Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Just why would somebody do...

• 19-07-2014 12:08am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭

Today I was on the 16.30 train from Dublin to Galway and one of the windows was smashed. It was the outside glass and not the inside so there was no danger at all to passengers on board, however one passenger was not happy and felt the need to press the emergency button on the train which was traveling 100mp/h and give out about it so the driver called the guards who meet the train at the next station however the passenger refused to get off the train so they were arrested.

Of course as it wasn't an "emergency" the train was delayed 45 minutes.

Just why, words can't describe what sort of people live in society!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭TimeToShine

he mite ave panicked m8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

People just panic extremely easily tbh. Don't get it myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

Imagine someone being concerned for their safety in a fast-moving vehicle. The thought of it!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

Who are you annoyed at, the person who broke the window or the one who was upset about it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Jamie2k9

Who are you annoyed at, the person who broke the window or the one who was upset about it?

It is very unlikely even if the train derailed that these windows would break. They are made very strong and even in an emergency if a you don't read the signs in the carriage you will not be able to smash them. It was only cracked on the outside so still two pains of class in place.

I'm not annoyed but the fact they felt the need to press an emergency button and complain. The person who broke the window will be caught very easily.
    People just panic extremely easily tbh. Don't get it myself.

Possibly but it took them 40 minutes into a journey to panic.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Hotfail.com

How was the window smashed? :confused: And who was getting arrested?

I'm so confused.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 459 ✭✭Julius Seizure

The emergency button is only an intercom not a brake, and passengers are encouraged to use it when they feel unsafe or when there's antisocial behaviour. So the speed of the train doesn't come into it and seems a bit unfair to call the Gardaí on him...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

A train travelling 100mph?

The emergency button is only an intercom not a brake, and passengers are encouraged to use it when they feel unsafe or when there's antisocial behaviour. So the speed of the train doesn't come into it and seems a bit unfair to call the Gardaí on him...

I well aware of what it is however if its pressed the train speed will drop considerably to allow the driver to speak.

I know not to many areas on the network where its allowed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭Adamocovic

Jamie2k9 wrote: »
    Today I was on the 16.30 train from Dublin to Galway and one of the windows was smashed. It was the outside glass and not the inside so there was no danger at all to passengers on board, however one passenger was not happy and felt the need to press the emergency button on the train which was traveling 100mp/h and give out about it so the driver called the guards who meet the train at the next station however the passenger refused to get off the train so they were arrested.

Hey leave me alone, I was scared it posed a danger to my safety...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 459 ✭✭Julius Seizure

Yeah that's the max speed on the line in Ireland. Although more often than that they're at 80/90, only stretches are 100

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

Was the train going through Athlone at the time? A mate of mine used to work on the trains, and said they were wh0res for bricking the trains there.

pablo128 wrote: »
    Was the train going through Athlone at the time? A mate of mine used to work on the trains, and said they were wh0res for bricking the trains there.

The window was smashed at an earlier time/date, the train just hadn't being taken out of service yet and given its a Friday not a surprise.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

I heard something on the radio about the gardaí being called to Portarlington station and the train being delayed due to an 'incident'.

But they didn't say what happened.

I just assumed we were getting a few less stags and hens than usual here in Galway this weekend. ;)

Why was the passenger arrested? Seems a bit heavy handed.

Although I do agree, Bringing a train to a halt over a broken window is idiotic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 932 ✭✭✭Get Real

The brother was on the bus about 7 months ago, upstairs, halfway down, an entire glass pane was missing.

Luckily it wasn't raining :P

but seriously yeah, nice breeze coming in and all.

Granted the bus wouldnt have been travelling at the speed of a train etc,but there was technically the possibility of someone falling out. No one said anything and twas grand :pac:

So I think pulling an emergency chord in this case is a bit over the top, it was probably double glazed op? So as you said, the inside panel was perfectly intact.

There was really no need to waste all that time and cause a panic, so long as the person didn't start acting the eejit/ ramming the inner panel with your shoulder or something mad, there's really no issue :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

The window was smashed at an earlier time/date, the train just hadn't being taken out of service yet and given its a Friday not a surprise.
    Holy sh1t. The dude waited for 40 minutes and then pressed the bell? I can tell you the guards wouldn't have had any trouble getting him off the train if I was there. I'd have fcuked him off it by the scruff of the neck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭Seedy Arling

Every sort of strange character on public transport. Best avoided.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,971 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

If there was obviously no danger and the person was being so uncooperative/irrational as to end up being arrested then I'd say they probably weren't in their full sane/sober senses and that is your answer!

Infact drink or madness are the answers to most of life's public transport conundrums.

If there was obviously no danger and the person ended up being so uncooperative/irrational as to end up being arrested then I'd say they probably weren't in their full sane/sober senses and that is your answer!

Maybe he was protesting about the fact his basic human right to look out the window of a train was being violated because of the breakage?

Typical Irish Rail!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

A window pain.

I just assumed we were getting a few less stags and hens than usual here in Galway this weekend.

Why was the passenger arrested? Seems a bit heavy handed.

Used to the same on Waterford line on weekends.

The passenger was arrested because he refused to get off the train and the guards removed him instead. I mean what else may he decided to press the button en route....
    it was probably double glazed op?

Indeed and as I say trains are built to withstand major impact.
    The dude waited for 40 minutes and then pressed the bell?

By the time guards arrived and removed the passenger.

The other passengers didn't have a problem with the window!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭yes there

Funnily enough incidents like that are less annoying than people talking on the phone while on public transport (not all but im sure you know the ones i'm referring to). I even try to sneer at them but the inconsiderate bastards dont even have the decency to acknowledge the sneer. Id happiy chose to travel on busted up transport if it meant avoiding these *****.

yes there wrote: »
    Funnily enough incidents like that are less annoying than people talking on the phone while on public transport (not all but im sure you know the ones i'm referring to). I even try to sneer at them but the inconsiderate bastards dont even have the decency to acknowledge the sneer. Id happiy chose to travel on busted up transport if it meant avoiding these *****.

And children should be banned form public transport until they are 13.

No, parents that let their little sh1ts run amok on public transport should be banned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Hotfail.com

You really are the epitome of logical thinking Jamie.

:P :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

why do people do lots of things information goes in action pops out but we can't see the information going in this is the problem f punctuation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

why do people do lots of things information goes in action pops out but we can't see the information going in this is the problem f punctuation

Go home Jimmy, you are drunk :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

Kids doing stupid things.
    Like smoking, drinking,doing drugs or having casual sex.
    Anything for a buzz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

double glazed windows on a train, decadent western safety standards. whats wrong with a few steel bars, you can get a nice breeze then too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 Elegant Elliot Offen

Maybe a bit of an overreaction to press the emergency button.
    Wouldnt do it myself.
    Then again who's to say a second brick hadn't been lobbed at the train and hit someone in a different carriage.

He had reason enough to press the button - even if his true motivation was just to press a big red button and be a drama queen, he'll have no bother in court.

Don't arrest that man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Wishiwasa Littlebitaller

I was standing at a train crossing earlier and as the train went past, pieces of glass from a shattered window on the train came away and one of them flew straight into this man's mouth beside me. He was killed to death. Cops think I did it. I'm in prison now and am not even allowed a phone, let alone access to the internet. I'm posting this with my mind. Someone send me a cake with a file in it. My nails are a state. Love, Mammy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

I was standing at a train crossing earlier and as the train went past, pieces of glass from a shattered window on the train came away and one of them flew straight into this man's mouth beside me. He was killed to death. Cops think I did it. I'm in prison now and am not even allowed a phone, let alone access to the internet. I'm posting this with my mind. Someone send me a cake with a file in it. My nails are a state. Love, Mammy.

First Garth Brooks, now this! You're on a really bad streak :p

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,315 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Since we are relaying public transport 'glass' stories, I was on a bus once going through one of the areas where many 'challenged' people live and something smashed the window across from me, showering a young couple with glass.

The girl was on the window side and she was covered in glass, the poor young lad got a terrible fright and was almost in tears as he told the whole carriage they had just found out she was pregnant. I felt so sorry for him. He didn't know what to do.

The glass broke into bits but they didn't stick into anyone, even though the girl's hair was full of them, they were not sharp. The noise as whatever it was hit the bus was really loud. Quite scary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

spurious wrote: »
    ... the poor young lad got a terrible fright and was almost in tears as he told the whole carriage they had just found out she was pregnant. I felt so sorry for him. He didn't know what to do.
    Christ, fatherhood's gonna be a shock for that lad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭Kerrigooney

El Weirdo wrote: »
    Christ, fatherhood's gonna be a shock for that lad.

True. I've spent close on 13 years in tears now.

If you were driving a train and someone broke a window, and then someone pulled the emergency break chain, and then the train stopped suddenly, and then it started again, and then a man was arrested.

What was the driver's name?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,190 ✭✭✭✭sammyjo90

Oh! Oh! I know this one! Its mmmmyyyy name!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

If you were driving a train and someone broke a window, and then someone pulled the emergency break chain, and then the train stopped suddenly, and then it started again, and then a man was arrested.

What was the driver's name?

I got lost in that post! Somewhere after half way things got crazy, and I can't find my way back.. I require assistance!

Next train leaves in half an hour.