Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bat help needed

• 31-07-2014 1:12am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭

A bat has just flew in my window and I can't get it out again. Any tips on how to (humanely) get rid of it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Throw a sod of turf at it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

http://imgur.com/Mj73afV

Settled in the spare room now.

Should I leave it be or what?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭Dr. Zaius Dr. Zaius!

Get the local priest on the howler , banish that demon.

Edit: Ah he's so cute and tiny! Maybe try coax him into a lunchbox or something and set him free

http://imgur.com/Mj73afV

Settled in the spare room now.

Should I leave it be or what?

All depends what the pull cord switch does?

What normally happens when you pull one?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 680 ✭✭✭MS.ing

turn out the lights so it cant see you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭djerk

you could try throwing something light like bed linen over him.. thats what we used to do anyway :)

What normally happens when you pull one?

http://02varvara.files.wordpress.com/2011/07/01-kaboom.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

First it was big spiders now its ****ing bats.........

Jaysus come back Spanish students all is forgiven!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 447 ✭✭daviecronin

Hahhah crazy! Happened us once couldn't believe my eyes when it happened! I thought bats were hardly in Ireland! The minute my mother saw it she nearly collapsed and ran into a different room with a tea towel on here head cos she had some weird notion the bat was going to grab onto her hair! The one we had was A LOT bigger than that! We eventually got it out! It was in the living room so we left all the windows open and a tea towel to ease it out or did we get it into a box of some type! Not sure but good luck! :)

He's flying mad round the place again now. :(

Don't want to hurt it but don't want it messing my hair in my smell either :(

Is there someone I could call?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,294 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Not at half 2 in the morning. Leave all the windows open and close the door so it can't move to other parts of the house. It will leave eventually.

Dont lie this is what really happened right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭NightOfTheHunt

"spare room" aka underground s&m dungeon

Are you really having a bat problem or is it horrors op?

MadYaker wrote: »
    Not at half 2 in the morning. Leave all the windows open and close the door so it can't move to other parts of the house. It will leave eventually.

It's disappeared downstairs now. Bastard is probably eating my fruit :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Batbusters!

Are you really having a bat problem or is it horrors op?

Na, it's as real as me.

Towel over the ****er and let it out... Unless you want a new pet?

throw a light cloth or tea towel on him when he stops just to stop him flying away and just grab in your hands.

He wont fly into your hair or anything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Kiss it. It may turn into a princess.

Na, it's as real as me.

Maybe it's in the horrors!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

Just grab him lightly bring him outside and let him go.

(Btw, that is one well hung bat)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,437 ✭✭✭FAILSAFE 00

Is there someone I could call?

Na, it's as real as me.

Ok lets get you through this, turn on some music.

Now get that bat.

petes wrote: »
    Maybe it's in the horrors!!

He's probably posting on batboards.ie about being stuck in a house with a near six foot 14 stone ogre in stripey boxers :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

djerk wrote: »
    you could try throwing something light like bed linen over him.. thats what we used to do anyway :)

This. If you have a jacket handy just, well, fire it in his general direction! I caught one in mid-flight once as he was flying over my head, just threw the jacket up in the air and the bat flew into it, let him off outside.

Oh, if you have any open saucepans of boiling water, best put a lid on them...

It didn't work out so well for the crow I tried to catch flying around the kitchen when he landed in a pot of boiling hot bacon water. Scalded his chest and it took him two weeks to recover before I was able to release him.

Czarcasm wrote: »
    This. If you have a jacket handy just, well, fire it in his general direction! I caught one in mid-flight once as he was flying over my head, just threw the jacket up in the air and the bat flew into it, let him off outside.

Oh, if you have any open saucepans of boiling water, best put a lid on them...

It didn't work out so well for the crow I tried to catch flying around the kitchen when he landed in a pot of boiling hot bacon water. Scalded his chest and it took him two weeks to recover before I was able to release him.
    I have two towels, a scarf and a facecloth in the bed with me now. Just waiting for him to return.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭Androidable

Ask batman to come over and take him home :D

I have two towels, a scarf and a facecloth in the bed with me now. Just waiting for him to return.

At least u won't get cold.

Make sure you turn on the light he cant see in the dark :pac:

Are they not like moths and think the light is the moon? Thought I read that somewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

On a serious note, be careful. Bats can carry EBL (European Bat Lyssavirus) which is a form of Rabies. It is very, very rare but a Bat bite can transmit it to humans. But on a positive note, if you survive the rabies you'll probably mutate into Batman.

He's grand the bat more then likely just has Ebola.

Just as I was drifting off too. . .:(

Are they not like moths and think the light is the moon? Thought I read that somewhere.

I have never seen a moth, are they the animals that eat clothes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,793 ✭✭✭FunLover18

Has anyone suggested a net yet?

I've locked it in the spare room for now, ain't got time for jumping about after it. Now there's a bloody cricket in my bedroom somewhere. Am I Dr fcuckin Dolittle or something? :(

FunLover18 wrote: »
    Has anyone suggested a net yet?

He is not doing illegal salmon fishing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 627 ✭✭✭House of Blaze

If you don't move they can't see you..

No wait that's T-Rexes... nevermind...

He is not doing illegal salmon fishing

I'm speaking from experience. The bat will eventually settle on a curtain or something. A butterfly net will do, and something flat to ensure he doesn't fly out of the net

The bwm has vaulted ceilings in his spare room so the net might not work, is the pink a distraction?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

If it's a really small bat it's probably a Pipistrelle. I used to catch them in a lunchbox and bring them outside and let them stick onto a rough wall surface, they sort themselves out after that. I've never been bitten, but I wore garden gloves just in case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭Insidious

This happens sometimes... Just let it settle down in the spare room and go in and find it in the morning... Wear some gardening gloves and put it in a cardboard box with a towel in it until this evening and let it out.. Job done.. ;-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭Chattastrophe!

Who the feck just happens to have a butterfly net just lying about the house?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I had one for catching ducklings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,414 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

It's a sign. You are the chosen one................Batman.

… How do you catch butterflies?

I think ours was more of the fishing net, one for catching shrimp in rock pools etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭Dr. Zaius Dr. Zaius!

He's probably posting on batboards.ie about being stuck in a house with a near six foot 14 stone ogre in stripey boxers :D

Go on....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,283 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

I would have caught it and called it Will Arnett myself.