Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Forum Healthcheck - What's been happening recently...reopened

• 12-07-2014 2:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,656 ✭✭✭✭

Hey all,

in the past few days, a number of fairly valid concerns were raised by posters about what's happening in the F&F forum. Yesterday's welcome thread wasn't really the place to address them (let Mike have his one day in the sun at least!), but we haven't been ignoring them. There's been ongoing discussion amongst the moderators on the best approach to take, and we figured that the right thing to do would be to keep things as clear as we can, and keep everybody in the loop as to what's going on. At the end of the day we're under no illusions - this is your community, we're here to keep everything flowing as best we can.

First off, we're not going to gloss over the fact that there has been some upheaval here in the past while, and it's understandable that it's caused some unrest, and that it's noticeable in the forum. Two valuable members of the mod team left recently, and their knowledge and modding ability is a big loss. Every mention of Rovi on the forums points to him rightly being held in very high regard, and if he is reading this, we hope that he knows that all of his hard work is appreciated. The forum wouldn't be what it is without him.

Anyhow, we'll try to answer questions that we've seen floating around, if you have any more. or if you have suggestions for the forum, feel free to post them here and we'll answer them if we can.

Why did the other mods decide to leave?

Short answer is, we don't know. No doubt they had their reasons, but whatever they may be, they were personal and we are not privy to them. The reason we stop discussion over it is simply that it's not really fair to speculate on someone when they aren't here to give their side of it.

Why the increase in the number of moderators?

A few people mentioned that soon there would be more moderators than posters the way things are going. What you may not realise (and to be honest we didn't realise it ourselves until recently) is that F&F is now the 6th busiest forum on the site, and moderators have real lives and real jobs to deal with too. A quick look behind the scenes says that the forum gets 250-300 new posts per day, and that's a lot to deal with when you're trying to take care of the forums and get work done at the same time, and having two moderators to deal with all that just doesn't cut it anymore.

Another side of it is that the team of moderators we have now are very different people, and it means when something needs to be discussed, we get all of the different points of view on the issue before any decision is made. It keeps us honest, and it keeps us fair.

Why can't I just say what I want without a moderator sticking his nose in all the time?

The banter and the sense of community that goes on here is the lifeblood of the forum, and long may it continue. That's how us as moderators feel, and it's how the admin feel. Without the craic that goes on back and forth, this place would be a sterile wasteland, and nobody wants that. However, like it or not, with the nature of Irish law, boards.ie can be held responsible (and have been in the past) for what gets posted in the forums. That's why certain things are a no go area for discussion.

To be fair, there aren't that many rules when it comes to this and we only act on them when it's absolutely necessary. And they can be pretty much summed up as follows:

• Don't post anything that can have us all in court the next day.
    • Don't be a dick to the other people here. Having a laugh is fine, as is a bit of banter back and forth. Being insulting isn't.

If you want the official boards rules you can find them here, and the forum charter can be found here, but what we've said above pretty much holds true. Sticking to those two makes for a lot less work for us, and means we can be posters rather than moderators, and that's all we ask.

What's with this yellow card/red card business?

Again, something that might not be obvious to people that don't post in other forums is that the yellow/red card system has been around for quite a while now on all of the forums, as a way of giving troublesome posters a few strikes before action has to be taken. To be blunt, the reason it hasn't been seen here much is that F&F gets a lot of leeway when it comes to the banter that goes on, because we realise that most people here are well able to give it and take it, and differences of opinions generally get sorted among yourselves. But when it is used, it's a good system, because it keeps everything fair and consistent. Everyone gets the same chances.

Someone asked yesterday to "go handy with the cards", and that's fair enough. History already built up won't disappear, so form still counts, but we'll lay off the cards as much as we can, and if a thread is going somewhere it shouldn't, then we'll drop a mod note in the thread to say "hey, we're trying to cut out <problem> and here's why" to nudge things back to where they were. In other words, if one of us is typing in bold, it means that you've been bold.

However if we keep having to ask and nothing changes, then something has to give, and if you end up with a card, it's not because we didn't ask first.

I just got a PM about a yellow card I got. You could have at least been nice about it!

One downside of the yellow/red card system is that it sends out an automated message listing one of about eight reasons that we get to choose from. We don't get to write the messages, so apologies if they seem impersonal, or if they don't tell you exactly what the problem was. Generally we'll try to attach a note too, but if there's any issue with a mod action then send us a PM and we'll try and give you as much info as possible - DON'T post about it in the thread. There's nothing worse than having a good thread going, only for it to be derailed by a long rant about those bastard mods and their feckin' cards. Which is why we don't allow it. Use the PM button.

My father used to cure rickets with a drop of green diesel and WD40 - can I post it here?

That's a grey area at the moment so the answer is "it depends". Animal welfare is always going to come first, so any advice given out in response to questions about sick animals is always going to draw attention. Again, it comes back to liability, and you'd be surprised who reads these forums, and as such the free for all that has existed at times has to be brought into line with modern practice which has changed over the years. BUT - we all have cures and remedies that have been passed down, that's the reality of it. So we're trying to strike a balance - how to achieve that objective without throwing out the baby with the bath-water has been a subject of much discussion and some guidance will be forthcoming soon.

Why can't I advertise here?

For a couple of reasons.
    1. Every man and his dog would be trying to offload his business / wrapped bales / 1998 Toyota Corolla with one careful owner here, and it would become bedlam.
    2. We all have to make money somehow to keep ticking over. So does Boards. They do it through paid advertising, and businesses pay for their accounts which come with the privilege of being able to offer their services.

That's as much as we can think of for now, but if you have any questions, or suggestions, feel free to post them here and we'll try to answer them.

Regards,
    mike_ie / .Kovu. / greysides / Oldtree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

ok my 2 cent

I was warned I was going to be banned last week for a signature I had posted 18 months ago, having consulted a previous mod. Why would a current mod say " change it now or be banned"? then the mod got offended I bad mouthed them on a 3rd party site.

Also something serious if so many have closed their accounts altogether, been banned or closed their account and now have a new account.

i also offered a free area separate to our business area for members to meet at both the tullamore show and NPA in September. Something a lot of members have suggested on here. Yes again i was told i was advertising. Some give and take. I really enjoyed meeting members last year.

also i remember a previous mod said we could advertise by posting a link from adverts. whats the story on this now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Thanks for the informative post and I for one think ye guys do a good job. I suppose a lot of people don't realise mods are volunteers just trying to help out. For the most part they do a good job. A bit like a referee, the goods decisions go unnoticed and they get plenty flack for the bad ones.

There used to be only two mods on here less than a year ago and then over a period a sour undertone snuck in. (Always seems to coincide with bad weather!). Unfortunately the forum lost a lot of regular good posters due to the actions of a few. So I suppose admin had to beef up the team.

One point to add, we can all take some responsibility by anonymously reporting posts to the mods were unhappy with by using the report button.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,754 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

I just want to say that mods seem to have been very heavy handed on F&F the last couple of months, I have been on here for years and I have had more warnings/threats/ thin ice comments in the last 2 months than I had in the previous 4 years.

We understand that mods have a difficult job to do keeping it all in line, but being heavy with the stick is driving good posters away. I was on the verge of closing my account this week. Thanks for giving us a chance to put our views across.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

blue5000 wrote: »
    I just want to say that mods seem to have been very heavy handed on F&F the last couple of months, I have been on here for years and I have had more warnings/threats/ thin ice comments in the last 2 months than I had in the previous 4 years.

We understand that mods have a difficult job to do keeping it all in line, but being heavy with the stick is driving good posters away. I was on the verge of closing my account this week. Thanks for giving us a chance to put our views across.

Surprised to hear that blue. Never saw anything wrong with your posts. I'd be sorry to see you gone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,527 ✭✭✭on the river

This forum has changed massively from just a year ago.

We have lost many good mods and knowledge posters who served this forum loyally.

Yet it is time we moved on.

I may not agree with extra mods but I am confident it is for the benefit of all.

Their is many expert posters left in this forum who carried it though it's darkest hour.

We are unique.

We are farmers

That's something I am very proud of.

That something to celebrate.

Good luck to one and all.

Thanks for all your advice and comments.
    OTR

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Same as that im sorry to say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Actually seem to have been cut a bit of slack lately...posted something and was sorry right afterwards, but someone had quoted it already, so no use editing it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭mayota

This forum has changed massively from just a year ago.

We have lost many good mods and knowledge posters who served this forum loyally.

Yet it is time we moved on.

I may not agree with extra mods but I am confident it is for the benefit of all.

Their is many expert posters left in this forum who carried it though it's darkest hour.

We are unique.

We are farmers

That's something I am very proud of.

That something to celebrate.

Good luck to one and all.

Thanks for all your advice and comments.
    OTR

Great post. This forum will grow with the generosity of posters with their knowledge, advise and reassurance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

For me what was hardest to take was the decent long term posters being harangued by visiting Moderators who, with respect, didn't know their arse from their elbow in relation to how F&F was run.
    Thankfully those days are behind us, at least I hope so. I suppose time will tell, because the new Mods have yet to prove their worth. But at least one has a positive posting history here, so here's hoping.
    I too welcome the 'healthcheck' I think it's a positive move. It's a tight community here, let's keep it like that.
    This openness can only be positive and certainly will be more attractive to New posters and the seasoned alike.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

For me what was hardest to take was the decent long term posters being harangued by visiting Moderators who, with respect, didn't know their arse from their elbow in relation to how F&F was run.

I would just like to point out that the comment above just illustrates how differently F&F has been moderated compared to the remainder of the site. As mentioned before, if you only post on F&F you wouldn't be aware of this. The regime at that point was standard for the rest of the site. F&F is the exception, not the rule.

As we'd like to remain 'exceptional' (:D), I'll point out that the responsibility for that lies with ALL of us.

With that in mind:
    Another site I haunt is largely self-moderated. It's a small site, very similar to just the F&F part of boards. Moderators are definitely more posters than moderators as most of the moderation is done by members. If someone's out of line, it's mentioned... respectably.... and that's generally enough.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭tanko

Thankfully those days are behind us, at least I hope so. I suppose time will tell, because the new Mods have yet to prove their worth. But at least one has a positive posting history here, so here's hoping.
    I too welcome the 'healthcheck' I think it's a positive move. It's a tight community here, let's keep it like that.
    This openness can only be positive and certainly will be more attractive to New posters and the seasoned alike.

Exactly, the lack of consistency in moderation bothers me. Thirteen times in nineteen months a certain person was called "simple" and no remarks were passed. But now this is now a "slur" on their character and warnings are dished out like confetti. If I posted on after hours that a person was simple no one would bat an eyelid.

greysides wrote: »
    I would just like to point out that the comment above just illustrates how differently F&F has been moderated compared to the remainder of the site. As mentioned before, if you only post on F&F you wouldn't be aware of this. The regime at that point was standard for the rest of the site. F&F is the exception, not the rule.

As we'd like to remain 'exceptional' (:D), I'll point out that the responsibility for that lies with ALL of us.

It was and is blatantly obvious that F&F was moderated in a different manner to much of the other forums. To me that was its attraction. There's very few of us here that don't have a good look around the place!

I'm in absolute agreement about the exceptional nature of what we've here. Long may it last.
    And last it will with 'light touch' moderation and Mods that stick to what is best for the forum and not necessarily the admin.

It was and is blatantly obvious that F&F was moderated in a different manner to much of the other forums. To me that was its attraction. There's very few of us here that don't have a good look around the place!

I'm in absolute agreement about the exceptional nature of what we've here. Long may it last.
    And last it will with 'light touch' moderation and Mods that stick to what is best for the forum and not necessarily the admin.

Here Here

I agree with that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,656 ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

Just to let ye know that we're going through the posts so far, and compiling the answers. Be patient with us :)

Don't jump in to fast mike. Let people vent their frustrations and the forum will be all the better for it.

just do it wrote: »
    Don't jump in to fast mike. Let people vent their frustrations and the forum will be all the better for it.

Yeah I think there was too much frustration built up in the forum over the last while and people need to get it out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭sheebadog

Lookit. Let Stan , GrassorMuck ,Frazzle, Mahoney etc. say what they like and all will be fine. The rest is just dross.

As an aside on another thread (hunting) I've never been so offended by a gobsheen and not a Mod to be seen.
    F&F is about business. The rest is just a passtime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Reggie. wrote: »
    Yeah I think there was too much frustration built up in the forum over the last while and people need to get it out

I have seen a lot of frustration with certain moderation over the last few months. In particular I remember one particularly nasty personal post which was followed by a mod being appointed even though the contents of the post clearly contravened basic boards charter guidelines. I am sure other posters have similar stories. I not going to put the details above here as it doesn't serve any use in my experience. However there really appears to be nowhere where such matters can be discussed or fairly dealt with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭exercise is the antidote

In my opinion this all happened when Rellig was getting hassle for being an easy going Mod! He then said stuff this! And headed for the hills! New mods came in! And now people are giving out it's to strict! Yeah can't please everyone!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,656 ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

Just back in after a few hours work - it's good to see so many constructive comments here, and that nobody has been lynched yet :D It seems that there have been a few answers given back already, but the four of us are discussing the outstanding questions, getting info from admin where we need it, so lets try to get to a few of the points that come up. This is our collective answers from behind the scenes, I'm just going to post it up from this account as it's handiest...

ok my 2 cent

I was warned I was going to be banned last week for a signature I had posted 18 months ago, having consulted a previous mod. Why would a current mod say " change it now or be banned"?

Hi lakill Farm,

The thread is more for what's happening in the forum in general - we're not going to respond to individual cases because to be honest if we tried, we'd be here forever. For individual cases, if you are appealing an infraction or ban, post in the Dispute Resolution Forum. Issues with mods should be referred to Helpdesk.

Having said that, I will say that in general a lot of issues don't come to our attention until someone reports them. It's possible that someone decided to bring it to moderator attention, and it was actioned. Regarding your signature itself, one of the other moderators bumped it up to admin earlier, and according to them it's fine. You can have a simple link to your business in your sig.
    then the mod got offended I bad mouthed them on a 3rd party site.
    What happens on 3rd party sites is beyond the remit of what we can action here. I appreciate the honest admission though that you "bad mouthed" someone on a third party site, but then you also need to see that it's understandable that someone would get offended at that. Sounds like a situation where we should let by-gones be by-gones, don't you think?

i also offered a free area separate to our business area for members to meet at both the tullamore show and NPA in September. Something a lot of members have suggested on here. Yes again i was told i was advertising. Some give and take. I really enjoyed meeting members last year.

also i remember a previous mod said we could advertise by posting a link from adverts. whats the story on this now?

One of the fundamental rules in the Boards.ie charter is that it doesn't allow advertising. And while each forum has a certain amount of leeway when it comes to writing up our own charters, we still have to adhere to the few concrete rules laid down by boards. So while on a personal level I appreciate the sentiment behind you offering a free area for a meetup, from the point of view of boards, it's advertising. This is something that we've taken the time to clarify it with the admins this afternoon, and their call on this is that a post like that would in future be classed as advertising and wouldn't be permitted.

Regarding posting links to ads on adverts, donedeal, eBay etc, it's not allowed. The forums would become overrun in a heartbeat. Having said that, if someone posts looking to know where they can get X, for example, and links to an eBay ad to show what they mean, that's perfectly acceptable.

The only form of "advertising" you can do is you can have a simple link to your business in your signature.

We'll be upfront and say it's a fair point, and that plenty of discussion has been had behind the scenes on whether we have been approaching things with a heavy hand, and what the best approach is in order to keep things flowing. The forum has gone through quite a bit of upheaval in the last few months, and with upheaval comes unrest. And when unrest comes, a few posters invariably push the boundaries as far as they can. And then the moderators push back. And that causes more unrest. It's a vicious circle.

So that's what this thread is about. Rather than keeping on down the same road and pressure building up on both sides, posters and moderators all get to take a step back, and explain their side of things. At the end of the day the four people that moderate the forum don't want to spend their days dealing with reported posts and handing out yellow cards - we want to read posts and contribute to them just like everyone else. Hence the process outlined above - if we see something we feel is going astray, we'll try and nudge it back in the right direction. If you see something that's going astray, report it and that means we get to it before all hell breaks loose.

just do it wrote: »
    One point to add, we can all take some responsibility by anonymously reporting posts to the mods were unhappy with by using the report button.

Couldn't have said it better myself. We're four people. We can't possibly read every thread and post here, so if someone is acting like a prize toolbag, report it!! - don't complain about it in-thread. The sooner it's reported, the sooner we can ask the person nicely to rein it in a bit, and peace and quiet will ensue again.

Right, I think I need a pint after all that typing......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,719 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

I'll throw in my 2c.
    I think allot of frustration built up when one or two individuals seemed to be immune to moderation while others got the full wrath for seemingly modest misbehaviours.

I do hope things get back on an even path again as it's an interesting and informative place to hop into.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Im happy enough with the mods but , it was alot looser and everyone seemed to get on well when johngalway and reilig were keeping an eye on things without jumping in too quick over small things .
    But I suppose the forum is getting busier and needs a bit more smacht incase it does land the owners in bother . The only thing I think is any nasty personal posts the upset someone - those posters should be banned straight away without any cards or discussion . There are very little of those post but I did notice a couple in the last few months that could have been handled a bit better

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

moy83 wrote: »
    But I suppose the forum is getting busier and needs a bit more smacht incase it does land the owners in bother . The only thing I think is any nasty personal posts the upset someone - those posters should be banned straight away without any cards or discussion . There are very little of those post but I did notice a couple in the last few months that could have been handled a bit better

Moy, if any of you feel that a mod action wasn't up to standard, then I would hope that you would PM any of us and we will look into it again.

We don't bite, contrary to what you may think:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

.Kovu. wrote: »
    Moy, if any of you feel that a mod action wasn't up to standard, then I would hope that you would PM any of us and we will look into it again.

That was the impression here for a while

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Will do , I'm not totally against a bit of biting at the right time :D

I think the previous mods did their job respectfully and honestly.

They let most posters settle small issues without interfering and only used their powers when things got nasty.

I salute their long standing service

And wish Reilig John Galway and Rovi the very best.

They laid the foundation of this forum in every sense.

I now call on the present mods to do likewise.

Take the principles of the past mods and use them.

I understand the present mods are dutie bound to follow the rules of this site and I appreciate that.

However the posters in this forum are relatively good people.

We come on this forum for advice insight and a bit of banter
    We mean no harm and we are absolutely not like that crazy bunch on after hours.

Again I understand yer position but surely a understanding can be reached.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

Again I understand yer position but surely a understanding can be reached.

That's what we're after. In both directions.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

mike_ie wrote: »

One of the fundamental rules in the Boards.ie charter is that it doesn't allow advertising. And while each forum has a certain amount of leeway when it comes to writing up our own charters, we still have to adhere to the few concrete rules laid down by boards. So while on a personal level I appreciate the sentiment behind you offering a free area for a meetup, from the point of view of boards, it's advertising. This is something that we've taken the time to clarify it with the admins this afternoon, and their call on this is that a post like that would in future be classed as advertising and wouldn't be permitted.

Regarding posting links to ads on adverts, donedeal, eBay etc, it's not allowed. The forums would become overrun in a heartbeat. Having said that, if someone posts looking to know where they can get X, for example, and links to an eBay ad to show what they mean, that's perfectly acceptable.

The only form of "advertising" you can do is you can have a simple link to your business in your signature.

Isn't adverts.ie operated by the same body as boards.ie? surely they wouldn't object to links generating more traffic for them.

what is the opinion on posting links to ads asking for others insight into them, there have been many with people asking others opinions on machinery or whatever.

ganmo wrote: »
    Isn't adverts.ie operated by the same body as boards.ie? surely they wouldn't object to links generating more traffic for them.

I thought that too. Here's a link we were given earlier to explain it.

what is the opinion on posting links to ads asking for others insight into them, there have been many with people asking others opinions on machinery or whatever.

That would be okay as you're not doing the advertising.

Adam Grant

Kovu - I think may be one of the areas of issue. In the post above it is stated that 't the four of us are discussing the outstanding questions'. Due to some previous issues I don't know that posters feel comfortable reporting this type of problem.

I appreciate mods have a hard job but potentially not all mods may be necessarily up to the job in hand and as a result there may be significant frustration due to the fact that posters can do nothing about it. The help desk is public and for anyone posting there and outlining ongoing problems like this it is going to be difficult at best.

I think there needs to be some means to such serious issues to the notice of specific mods / staff and be confident of a fair and impartial review of the matter.

I can understand why one mod in a group of mods can't or isn't able to take further action that may not be favourable where specific mod action in a forum isn't up to normal standards, Currently however there is nothing out there that allows for issues like this to be handled in a fair and proper way.

gozunda wrote: »
    Kovu - I think may be one of the areas of issue. In the post above it is stated that 't the four of us are discussing the outstanding questions'. Due to some previous issues I don't know that posters feel comfortable reporting this type of problem.

I appreciate mods have a hard job but potentially not all mods may be necessarily up to the job in hand and as a result there may be significant frustration due to the fact that posters can do nothing about it. The help desk is public and for anyone posting there and outlining ongoing problems like this it is going to be difficult at best.

I think there needs to be some means to such serious issues to the notice of specific mods / staff and be confident of a fair and impartial review of the matter.

I can understand why one mod in a group of mods can't or isn't able to take further action that may not be favourable where specific mod action in a forum isn't up to normal standards, Currently however there is nothing out there that allows for issues like this to be handled in a fair and proper way.

Well said and I totally agree.

I believe posters would be wary of complaining about a mod and then suffering the wrath of the mentioned mod at a later date.

The posters have no say in the mods getting appointed or the performance of any mods in the running of the forum.

If they do its a red card straight away as mods can't be questioned or the actions of a mod. This can lead to a bit of do as I say and not as I do. (I mean that in the nicest way possible by the way :D)

This can lead to discontent in the ranks so to speak

gozunda, the Cmods are always there too, if you have an issue or a query that you wouldn't feel comfortable saying to one of us, they are there to sort it.

For example, if you thought I made a rash decision and banned someone for a week for a trivial matter. If you PM'ed a Cmod and mentioned that you though I was unfair to another poster or even to yourself, they would look into it and possibly reverse my action. We are only human too and mistakes are made!

We are only human too and mistakes are made!

It all made perfect sence till the bit above................. A WOMAN making a mistake and admitting it.......... Nooooooooooooooooooooooooooo:D

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,351 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

The posters have no say in the mods getting appointed or the performance of any mods in the running of the forum.

If they do its a red card straight away as mods can't be questioned or the actions of a mod.

Just to clarify something here. It's a sitewide rule that mod actions can't be questioned on-thread as it tends to drag threads off-topic, and it is for this that people get infracted, not for questioning the mod action in the first place. If you want clarity on a particular mod action there's nothing to stop you PMing them.

It all made perfect sence till the bit above................. A WOMAN making a mistake and admitting it.......... Nooooooooooooooooooooooooooo:D

You're mistaken. She'll admit the rest of us err.

Adam Grant

Zaph wrote: »
    Just to clarify something here. It's a sitewide rule that mod actions can't be questioned on-thread as it tends to drag threads off-topic, and it is for this that people get infracted, not for questioning the mod action in the first place. If you want clarity on a particular mod action there's nothing to stop you PMing them.

Understood but sometimes people can't be talked to.

Breaking News- Kovu makes mistakles! :D

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,351 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Understood but sometimes people can't be talked to.

Well as .Kovu. mentioned above, that's what the CMods are there for.

Zaph wrote: »
    Well as .Kovu. mentioned above, that's what the CMods are there for.

Don't realise that at the time. Duly noted now. Thank you sir.

Breaking News- Kovu makes mistakles! :D

Excellent:)

Excellent:)

Frame that quick :D

gozunda, the Cmods are always there too, if you have an issue or a query that you wouldn't feel comfortable saying to one of us, they are there to sort it.

For example, if you thought I made a rash decision and banned someone for a week for a trivial matter. If you PM'ed a Cmod and mentioned that you though I was unfair to another poster or even to yourself, they would look into it and possibly reverse my action. We are only human too and mistakes are made!

Kovu

I'm going to call a spade a spade as we do in FF ;)

I'm not referring to single issues here (even though individual incidents build up and are relevant when they are significant) and ongoing poor mod actions may causes genuine frustration and further problems.

I will admit I don't think it is a problem unique to FF but tbh I have seen a lot of it here in recent times. A nice way of putting it is to say not all posters are 'good' posters and not all appointed mods are 'good' mods. This is evident over time. This type of situation can be a significant cause of unease and turmoil in the forum.

To try a put something positive to this - My suggestion would be something akin to what Reggie pointed out ie some type of probationary period or review by an impartial boards staff or other of any new mods. This would allow for a mod to get used to a forum especially where they were not regular members of that forum or section of forum. It would also allow posters some input during this period. Posters already get so many strikes and their out. I think something similar ref mod actions could be used as a way of stopping developing situations where there is widespread frustration and posters / mods leaving.

Ps - I reckon you could set up a school of modding Kovu - you have a excellent approach when things get a bit skewed :)

pps - ref ps I'm not brown nosing :D

I'm not referring to single issues here (even though individual incidents build up and are relevant when they are significant) though ongoing poor mod actions may causes genuine frustration and further problems.

I will admit I don't think it is a problem unique to FF but tbh I have seen a lot of it here in recent times. A nice way of putting it is to say not all posters are good posters and not all appointed mods are good mods. This is evident over time. This situation can be a significant cause of unease and turmoil in the forum.

To try a put something positive to this - My suggestion would be something akin to what Reggie said ie some type of probationary period or review by an impartial boards staff or other of any new mods. This would allow for a mod to get used to a forum especially where they were not regular members of that forum or section of forum. It would also allow posters some input during this period. Posters already get so many strikes and their out. I think something similar ref mod behaviour could be used as a way of stopping developing situations where their is widespread frustration and posters / mods leaving.
    Mods should be taken from the posters of the main forum as i believe this would ease any transition from poster to mod for other posters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,803 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

Would have a few bottles of Korona in me after watching Après Match WC 3rd place play off game but nevertheless have to say I for one miss the input of people like Reilig and would hope that current and future Mods need to realise that handling affairs with a velvet glove can be equally as effective as using the Iron Fist approach.

You catch more flies with honey than vinegar

Except when they are Vinegar flies :D

They do exist!

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Drosophila_melanogaster

Please, no mention of veterinary medicines....................

:p

Adam Grant

greysides wrote: »
    Please, no mention of veterinary medicines....................

:p

Nearly snuck that one through...dammmit

Except when they are Vinegar flies :D

They do exist!

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Drosophila_melanogaster

Go ahead just take the wind clean out of my sails there :p

I meant to add that you can substitute sh1te for honey and it's quite effective too ;)