Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Senator wants minister to tackle "cheeky seagulls"

• 17-07-2014 12:34pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭

I've heard it all now.
    A Fianna Fáil senator wants to take action against seagulls.

Ned O'Sullivan says "raucous" and "cheeky" birds are causing hassle for people.

He said people who live in apartment blocks are being plagued by the birds, and something must be done.

He said: "I think something needs to be done to address the seagull problem here in this city. People may have been listening to Joe Duffy talking about it last week.

"It seems the seagulls have lost the run of themselves completely. They are very raucous, they are keeping people awake, they are getting so cheeky now that they attack young children, and dispossess them of their lollipops.

"It might be funny to people, but it's a serious issue in the city. They are not seagulls, they are vermin, scavenger gulls."

He concluded by demanding that the new Environment Minister Alan Kelly examine what can be done.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/senator-wants-minister-to-tackle-raucous-and-cheeky-seagulls-636608.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭solomafioso

Anytime I hear dumb sh*t like this...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

this is what happens when you have a national legislature full of local politicians..

oh lord....
    My gast, has been well and truly flabbered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭miss no stars

Ever been to Howth?

Dumb fcuks arrive in, buy their chips and throw a load of them for the gulls. The cliffs are full, there actually isn't enough space for all the seagulls that live there and then they start living on houses. If you've ever had a seagull family live on your roof you'll know why it's a problem, if not, well, they do a horrendous amount of damage. Naturally, their population would be controlled by the amount of food that can be obtained. It's humans who've fcuked that one up with all the chips they give them and with leaving all their food remnants on the ground for the gulls to get.

Their population is out of control, they're pests, they need to be culled.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

• Closed Accounts Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Buzz Killington the third

I got mugged by a gang of seagulls last week but they only got my crusts which I don't eat anyway.

Buzz 1 - Seagulls 0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,581 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭Skeleton XIII

Feckin birds again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Alfred Hitchcock predicted this, the worst is yet come...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭Firefox11

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭LizzieJones

Firefox11 wrote: »

Not a word spoken yet such bad acting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,412 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

This is why we were right to keep the senate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

Has anybody checked to see if Barrak Obama is available to negotiate some kind of truce with the seagulls?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,844 ✭✭✭Glebee

If only we could vote to get rid of it.... Oh wait:(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭knird evol

I think as a species we have a superior knowledge of how to maintain a balanced diet.
    As such we just have to play the waiting game.
    The excessive cholesterol and sodium in the chip based diet we've lulled them into adapting is a ticking time bomb that will wipe our enemy out when he least expects it.
    Another triumph for the Seanad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

I used to work up at St.Stephens Green. The rule when going onto the roof of the office was to pick up the piece of two by four by the door, to swing at the seagulls.

He might actually be right about this. Their population in the city is out of control. And they can be vicious if they want to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,039 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Well if anyone fancies taking a pot shot at the one who lives in the chimney pot opposite my house, please feel free.

Fúcker starts screeching at 5am every single morning from about May.

And every few evenings gets his pals round for a party/riot/fight/whoknows. But it's LOUD.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,790 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

If only we could introduce a natural predator to seagulls. That would work, right?

http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-2mgzrVwkIKA/USo4ktyoRrI/AAAAAAAABSY/07C5rpePBhs/s1600/Shark+vs+Seagull+Custom+Size+FLAT+150dpi.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Wossack

at last, they're finally starting to tackle the big issues

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭Bits_n_Bobs

Please please please let Joe Duffy be talking about this!!

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

Yesterday I saw a gull smoking pot and pushing a kid around and holding a knife.

They got to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭stmol32

It just goes to show how far in their ivory towers our representatives are.
    Wasting time and resources with this shoite, doesn't he realise 400,000 people are about to be mildly disappointed by a pretend cowboy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Wait till they are the size of golden eagles and are picking off hipsters as they pose nonchalantly on the streets of Dublin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

But remember how we should have a senate and voted to keep these people in a job?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Ever been to Howth?

Dumb fcuks arrive in, buy their chips and throw a load of them for the gulls. The cliffs are full, there actually isn't enough space for all the seagulls that live there and then they start living on houses. If you've ever had a seagull family live on your roof you'll know why it's a problem, if not, well, they do a horrendous amount of damage. Naturally, their population would be controlled by the amount of food that can be obtained. It's humans who've fcuked that one up with all the chips they give them and with leaving all their food remnants on the ground for the gulls to get.

Fair enough there are a few chip throwing types in Howth I'd cull meself, but reducing the population sounds a bit extreme.

I got mugged by a gang of seagulls last week but they only got my crusts which I don't eat anyway.

Buzz 1 - Seagulls 0

The Irish Warrior Spirit lives on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

So hang on, This has not been declared some kind of bird sanctuary as they make noise ?

The Senate has yeah. We had a vote on it there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

Their population in the city is out of control. And they can be vicious if they want to.

We can apply that to everything - men, women, children, McDonald's...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

I'm sitting here on my own laughing my head off at that article. Fantastic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭ollaetta

That's the senators covered but what about the seagulls?

ollaetta wrote: »
    That's the senators covered but what about the seagulls?

ship them to the gaeltacht, the locals won't have a minister who understands them to complain at.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭Tiddlypeeps

I don't get it, why are people holding this against them?

The segulls are pretty much vermin, they are bothering people and their population size is becoming an issue so an attempt to reduce their numbers seems like a prudent plan. If the city were overrun with rats then how to tackle the issue would also be discussed by politicians.

Is the issue that they are discussing something so trivial? Because most of the decisions politicians have to make on a daily basis are trivial ones, we only hear about the big ones because that's all the media usually cares about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

I quite like them, but then I don't live in a area affected by them.

I like the sound they make.

I wonder if they are edible? They are big birds and we could slowly introduce the gull as our Christmas day main course...save a few bob too.

Robbing bastards too they are!

Maybe he told the shopkeeper to stick it on his bill.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

On Sunday evening, my friend woke up to a seagull sitting on his computer desk. He freaked. The seagull freaked. The seagull flapped its wings and knocked his computer monitor to the floor. It then proceeded to crap itself over the desk and his suit which was on the chair next to it and then it feckt off.

They're a nuisance Joe!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

How do you a cull a seagull population anyway?

syklops wrote: »
    On Sunday evening, my friend woke up to a seagull sitting on his computer desk. He freaked. The seagull freaked. The seagull flapped its wings and knocked his computer monitor to the floor. It then proceeded to crap itself over the desk and his suit which was on the chair next to it and then it feckt off.

They're a nuisance Joe!

Sounds like it was Steven.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

I don't get it, why are people holding this against them?

Is the issue that they are discussing something so trivial? Because most of the decisions politicians have to make on a daily basis are trivial ones, we only hear about the big ones because that's all the media usually cares about.

We have elected officials on county councils etc for the "seagull" level of detail. It's not exactly a nationwide problem. I live only about 8km from the coast, and am very little bothered by seagulls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

Robbing bastards too they are!

A classic.

What I like is that he clearly knows what he's up to. He walks in slowly, has a look around to check if it's clear, then grabs the loot and legs it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

cloud493 wrote: »

Napalm bombing runs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

Tabnabs wrote: »
    If only we could introduce a natural predator to seagulls. That would work, right?
    cloud493 wrote: »

What we need to do is introduce snakes that will feed on the seagulls thus and thereby reducing their population. Sure we'll have to put up with incessant hissing and possibly a few dogs, cats and babies going missing but feck it, these seagulls are acting the maggot now and we need rid of them.

Next time on Boards : Minister wants Senator to tackle snake epidemic - "St Patrick would have shat himself if he knew this would happen".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭Tiddlypeeps

Thoie wrote: »
    We have elected officials on county councils etc for the "seagull" level of detail. It's not exactly a nationwide problem. I live only about 8km from the coast, and am very little bothered by seagulls.

The docklands are plagued by them. 8km is a good bit away from the sea to be fair, just because they don't bother you does not mean they are a nuisance. Most of the city is well within 8km of the coast.

It should be a county council problem, but they are obviously not dealing with it or they just don't know what to do about the problem so I don't see any problem with the a senator recommending it be looked into. Regional issues are often discussed in the Dail,never mind the senate. I could be wrong, but I don't think it's a rule that they are only allowed to discuss nationwide issues.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭wendell borton

I think we're in real trouble. I don't know how this started or why, but I know it's here and we'd be crazy to ignore it... The bird war, the bird attack, plague - call it what you like. They're amassing out there someplace and they'll be back. You can count on it...

PS, your evil op.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭beano345

At least ten of them have been a permanent fixture on my roof for the last few years,never had much trouble with them apart from a bit of noise which we would have got anyway from them living beside the sea.used to work with a fella on a trawler who told me he got so sick of them crapping on him he'd stick alka seltzer into pieces of fish and watch them explode don't know if there is any truth in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

Ever been to Howth?

You're right, let's cull the population of Howth. That would be more logical than culling birds for something that we are responsible for.

--LOS-- wrote: »
    You're right, let's cull the population of Howth. That would be more logical than culling birds for something that we are responsible for.

Population of Howth certainly don't feed the gulls. It's the gob****es who go home at the end fo the day and leave their mess for the rest of it that cause the problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

G'wan Inda ............ a new ministerialship ......... the Minister for Guano? Yes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

Population of Howth certainly don't feed the gulls. It's the gob****es who go home at the end fo the day and leave their mess for the rest of it that cause the problem.

Well let's cull them then. Let's not blame the seagulls for being opportunistic