Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Weird parents.

• 14-07-2014 10:03pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭

Know any parents that do weird things?

My mam's friend won't let her daughter wear glasses in public because she thinks people will laugh at her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

You're just here to advertise your website, right?
    hot fail indeed :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Ones that let their under 10 year olds run around at 11pm at night....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭changepartners

They get very odd when they hit their 60s.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭The Peanut

My mam's friend won't let her daughter wear glasses in public because she thinks people will laugh at her.

I heard of these parents who surgically attached their child to a PC one day in July and made the child continually post on boards.ie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

My friend's mother thinks life is like a box of chocolates because you don't know what you're gonna get. Weird, because boxes of chocolates have little leaflets with a description of what each chocolate is like, unlike life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Hotfail.com

The Peanut wrote: »
    I heard of these parents who surgically attached their child to a PC one day in July and made the child continually post on boards.ie.

Was this in 2002? No one uses PCs anymore :p:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

I know a girl whose parents took away her bedroom door as punishment for something or other when she was a teenager. I thought that was pretty weird.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭The Peanut

I'm afraid Oldman Peanut does.

You're going to set some kind of posting record if you last long enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,329 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Your mams friend is dead right, fair play to her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

My mother likes to eat ice out the tray. My seventeen-year-old brother once ate it all, and when she returned home she wasn't happy. It started off with general giving out, until she ended up screaming and shouting, scaring the crap out of him. Then she sent him to his room.

Strange people.

The Peanut wrote: »
    I'm afraid Oldman Peanut does.

You're going to set some kind of posting record if you last long enough.

The new mike65 :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

Out my folks back garden a few years ago. The 5ish year old kid next door was running around climbing trees, usual stuff. His mother calls him in for his lunch and asks what he'd like to drink. To this day I'm still haunted by the words, "can I have a nipple drink, mammy?"

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Except for the Gaming Master Race of course. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

But shure they'll laugh anyway when she starts walking into things and falling over. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭xLisaBx

I know this girl with a really strange mother. She never let the girl go out or do anything fun as a teenager, she viewed me as a bad example. On our secondary school graduation night I wore glasses and she laughed at me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Mothers that allow their children post silly questions on internet forums ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

I know a girl whose parents took away her bedroom door as punishment for something or other when she was a teenager. I thought that was pretty weird.

Ahh that's not that weird, my own mother took the curtains down from my bedroom window after she walked by my window one morning and caught me pulling the skeleton out of meself.... I'm not sure which of us was more scarlet :pac:

probably should've gone in the things you're ashamed of thread...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭Pwindedd

Door-slammer, seen it before. It's actually pretty common.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Pwindedd wrote: »
    Door-slammer, seen it before. It's actually pretty common.

I don't think it was for anything like that though, it was bad marks in school or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Could they not just let her try it on spec and see how it went?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

I don't think it was for anything like that though, it was bad marks in school or something.

If she got good.marks , would she be rewarded with something unusual , maybe a petrol pump in her bedroom or if her marks got worse they could take the roof of the house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

Czarcasm wrote: »
    Ahh that's not that weird, my own mother took the curtains down from my bedroom window after she walked by my window one morning and caught me pulling the skeleton out of meself.... I'm not sure which of us was more scarlet :pac:

Stay away from that thread you! Youl just get it closed!:p

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Mothers that allow their children post silly questions on internet forums ;)

...... Instead of prePARING FOR A TEST!?!?!?:eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Czarcasm wrote: »

She took the curtains down? Why, was she proud of it and looking to show you off? :confused:

Look at my little Jonny there, still at it, hasn't he great stamina altogether?

She took the curtains down? Why, was she proud of it and looking to show you off? :confused:

Thats what I would have done. Just to spite the bitch Id wait till a crowd gathered outside and then Id plaster my window with sour beans :D

Off to Brazzers you go with your creepy porno idea....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

I'd forgotten to close them first... :o

Another one, unrelated to the above -

Every Sunday dinner I was served the arse of the chicken, my mother figured it was hilarious altogether, still does, 20 years later... :(

I'll stop posting now, in case I'm mistaken for Norman Bates :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Czarcasm you must be a ginger stepchild, are you? :pac:

I was wondering what this was about until I had a quick read of op's posts :)

Sam Kade wrote: »
    I was wondering what this was about until I had a quick read of op's posts :)

Inspiring stuff aren't they? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭lynski

Saw my neighbors unloading their car boot yesterday and noticed them remove a pushchair. Thing is their kid is 7 and tall at that. No idea why they would still use it for her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

lynski wrote: »
    Saw my neighbors unloading their car boot yesterday and noticed them remove a pushchair. Thing is their kid is 7 and tall at that. No idea why they would still use it for her.
    curtain twitcher are you mrs bucket?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭LizzieJones

My mom was beyond weird. I remember one time I caught her crushing sleeping pills to put in my dad's coffee because she thought he was cheating on her in the evenings and she wanted to keep him home with her.

I told him not to drink any of her coffees and why. Thankfully he believed me.

There was a lot of other crap she did but that one had to be the worst as she could have killed him.

She died in 2002 and I don't miss her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

My auld fella has had his fair share of weird moments down through the years, mostly purely to satisfy his odd sense of humour, which I too seem to be conflicted with.

Waking me up every day at exactly 10am, one summer when I was around 13/14, by picking up my guitar and slapping the top string repeatedly while singing in the weirdest voice possible, "I'm just mad about Saffron. Saffron's just mad about me", is just the tip of the iceberg.

"Bollocks", is his term of endearment as well.

Knex. wrote: »
    My auld fella has had his fair share of weird moments down through the years, mostly purely to satisfy his odd sense of humour, which I too seem to be conflicted with.

Waking me up every day at exactly 10am, one summer when I was around 13/14, by picking up my guitar and slapping the top string repeatedly while singing in the weirdest voice possible, "I'm just mad about Saffron. Saffron's just mad about me", is just the tip of the iceberg.

Your dad sounds like an absolute legend.

:p :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

I know a couple, who are away camping with their kids at the moment. Proper camping with a tent and all the gear.
    What's wierd about that? The fact that they have their youngest child with them who is just 2 weeks old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Your dad sounds like an absolute legend.

:p :pac:

He's a bollocks :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭Snake

In Cork with my sister a few years ago and her husband. We were in a shopping centre and had parked on the roof level, got the elevator up and there was a woman with her daughter or something in front of her.. As we got in and I don't know what the hell was with this woman but the doors closed and as if she did it to make us uncomfortable she just sniffed your ones hair and gave a scowl... I don't mean a small sniff like I mean she buried her nose in and inhaled like she had a cold and her head was a tub of Vicks...it's hilarious now but Jesus we were all fair creeped out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,359 ✭✭✭whiteandlight

Knex. wrote: »

We got "oh what a beautiful mornin' " from Oklahoma for frigging years. I still hate that song

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

It's grand, as long as they're not posting here when they should be studying for the LC. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,807 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

About 8 years ago, my brother was in a car crash, completely wrecking his car and eventually putting him into major debt, with interest adding constantly. My SSIA savings had just matured so I offered a loan so he could clear his credit card debt and the growing interest. It was only going to be between the two of us since it was nobody else's business. That all sounds lovely.

The day I got the cheque for €5000, I opened the envelope, looked at the cheque and placed it down on the arm of the armchair and thought nothing more of it. 20 minutes later, I got a surprise and completely unrelated visit from my mother. Of course, the first thing she saw was the cheque (she has skills for this sort of thing). She was convinced that I was being blackmailed and wanted to know the story!

I've a good job and have never been in any sort of trouble so you could say that she added 2 plus 2 to get 47,239. Another time, a Saturday, a dodgy toenail meant that I didn't want to put on a sock in case it got snagged so I decided not to budge for the weekend. My mother rang to see if I wanted to head over for dinner. When I declined without explanation (that would have led to more nagging issues) she became convinced that I was being held hostage in my own house. :confused:

Inspiring stuff aren't they? :rolleyes:

Don't flatter yourself I only went as far as the non studying part :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

My mum spent years telling me to cheat on boyfriends while I'm young. She met my current boyfriend and immediately told me not to cheat on him because he's good looking and she wants us to produce a grandchild for her!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

pablo128 wrote: »
    I know a couple, who are away camping with their kids at the moment. Proper camping with a tent and all the gear.
    What's wierd about that? The fact that they have their youngest child with them who is just 2 weeks old.

bit of fresh air is better than a string of diseased visitors :)

rK1SFlA.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭folan

i hope bruce wayne doesnt read this thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 763 ✭✭✭alfa beta

theteal wrote: »
    Out my folks back garden a few years ago. The 5ish year old kid next door was running around climbing trees, usual stuff. His mother calls him in for his lunch and asks what he'd like to drink. To this day I'm still haunted by the words, "can I have a nipple drink, mammy?"

'Can I have an apple drink, mammy?'

it's just your hearing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭Gannicus

This guy is weird but also a bit of a hero:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 663 ✭✭✭FairytaleGirl

I have a friend who is a weird eco mom type.

She won't allow her 1yr old son to eat anything with excess sugar in it, (so no chocolate buttons etc) a typical meal for him is rocket salad with goat cheese and baby tomatoes. The health visitor told her he was underweight so she fed him ... Salted crackers.

Give the boy a god dam spud!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭Doris300

theteal wrote: »

A nice visit to Westeros you had then :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

alfa beta wrote: »
    'Can I have an apple drink, mammy?'

it's just your hearing!

I wish it was. There were previous issues, that was just the most blatant.
    Doris300 wrote: »
    A nice visit to Westeros you had then :D

That's actually what brought the memories flooding back!