Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Advice on buying Dacia Duster, reliability etc

• 05-07-2014 10:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭

Am thinking of buying a Dacia Duster, basic model, am really keen. Only thing its a diesel and I don't do major mileage. Should this put me off? Thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

It all depends on how much mileage you do, below 10,000 a year? 20,000? dD you drive around towns a lot or is it all motorways and dual carriageways?

If it's below 10/20,000 and in towns then no, you don't need a diesel, otherwise down the line you'l have a world of problems and you'l wonder, why has my clutch failed so soon, why is my turbo dead, why are all these lights coming on my dashboard, and so on and so forth and why is it all so expensive

Diesels need longer journeys, I don't particularly know why because I've never owned one, but i do know that if you use them for just popping down to the shops and dropping the kids off to school, you'l have a bad time, maybe consider a petrol version if you like them that much? 0 difference apart from the colour of the fuel pump :)

Hope this helps somewhat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

They only do the duster in diesel here though.

Maybe look at the Nissan Juke petrol, with discount it should be close to the price of the duster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭5.11 Tactical

I am looking to change my car (Renault Clio Dynamique 1.5 141) as it is too small for my needs and my budget is limited.

I have been offered a great trade in at my Renault Garage on a new Dacia Duster Signature but I want to see what people think of them.

I have been getting mixed reviews and I understand the trim is almost the same as my clio minus things like the medianav, Push button start and stop and DRL's but I get complete power windows all round and more space and height.

I am not to sure currently if it is worht going for it even though it is only 4750 + my car.

Any thoughts from owners or people in the know.

There is a huge thread on the Dacia duster. You might want to settle in for the night as its gonna take you a while to get through it :)

I would maybe suggest a Megane or fluence as an alternative.

I would like to stay with Renault but cost is a factor so have to stay within my means unfortunately

How do the Megane and fluence compare for cost-to-change?
    Or captur

Captur to change is another 8K for the dynamique spec

Kadjar is 12k to change for mid range

Didnt check the Megane or Fluence.

I do understand the pros and cons of the duster but know a couple of people with 152's and they are happy with them..

Still I'm a badge snob but when on a budget have to go the Lidl option ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

Captur to change is another 8K for the dynamique spec

Kadjar is 12k to change for mid range

Didnt check the Megane or Fluence.

I do understand the pros and cons of the duster but know a couple of people with 152's and they are happy with them..

Still I'm a badge snob but when on a budget have to go the Lidl option ;-)

I would price a Megane and Fluence and if they could be got for similar money as the duster and are big enough for your needs that's what I'd be going with the duster is fine but IMO the Fluence and Megane and Renault in general are better built even if Renault owns Dacia costs were cut to make the Dacia's cheaper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Most owners on here have said they're great and they'll purchase another.

Most people who have driven them have said they're fine or you get what you pay for.

Most people on here who have never driven one or been in one cry loudly about how shít they are and how they'll never own one and anyone who does should burn in motoring hell.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,230 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

ba_barabus wrote: »

Most people on here who have never driven one or been in one cry loudly about how shít they are and how they'll never own one and anyone who does should burn in motoring hell.
    Yes but it is a choice between a Dacia or a Renault so maybe burning in a hell is preferable!

kbannon wrote: »
    Yes but it is a choice between a Dacia or a Renault so maybe burning in a hell is preferable!
    I'm a masochist when it comes to cars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Megane and Fluence models are being replaced soon so there might be extra bargaining on current models.

bazz26 wrote: »
    Megane and Fluence models are being replaced soon so there might be extra bargaining on current models.

There is a well specced run out model of the Fluence available currently. Looks really well specced and comes with a sunroof. I think there are deals to be had

Does that model fluence have relatively small alloys? Saw one during the weekend locally and it seemed high spec except for the wheels

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Does that model fluence have relatively small alloys? Saw one during the weekend locally and it seemed high spec except for the wheels

Yep that's it. I think it has a limited badge on the wings. IIRC it also had Aircon and no climate control

Yeah. Def had a little badge on the wing, had LED DRLs and really shiney paint, it's like manufacturers save the nice colours for when they're running a model out.

Yep, that happens all too often. The sunroof is a nice touch too. I think the rear lights have been refreshed too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

There is a huge thread on the Dacia duster. You might want to settle in for the night as its gonna take you a while to get through it :)

I would maybe suggest a Megane or fluence as an alternative.

OP you only need to read the last 6 page of that thread. The previous 135 pages are well littered with naysayers and badge snobs sniping at anyone who has taken a liking to the Dacia. In fairness Dacia has got its act together and most of the initial issues have been addressed. If its within your budget, its worth going for metallic paint. The engine in the Dacia is the same as whats across the Renault diesel range and the Nissan Quashqui And Juke models.

Good luck with whatever choice you make.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

Why do people go new and limit their options due to budget. I'd rather go back in years and get something I'm happy with. I don't think I could ever settle for a car if there were options to get something I really wanted and liked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Going to go out on a limb here and say, I actually like the Sandero. It's as asthetically pleasing as any other crossover hatchback out there. Specs are ok and reliability is good. What's not to like :) similar in terms of legroom etc to a Fluence but you get the extra headroom, more practical boot access and the slightly higher ground clearance which has it's benefits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭kala85

bazz26 wrote: »

How do you know this.
    Seen new megane on the way but no sign of new fluence

http://www.invest.gov.tr/en-US/infocenter/news/Pages/151215-renault-to-start-megane-sedan-production-turkey.aspx

I know they stopped making the electric fluence in turkey 3 years ago, and moved it to Korea (the fluence is actually a Samsung car)
    I would assume they'll do a saloon based on the new Megane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

kala85 wrote: »
    How do you know this.
    Seen new megane on the way but no sign of new fluence

The current Megane and Fluence share nearly everything bar body panels so when production of the current Megane finished and moves to the new model which is a totally different platform, it's obvious any saloon based Renault in that segment will move to the new Megane based platform too. Current Fluence is 6 years old.

OP you only need to read the last 6 page of that thread. The previous 135 pages are well littered with naysayers and badge snobs sniping at anyone who has taken a liking to the Dacia. In fairness Dacia has got its act together and most of the initial issues have been addressed. If its within your budget, its worth going for metallic paint. The engine in the Dacia is the same as whats across the Renault diesel range and the Nissan Quashqui And Juke models.

Good luck with whatever choice you make.

Jaysus lads had a good read, so lots of opinions, but going to do more research and get a longer test drive..

My qualm is the lack of spare wheel as to fit the cage and provide the wheel is the guts of 500 euros give or take 50 quid, which in my eyes is bang out of order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,631 ✭✭✭AngelaRI

ba_barabus wrote: »
    Most owners on here have said they're great and they'll purchase another.

Most people who have driven them have said they're fine or you get what you pay for.

I rented a Duster Petrol (not sure if it was a Signature or Alternative or something else, this was in South Africa last month so their range could differ from what's available here) and drove it around for 2 weeks - I must say I was very pleasantly surprised at the driving experience!! And fuel efficiency for a petrol engine on such a large vehicle!!! Even the large size was so easy to maneuver through traffic (fantastic visibility with the large mirrors and windows, and the high seat position gives a great view of the traffic and road), and it fit into your average shopping centre parking lot space with ease. Loved the big side mirrors for traffic and parking!! Boot space galore!!! Had 5 people in there one day quite comfortably: 2 kids and 3 adults (including me!).

I'm a convert: I'm seriously considering buying a 171 Duster Signature 2WD Diesel model next year when the PCP contract expires on my current car!!! Add on MediaNav (I think the Signature comes with onboard computer and all-round electric windows where the Alternative only has front electric and no OBC), and Aircon: still comes in at under €20K brand spanking new! And yes, resale values are shockingly high: why pay €14K for a 3yo model when the new one starts around €18K (plus add-ons)???

The only negatives I experienced with my rental Duster:
    1. The satnav (LG MediaNa built-in) took 2 hours to pick up a GPS signal - not sure if it was perhaps a faulty unit: anyone here who ones a Duster with MediaNav care to comment??? I'm often exploring new places so SatNav is essential for me!!
    2. The petrol engine didn't like speeds > 110kph: noisy and lacking in power @ 120kph on a long open country motorway. But because of the frequency of my cross-country trips here I'll definitely be going for the diesel model, so moot point in my case really. Even work is about 20km commute one-way, so definitely not a simple little runaround!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,838 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Why not expand your options a little bit. Maybe try something from another make. The Hyundai i20 is very good its a good looking car should be cheaper than a new Clio but has as much space in it as a car from the Megane/Focus class or ff you want a crossover the Fiat 500X is a very good car and looks very good too. Skoda Yeti and Opel Mokka are two other cars worth looking at and the Jeep Renegade as well if you really want to go for something quite unique and different.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

I ended up getting the duster and very happy so far, but the process of getting it with the dealer was a nightmare..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭Lazybones

Congrats on the new purchase! What was the dealer up to?

What dealer did you buy from?

More importantly what Duster did you get?

Lazybones wrote: »
    Congrats on the new purchase! What was the dealer up to?

Basically dicked around about colour availabilty went from Black to Slate Gray then to Blue as thats all they had or was delivered.
    Had an armrest installed but it was installed the wrong way around so basically when you rested your arm on it, it went down towards the handbrake.

I had to take it out of the mount and turn it the opposite direction and lock it in..I would say the mechanic just pushed it in and walked away without testing, it took me 5 mins to adjust.

The dealer also was very slow or not at all to return calls and when I got thick and turned up at the garage it was a different matter.

The vehicle itself is fine (Duster Signature), things like the horn etc I have to get used to as it is on the stalk and learning different functions etc.

What dealer did you buy from?

More importantly what Duster did you get?

Blackstone motors in Drogheda.

Duster Signature.

A few further qualms not with the vehicle.

1.) It came with a german manual (still waiting for the dealer to get me an english one)

2.) It does not come with a spare wheel but got it included in the end as Linders were providing it for no extra cost.

3.) I changed the Headunit to an Android S160 (M157) as the basic headunit is basic and thats it.

Dealerwise I'm not sure if I would use them again as being messed around for 3 weeks but if it was a renault they would have been all over me.

Getting the spare thrown in was a good deal, that's like a €400 option on them afaik.

Don't hold your breath for that manual.

Best of luck with the car :)

I have found some manuals online but they are for the old Phase 1 model pre-2013.

If anyone knows where I can download the newer manual for the Phase 2 model let me know as I cannot seem to source it.

This scrapyard has a 2015

Dempseys Car and Van Spares

Whitestream,
    Bonniconlon,
    Ballina,
    Mayo.
    Opening Hours

Monday - Friday: 9-6 Saturday: 9.30-1.30
    Contact

Phone No: 096 45412
    Mobile No: 087 4177864

marcin@dempseydismantlers.com
    www.partfinder.ie/dempseysdismantlers
    Dealer Information

----
    Services Offered

28 DAY GUARANTEE EXCEPT SELECTED ELECTRICAL GOODS. FREE DELIVERY SERVICE ALL OVER CONNACHT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭Malpaisian

Hello,

I'm considering buying a new Dacia Duster. I've read online that there have been rust problems with Dacia Dusters built in India. I have also read that they have switched production to Romania and there are no reports of rust problems with the Romanian built cars.

I'm looking for feedback / warnings / reassurance from any Dacia Duster owners out there who have bought their cars new in the last year. I'd be particularly interested to hear about any rust problems but I'd also be interested in any other info which may prove useful in making a decision.

Also, can anyone confirm for me whether or not the 2016 Dusters being sold here are made in the Romanian factory or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭BdaraB

All dusters with the new grille as below are built in Romania, they do feel much better put together than the Indian built models. On the dacia forums I've not seen any compaints about rust with these new models and people that have had both seem to be much happier with the newer car.

My mother bought one maybe six months ago and it feels of a higher quality than the Suzuki SX4 that came before it, some parts of the interior are stupidly cheap such as the passanger airbag cover that you can bend with your fingers but the center stack is pretty well screwed together.

I would also note that it has been facelifted again to bring it in line with what they sell in the rest of Europe so now it has a somewhat different interior. Dacia_Duster_TCe_125_4x2_Prestige_(Facelift)_%E2%80%93_Frontansicht,_13._Juli_2014,_Ratingen.jpg

They still don't underseal them properly or even fit inner arch liners. They're better than the first run of Indian ones but it's still a huge oversight IMO.

I think there was a thread on the duster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

I saw a 161 silver one today like the one pictured, the doors seemed to be a darker shade to the rest of the panels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭jingojonson

Just been in France and saw the new Duster on the road over there. Its also advertised on the UK site with brochures etc. I think its due here in Sept or Oct.

Checked Irish Dacia site and not a peep. If people are considering the Duster they should keep that in mind as the new car looks like a good improvement in terms of interior quality over the current model.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Philb76

Could be following the skoda model after vw took them over lure them in with the cheap and cheerful and gradually increase the quality and price we all scoffed at skoda and Hyundai once

I'd hold out for the new one. It is am evolution of the original and rectified many of the flaws. I don't believe there are price increases, notjing major anyway.

Dacia will be kept cheap according to Renault as they will only be using older tech.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭EPAndlee

With Renault, Ireland will normally only get the cars England want except the Megane Grand Coupe for some reason. Duster was supposed to be here in September but got pushed back till October

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

Just done a quick google. Serious improvement in terms of style and looks anyway. Gorgous.

Yes - it seems like they are not following the Skoda model but sticking with their original strategy to keep prices low using 10 year old tech which is more than fine.

I sat into the original and liked it except for the seats and road noise as I do a lot of motorway commuting.

Both of those areas have been highlighted as being much better in the new model so I'll be taking a test drive come October.

Typical Irish strategy of keeping it super quiet to get the mugs in to buy. Most manufacturers offer deals when the old models are only a couple of months away from being retired but not in this case it seems.

Addendum

Just saw that dacia ireland now have a €1000 "deposit contribution" ie discount.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,881 ✭✭✭terrydel

Yes - it seems like they are not following the Skoda model but sticking with their original strategy to keep prices low using 10 year old tech which is more than fine.

I sat into the original and liked it except for the seats and road noise as I do a lot of motorway commuting.

Both of those areas have been highlighted as being much better in the new model so I'll be taking a test drive come October.

Typical Irish strategy of keeping it super quiet to get the mugs in to buy. Most manufacturers offer deals when the old models are only a couple of months away from being retired but not in this case it seems.

I remember when 3 years ago I took redundancy and got a nice few quid, I decided to buy my old man a new car as his van was in bits and he couldnt afford to replace it.
    I set a budget of 8k with my brother throwing in 2k. He really liked the duster so I went and had a look and found the interior just so cheap and plasticky. Like a kinder egg toy in terms of quality, the door openers you'd break without even trying I thought. Ended up getting a suzuki sx4 which again is a bit plasticky but still a good step up from the duster at the time, and the old man liked it.
    Hopefully theyve improved the quality for the new model.

I think the quality thing can only be checked when cars are on the road for 4 or 5 years. Real test of the Dusters will be the 132 models etc over the next few years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭Max Moment

Just back from holiday in Italy and had one of the new Dusters as a hire car. Overall I have to say I was very impressed (albeit skeptical when I first got the keys!).

It is a serious step up from the old one in terms of both looks, comfort and drivability. The wife has a 142 Qashqai at home and it is a very similar drive to the new Duster. Whilst the interior is a step up from the old Duster, it is still a bit plasticky in places but for the price point you can’t complain! Nice driving position and comfortable steering wheel with cruise control, Nav, alloys, air con etc.

One thing I did find odd though was the gearbox. Very sloppy compared to the QQ and other similar cars. Found myself struggling to get the required gear (at times). This could be down to the left hand drive version acclimatising though possibly!

I have to say though that the boot is cavernous and easily took 3 large suitcases and a back pack which was very impressive and very welcome on holidays. The QQ will only take two large suitcases (at a struggle).

I’m due to change my own car next year and the new Duster is on the list for considering. Interesting to see what price and spec is offered. New Duster starts at 11.5k in Italy for the alternative spec equivalent! We’ll be nearer 17k I reckon.

Overall a very decent offering and greatly improved

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭EPAndlee

Drove the top spec version a few days ago, major improvement, a lot nicer on the road. Still a bit too much plastic inside but isn't that bad. Don't like the lever to get into reverse, not sure about the looks but it's very Sandaro like.

Prices have also increased on a like for like basis by 2k
    Middle diesel model now 21k give or take. Not that far off mainstream
    Non budget models when discounts or scrappage taken into account