Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Garth Brooks Fiasco Proves My Point About Irish People

• 12-07-2014 2:16am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭

A week ago I started a thread called "Irish People have Low Self-Esteem"
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=91070342

In it I mentioned how in my experience with international people here in Dublin they view Irish people as generally incompetent and the drunk children of Europe.

Well, I think the whole Garth Brooks fiasco proves my point perfectly and now the whole world sees us this way.

Seriously, how could we **** up so badly, it's embarrassing, we can't manage our own affairs because we haven't enough self respect for ourselves to do so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭solomafioso

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

its all down to the weather, she is a moody mistress.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

UCDCritic wrote: »

In it I mentioned how in my experience with international people here in Dublin they view Irish people as generally incompetent and the drunk children of Europe.

Well, I think the whole Garth Brooks fiasco proves my point perfectly and now the whole world sees us this way.

Seriously, how could we **** up so badly, it's embarrassing, we can't manage our own affairs because we haven't enough self respect for ourselves to do so.

Your own low self esteem probably explains your pathetic post.

Try finding a girl/boyfriend. That should cheer you up you miserable old fart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭anto9

Garath Brooks ? Who is he ?

WilyCoyote wrote: »

Ah wily that was harsh, even for a friday night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭UCDCritic

Definitely harsh willy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

First of all most international people have no clue where Ireland is on a map. Nevermind the whole Garth Brooks affair. The national drunken idiot stereotype exists purely because it's all people know about Ireland. It has nothing to do with whether the quality is true or not and it most certainly isn't. Every nation has these kinds of issues we just deflate and deprecate ourselves for no reason.

Nobody gives a sht about Garth Brooks, only himself and some Irish people who think what happens here is the centre of international attention. It's not. (Maybe if someone starts a riot? It might be, but even with a riot international media attention is still doubtful.)

Turtwig wrote: »
    First of all most international people have no clue where Ireland is on a map.

Is it any wonder, who looks at maps any more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Try finding a girl/boyfriend. That should cheer you up you miserable young fart.
    Definitely harsh willy

Must apologize here for mistake in post.

There ye are .......... fixed my own post. See above. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,084 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

400,000 of us don't have much self-esteem anyway...

John Hiatt said it best in Perfectly Good Guitar tbh.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭calanus

does it though? does it Reeealllyyy, does it....... Good for you dingleberry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 424 ✭✭NotASheeple

Esel wrote: »
    400,000 of us don't have much self-esteem anyway...

Is that you Enda with your continuing delusion?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

Here in the land of the americans you can rest assured that (at least in Seattle) nobody has heard of the Garth Brooks Fiasco.

Ireland's reputation remains squeaky clean. They love the place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

"cutting", "incisive"....but no, too accurate to be called harsh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,503 ✭✭✭thomasm

We care too much about what others think. The constant need for approval from other countries is annoying. The most common question asked after a golf tournament is generally how was the place looking, isn't the course great, aren't we great for organising this, give us a pat on the head please. Same in politics, hi Europe tell us we are great for all our austerity and don't forget to pat the head now. Same with this Brooks sh1te, every paper has the international reaction section. Shows such a lask of confidence and insecurity and a childish need to be loved

Why do we care so much about what others think of us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Even if that were true, It's still better than being English. And definitely far better than being american. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

The British. It was always easier to meander than take them on directly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭JohnMarston

I hope it feels good to point out the shortcomings of others OP. Seriously give yourself a big pat on the back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

Harsh but true?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

sure be jaysus begorrah says I to the boul' mister brooks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭umop.episdn

Anyone that mentions PJ in any thread wins post of the day in my book.....using it in a shìte Garth Brooks thread just adds to it's beauty!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,231 ✭✭✭Hercule Poirot

It is rather pathetic that Enda got involved with the fiasco - and now a lot of people here think he is a brainless moron driven by PR, the beauty of this is that no country outside Ireland (bar maybe England) realises what a sh1tty leader we've managed to elect for ourselves.

The Irish people aren't pathetic or weak, just it's leaders.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

The Irish people aren't pathetic or weak, just it's leaders.

And who elected these weak pathetic leaders?

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Sirsok

I would imagine the only ones with a seriously bad opinion of us are the French , and Those arrogant smelly garlic snail eaters can shove their stereotype up their bibliothèque.

Sirsok wrote: »
    I would imagine the only ones with a seriously bad opinion of us are the French , and Those arrogant smelly garlic snail eaters can shove their stereotype up their bibliothèque.

belgians too.

Fcukers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭dirtyden

So what you are trying to say is that you are embarrassed about being irish because some Garth Brooks concerts were cancelled? Because this embarrasses you, you have extrapolated to the scenario that the whole of Ireland has low self esteem.

That seems like quite an assumption to me. I know this does not embarrass me.

I also work for a multi national and the opinion of Ireland and irish employees within this company is quite the opposite of what you might think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,231 ✭✭✭Hercule Poirot

Hermy wrote: »
    And who elected these weak pathetic leaders?

Weeell, it's a bit like that South Park episode, do you vote for the Douche or the Turd Sandwich?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,987 ✭✭✭mikeym

Theres plenty of badly run countries out there that are worse than boozy Ireland.

In some countries you get sentenced to death for being a homosexual.
    And in others you dont have a say in how your country is run.

So stop worrying about Garth Brooks he'll be back next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

I think the "Garth Brooks Fiasco" as you put it actually disproves your point, a city council that makes a decision based on Law and local agreements and doesn't bow to Cronyism is a good thing is it not.

21/25

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭Reformed Character

There is nothing embarrassing about sticking to our laws and regulations, if anything this episode has shown that Ireland and Dublin are no longer tolerating the gombeen politics and brown envelope culture that bankrupted the state.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

"We"? Constantly going on about we have low self esteem and how shyte "we" are... does seem like something someone with low self esteem would say all right. Speak for yourself.
    The Garth Brooks thing taking over the news and even politics (and other stuff in this country) is kinda embarrassing, but you're deluded if you think "the whole world" knows about it (seriously, lol).
    Esel wrote: »
    John Hiatt said it best in Perfectly Good Guitar tbh.
    Eh yeh, we all know about that... :confused:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

Weeell, it's a bit like that South Park episode, do you vote for the Douche or the Turd Sandwich?

Well obviously the Douche - the Turd Sandwich just wouldn't cut the mustard!

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

The first I heard about the cancellations is when BBC world interuppted normal service and ran a special bulletin. Morto so I was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

We're class, op. Feck you and the horse you rode in on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 914 ✭✭✭tommyboy2222

Our 9/11. #DublinStrong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,589 ✭✭✭Fr. Ned

There is nothing embarrassing about sticking to our laws and regulations, if anything this episode has shown that Ireland and Dublin are no longer tolerating the gombeen politics and brown envelope culture that bankrupted the state.

The embarrassing thing is that when we are being screwed into the ground at the behest of the EU we just sit and take it.

When some washed out singer isn't allowed 2 of his 5 'concerts' the people take to the streets with their gombeen politicians.

This banana republic is the laughing stock of the world, a cesspit of corruption and ineptitude...

Fr. Ned wrote: »
    This banana republic is the laughing stock of the world, a cesspit of corruption and ineptitude...
    Only in the world in your head. We're really not that important to the rest of the world.
    You don't know what banana republic cesspit of corruption (ineptitude I'll give you) really is.

Magaggie wrote: »
    Only in the world in your head. We're really not that important to the rest of the world.
    You don't know what banana republic cesspit of corruption (ineptitude I'll give you) really is.

We were important enough when it came to saving the European banking system.
    35 years ago Bob Geldof wrote a song about this 'banana republic', he was right then and he is right now.

This country functions on a 'nod and a wink' basis, you must be very young if you haven't seen that in action.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭Drakares

Well it's great of you to go around to gather everyone's opinions.

I live in Germany, not a single person has mentioned this to me, nor do they even know, nor give a toss about Garth Brooks. Or any minor news events in a country a country thousands of miles away for that matter.

Go get yourself some sunlight, it'll do you good.

I'm 36 - geriatric compared to some on this forum.

The self loathing and whinging about how crap "we" are annoys me. Bob Geldof would be one such person. As if that's going to improve things.

It's true about Michael Lowry et al (****ing boils my blood tbh) but it's galling the way we're all held accountable for it. Parish pump gombeenism is a *part* of Ireland, it is not the full picture.

Calling this country a banana republic is hysteria and an indication of not fully understanding what the term means.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

The embarrassing thing is that when we are being screwed into the ground at the behest of the EU we just sit and take it.

When some washed out singer isn't allowed 2 of his 5 'concerts' the people take to the streets with their gombeen politicians.

You should spend some time in Italy.

Bonga bonga party anyone?

The self loathing and whinging about how crap "we" are annoys me. Bob Geldof would be one such person. As if that's going to improve things.

It's true about the Michael Lowry et al (****ing boils my blood tbh) but it's galling the way we're all held accountable for it. Parish pump gombeenism is a *part* of Ireland, it is not the full picture.

Calling this country a banana republic is hysteria and an indication of not fully understanding what the term means.

We're held accountable because we elect people like Lowry and the parish pumpers.
    Politicians in this place are disgusting people and we allow that to be the case.

Politicians from all parties are up in arms about some washed out singer, the only one standing up for us in europe is a pot smoking hippie FFS.

Enda has one every week.....allegedly.....:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,467 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

Drakares wrote: »
    Well it's great of you to go around to gather everyone's opinions.

I live in Germany, not a single person has mentioned this to me, nor do they even know, nor give a toss about Garth Brooks. Or any minor news events in a country a country thousands of miles away for that matter.

Go get yourself some sunlight, it'll do you good.

to be fair its less than a thousand miles between ireland and germany

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Wishiwasa Littlebitaller

It's true about the Michael Lowry et al (****ing boils my blood tbh) but it's galling the way we're all held accountable for it. Parish pump gombeenism is a *part* of Ireland, it is not the full picture.

Spot on. Lets blame a Texan for the mess instead of looking at our own flaws.

As a great man once said:
    Sitting on the sidelines or on the fence cribbing and moaning is a lost oppuntunity. In fact, I don't know how people who engage in that, don't commit suicide.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

The idea that you are getting so intimate with foreigners in Dublin that you, and you alone, are getting their deepest darkest racist thoughts about the ethnic group you belong too is more evidence of your projected self hatred masquerading as Walter Mitty type fantasy than anything else. Most countries are not reporting this, where they are they are pro DCC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,607 ✭✭✭✭blade1

There's a Garth Brooks Tribute act playing in Youghal tonight.
    Imagine if he really took him off to a tee and not play at all!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

We're held accountable because we elect people like Lowry and the parish pumpers.
    Politicians in this place are disgusting people and we allow that to be the case.

Politicians from all parties are up in arms about some washed out singer, the only one standing up for us in europe is a pot smoking hippie FFS.

Nobody in Europe knows about Lowry. They know about Sarkozy and Berlesconi however.

He should spend some time in 2007 when negative people were told to commit suicide.

Spot on. Lets blame a Texan for the mess instead of looking at our own flaws.

As a great man once said:
    Nobody said anything about us not looking at our own flaws constructively - that's something we should constantly be doing.
    Whinging about how sh-t "we" are is not the above though.