Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

IN LAWS ........

• 22-07-2014 7:48am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭

The in laws

What are yours like ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,748 ✭✭✭✭Lovely Bloke

Mine are grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Sadderday

do you not get to you in anyway???????

Despite being married twice I have never had any parents in law, but I have lots of in laws and they are all grand.

they dont get to you at all ?

Ever spent a weekend with your in laws... ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭Bacchus

Mine are lovely. The Dad is a sound guy, worked hard all his life in interesting places around the world. We've developed a nice mutual respect for each other over the years. The Mom is one of those glass half full people. Plus, she loves to bake a nice apple pie if she knows we're coming up for a visit :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭comongethappy

Sadderday wrote: »
    Ever spent a weekend with your in laws... ???

They aren't my type.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

Mine are sound, Have them staying in a couple of weeks. Her dad loves a pint and a chat and is someone i have a lot in common with. Mom is a bubbly funny gal who is always smiling and laughing. Basically my kinda people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,928 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

mine are outlaws.
    Yeeeowwww!:D

Just asking because I've always been very fond of my in laws....

The aul lad is sound and the mother still feels like she has to make a fuss of me when I go over... I wish she would relax a bit but its really lovely!

.... Just sometimes if i'm around them for extended periods of time I notice something. While I love them and I think they are fond of me... I'm not overly impressed sometimes about how they speak to my OH !

I have to take a step back, we're adults etc etc but it bothers me no end!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

Mine are great. Both lovely and very quiet.

My sister in law is friendly and always tries to make me feel comfortable. Her kids like me, which is nice, they're great kids.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Mine are some of the nicest people you could ever wish to meet.

The dad, hard working man all his life, recently retired, honest individual who I could only hope to be half as much as a devoted family man as he is.

The mother in law, lovely kind woman, great cook , again, devoted family woman who is her twilight years is still very much a mothering figure.

Couple of sister in laws also, and both they and their spouses are lovely too.

I was extremely lucky to have married into their family tbh.

My husband got the sh*t in laws. They never welcomed him into the family, despite liking him and being happy for us.

Same with the partners of my siblings. My dad is a dick and my mam just goes along with him.

I feel embarrassed that his family welcome me and treat me as part of the family and mine never did that for him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

I don't have in-laws, but my boyfriend's family love me and always include me in family things. Similarly, my family love him and he gets on great with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

My ex wife's mother was a right old sour bitch, The father was a lunatic, her brothers and sisters are a right mix of jealousy,gossip mongers and nasty people, I on the other is a saint as is my family.

Don't judge too harshly, for if your weaknesses were to be placed under your footsteps, most likely you would stumble and fall as well.”
    ― Richelle E. Goodrich

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

mauzo! wrote: »
    My husband got the sh*t in laws. They never welcomed him into the family, despite liking him and being happy for us.

Same with the partners of my siblings. My dad is a dick and my mam just goes along with him.

I feel embarrassed that his family welcome me and treat me as part of the family and mine never did that for him.

Same here. May partner is Polish, we're together 10 years. When I told my father that I was seeing someone from Poland, 'Well- at least she's European' (another member of the family was married to an African at the time).
    Any time we've gone back to the family home she's never made feel welcome by my mother, never spoken to directly. One time we were having a family photo taken and she was asked to step out of it by the mother.

Contrast that to any time I go to visit her family in Poland- I'm made to feel like royalty. Always collected from the airport, tons of food on the table when we get there. The extended family are miffed if you don't come and visit them. Her father is a lovely guy- a very practical guy who loves spending time in his garden/workshop. We can barely speak with each other but will stay up late into the night going through a bottle of vodka.

While her family are lovely, my folks have never made her feel welcome.

It would be lovely if everyone liked everyone but I suppose it doesn't really matter does it !?

Feck it, you love who you love - you dont have to love their mother.

Same here. May partner is Polish, we're together 10 years. When I told my father that I was seeing someone from Poland, 'Well- at least she's European' (another member of the family was married to an African at the time).
    Any time we've gone back to the family home she's never made feel welcome by my mother, never spoken to directly. One time we were having a family photo taken and she was asked to step out of it by the mother.

Contrast that to any time I go to visit her family in Poland- I'm made to feel like royalty. Always collected from the airport, tons of food on the table when we get there. The extended family are miffed if you don't come and visit them. Her father is a lovely guy- a very practical guy who loves spending time in his garden/workshop. We can barely speak with each other but will stay up late into the night going through a bottle of vodka.

While her family are lovely, my folks have never made her feel welcome.

Its mortifying isn't it? My family have parties we're not invited to, including my mothers 60th last month.

We don't talk about it, I see them rarely and its just known that my Husband isn't welcome in their home.

I think I'm going to cut all ties actually. They're the kind of people that are always saints and its everyone else who's at fault. They love to sit around drinking and gossiping, then the next night they're gossiping about the people they were friendly with the night before.

I just can't do it anymore. I hate the bitchiness and I'm sick of being left out just because I don't play the game.

Its mortifying isn't it? My family have parties we're not invited to, including my mothers 60th last month.

We don't talk about it, I see them rarely and its just known that my Husband isn't welcome in their home.

I think I'm going to cut all ties actually. They're the kind of people that are always saints and its everyone else who's at fault. They love to sit around drinking and gossiping, then the next night they're gossiping about the people they were friendly with the night before.

I just can't do it anymore. I hate the bitchiness and I'm sick of being left out just because I don't play the game.

Did you attempt to sit them down and just straight out ask what the problem is ?

Yeah, brought them to family therapy. My dad apologised and it was OK for a few weeks. Then he got bad again and my mam said the therapist ambushed him.

I'm done with them, but now I'll be the bad guy, they did nothing wrong.

I sat home one day crying because my sister, 4 aunts and my mam went dress shopping one day without me. Sat there talking about how excited they were to look at dresses, for my wedding.

Sorry for derailing, just needed to vent. My husband just says they're family and you have to forgive, but I just can't. Theyve been at it years now.

Yeah, brought them to family therapy. My dad apologised and it was OK for a few weeks. Then he got bad again and my mam said the therapist ambushed him.

I'm done with them, but now I'll be the bad guy, they did nothing wrong.

I sat home one day crying because my sister, 4 aunts and my mam went dress shopping one day without me. Sat there talking about how excited they were to look at dresses, for my wedding.

Sorry for derailing, just needed to vent. My husband just says they're family and you have to forgive, but I just can't. Theyve been at it years now.

................ I know your love your OH so its hard to admit - but has he given them a reason to dislike him ? Or did you spend the early days of the relationship telling them about your arguments ?

It's just I know that this can cause tension!!

If not, give up. We don't choose our family so sometimes you get the short straw.

If anything affects your life in anyway thats not positive - blank it, like you would blank a t-shirt with a stain on it... you might be happier if your efforts were placed elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

It certainly is. We bought our home in 2011- potentially the biggest thing a child will do- neither of my parents have been up to see it despite living just 22km away. We've offered to collect them from the train station, drive down and pick them up on a day of their choice etc. 'Yeah we'll get around to it'. Meanwhile her mother has been all the way from Poland twice, while her father who fears flying has even come.
    I feel really bad for her parents as they want to meet mine but we haven't arranged it. We've nicely tried to tell them that they aren't such nice people but they can't understand that, insisting 'But they're your parents'.

The only thing I can say mauzo! is that you shouldn't stress out about people who are selfish and unwilling to show basic respect towards the most important person in your life. I learnt ages ago to concentrate on my missus, her family and my siblings. I rarely visit the folks and only call them occasionally. You make choices in life and theirs has been to show little respect and no love towards my partner whom I adore.

They aren't worth the effort if they can't return a bare minimum of respect, so move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,284 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Anagram for Mother In Law, Woman Hitler, if the shoe fits.

................ I know your love your OH so its hard to admit - but has he given them a reason to dislike him ? Or did you spend the early days of the relationship telling them about your arguments ?

It's just I know that this can cause tension!!

If not, give up. We don't choose our family so sometimes you get the short straw.

If anything affects your life in anyway thats not positive - blank it, like you would blank a t-shirt with a stain on it... you might be happier if your efforts were placed elsewhere.

He's never done anything, they've said themselves he's lovely. Its me they have the issue with,they don't know what it is though.

I'm the only sane one, I swear. I don't want to be two faced or bitchy, so I get excluded and I dont exist to them.

Ah well :o sorry, back on topic, my in laws include me and I'm part of their family now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Buzz Killington the third

He's never done anything, they've said themselves he's lovely. Its me they have the issue with,they don't know what it is though.

I'm the only sane one, I swear. I don't want to be two faced or bitchy, so I get excluded and I dont exist to them.

Ah well :o sorry, back on topic, my in laws include me and I'm part of their family now

I don't want to bring up old posts but you previously mentioned that you got married within months of meeting your husband. I know from a friend who did something similar, her family just stopped taking her seriously and told anyone who'd listen about how 'silly and idiotic' she was to get herself into that situation. She eventually just drifted apart from them.

Well, luckily you get that parental love from your in laws !, not the same I know but you need that support from somewhere.

Distance yourself from anyone that is going to negatively affect your relationship. Even if your OH was a big a'ss, your an adult so they should respect your decision to make your own mind up and be polite towards him.

It certainly is. We bought our home in 2011- potentially the biggest thing a child will do- neither of my parents have been up to see it despite living just 22km away. We've offered to collect them from the train station, drive down and pick them up on a day of their choice etc. 'Yeah we'll get around to it'. Meanwhile her mother has been all the way from Poland twice, while her father who fears flying has even come.
    I feel really bad for her parents as they want to meet mine but we haven't arranged it. We've nicely tried to tell them that they aren't such nice people but they can't understand that, insisting 'But they're your parents'.

The only thing I can say mauzo! is that you shouldn't stress out about people who are selfish and unwilling to show basic respect towards the most important person in your life. I learnt ages ago to concentrate on my missus, her family and my siblings. I rarely visit the folks and only call them occasionally. You make choices in life and theirs has been to show little respect and no love towards my partner whom I adore.

They aren't worth the effort if they can't return a bare minimum of respect, so move on.

Your in laws sound amazing!

I don't want to bring up old posts but you previously mentioned that you got married within months of meeting your husband. I know from a friend who did something similar, her family just stopped taking her seriously and told anyone who'd listen about how 'silly and idiotic' she was to get herself into that situation. She eventually just drifted apart from them.

Family though, regardless of whether your with an OH for 3 months or 3 years.... they can offer advice but once your an adult have to respect your decision to live life in whichever way you choose.

Once their happy it shouldn't matter. I would imagine a family being concerned but should eventually come around to the idea and try get to know the bloke. Being this rude isn't fair to the couple.
    Unless there was family problems beforehand - I dunno!