Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No Debs Dat

• 08-07-2014 1:16am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭

There is no one left that i would want to go with to my debs and dont want to be the only one of my friends on my own.

Any advice ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

We're all in debt. You're not the only one.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Asking randomers on the internet will definitely help you get a date!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Dat wat?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Have you exhausted your facebook friends list as a possible solution?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

I hope the people that you don't want to go with end up finding some appreciative chap to go with and you're left on your own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,056 ✭✭✭_Redzer_

There is no one left that i would want to go with to my debs and dont want to be the only one of my friends on my own.

Any advice ?

I'll go with you.

There's a bar, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Go with your mates?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Could hire an escort show them all up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,557 ✭✭✭KeithM89

Theres always a fat bird with no one to go with.
    Desperate times and all that....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,158 ✭✭✭✭HugsiePie

Any advice ?
    I went by myself twas grand

If going solo aint for you, Ill accompany you

If you pay for my ticket, transport, drinks and accommodation :pac:

(i.e deb dates are expensive, spare yourself the cost and spend it on drink)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭EoghanIRL

KeithM89 wrote: »

" no fat chicks " - Peter griffin

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 216 ✭✭Tommy Dillon

hey hollister

are ya a dude or a betty ? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Super-Rush wrote: »
    Dat wat?
    Dat ASS!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Wishiwasa Littlebitaller

Could hire an escort show them all up.

Yes, hire an escort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭BonkeyDonker

hey hollister

are ya a dude or a betty ? :pac:

To tie it in with this thread -How big a problem is gambling in Ireland?- I'am going to go dude.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

Develop schizophrenia and go with yourself

ColeTrain wrote: »
    Develop schizophrenia and go with yourself

I'm schizophrenic and so am I . How will I tell my other date ?

EoghanIRL wrote: »
    " no fat chicks " - Peter griffin

So you went alone to yours then??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

stop wearing Hollister.life will be good once more

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭Gallowglass

I had to google that, in N.Ireland it is called 'the formal' like the australians call it.

I never went even though I was asked to go by a young lady, put it this way, I was fascinated by the American school shootings when I was at school so it was best I didn't go.

There is a big difference between no one to got with and... no one I want to go with, so basically your only problem is face? ....you don't want to go on you own and you don't want to been seen with the person you could ask to the Debs is that it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

I've been told I look lovely in a dress. I'l be expecting my ticket in the post shortly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

"Pigging" is huge among Frat boys in America these days, and you won't find any higher authority on social relations with the young ladies than them. Also, remember the Honda 50 maxim - they're great fun, and sod what your mates think. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

HugsiePie wrote: »
    I went by myself twas grand

If going solo aint for you, Ill accompany you

If you pay for my ticket, transport, drinks and accommodation :pac:

(i.e deb dates are expensive, spare yourself the cost and spend it on drink)

Ditto. I went on my own as well and it was grand. A lot of people get in the door and end up ditching their dates anyway.

P.S: I'll also go with you if the above conditions apply. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭folan

true dat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Dats terrible

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Debs are overrated anyway

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

You'll laugh hysterically hysterically when all the "GAA lads" who for years talked about such a girl and girl for years, end up bringing their neighbour or primary school mate and quietly doing that, and you'll think wait why did I bring a girl from half way across the country or anybody above average?

You almost want to dig them for it, these arseholes for years would call girls frigid and I doubt some of these boys were barely above that themselves, you'll realise that you almost feel like a different species, that you had self awareness but didn't **** talk like they did.

It was a stunning moment when all the "frigid" lads turned up in the pub with stunners/well above average.

One of the most cathartic moments in 2nd level

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭Homer

jimgoose wrote: »
    "Pigging" is huge among Frat boys in America these days, and you won't find any higher authority on social relations with the young ladies than them. Also, remember the Honda 50 maxim - they're great fun, and sod what your mates think. :cool:

Also remember, if you can't lift her.. Don't shift her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

Adamantium wrote: »

On a side note:

You'll laugh hysterically hysterically when all the "GAA lads" who for years talked about such a girl and girl for years, end up bringing their neighbour or primary school mate and quietly doing that, and you'll think wait why did I bring a girl from half way across the country or anybody above average?

You almost want to dig them for it, these arseholes for years would call girls frigid and I doubt some of these boys were barely above that themselves, you'll realise that you almost feel like a different species, that you had self awareness but didn't **** talk like they did.

It was a stunning moment when all the "frigid" lads turned up in the pub with stunners/well above average.

One of the most cathartic moments in 2nd level

Seriously bring anybody, my brother brought a girl who his friend met in college but he had only met her once before and they had a great time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭Jeefff

I know someone who brought their cousin, wasn't too bad cause they didn't tell her mates at the debs, but fairly cringey at the same time

Jeefff wrote: »
    I know someone who brought their cousin, wasn't too bad cause they didn't tell her mates at the debs, but fairly cringey at the same time

Well at least it's not incest if it's a third cousin . Was it a third cousin ?:P

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

If it makes you feel worse, I know someone who took 2 girls to his debs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

I went with a friend, and then I went to her debs.

My debs was dwarfed by the catastrophic implosion of my best bud's first 'relationship'. Oh, how loved up they both were. Jetted off to Greece on a romantic trip for two. All the hugging and kissing, the holding of hands and the other crap that accompanies school relationships. Ticking time bomb from day one really as she was a total bitch.

Anyway, fast forward a few months and things have literally exploded. The lovely duo are no more and the debs is rearing it's ugly head around the corner. What do they do? What can they do? They end up going together. Each attempting to stand defiantly against the other. You could cut the ****in' tension with a knife. Wow. I became the centre of it all, despite my best attempts to avoid it, when I had both parties sitting either side of me (and my poor date) trying to converse in different directions.

Managed to nab a free Red Hot Chili Pepper's ticket from it all though. "You get nothing!, you filthy bitch" I remember thinking in my head as I danced jovially to the mellow tunes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

I didn't go to mine, even though I had a bf at the time, just couldn't stand all the crap surrounding it, it's all girls talked about all year, their hair, their makeup, their dress, their date, and then all I heard afterwards was tales of disappointment. People just obsess about it, over-hype it, in reality its one night out, what a load of bollox. Go if you want to go OP, but if you're already over-hyping it and being anxious about who to bring, you could also just realise it's not a big deal, go on your own, bring a friend, or just don't go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

Op, don't stress about it
    Its literally not as big a night as you think
    Its just a fancy session
    Bring 1 of your mates it'll be better craic and you won't have to spend a fortune on accessories for a female date

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,376 ✭✭✭The_Captain

A lad in my year had his date cancel on him after he'd bought the ticket so he went by himself and had two dinners

Hero

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

A lad in my year had his date cancel on him after he'd bought the ticket so he went by himself and had two dinners

Hero

<SNIFF>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭ringadingding

Forever alone debs ?

Ain't nobody got time fo dat

U ok hun?

Pls call me x

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

That how yours went?:p

Ah, the debs: second only to new years eve in the anti-climatic stakes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

Debs generally go as follows:
    1. Drink copius amounts of Vodka/Dutch Gold
    2. Sober up during the meal
    3. Get pissed again in the bar
    4. Everyone dances for a while but eventually all the dry-shítes just begin to sit around the place smoking and having the ''debs banter''
    5. Bar closes, whoever has a girlfriend goes upstairs for the ride, eveyone else waits around for the bus home in annoyingly sober state.
    6. Go to bed and lie there thinking about what an anti-climax that was

Worth €80? F*ck off.

That how yours went?:p

Nah, had to take someone else caus your sister was too fat to fit in the limo.

* gives lotion to renegade for that burn *

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,056 ✭✭✭_Redzer_

One of my mates got absolutely polluted with his date on the bus to the venue and she passed out, hit her head and had to be brought home. This happened about an hour in, and my date was her best friend and had to look after her, so I didn't see much of her.

Still a fantastic night tho, really lived up to the hype in my case!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

EoghanIRL wrote: »
    * gives lotion to renegade for that burn *

*Hands Eoghan vaseline* ;)

Mabye if your limo didn't have "MatchBox" written underneath youd have gotten her in, poor boy.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Hotfail.com

This comeback was so shít that I can't stop laughing :D :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Hotfail.com

mariaalice wrote: »
    There is a big difference between no one to got with and... no one I want to go with, so basically your only problem is face? ....you don't want to go on you own and you don't want to been seen with the person you could ask to the Debs is that it.

Why go with someone who you don't want to go with? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭Nemeses

I went to a debs once.

The End.