Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Meeting the parents, any horror/hilarious stories?

• 28-07-2014 6:33pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭

My brother's poor wee girlfriend is staying with us at the moment, first thing she did when she got here was drop a dozen eggs on the hall floor (trying to be helpful and bring in the shopping). Just there, a friend of my dad's and his two year old were over visiting, they were going out to look at the garden and said to her to keep an eye to the child. Ten seconds later the child pulls a rocking horse down nearly on top of himself (he's grand). I presume she'll do something else soon because naturally we're all taking the piss out of her now, which I think is making her even more nervous. She's a lovely girl though.

The worst that ever happened to me was that an eejit of a boyfriend of mine back in college brought me back to meet the parents for the first time the weekend of his uncle's first anniversary mass, he'd been young enough and died suddenly, so the BF's mother was just in bits the whole weekend, like literally crying at the dinner table.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭StormWarrior

The very worst, which makes me cringe even now, was that when I was 20 I had a serious boyfriend and he was staying over with me for the night. My bedroom was in an annexe adjoining the main house, my bedroom was right next to the living room, but being a separate annexe I assumed it was well insulated. We were doing the dirty and the headboard was even banging against the wall. Of course later when I went out into the living room my whole family, father, grandparents etc were all sitting there and had clearly heard everything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

I remember being all dressed up to meet my husbands mother, we were still boyfriend and girlfriend at the time. I'd just gotten off a flight at Heathrow and my now husband came to meet me at the airport, so we got some lunch there. When we got to his mothers flat in London she'd laid on this whole big buffet style spread and neither of us was hungry.

I remember sitting on the sofa, trying to force myself to eat some rolls, trying not to get crumbs all over myself and realising that even though we'd just met and she was on her best behaviour, she and I were going to have a major reckoning at some point in the future. That reckoning happened 5 years ago, haven't spoken to the bitch since.

I remember being all dressed up to meet my husbands mother, we were still boyfriend and girlfriend at the time. I'd just gotten off a flight at Heathrow and my now husband came to meet me at the airport, so we got some lunch there. When we got to his mothers flat in London she'd laid on this whole big buffet style spread and neither of us was hungry.

I remember sitting on the sofa, trying to force myself to eat some rolls, trying not to get crumbs all over myself and realising that even though we'd just met and she was on her best behaviour, she and I were going to have a major reckoning at some point in the future. That reckoning happened 5 years ago, haven't spoken to the bitch since.

keep it that way Pumpkin, for your own sanity, these auld bitches never change.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

The very worst, which makes me cringe even now, was that when I was 20 I had a serious boyfriend and he was staying over with me for the night. My bedroom was in an annexe adjoining the main house, my bedroom was right next to the living room, but being a separate annexe I assumed it was well insulated. We were doing the dirty and the headboard was even banging against the wall. Of course later when I went out into the living room my whole family, father, grandparents etc were all sitting there and had clearly heard everything.

Oh jeeeeeeeesus that's bad. Kinda funny to imagine what the conversation was like in the sitting room during it though :D

Yeah, sometimes you just get a feeling for people right off the bat, never happened to me with any in-law types thank god

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

Not myself but, when they first met, my grandmother said to my mother (originally from Clare) "I always thought nothing good ever came from West of the Shannon".

She was a bit of a cow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Jake1 wrote: »
    keep it that way Pumpkin, for your own sanity, these auld bitches never change.

I know, she's in England and I never go over with my husband. I'm happier that way and so is he. He gets to see his family without waiting for drama. I can do without the drama and so can he.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

Something like the evening I decided to introduce my girlfriend at the time to my folks was the same evening my 17 year old brother decided to tell them his girlfriend was expecting ,,,,,

Oh she was in the same room .:eek:

Something like that ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,516 ✭✭✭XsApollo

First time I met my now wife's parents I was picking them up at the airport . They are from Slovakia and have no English.
    Got back to our place and they crack out the alcohol as is tradition.
    So not wanting to say no ,we start necking shorts and beer , I think we downed 2 bottles of spirits and whatever beer.
    I have vague recollections of sitting on the toilet and everybody lookin at me, falling over in the kitchen ,
    Puking in the jacks.
    The mother In law woke me up in the hall the next morning in my jocks and puke stained t-shirt.
    I was sheepish for a few days after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

I met my parents when I was very young.

To make matters worse, I was covered in gunk. Boy was my face red.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭Chattastrophe!

My boyfriend and I were around 15/16, he brought me to his house, and after a cup of tea with the parents, we went up to his room. His parents weren't happy about this, but said we could go to watch TV up there so long as we left the door open. But, we closed and locked the door in case his younger siblings would ... eh ... interrupt us. In our TV watching.

I've no idea how, but the lock broke. In the end, his dad had to climb up a ladder to get in the bedroom window and take the door off the hinges from the inside.

Dinner afterwards was awkward ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭stimpson

XsApollo wrote: »
    The mother In law woke me up in the hall the next morning in my jocks and puke stained t-shirt.

Why was your mother in law wearing your jocks?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

A previous girlfriend in college took me to see her folks and I trained to meet them.......:)

.......there was a big hill behind their house and she had told me how her Dad (ex inter-county hurler and still fit as f%&k!) liked to invite her and her sister's (there were four girls in the family, no brothers) boyfriends to go for a run with him and then he'd head up the hill and leave them for dead.

So, I was pretty fit but I put in some hillwork before I went to the ol' homestead - he invited me to go for a run (as I expected) and off up the hill we went. I just about beat him to the top and thought this would be a nice bonding moment.......not a bit of it - the ol' git went off in a huff before telling me which way to run back to the house.

The rest of the weekend he barely said a word to me and didn't even bother to see us off - then the girlfriend gets stroppy in the car asking why couldn't I have just let him win and that I wasn't fair to her Dad.......and how I'd upset him.

Suffice to say the relationship didn't survive the drive back to Dublin.

Still glad I won, though!!!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭takamichinoku

My mam and my dad were seeing each other for a few months (somewhere between 6 months and a year, not positive) when she heard his dad's name on the death notices on Shannonside, so she decides "I'm going to be marrying this guy, I should go to the funeral". She heads up to him when the dad's in the ground and he sort of ignores her, she's in an awkward spot so she addresses him directly and all, the whole family haven't a clue who she is so she has to introduce herself to all 8 of them. All the older brothers hadn't any girlfriends before that that anyone knew of and the whole family were fierce overprotective of my dad, so she was greeted with a ton of confusion and hostility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

Jawgap wrote: »
    A previous girlfriend in college took me to see her folks and I trained to meet them.......:)

.......there was a big hill behind their house and she had told me how her Dad (ex inter-county hurler and still fit as f%&k!) liked to invite her and her sister's (there were four girls in the family, no brothers) boyfriends to go for a run with him and then he'd head up the hill and leave them for dead.

That's one of the weirdest things I've ever heard off, and I'm not at all sheltered!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Hotfail.com

My mam and my dad were seeing each other for a few months (somewhere between 6 months and a year, not positive) when she heard his dad's name on the death notices on Shannonside, so she decides "I'm going to be marrying this guy, I should go to the funeral". She heads up to him when the dad's in the ground and he sort of ignores her, she's in an awkward spot so she addresses him directly and all, the whole family haven't a clue who she is so she has to introduce herself to all 8 of them. All the older brothers hadn't any girlfriends before that that anyone knew of and the whole family were fierce overprotective of my dad, so she was greeted with a ton of confusion and hostility.

Took me like 5 reads to actually understand all that..

I appreciate the effort! It set the seeds for a lot but more importantly, I'm a shambolic storyteller...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Mena wrote: »
    That's one of the weirdest things I've ever heard off, and I'm not at all sheltered!

Foolishly I thought if I managed to do what none of the other boyfriends had done (beat him to the top of the hill) then he might view me more favourably!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,144 ✭✭✭DVDM93

So, I was pretty fit but I put in some hillwork before I went to the ol' homestead - he invited me to go for a run (as I expected) and off up the hill we went. I just about beat him to the top and thought this would be a nice bonding moment.......not a bit of it - the ol' git went off in a huff before telling me which way to run back to the house.

The rest of the weekend he barely said a word to me and didn't even bother to see us off - then the girlfriend gets stroppy in the car asking why couldn't I have just let him win and that I wasn't fair to her Dad.......and how I'd upset him.

Ex inter county hurler you say? Beg ya to name him :)

I agree with your thinking though, I would have thought beating him in the race would result in him seeing you in a more favourable light :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Duck's hoop

Foolishly I thought if I managed to do what none of the other boyfriends had done (beat him to the top of the hill) then he might view me more favourably!

Does this kinda shít actually happen in real life?

Like there's an Irish (culchie) Robert De Niro measuring the worth of his daughters' suitors by running up a hill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭SnitchingBubs

Absolutely delighted you won. Surprised by his reaction, I would have thought he might respect you if you could beat him. Id be thinking if I lose to this older man he'll think im useless and not good enough to date his daughter.

Does this kinda shít actually happen in real life?

Like there's an Irish (culchie) Robert De Niro measuring the worth of his daughters' suitors by running up a hill.

Yeah....... she was always going on about her sisters' boyfriends and telling the stories of the run up the hill. It was something of a family legend. Foolishly (again) I thought I would add to the legend, ingratiate myself with the family while impressing her.

I was never too sure if he just didn't like being beaten.......or if he didn't like being beaten by a Dub.......or if he didn't like being beaten by a rugby player :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭SnitchingBubs

or if he didn't like being beaten by a rugby player :D

This could have been it alright. Those GAA lads can be awful sensitive sallys at times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

Reminds me of this...

skip to around 1.05

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭Gillo

Luckily no horror stories myself. Although my younger brothers (brother A) girl friend is studying to be a mid-wife, the first time she met the family was my nieces (brother B's daughter) christening. After the service we all went back to a hotel my brother had booked for a dinner, so nervous enough about meeting the family she ended up sitting beside my mother during the meal. All grand so far, until halfway through the dinner I notice that mam in an effort to find something in common with brother A's girlfriend starts telling her about how all four sons were born by caesarean section. Obviously trying to make a good impression she had to pretend to be interested. Being a large round table and me sitting on the opposite side I couldnt even butt in and chance the subject all I could think was "Welcome to the family".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

After a date I walked my then gf home from the pub. We both still lived at home with the folks, and neither of us drove so opportunities for the ol' slap an' tickle were few and far between.

Anyway after we'd walked up her long driveway I was leaning against her porch and we had a goodnight kiss. I was hankering for a bit more so I said "any chance of a blow job?"

She looked a little nervous, and replied

"The neighbours might see"

I reassured her that no-one would be up at this time, and I wouldn't make much noise. Again she voiced her reluctance. Next thing this voice boomed out of nowhere.

"Emma-Jane, either give that man his blow job, or hand job or whatever the bloody hell he wants, or I'll come down and do it myself but either way tell him to stop leaning on the bloody intercom button I've got work in the morning!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭PLL

When I first started college I moved to a whole new city and didn't know anyone.. moved into a random house with other students and got on with them great. We were out one night and I kissed one of their friends. He was a really nice guy, great chemistry and he asked me did I want to go to his brother's gig a few days later. I said yeah, great, it'll be a laugh.

The fella told me he was getting there early and helping promote so I went along later with the guys I lived with, I was really looking forward to it. Well I turned the corner and outside the bar there was yer man I kissed, wearing a suit and sitting with about 15 members of his family I including his parents! I froze. He saw me and his friends and beckoned us over. His friends were laughing their holes off saying I had to go over. So off we went. Himself gave me a hug, had his arm around me introducing me to everyone, cousins everything. He wasn't a wierdo as it sounds. He just really liked me, luckily I liked him too or I would have ran far away.

The bit that still makes me cringe is that I was dressed for a gig/club in a short skirt, root boosted hair... basically the opposite of how you dress to meet parents. Although I wasn't his girlfriend at the time we are still together now and that was their first impression of me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 beta maximum

Meeting the Fockers was even worse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,557 ✭✭✭KeithM89

Back when I was in 6th year, took the GF of about 9/10 months to my debs. Instead of the customary visiting of the house beforehand for photos and sh1te, a bunch of us just went to a mates house and shared a limo from there. Later that night I took a dodgy E and had to go to hospital, she came with me and I got released at about 6am. Didn't wanna ring Mam or dad to say what happened so she called her Mam to come pick us up. The car ride home was the most tense 15 minutes of my life. Broke up a week later :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

Yup.

Been dating girl for a while. It's the day after her grad from Uni. I meet her in the student union bar where she is meeting friends for celebrations. I get a few rounds in. Suddenly, we get the idea that buying a bottle of Jager and sneaking it back in would be a great idea. 2 hours later she is paraletic. Couldn't put her in a taxi. Had to call my parents, and get them to call around with the car so we could drop her home. Brought her back to her house, had to carry her up the driveway. Parents see me from the front room and run to front door. The car was out on the road, engine running, and they saw that not only was their daughter in a state, but they presumed I had driven. I was too drunk to explain, so went back to the car and off we went.

AWKWARD.... we lasted a few years after that so they eventually heard the truth!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭Arcto

Good story but I read it a few years ago online.
    After a date I walked my then gf home from the pub. We both still lived at home with the folks, and neither of us drove so opportunities for the ol' slap an' tickle were few and far between.

Anyway after we'd walked up her long driveway I was leaning against her porch and we had a goodnight kiss. I was hankering for a bit more so I said "any chance of a blow job?"

She looked a little nervous, and replied

"The neighbours might see"

I reassured her that no-one would be up at this time, and I wouldn't make much noise. Again she voiced her reluctance. Next thing this voice boomed out of nowhere.

"Emma-Jane, either give that man his blow job, or hand job or whatever the bloody hell he wants, or I'll come down and do it myself but either way tell him to stop leaning on the bloody intercom button I've got work in the morning!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭Gillo

Arcto wrote: »

It's an urban legend.
    But this being the internet it really did happen the person who posted it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

Bout a year ago, I dropped something round to my friends, and his girlfriend was there with him with the rest of the family, he asked me to stay for a little while. I didn't know what was going on, but I said alright, so there was myself, him, his bird, and his family ( 5 sisters and a mum and dad) all in the same room, his dad for some reason was making some snide remark about his girlfriend, and he (my friend, the boyfriend) shouts 'SHES ****ING PREGNANT ALRIGHT. WE'RE GONNA MOVE OUT AND RAISE THIS KID AND LOVE EACH SO **** YOU' The girlfriend stands up and says 'I'm sick of you lot looking down at me he's right we're gonna be together forever with our baby'

The dad then went for him, and I had to get in-between them to stop them kicking each others heads in. Good craic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

I was in the middle of a "girlfriend changeover" and brought my current girlfriend to meet my parents one night.

It was awkward as fcuk as my outgoing girlfriend was in the kitchen when I got home. Had to put my incoming girlfriend in the sitting room. They had been best friends up until that point. I had to take turns going room to room and trying to be as casual as possible.

All worked well up until my dad let the cat out of the bag. He kept winking at me with approval and then asked the outgoing girlfriend if she knew the incoming one and he just strolled off into the shed laughing.

Bastard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

I love this :D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,776 ✭✭✭raze_them_all_

Arcto wrote: »

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

I was in the middle of a "girlfriend changeover" and brought my current girlfriend to meet my parents one night.

It was awkward as fcuk as my outgoing girlfriend was in the kitchen when I got home. Had to put my incoming girlfriend in the sitting room. They had been best friends up until that point. I had to take turns going room to room and trying to be as casual as possible.

All worked well up until my dad let the cat out of the bag. He kept winking at me with approval and then asked the outgoing girlfriend if she knew the incoming one and he just strolled off into the shed laughing.

Bastard.

We need the backstory to that!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

Bastard.

Legend! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Bastard.

Was the outgoing one still alive ? And was your father heading to the shed for a shovel to bury her with ?

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,211 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Bastard.

The sh1t stirring git. Brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭Diemos

I was visiting an ex girlfriend's house, first time meeting most of her family, so over dinner, my ex asks me "You know those viruses that changes the number of your ISP to a high toll one that leaves you with a massive phone bill, how do you get them?" Odd dinner table talk but I was studying IT at the time so I ran with it. "Probably just downloading dodgy porn." at which point she turns to her older brother and starts giving out to him for looking at porn on the family PC. I didn't know were to look, I'm just thinking, I'm in his bad books already!
    A few hours later her mother has drank a fair bit and she comes over and sits beside me and says "My daughter likes you a lot.....if you hurt her I have the money and know the people that can make things happen to you." I wasn't really sure how to react, I'd just been threatened but had also just been told that the girl was into me, which I was chuffed about, so I just sat there with my mouth open until my ex grabbed her mother and marched her out of the room.

The strangest thing is outside of those two incidents the family could not have been nicer to me, lovely family.
    But I was never nervous about meeting another girls family after that. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,336 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Yeah....... she was always going on about her sisters' boyfriends and telling the stories of the run up the hill. It was something of a family legend. Foolishly (again) I thought I would add to the legend, ingratiate myself with the family while impressing her.

I was never too sure if he just didn't like being beaten.......or if he didn't like being beaten by a Dub.......or if he didn't like being beaten by a rugby player :D
    The da sounds like an absolute eejit, to be fair. Sounds like he always got a kick out of humiliating the younger lads but didn't like the taste of his own medicine. Also, glad to hear you steered clear of her after as it sounds like she picked up this way of thinking from him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Hotfail.com

cloud493 wrote: »
    Bout a year ago, I dropped something round to my friends, and his girlfriend was there with him with the rest of the family, he asked me to stay for a little while. I didn't know what was going on, but I said alright, so there was myself, him, his bird, and his family ( 5 sisters and a mum and dad) all in the same room, his dad for some reason was making some snide remark about his girlfriend, and he (my friend, the boyfriend) shouts 'SHES ****ING PREGNANT ALRIGHT. WE'RE GONNA MOVE OUT AND RAISE THIS KID AND LOVE EACH SO **** YOU' The girlfriend stands up and says 'I'm sick of you lot looking down at me he's right we're gonna be together forever with our baby'

The dad then went for him, and I had to get in-between them to stop them kicking each others heads in. Good craic.

What the f*ck is wrong with that family? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭The Cool

Not quite a meeting the parents story. Luckily my OH's parents are lovely but they are one of those really catholic families and I, being the dirty protestant that I am, wasn't quite used to all the Jesus paraphernalia around the house. The first time I went to their house, unlike at my gaff I was allowed to sleep in his bed with him; into the bed I hopped, dying for some cuddles (etc ;) ) as I hadn't seen him in a month. Looked up and hanging above the bed was a painting of Jesus set against a scenic landscape surrounded by 7 angel baby heads. Turned out it had been his granny's bedroom until she died, and she had gotten this painting to mark her 7 miscarriages. There was no hanky panky that night!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

What the f*ck is wrong with that family? :pac:

Lotta bad feelings, never really talking to each other, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭lynski

An ex of mine went to the pub to meet my sister before I got off the train one weekend. He had his clothes stolen off the line that day and he didn't even say hello to her just launched into a rant about ****ing nackers (genetic not specific) stealing his gear and the seven kinds of **** he was going to kick out if them. He downed a pint and a short and gave a good colourful rant. My sis had not gotten a word in until he looked at her and the older man sitting next to her with open mouths. The person he thought was some randomer he suddenly realised was actually my dad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭Gandalph

I'm sure loads of us have been in the awkward position of meeting your partners parents for dinner...who don't speak English. You try to smile and laugh with the rest of the group, but you have no idea at what.

Had a Russian girl over for dinner recently and didn't know my grandparents would be there. Lets just say they don't thread lightly on current affairs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

One of the first trips meeting the MIL involved spending a day at an outdoor sauna. Was kind of awkward spending the day naked together.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

He sounds like a right geebag.

Happy to compete as long as he wins. What a loser.

Well done Jawgap!

Oh yeah! My uncle-in-law a few years ago turned up at his daughter's boyfriend's house all shouting and making a scene and threatening to kill him when he heard she was seeing a boy from town (i.e. a boy with no land to his name). Banned her from the home place immediately and the rest of the family from contacting her, with the exception of the mother's wake she hasn't been in the door since.