Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Unreal Ted

• 27-07-2014 3:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭

Unreal stuff.

Was in a tight match in a society game and needed a par on last to win - good for the banter and slagging as we are all close friends.

Hit an absolute cracker off the last tee - and we were walking off tee - see 3 lads cross our fairway . One bent down just at my ball picked it up and walked on. :mad::(:D

I gave a roar and he just kept walking to car park - as it was a cracker it was 280 yards away ;):D

I walked a bit faster to look around area , but was not at edge of fairway - didn't know what to do. just as I got to car park they drove off. But was thinking if somebody would do that , they could be a bit of a headbanger. Is it a person who you should approach at all :confused:

Then - I was thinking this is strange - what is the rule.

as luck would have it their trolley marks were in rough , so I could get where ball was with decent accuracy. The lads let me play from there and got the par.

Finished out with the lovely smell of the meat factory - nice little course. Some mental people out there.

18-1. By Outside Agency

If a ball at rest is moved by an outside agency, there is no penalty and the ball must be replaced.

Note: It is a question of fact whether a ball has been moved by an outside agency. In order to apply this Rule, it must be known or virtually certain that an outside agency has moved the ball. In the absence of such knowledge or certainty, the player must play the ball as it lies or, if the ball is not found, proceed under Rule 27-1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭the lawman

That is peculiar Fix. Was it a nice shiny ProV? Maybe he thought it was a fabrege egg?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭Slicemeister

Same happened to me a month ago. Teed off on a par 3 pulled it slightly and it came to rest in rough headland at the back of the green. Cue the greenkeeper driving into the scene on the self propelled lawnmower. Duely chopped my ball into smithereens and continued on his merry way. I dropped and played my second from where we all agreed was it had come to rest.

Funny as hell as he was totally oblivious to anything had ever happened!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

the lawman wrote: »
    That is peculiar Fix. Was it a nice shiny ProV? Maybe he thought it was a fabrege egg?

So nonchanlantly done. A packed golf course - golfers coming up the fairway - Bridgstone tour - I'd put the pro v in a previous water hazard. :p

I'm always banging on about the need for golf to open up and be more inclusive - this lad is a step too far.

Was thinking after maybe I should have given reg to club.

Anyway -It was more the idea of not getting my par that had me wound up. As my father would say - if he is going to do something like that - he needs it more than you :D Actually , my Dad would have walked over to him and handed him 10 balls - a character like that. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭ForeRight

So nonchanlantly done. A packed golf course - golfers coming up the fairway - Bridgstone tour - I'd put the pro v in a previous water hazard. :p

I'm always banging on about the need for golf to open up and be more inclusive - this lad is a step too far.

Was thinking after maybe I should have given reg to club.

Anyway -It was more the idea of not getting my par that had me wound up. As my father would say - if he is going to do something like that - he needs it more than you :D Actually , my Dad would have walked over to him and handed him 10 balls - a character like that. :)

Seems to be rampant lately

ForeRight wrote: »
    Seems to be rampant lately

This lad only likes good golf balls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

Unreal stuff.
    Finished out with the lovely smell of the meat factory - nice little course. Some mental people out there.

You always need to keep an eye on your balls when in the vicinity of a meat factory...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 frost53

What course?

frost53 wrote: »
    What course?

Cahir Park.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,564 ✭✭✭kiers47

Cahir Park.

You'd want to watch them Tipp lads. Shower of cowboys!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,730 ✭✭✭dan_ep82

I was out for a casual round last week with my younger brother as a two some and we inevitably got caught up behind a 4 ball.

They had carts but just weren't very good so we just hung back a bit and played two balls on most holes. Still spent about 45minutes on the tee boxes as they liked to have a chat on the tee box every hole, anyway..

Hit a decent drive on the 13th, just pulled it a little but left me a PW in. Hit the shot but it clipped a branch and threw it down left towards the group in front ( tee box is adjacent to green) and let a roar of fore left. Ball dropped harmlessly about 20yds behind them. Got up there, ball gone and dirty from the group in front. Just skipped a few holes to get ahead of them

Thought it a bit unfair as we were ducking golf balls from two of them all day

What did you make of Cahir Park Fdp? My home course.

Smell is unreal at first.

But a lovely course. Was no surprise when I seen it was a Hackett design. Greens very good and nice mix of holes at start. Great front 9 actually.

The new section is fairly up and down straight. Not as good as older piece.

But at least it finishes well with 16 . 17 and 18.
    cut back (maybe too much). Suited us as we have players beginning.
    A course you should score well on (imo).

I like society golf as you get great deals and then come across nice little courses . That frankly you would never hear off.

Nice meal after. But stolen ball. Bad taste.

Brutal carry on all told. They would've been walking off the third green home, as it's a handy few holes extra. I'm gonna say it in the pro shop next weekend not that it's going to do anything.
    Yeah the first half of the back 9 can be monotonous, they're generally scoring holes if the wind is slack. Never got that bad smell tbh, but must've been rank. Gas what can be taken away from any course at any time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Davidth88

Reminds me of when I lived in London , playing a course which is adjacent to a pretty rough estate. Hit a nice drive and watched and two little scrotes ran over picked the ball up and ran off

As for gas/ smell , anyone played Stockley Park in London , built on a old landfill ... some holes on a wet day you can actually see the bubbles of methane coming up through the ground , I wouldn't smoke on that course. ( its a nice track though )

Brutal carry on all told. They would've been walking off the third green home, as it's a handy few holes extra. I'm gonna say it in the pro shop next weekend not that it's going to do anything.
    Yeah the first half of the back 9 can be monotonous, they're generally scoring holes if the wind is slack. Never got that bad smell tbh, but must've been rank. Gas what can be taken away from any course at any time.

Must have been the day and weather we have had so.

Have to say the front nine are a hidden gem.

Do you hit an Iron of first ?

I wouldn't, normally 3wood driver down the right hand side let it run out down left for a 160 yard approach. Wouldn't be hitting it 280 either though ;-). For yourself a 200 210 club would be plenty off the whites. Just thinking ye probably played the yellows so that'd be 4 iron 5 wood here.
    What did you hit on 16? Can never club it, could be GW to 8 iron here.

I wouldn't, normally 3wood driver down the right hand side let it run out down left for a 160 yard approach. Wouldn't be hitting it 280 either though ;-). For yourself a 200 210 club would be plenty off the whites. Just thinking ye probably played the yellows so that'd be 4 iron 5 wood here.
    What did you hit on 16? Can never club it, could be GW to 8 iron here.

First hit 6 and 48 degree. A bit of tail wind. (We played whites)

16 - 48 degree. A bit of a head wind. Nice shot 9 feet . Playing partner got inside for nearest pin.

Very enjoyable round. Well , played well . That helps too.