Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Iphone & smartphone apps for farming

• 25-07-2014 9:49am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭

ok took the bold leap from Blackberry to Iphone and well what apps are any good for farming.

Maybe we could compile a top 10 list for farmers relating to farming

and another list for not farming but you use or enjoy using.

The only real app up to now i have used is
    • twitter,
    • whatapp,
    • accuweather
    • facebook (now deleted)
    going to set up a dropbox account today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

ok took the bold leap from Blackberry to Iphone and well what apps are any good for farming.

Maybe we could compile a top 10 list for farmers relating to farming

and another list for not farming but you use or enjoy using.

The only real app up to now i have used is
    • twitter,
    • whatapp,
    • accuweather
    • facebook (now deleted)
    going to set up a dropbox account today

Donedeal
    Measure your land
    Banking apps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Met.ie - for the rainfall radar
    Ag DNA - farm app can gps track so you can see where you've missed (gonna use it with the napsack)
    Find iPhone - for when the phone flake out of your pocket

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭whitebriar

Viber for free calls on wifi worldwide and texts mms free etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

I'd be interested in this too, have a free phone to pick tomorrow and unsure of what to get. Android or iphone?

Not hijicking your thread lakill, I swear;):D (I also want to know about apps!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭exercise is the antidote

Herdwatch it costs money but is a great thing to have http://www.herdwatch.ie/
    No farming related:
    Mapmyrun if your into keeping fit! It gives time,distance,speed,calories burned!

iPhone all the way kovu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,656 ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

.Kovu. wrote: »
    I'd be interested in this too, have a free phone to pick tomorrow and unsure of what to get. Android or iphone?

Both are good, and TBH 90% of the apps you're looking for are available for both. I have an iPhone because it was given to me as a gift, though personally if I were buying, it would be android - you're not locked into apple's OS.

Nobody's mentioned the boards app yet??? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 743 ✭✭✭GrandSoftDay

Much of a muchness to be honest Kovu, I have an iPhone 5s but I would have been as happy with a good android phone. There's more free apps on android I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

Might not be classified as an app but you have to have Farming and Forestry boards on there somewhere easily accessible:)

Android app has been out for a few weeks now... :)
    https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.distilledmedia.boards.ie&hl=en

iPhone version is coming shortly, as far as I know....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Zr105

Depending on your fert spreader most makes seem to have a settings app nowadays!

Yr.no ap for weather,
    Multi convert is handy for changing between various different units, for example cubic feet to gallons if trying to work out whats in the slatted tank...

Farm scout, good for measuring
    Or measure my land as said above,

Have one called hours keeper here, the free version only let's you keep 2 clients hours but its handy, i use it for work, tap clock in going in the gate and clock out going out the gate and it's all there on phone at end of week!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

No problem. I went with iphone 5s on emobile for 35 plus vat. I had been vodafone for 16 years and will they broke my balls in the end.

35 covers unlimited calls, texts to ROI , NI and UK, 15mb data, alot of calls and texts and date in europe and some if in USA. good overall plan

No problem. I went with iphone 5s on emobile for 35 plus vat. I had been vodafone for 16 years and will they broke my balls in the end.

35 covers unlimited calls, texts to ROI , NI and UK, 15mb data, alot of calls and texts and date in europe and some if in USA. good overall plan

Jez that does sound a good plan! 3prepay myself atm, but mum seems to be being robbed on O2 atm, only gets a crapy low data limit...
    Actually is that 15mb or gb?

How long is the contract?
    O2 want to give me one as I'm gold upgrade or something:confused:

But they also want to sign me in for another 12/18 months.....

How long is the contract?
    O2 want to give me one as I'm gold upgrade or something:confused:

But they also want to sign me in for another 12/18 months.....

its for 24 months. and also has lifetime thing where they promise to never charge more but if the rates reduce you can renew your contract to the lower.

Reversal of upwards only rent in a way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,364 ✭✭✭arctictree

Would love a mobile app to store all things sheep related from tagging to dosing to lambing but cant find any! At the moment I just use a notes app on my phone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

Agrinet should do that, think they have an app out. Must get it on my phone before calving kicks off be handy to register and all in the shed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,842 ✭✭✭roosterman71

Can someone put links up for the Android ones? If you search for "Measure your land" or "Ag dna" ya get loads of options, but which is the right/best one

Seeing as there's such a wealth of information here regarding farming apps, and some posters have already had experience with them and can sort the good apps from the bad, feel free to post them up here and the mods will compile a list to be added to our "Useful Links" sticky. If you have links to it, even better, but if not, don't worry.

We'll try to compile an iPhone/Android list to keep both camps happy.

Regards,
    Mike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

Snapchat.......

nobody wants to flashing :P.

At least have a few burgers before the breeze starts up are carrys you away :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭Cow Porter

android here
    The usual snapchat, what's app, viber.

News:
    Rte
    Bbc

Agri news and markets:
    Gleadell mobile
    Hutchinsons by breeze

Classifieds :
    Buy and sell
    Donedeal
    Toplink

Area measure:
    Connected farm scout by trimble
    Gps field area measure by studio no frame
    Arc his by esri

Calculator plus by digital chemy llc
    Unit convertor pro by smart tools co
    Farming calculator pro by SamF
    Simple loan calculator by Andrei samkov

Rauch for fertiliser
    Noise meter
    Power check by esb

Pesticide control service
    Sprayer calibration calculator by agg apps
    Tank mix by tap logic llc
    Weed Id by basf

Weather:
    Met eireann
    Weather pro by meto group
    Yr by nrk

Ted
    Adobe reader
    Flightradar 24
    Lumosity - brain challenge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭trixi2011

Have an ipone that came with my last job , herself has the new Samsung galaxy android and its way better for every thing, you can even use it as a tv remote :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

Milked out wrote: »
    Agrinet should do that, think they have an app out. Must get it on my phone before calving kicks off be handy to register and all in the shed

Have agrinet on my phone. Registration dosing grass measuring etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

I've a HTC One and like it. Never a problem with it.

Chap in work got the Sony Xperia Z1. It's some phone. And waterproof to 1.5m for 30mins. The Z2 is the newer version, but I think hard to get & expensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭Cow Porter

I've a HTC One and like it. Never a problem with it.

Chap in work got the Sony Xperia Z1. It's some phone. And waterproof to 1.5m for 30mins. The Z2 is the newer version, but I think hard to get & expensive.

Z1 compact here with a couple of months. Thought the z1 was too big for the pocket. Happy out do far. 50 for the phone, 24 month meteor contract.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

trixi2011 wrote: »
    Have an ipone that came with my last job , herself has the new Samsung galaxy android and its way better for every thing, you can even use it as a tv remote :)

have an iphone myself and happy enough with it, friend has an samsung s4 and its feckin massive, pig of a phone imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

simx wrote: »
    have an iphone myself and happy enough with it, friend has an samsung s4 and its feckin massive, pig of a phone imo

Have one myself. You get used to the size tho

• Closed Accounts Posts: 743 ✭✭✭GrandSoftDay

Reggie. wrote: »

Main reason I got an iPhone, fits nicely in the pocket!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

that's what she said last night :)

td5man wrote: »
    that's what she said last night :)

Trust you :rolleyes::D

simx wrote: »

First time i saw an s4 was when i was over in oz and there was a rather small woman using it, i burst out laughin in the middle of the street cause it was bigger than both her face and her hand.... She was actually having to use both hands to talk on it....

Zr105 wrote: »
    First time i saw an s4 was when i was over in oz and there was a rather small woman using it, i burst out laughin in the middle of the street cause it was bigger than both her face and her hand.... She was actually having to use both hands to talk on it....

See must have been real small so

She was but at the same time thinking back it was also quite possible it was one of the really small tablets, but I'm not sure if anyone would be using it as a phone on the side of the street! It was definitly a samsung tho and i spotted it as had just been in the samsung store the day before and had looked at how much bigger than the iphone 4 it was!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

Is thete a free app to allow you amend & update word / excell files?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,718 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Camera has to be the most regular used here.
    Record tags, something broken, part numbers. Just about anything for recording to deal with later. Take a snap and you'll have it.

Handy at ploughing or anywhere you see a good idea or clever gadget.

After that Donedeal ;)

_Brian wrote: »
    Camera has to be the most regular used here.
    Record tags, something broken, part numbers. Just about anything for recording to deal with later. Take a snap and you'll have it.

Handy at ploughing or anywhere you see a good idea or clever gadget.

After that Donedeal ;)
    I got in bother more than once at the ploughing for taking photos of "clever ideas"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Farrell wrote: »

Not that ive been able to find :(

There's a stripped down version of Office for android that allows you to do it I think. I'll take a look on the tablet when I get home and post the details up here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,718 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

I got in bother more than once at the ploughing for taking photos of "clever ideas"

Really.
    I bring a small tape too ;)

Just checked what I was using - it's called OfficeSuite, by Mobile Systems - available for iPhone and android.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

There's an app that comes with Windows phones although I'm not sure it's enough to recommend the OS.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

_Brian wrote: »
    Really.
    I bring a small tape too ;)

I'd be gutted if I tried that :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭Crossakiel

Agriland.ie have just launched an app, looks pretty good http://www.agriland.ie/news/agrilands-free-news-app-launched/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

How yee lads and lassies.
    Found this and thought it might be pf some use to some of yee..... :)

Veterinary Excellence Tool by Norbrook Laboratories Ltd
    https://appsto.re/ie/JJD0B.i

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭case5130

Looks useful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭jimmynokia

Been there for 3 years and only noticed now looks handy for what its aimed at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,457 ✭✭✭✭Base price

I find this one useful https://www.hpra.ie/homepage/veterinary/veterinary-medicines-information/find-a-medicine as it covers all veterinary/animal medicines/doses prescribed/sold in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭jimmynokia

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

There's a new column in The Journal called something like 'Useful Apps' and this week they covered weather.

After being patriotic and giving Met Eireann a cursory nod, they named Yr.no as another weather app worth a look.

I gave it a try and in fairness, it's handy alright. You can search for your county and it gives a nice summary of the coming week as well as what's expected for the next 24 hours.

I'm not a big app user, but i was wondering if a 'Useful Apps' thread might be useful on here, similar to the Labour Saving and General Guntering thread?

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

I think we had one but it went awol, give me a few mins and I might dig it up.