaughter houses in this part of the world :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

Good money making racket. Looking for sponsorship and selling milk for £2 25 sterling.

The base price of Ahimsa milk is £2.25 per litre – plus 15p for delivery to the door/ drop-off point (it will not be sold through retail outlets at present).

Cost breakdown:

£1 – production, processing and bottling of milk
    65p – pension fund, hospice cost, vet costs
    30p – administration and overheads
    30p – capital cost, reserve contingency fund

Sam Kade wrote: »
    If that is from youtube videos they are more than likely teenage girls who think they can change the world :rolleyes: the % of vegans in the world is below 1% so their are in the minority. That McCartney fella going on about if slaughter houses had glass walls people wouldn't eat meat, I bet he never saw the inside of a meat factory. He still hasn't copped on to the fact they are not called slaughter houses in this part of the world :rolleyes:

Unfortunately the advocates for extreme animal rights as in the example of the UK are much more than this. There a large urban based population have little or no experience of a working countryside and have been largely brought up the impressions created through cute animal animation, cartoons and Disney films. The numbers behind PETA etc are significant enough to be able to lobby politicians and force through legislative change such as the anti hunting act passed in the UK in 2004 was the first such act enacted as a result of such pressure.The resulting ban on fox hunting appears to be just the first target with ongoing campaigns against fishing, shooting, farming animals etc.

Unlike most mammals, Cows do not fight over food

Clearly they haven't seen my ladies tryimng to get to the trough first!

"Because we are close to capacity in our ‘Bottled Milk‘ production we are presently not accepting new milk orders"

I'm not really supprised after reading how the herd is going to be run

I wonder where all these vollenteers are going to be when this herdsman from humgry goes home at Christmas

From the in dependant - see Image. This is the latest campaign PETA are using to push their agenda ...

http://m.independent.ie/irish-news/fury-over-ad-inspired-by-discovery-of-mans-remains-in-dublin-recycling-plant-30490818.html
    A new ad inspired by the discovery of a man's leg in the Thorntons recycling plant in Ballyfermot has been branded as “sickening and disgusting” by a local councillor.

The proposed ad by People For the Ethical Treatment of Animals shows a human leg served in a plate “to remind Dubliners that all meat is murder".

The ad inspired by the discovery of body parts at Thorntons plant proposed by PETA. PETA said that the idea for the advertisement came after the discovery of the male body parts in the Thorntons Recycling Centre last Thursday night.

PETA said it is "in negotiation with local advertisers" to place the advertisement on billboards in Dublin.

PETA are purely a UK based organisation - looks like they wish to start gathering funds here now ...

gozunda wrote: »
    From the in dependant - see Image. This is the latest campaign PETA are using to push their agenda ...

http://m.independent.ie/irish-news/fury-over-ad-inspired-by-discovery-of-mans-remains-in-dublin-recycling-plant-30490818.html

PETA are purely a UK based organisation - looks like they wish to start gathering funds here now ...
    I heard some controversy on the radio today about the ad. It is not going down well amongst the public.
    I always thought that PETA were an American organisation as a number of US film stars and musicians support them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭mayota

Base price wrote: »
    I heard some controversy on the radio today about the ad. It is not going down well amongst the public.
    I always thought that PETA were an American organisation as a number of US film stars and musicians support them.

Joe Duffy took no sh1t from the PETA pratt. Disgraceful ad campaign.

mayota wrote: »
    Joe Duffy took no sh1t from the PETA pratt. Disgraceful ad campaign.
    I did not hear the full interview as I was in my mam's house and she kept talking over it and giving out about the ad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

Muppets.

Living on nuts and seeds must really fry you brain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭larrymiller

mf240 wrote: »
    Muppets.

Living on nuts and seeds must really fry you brain.

Smoking weed all day I say is frying all there brain cells

Base price wrote: »

They have a U K base and have a lot of urban based support from individuals that reckon food comes from the supermarket and all wild animals are cuddly and cute critters. They appear to have serious money too. Worrying thing is they have started to run ad campaigns over here but are not based in Ireland. I don't like their tactics one bit tbh..

So what happens to the bull calves then. Left in the field for 20 years chewing away :rolleyes:

Love/Milk/Hate/Slaughter

A spin off series to Love/Hate following a drug gang who smuggle drugs across the Continent using dairy cows. :D

Kovu wrote: »
    Love/Milk/Hate/Slaughter

A spin off series to Love/Hate following a drug gang who smuggle drugs across the Continent using dairy cows. :D

They make it sound as if the minute a cow hits 5 yr old shes killed and millions of calves killed?
    Hell of alot of bull calves kept for 2yrs in england and Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Farmer

Why are we against these people? Haven't we been protesting last week to have our cattle live 6 months longer? These are our friends. Set them on Larry. Even the CA can't touch them:)

Farmer wrote: »
    Why are we against these people? Haven't we been protesting last week to have our cattle live 6 months longer? These are our friends. Set them on Larry. Even the CA can't touch them:)

Against there mission statement and how they are portraying farming to the public.
    They can do whar they lije with there animals .
    They make us out to be cold heartless people who are mad to send animal's to the factory

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Farmer

Against there mission statement and how they are portraying farming to the public.
    They can do whar they lije with there animals .
    They make us out to be cold heartless people who are mad to send animal's to the factory

Agreed, it was somewhat tongue in cheek on my part. But nonetheless, I would like to think that our grass based farming is reasonably animal friendly or, at least, closer to nature, thus making us appear relatively "good" to them.

It will always be the extremists who get the attention and I doubt we have anything to fear from them yet. There are alot of people on the middle ground who hopefully might be prepared to pay a little more for humanely produced, grass fed beef

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

I think they are plotting to set up a huge Jersey bull calf "let them live naturally" program.

They are planning on exporting each and every poor homeless Jersey calf to England where they may wander their fine hippie fields for many many years.

I think they are plotting to set up a huge Jersey bull calf "let them live naturally" program.

They are planning on exporting each and every poor homeless Jersey calf to England where they may wander their fine hippie fields for many many years.
    They will have loads of customers so :)
    Actually would have loads if they set up such a place :D

They will have loads of customers so :)
    Actually would have loads if they set up such a place :D

BIL had 500 of them last year

Erhh maybe not "Jersey" but I think it is already happening ....:rolleyes:

http://www.breakingnews.ie/discover/campaign-aims-to-save-gay-bull-in-mayo-650895.html

http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/local-national/republic-of-ireland/benjy-the-gay-bull-thrown-lifeline-by-fundraisers-30741670.html

And yes they have landed ....

http://touch.boards.ie/thread/2057327188/1/#post93043879