Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Flipping clutch.....

• 25-07-2014 5:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭

Clutch went in the Fiat today, right pain cause I really didn't need this:rolleyes:
    I had put this plate and kit in about 6 years ago, but it wouldn't have 1500 hours on it. Rang the dealer, and the replacement is €500 plus the Vodka And Tonic.
    Asked the parts guy should a Bronze paddle clutch not last more than 1500 hours, he said the record for their garage was 200 hours!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Damo810

€500+ for what they seem to think should be 200 hours work is ridiculous. And it should be lasting more than 1500 too, what work were you doing with it? Just general work I presume?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

General work, spread a bit of slurry, bit of hedge cutting, spread fert. Most arduous would be pushing up silage with a front linkage mounted rake. nothing major, about 50 acres silage a year. No loader on her.
    The garage was referring to the shortest length of time it took a customer to destroy a newly fitted clutch...............
    Just googled it, and WR Shaw are 415 plus vat, so that's a start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭mengele

what model fiat is she. any pic with her on the pit?

1986 90-90. no pic on the pit, but one ready for action.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭mengele

Nekarsulm wrote: »

nice. what silage harvester are you keeping at bay. id say the biggest flaw with that job would be medium reverse would be a bit slow coming off the bit and high reverse would be too fast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Does she have the hand clutch for the pto?

yeah, all 90 series Fiats up to the 115-90 have the hand clutch lever.130's up 180-90s have wet clutach packs for PTO.
    PTO plate seldom wears . They are a bit odd in that the PTO plate clamps up against the fly wheel, and the main drive plate clamps up against the false fly wheel. opposite to what you would expect.

Would that have anything to do with it?

possibly. i think the David Brown/Case 1494 etc were the same, and they were fond of clutch plates as well. But it means that even when using a plate with the bronze buttons, you don't have to ever skim a flywheel, just throw in the kit and slap her together again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,457 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Know feck all about the mechanics of tractors but a few years ago OH had a problem with the clutch in his Fiat (I think its an 880??).
    He brought it to the local lad who put in a new part. Not sure if it was a pressure plate/fly wheel/release bearings, but I do remember at the time talk about bronze pressure plates ???
    Anyway what ever the local guy did it did not solve the problem.
    I phoned my local farm machinery company in NCD who used to sell Fiat's years ago. They told me to contact a company in Rosenallis in Co. Laois - I cannot remember the name.
    When we phoned them and told them what the problem was, they got a guy to phone us back. The guy who phoned us back could probably put any Fiat together if all the parts were scattered hither and titter on the ground.
    Have to say, fair play to that company in Co. Laois. Right crowd, we got our clutch problem sorted out due to their advice and they did not receive a single penny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭jt65

Base price wrote: »
    Know feck all about the mechanics of tractors but a few years ago OH had a problem with the clutch in his Fiat (I think its an 880??).
    He brought it to the local lad who put in a new part. Not sure if it was a pressure plate/fly wheel/release bearings, but I do remember at the time talk about bronze pressure plates ???
    Anyway what ever the local guy did it did not solve the problem.
    I phoned my local farm machinery company in NCD who used to sell Fiat's years ago. They told me to contact a company in Rosenallis in Co. Laois - I cannot remember the name.
    When we phoned them and told them what the problem was, they got a guy to phone us back. The guy who phoned us back could probably put any Fiat together if all the parts were scattered hither and titter on the ground.
    Have to say, fair play to that company in Co. Laois. Right crowd, we got our clutch problem sorted out due to their advice and they did not receive a single penny.

was it Shaw's .... in Tullamore now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭the al kid

`i have a Fiat 80/90 - 6500 hrs on her and she is on her 4th clutch.90% of what she does is loader work so maybe cant complain too much.

Al

jt65 wrote: »
    was it Shaw's .... in Tullamore now

Probably W R Shaws, that's where I bought this tractor. He sold hundreds to Bord na Mona every year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

Could be Mike Garahy either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

the al kid wrote: »
    `i have a Fiat 80/90 - 6500 hrs on her and she is on her 4th clutch.90% of what she does is loader work so maybe cant complain too much.

Al

That is bad.
    We sold a case here in spring had her from new in 99. Left with18k hrs and only two clutches put in

Got the kit there now. 600 notes all in. "surprised" to see that the bearings are CNH brand made in China..........You would like to see "Made in Germany" on the box instead, FAG, Weasler or even Timken.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Got the kit there now. 600 notes all in. "surprised" to see that the bearings are CNH brand made in China..........You would like to see "Made in Germany" on the box instead, FAG, Weasler or even Timken.

Don't be "surprised". A few years back a neighbour went on a tour of JD factory in Mannheim, guess what sort of bearings were going into the gearboxes?

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

blue5000 wrote: »
    Don't be "surprised". A few years back a neighbour went on a tour of JD factory in Mannheim, guess what sort of bearings were going into the gearboxes?

Shyte ones

Photo 1, Good breakfast in, 12 noon.

Photo 2, 2.10pm

Photo 3, new clutch totally different. Attached with 12 five inch long bolts, as compared to the old units 6 two inch long bolts.
    GRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR.

mengele wrote: »
    nice. what silage harvester are you keeping at bay. id say the biggest flaw with that job would be medium reverse would be a bit slow coming off the bit and high reverse would be too fast.

Keeping in front of either a tenX or a Mengele SN40, whichever is being used, contractor has both. Yeah, gears not ideal, you often find yourself shifting 2 levers. missed your post earlier, Mengele.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Got a few parts off a massey dealer and the genuine parts were made in China too. Was told that as it was lasered onto the part it wasn't too bad

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Photo 1, Good breakfast in, 12 noon.

Photo 2, 2.10pm

Photo 3, new clutch totally different. Attached with 12 five inch long bolts, as compared to the old units 6 two inch long bolts.
    GRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR.

Not your first time at that so Neks.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

The plan was have it back together in time for the tea. best laid plans and all that.......

Have you a 'railway track' system made up there? When I first seen one in classic tractor l thought ' there's a bright idea!'

Muckit wrote: »
    Have you a 'railway track' system made up there? When I first seen one in classic tractor l thought ' there's a bright idea!'

That's the normal splitting mechanism. Only job for it

Yeah, just two lengths of 3 inch angle iron welded into a rectangular shape, and a trolley on rollers to fit between the rails.

Anyway, she is back together again!

I like the home made roof :D

nashmach wrote: »
    I like the home made roof :D

About a year after I bought it, I discovered the roof was mainly Isopan and fibreglass.:D
    Not an unusual occurrence............

About a year after I bought it, I discovered the roof was mainly Isopan and fibreglass.:D
    Not an unusual occurrence............

Indeed but I see you have more air con now as well :D

nashmach wrote: »
    Indeed but I see you have more air con now as well :D

"I'll just run the hedge cutter down the lane and along the roadside, to clear the line of sight. 10 minute job, no need to put on the mesh guards"

Pane of glass for the door, 146 Euro :o

"I'll just run the hedge cutter down the lane and along the roadside, to clear the line of sight. 10 minute job, no need to put on the mesh guards"

Pane of glass for the door, 146 Euro :o

We've never bust the window in the tractor hedge cutting and haven't got guards

There is a clay bank along one side of our road, about 4 foot high, and I managed to touch it with the flail head, and put a stone in through the door glass. Without guards, the bits of sticks would have the paint hammered off the left hand side of the tractor, and twigs etc. even getting in through the engine side panel vents, and sit on the exhaust manifold. Giving a toasty smell before too long. I made a nice plywood panel to protect the engine side panel, and last time I took it off, found a 3 inch piece of tensile wire had actually pierced the plywood.

Don't tempt fate!

Seen this yesterday on Facebook. Looks a good idea

Heavy plastic is it

Reggie. wrote: »
    Heavy plastic is it

Some crowd in clonmel make them. Its a vusdhioned yoke from what I can tell. Fits all around the bonnet

Wonder if the engine gets enough air for cooling

Tractor bra, or New Holland Niqab?? :D:D