Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ben Bulben Cycle Loop

• 21-07-2014 1:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭

Hi

I'm going to be in Sligo later in August and i'm toying with the idea of taking the rothar with me for a change from the Nth County Dublin, Wicklow Mountains scenery

Has any one done this loop:
    http://cycleireland.ie/benbulben-cycle-loop/

If so, is it worth the spin or does anyone else have some ideas for a nice morning spin starting it Sligo town. I'd be looking at the 80 to 100k distance with a bit of climbing chucked in for the craic

Thanks in advance

P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭darkvalley

Ye that would be a decent enough spin, but do add in the horseshoe (clockwise) for a bit of extra climbing. Good scenery and quiet roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭mistermatthew

fillup wrote: »
    Hi

I'm going to be in Sligo later in August and i'm toying with the idea of taking the rothar with me for a change from the Nth County Dublin, Wicklow Mountains scenery

Has any one done this loop:
    http://cycleireland.ie/benbulben-cycle-loop/

If so, is it worth the spin or does anyone else have some ideas for a nice morning spin starting it Sligo town. I'd be looking at the 80 to 100k distance with a bit of climbing chucked in for the craic

Thanks in advance

P

Yeah is a good spin, add in the horse shoe, which is along this route and is after 22km, you pass the turn off and its signposted. Its around 500feet of climbing and a loop. Along the loop is a turn up to a tv mast which is paved and a massive climb of around 10% for 3.5km, brings you to the highest point in sligo, at 2000ft. Is a tough climb though. You could do it if you want.

Otherwise that's a nice route on pretty quiet roads. just a couple of km on the n15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭fillup

cheers lads - the loop sounds like a runner but i'm sure about the TV Mast climb - i guess if the weathers decent i could throw it in too

Mistermatthew- u say the turn off is after 22k - is that going counterclockwise on the loop?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭darkvalley

http://www.mapmyride.com/routes/view/479621892

This is the horseshoe. The entry and exit to it are about 100m apart. Not very difficult but views are great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,373 ✭✭✭iwillhtfu

I was up there recently mountain goat stuff. I hope you like hills, you'll hate them by the time you're finished ;)

Cheers iwillhtfu
    It ain't a decent spin without a few climbs thrown in, it makes the views all the sweeter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭mistermatthew

fillup wrote: »
    cheers lads - the loop sounds like a runner but i'm sure about the TV Mast climb - i guess if the weathers decent i could throw it in too

Mistermatthew- u say the turn off is after 22k - is that going counterclockwise on the loop?

Yeah clockwise, are some nice views on it. You cant miss the tv mast turn off too. It's a tough climb, probably one of the hardest in ireland.

It's a tough climb, probably one of the hardest in ireland.
    Now that sounds like a challenge - I'll be down there the weekend of the Fleadh though so I don't know if i'll have the climbing legs with me!!!