Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

First they came for the cake, now the yoga

• 09-07-2014 8:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭

Fearful the people might turn away and find something more beneficial to them and so cut off the supply of kids to the RCC, the slimy git put an "embargo" on the advertising of yoga classes
    “People turned to yoga in greater numbers following the clerical abuse issue."

She said she had spoken to Fr O'Baoill about the issue before and he had put an "embargo" on the advertising of yoga classes, so she was aware that he did not approve.
    http://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/donegal-priest-tells-mass-goers-not-3835468
    An Irish priest has warned his parishioners against taking part in yoga, describing it as "unsavoury".
    Fr Padraig O'Baoill, a parish priest in Gweedore, County Donegal, issued the warning in a parish newsletter.
    The weekend bulletin stated Catholic parishioners should not "endanger" their souls by practising yoga, tai chi or reiki.
    http://www.bbc.com/news/world-europe-28225837

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

Fcuking eeijit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,581 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

But he insists they keep wearing the yoga pants to mass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

Wasting his time tbh, sure Yoga is flying, despite their embargo. They probably have their own idea of how people should be stretched out, anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

How are these eijets still getting air time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭stmol32

Said Father O'Baoill

"Yoga gives you inner peace!! .... more like inner... feckin'.... gayness or something I don't know what"

major bill wrote: »
    How are these eijets still getting air time?

They know all the grubby little secrets, from confession....like Edgar J Hoover, only with collars and incense..it's called "leverage". Why do you think they invented "confession" and them little boxes?? "Tell me your secrets, I will wave my wand of wonder and make it all OK. But just remember, I know..........".

As a nine year old, i went once, had a think, and went "feck that, MYOB weirdo"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

Fr Padraig O'Baoill has obviously had a bad experience with yoga, resulting in his having his head stuck up his arse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Me thinks there is already a thread about this....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 862 ✭✭✭constance tench

Probably classifies it as magick.

...wonder what he thinks of 'Saint John Bosco' or...

'The Flying Priest'
    http://vaticaninsider.lastampa.it/en/the-vatican/detail/articolo/francesco-francis-francisco-santi-saints-santos-33197/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

No better reason to disconnect Donegal from the rest of the country, what a fecking eejit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

Gweedore, County Donegal? When did they get a printing press?

When did they get yoga :pac: or was it late night tele he got this idea from?

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Bet you like that sort of thing, except you're thinking what they look like without their shorts on.

Dirty bastards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

antodeco wrote: »
    Bet you like that sort of thing, except you're thinking what they look like without their shorts on.

Dirty bastards

If you're going to quote Father Ted, at least get the quote right.

I knew it wasn't fully right. I currently have norovirus so my main concentration at this point is not vomiting and having my hole explode at the same time.

I hope your keeping hydrated.

I'd be inclined to try and make him/her laugh and see if I could get a double-outburst..

If I do a handstand I could probably rehydrate myself, akin to recycling rain water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭Pwindedd

I never ever thought I'd hear the words Yoga and unsavoury used in conjunction. It's actually ridiculous enough to be comical.

If you ever say that to me again, I'll put your head, through the wall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

Ahahaha, that's hilarious!!! How desperate can ya get to be telling people not to do yoga??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

If I do a handstand I could probably rehydrate myself, akin to recycling rain water.

Scatman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

Moron's going on the basis of it having been related to Hinduism, and ignoring the fact that most people just do it as a mediated form of exercise...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

I've had my fun, and that's all that matters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

I value his opinion. He is a magic man. He wears special clothes and can turn little bits of bread into a 2000 year old lad's body. If I tell him about the wrong stuff I did, then all is well again. A fella worth knowing. So if he says yoga is dangerous, then it is dangerous.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

kowloon wrote: »
    But he insists they keep wearing the yoga pants to mass.

"I implore you all to give up this unclean act and pass your unnecessary yoga clothes to your children."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,119 ✭✭✭job seeker

Apartly you shouldn't do yoga, if your religious.. I don't do yoga anyway.. Never seen the 'big deal' with the whole yoga milarky.. I'm a yoga atheist.

A priest based in Gweedore has urged his parishioners not to take part in yoga, tai chi, or reiki as it is ‘unsavoury’.

Full story here... http://www.donegalnow.com/article/3540

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

The only thing I know about yoga is that herself does it once or twice a week. She's not religious.

Should I be worried now that she might be some sort of satanist?

The only thing I know about yoga is that herself does it once or twice a week. She's not religious.

Should I be worried now that she might be some sort of satanist?

Nope.

Just that
    yoga, tai chi, or reiki were ‘endangering’ their soul.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

That's grand so - I'm pretty sure she doesn't have a soul. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭neamhspleachi

:pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

I do a bit of Pilates

Am I doomed for eternal damnation lads?? :mad:

The priest is batty, Jesus is long dead so I doubt he has an opinion on yoga.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

The good Lord himself brought unto this world, a man of noble heart and humble belongings, who ushered in the age of the Yoga Pants.

And on that day, the Lord himself did say: "Oooo, dat ass."

~Book of Magic, Ch: 6, V:16.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 615 ✭✭✭jellyboy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

The priest must have been looking at the yogapants reddit and went to Lourdes to confess and now warn others!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Yoga?

I know running endangers my soles.

jester77 wrote: »
    The priest must have been looking at the yogapants reddit and went to Lourdes to confess and now warn others!

Link me up!

Pherekydes wrote: »
    Yoga?

I know running endangers my soles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

Yoga - practiced as actual yoga has spiritual elements and beliefs in "energies", etc that are not in accordance with catholic church teaching.

That is all that this priest is saying here, and it's not a new position by the RCC.

I've done yoga. I love the stretching, excercise, flexing, relaxation, etc. The more spiritual elements of it, encouraged more or less by different teachers is not to my liking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

It's more to do with embracing the spiritual side of these which conflict with the faith rather than just doing a bit of yoga, the priest is on about.

Reiki is a load of shìt, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

job seeker wrote: »
    Link me up!

just google reddit yogapants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

Yoga Flame, in hell fire!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 953 ✭✭✭donegal__road

I have emailed that story to the American Catholic Organisation.. we'll see what they have to say about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Well at least when the exorcisms are being performed by the priest on the yoga ladies, the headspinning will be straightforward as their neck muscles will be nice and relaxed.

So many ways to get to hell these days: in a handbasket, on a yoga mat ...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭the culture of deference

More crazy nonsense from those men in black

Fr Padraig O’Baoill warned against yoga and tai chi

A CATHOLIC priest who warned his parishioners they were putting their souls in jeopardy by taking part in yoga classes was reflecting church teachings, friends have insisted.

Fr Padraig O'Baoill, the parish priest of Gweedore, Co Donegal, had previously banned adverts for local yoga classes from his parish newsletter.
    He told parishioners in his weekly bulletin: “As followers of Jesus Christ, we shouldn't be taking part in any activities that are in conflict with our faith.

“Therefore don't take any part in yoga classes, tai chi or reiki. Do not endanger your souls for the sake of such unsavoury activities.”

However, another priest in the same Diocese of Raphoe insisted: “Eastern pagan worship and practices are contrary to church teachings.”

Listeners to Raidio na Gaeltachta inundated the station with comments when they broke the story, with many parishioners defending the priest.

But retired secondary school teacher Norah Graham, who runs yoga classes in the parish, said she knew Fr O'Baoill disapproved of the practice because he had already banned her from advertising her classes in the weekly church bulletin.

Although yoga comes from 4,000-year-old Indian holy texts, Ms Graham insisted the practice in the West today was “largely divorced” from any religious practice.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/dont-endanger-your-souls-by-taking-yoga-classes-priest-warning-to-parishioners-30421352.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭solomafioso

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Threads merged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭stmol32

Jaysis lads can we not have just one thread that doesn't degenerate into Fr. Ted quotes ffs.

goes back and reads original articles

Oh right :mad:.
    Carry on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Lucifer MorningStar

Yes he does and he hates Karate too, what a party pooper