Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you know any homophobic people?

• 09-07-2014 5:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,216 ✭✭✭✭

I know a few. Some are young and would be well educated and others would be of an older generation.

Do you know any homophobic people? 263 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No
    100% 263 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

No, I do know a few homosapiens though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

Stay tuned - they'll be along soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Yeah I do. Most wouldn't shout about it, but would pull faces or make a comment if they saw a gay couple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭SuperGrover

Stay tuned - they'll be along soon.

You'll know them by the way they start a post with a sideswipe at the 'PC brigade', an organisation they invented as an enemy to justify their own stupidity and bias.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

Not necessarily homophobic like 'gay people are the worst' but plenty of people who would be uncomfy around gay people, use gay slurs to describe bad things, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭Kaycee2

Yes, i know a few older people that are, one in particular is not just homophobic but also racist, sexist the whole package, very intolerant to anything that's not what he considers in his mind 'normal'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

Yup, know someone who is against it for religious reasons and has children outside of marriage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭Daith

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Yep. Used to work with a fella who was jailed for beating up a gay male couple on a bus in East London, one needed stitches after the attack. I also used to work for a security company and a number of doormen refused to work at a gay bar. Now, there are some issues there that would put some people off but not wanting to work with "filthy animals" isn't a valid reason in my book. I also ended up in a scrap during a college event when I was just 18 over some tosser in my course bullying a gay lad who was on the tour with us.

I've met countless homophobes to be honest, a lot of the Muslims I work with would be very homophobic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

It's getting hard to tell, especially since they try to disguise it with talk of freedom and equality and all the stuff they actually hate. Oh, and if you do find one, you must never, ever, call it a homophobe. Or feed it after midnight, maybe that was it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

I've known a couple, both were actually fairly young too. One of them was actually the biggest closet case I've ever seen in my life too :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

I know many, young, highly educated people that are completely Homophobic, it's crazy.

Differences in cultures I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭Kaycee2

FTA69 wrote: »
    Yep. Used to work with a fella who was jailed for beating up a gay male couple on a bus in East London, one needed stitches after the attack. I also used to work for a security company and a number of doormen refused to work at a gay bar. Now, there are some issues there that would put some people off but not wanting to work with "filthy animals" isn't a valid reason in my book. I also ended up in a scrap during a college event when I was just 18 over some tosser in my course bullying a gay lad who was on the tour with us.

I've met countless homophobes to be honest, a lot of the Muslims I work with would be very homophobic.

Animals, i was thinking homophobes as in people i've heard saying it's just not right bla bla bla, definatley don't know anyone who would take it to those extremes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

Daith wrote: »

FYI Felix Bollard is an anagram for Flared Bollax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Probably one fella, he gave a gay guy a beating in the pub one night.

Not sure if that was the reason though, they were arguing for a few minutes beforehand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

I think I may be homophobicphobic....... I despise homophobes!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭steveone

I have no time for the ' look we're gay ' type, i don't care that they're gay- its the attention seeking that annoys me. Does that make me a homophobe or a sociopath?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,551 ✭✭✭swiftblade

steveone wrote: »
    I have no time for the ' look we're gay ' type, i don't care that they're gay- its the attention seeking that annoys me. Does that make me a homophobe or a sociopath?

Depends. Does the "I'm gonna shift the face of yer one here" type annoy you to?

swiftblade wrote: »
    Depends. Does the "I'm gonna shift the face of yer one here" type annoy you to?

Yep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭Intensive Care Bear

Seeing how this topic popped up i thought i'd share this story, my best friend got sacked from her job yesterday for being bisexual, she had been working as a PA for the last few weeks and was getting on great until yesterday when the woman she was working for started asking her about her partner. As soon as her employer realised she was in a relationship with a woman she said she would have to let her go as "it would be like having a man woking as my PA"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,824 ✭✭✭floggg

Yep

You're fine so. You're not homophobic, just a miserable sh1te :)

Yep

You're grand so. :D

1210m5g wrote: »
    Seeing how this topic popped up i thought i'd share this story, my best friend got sacked from her job yesterday for being bisexual, she had been working as a PA for the last few weeks and was getting on great until yesterday when the woman she was working for started asking her about her partner. As soon as her employer realised she was in a relationship with a woman she said she would have to let her go as "it would be like having a man woking as my PA"

http://www.equality.ie/Files/Guide-to-the-Employment-Equality-Acts-1998-2008.pdf

floggg wrote: »

Fingers crossed that works, but as the woman in question had only been working for Mrs Homophobe for a few weeks, she was probably on probation. :(

You're fine so. You're not homophobic, just a miserable sh1te :)
    Made me laugh that did:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

Funnily enough, I don't know any in real life.

Online seems to be perfectly crawling with them at times, though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Shenshen wrote: »
    Funnily enough, I don't know any in real life.

Online seems to be perfectly crawling with them at times, though.

I suspect they're a little braver in airing their views online :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭Intensive Care Bear

She was working as self employed for an individual for just a few weeks so i presume (i could be wrong) it would be a bit more difficult for her to follow it up.

Either way she doesn't want to, she just said she's going to learn from it and keep it secret in future, makes me sad that people have to do that.

On a serious note, there are very few of those though. More often us just an extroverted personality which fits the usual gay stereotypes.

Unfortunately as these guys don't really fit the usual character type for young men these age, people just assume they are putting it on.

And unfortunately people tend to dislike people or things which stand out as different from their expected so they ascribe some ill motive like attention seeking where there is none. They are just being themselves, and perhaps not giving a **** if people would prefer they didn't.

I wouldn't call that homophobia on the part of the people judging them - more a case of lacking empathy or understanding of different personalities.

She was working as self employed for an individual for just a few weeks so i presume (i could be wrong) it would be a bit more difficult for her to follow it up.

Either way she doesn't want to, she just said she's going to learn from it and keep it secret in future, makes me sad that people have to do that.

It's up to her to consider what to do, but if in that situation I would lodge a complaint firstly to let her know I wouldn't take that crap lying down, and secondly so she would think twice about pulling that crap on somebody else.

If Mrs Homophobe is wealthy enough to have a PA, she probably has quite a status to maintain, so perhaps a spot of gossip about the incident could be an effective score-settling? Therapeutic too. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

Roy: "So what did you think?"
    Moss: "It was fantastic! Every value I've ever held is being questioned And I'm LOVING it. "

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

All of my friends know one :o

Only joking, but yes I know a few.

I know one older man who's pretty vociferous about his feelings. He insists it's a choice, but he was outraged when I asked him when he chose to be straight.

I know a few closet homophobes, they say all the right things in public but roll their eyes and wrinkle their noses in private.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

I'm not proud of this - but I am homophobic. I don't know if it's just how I was raised or what....but I have nightmares where the cast of 'Queer Eye For The Straight Guy' hold me down and make fun of my clothes.

After they throw out all my clothes, they end up painting my walls, and redecorating my living room.

Also, clowns scare the hell out of me. If the clown was gay, I'd still be scared, so I think that counts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

They're out there, and present here, but like the fianna fail voter, they don't tend to shout about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

I'd say most people fall on a spectrum.

You could make a distinction between people who find homosexuality icky but are happy to live and let live and people who want them to be oppressed because they find them icky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭pauliebdub

In my experience most women are fine with it both here in Dublin and in rural Ireland where I'm from, a handful of women who are also quite religious of varying ages are uncomfortable with it.

Older men tend to much more uncomfortable around gay people, though I wouldn't nescessarily call them homophobic they just might not be very familiar with it or have unresolved insecurity regarding their own sexuality. I have a few older male neighbours who wouldn't speak to me. Younger guys are mostly fine particularly if they like you in the first place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

I know a few. Some are young and would be well educated and others would be of an older generation.

I'm not sure their education or their age has much to do with anything, or maybe that's your point? I know plenty, right across the social spectrum, and many more I'd care not to have any dealings with, as Candie describes below.

At least if I'm aware of their homophobic tendencies, I can choose whether I want to engage with them or not, but it's the sneaky bastard closet homophobic people that really get the brunt of my anger, because not only are they ignorant, but they were able to hide their ignorance under the radar, and then I'm more angry at myself that I didn't pick up on it.

Candie wrote: »
    I know one older man who's pretty vociferous about his feelings. He insists it's a choice, but he was outraged when I asked him when he chose to be straight.

I know a few closet homophobes, they say all the right things in public but roll their eyes and wrinkle their noses in private.

I was out for drinks one night with a young couple, well educated, social justice warrior types (at least I'll admit to my prejudices, they give me a pain in my face! :(), giving it welly with the anti-homophobic rhetoric, and I happened to mention that in my youth I'd played a bit of same-sex tonsil tennis...

The FACES! :pac: It really was that wrinkled nose, withdraw with revulsion, "You can't possibly be as "liberal" as us type look. I can look back on it now and laugh at the way they reacted in unison with each other, identical faces, but at the time I was certainly thinking "perhaps one has shared too much" :D

Perhaps I was better off to stick with the older generation who have a much greater understanding of homophobia having struggled to keep up the pretence of being heterosexual all their lives that they had gotten to a point where they resigned themselves to isolation and loneliness because they assumed society would never accept that they couldn't help who they were attracted to, they couldn't even accept it themselves, in much the same way I suppose as many of the younger generation nowadays assume the elder generation don't understand homosexuality.

They may not understand it, but that sure as hell doesn't mean they don't know what it is to be afraid to be themselves. I find far too often in these types of discussions that the younger generation talk about the older generation "dying off", and what they fail to realize is that many of the older generation would never want young people to go through the same thing they went through, and in fact that many of them support LGBT rights rather than oppose them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 Licencetokill

My 80 year old grandfather is a terrible homophobe. When I was younger I thought
    He was the funniest person alive. But as I got older I was disgusted. I don't think
    He means to be hurtful though he's just old fashioned that way. Come to think of it he hates everyone equally.

In a serious, there are very few of those though. More often us just an extroverted personality which fits the usual gay stereotypes.

Unfortunately as these guys don't really fit the usual character type for young men these age, people just assume they are putting it on.

And unfortunately people tend to dislike people or things which stand out as different from their expected so they ascribe some ill motive like attention seeking where there is none. They are just being themselves, and perhaps not giving a **** if people would prefer they didn't.

I wouldn't call that homophobia on the part of the people judging them - more a case of lacking empathy or understanding of different personalities.

Ascribing an ill motive? I wonder if a focus group of 'homophobes' were interviewed and asked exactly what it is that they dislike about homosexuals , where the 'extroverted ' issue would feature? And also, i wonder why it is that the extroverted personalities always seem to be males...women are rarely as blatant if displaying the fact that they're gay-they just get on with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Never met somebody who was fearful of gay people or homosexuality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,581 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

cloud493 wrote: »
    Not necessarily homophobic like 'gay people are the worst' but plenty of people who would be uncomfy around gay people, use gay slurs to describe bad things, etc.

On it's own you can discount a fair chunk of those people. And lets not forget how many a pre-pubescent boy in the eighties thoughts girls were all a bunch of homos. :pac:

There's some sort of disgust, and they usually can't explain it to you, that shows up in genuine homophobes. I've met an elder member of a certain religion who put a lot of effort into his disgust face, a bit like someone biting into a lemon.
    I wonder if it isn't a case of the lady dost protest too much with some of them.
    There was a famous televangelist who showed up in a few films who was very anti-gay, there was a bit of a scandal when it turned out it didn't disgust his so much behind closed doors. Links introduced me to the term 'Haggard's Law' which came out of the scandal. The ironing is delicious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭average hero

Homophobia is a term that's been thrown around a lot the past while. Do I know any homophobic people? No, I don't think so. If I did, I'd question their views to why and that could reevaluate my friendship with them. With that being said, I know of plenty of people who use terms such as 'homo' 'fag' and 'you're gay' etc. It's mostly used to straight friends (say on the football field or whatever) and I think it's used similar to 'don't be a girl' type comments. These lads wouldn't use the term to insult homosexual people (as far as I know).

Some people view not being pro-homosexual as being homophobic and I think that is wrong too. Equality means respect for all viewpoints even if they don't tie in with your own.

Homophobia is a term that's been thrown around a lot the past while. Do I know any homophobic people? No, I don't think so. If I did, I'd question their views to why and that could reevaluate my friendship with them. With that being said, I know of plenty of people who use terms such as 'homo' 'fag' and 'you're gay' etc. It's mostly used to straight friends (say on the football field or whatever) and I think it's used similar to 'don't be a girl' type comments. These lads wouldn't use the term to insult homosexual people (as far as I know).

Some people view not being pro-homosexual as being homophobic and I think that is wrong too. Equality means respect for all viewpoints even if they don't tie in with your own.

If your friends turned around and said, "Don't be a (insert derogatory term to a race here)" you would have no problem with that?

I know the majority of people don't mean to use those words in that way. It's just another insult, similar to "Ya muppet!" or something, but it still doesn't help the overall issue.

Equality = equality. This means gay people should not be treated differently to straight people on the basis of their sexuality.

Viewpoints only deserve respect if they meet a standard of reason or insight. You can't insist on respect for your views, but you can expect to be treated with "respect" by people, regardless of your sexuality (or, sometimes, views :) ), as a simple human courtesy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭loh_oro

For the people who say they believe marriage is only between a Man and a women can I ask you a question. Were you against interracial marriage? Using the logic some are using you see marriage between a man and a woman but before interracial marriage was allowed people saw marriage between people of the same skin color.

I think that your religious beliefs should not be a factor when your deciding Civil rights of an entire group people who Deserve equal rights

Everyone is entitled to be happy and be shown some respect

UCDVet wrote: »
    I'm not proud of this - but I am homophobic. I don't know if it's just how I was raised or what....but I have nightmares where the cast of 'Queer Eye For The Straight Guy' hold me down and make fun of my clothes.

After they throw out all my clothes, they end up painting my walls, and redecorating my living room.

Also, clowns scare the hell out of me. If the clown was gay, I'd still be scared, so I think that counts.

What about badly dressed gays?

We won't make fun of your clothes. We might just try to get you drunk and take advantage.

That cool?

Ascribing an ill motive? I wonder if a focus group of 'homophobes' were interviewed and asked exactly what it is that they dislike about homosexuals , where the 'extroverted ' issue would feature? And also, i wonder why it is that the extroverted personalities always seem to be males...women are rarely as blatant if displaying the fact that they're gay-they just get on with it.

Hmmm.

You're question is kind of proving my point - maybe they aren't "blatantly displaying they're gay" and just have a rather extroverted and larger than life personality. It's not always a display, it's just being themselves.

No - equality doesn't mean respecting a view point that considers one group as lesser than any other, and less deserving of rights.

Quite the opposite really.

Nobody is required to respect any view point at all. You are only required to respect somebody's right to hold a viewpoint and express it.

You are still allowed consider their viewpoint stupid, illogical, irrational, hateful or bigoted (or all of the above). You are even allowed tell them that.

You just aren't allowed stop them having or expressing it.