Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How many jobs have you had since school? too many?

• 05-07-2014 10:29am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭

Hi, I have worked at 33 jobs since doing my leaving cert. Proper tax paying jobs, not contract work or nixers...IT, Media, Retail and Automotive industry are the areas I've covered. This is the last 30 years. I've studied at 8 colleges too all in Dublin, has anyone else had similar experiences?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

Jaysus. I've had 5 jobs, since being in school. Teaching assistant in an acting school, shop worker, kitchen worker, assistant retail manager and sales/recruitment manager. Attended 2 colleges, going to another in the not too distant future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Left school 2 years ago. Have had 3 proper jobs, and a few bits and bobs here and there.

I got sacked last Friday, grovelled and got rehired Wednesday, then sacked again Thursday (for never going in). I'm not great at holding down a job...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

Yeah I'd be similar to you Tomo, I left school after the Inter in the early 80's and I've lost count of the amount of jobs I've had, some examples are: Apprentice Butcher, apprentice Electrician, Binman, IT Supervisor, Exhaust Fitter, Motor factors shop, Builders Labourer, Milkman, Breadman, Welder, Supermarket worker, Abattoir worker. These are just the ones I can think of at the minute. Last time I sat and tried to list them all I think I got to 28

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,368 ✭✭✭The_Morrigan

Left school in '99 and I've had three jobs, in two industries. The first of those was just going full time in my part time/summer job that I had since I was 15.
    Went back to college 5 years ago now to get a degree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,470 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Tomohawk wrote: »
    Hi, I have worked at 33 jobs since doing my leaving cert. Proper tax paying jobs, not contract work or nixers...IT, Media, Retail and Automotive industry are the areas I've covered. This is the last 30 years. I've studied at 8 colleges too all in Dublin, has anyone else had similar experiences?

I'm probably close to that. I had some crappy ones. I worked in Dunnes for 4 days stacking shelves. that was easilly one of the worst. there have been others in worse conditions but Dunnes was the most soul destroying place I've ever been.
    Thankfully I'd interviewed for another place about 2 months before I started in dunnes and they offered me the job just after i started in Dunnes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭Nemeses

uch wrote: »
    Yeah I'd be similar to you Tomo, I left school after the Inter in the early 80's and I've lost count of the amount of jobs I've had, some examples are: Apprentice Butcher, apprentice Electrician, Binman, IT Supervisor, Exhaust Fitter, Motor factors shop, Builders Labourer, Milkman, Breadman, Welder, Supermarket worker, Abattoir worker. These are just the ones I can think of at the minute. Last time I sat and tried to list them all I think I got to 28

How does your CV look?

They say keep it to one page... (use font size 1 if your getting stuck!) :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭guinnessdrinker

I have had 3 full time jobs since school but I also had 3 or 4 part time jobs during college also and at one stage I had one full time job and one part time job at the same time! I'm quite thankful so far though in my working life in that I have enjoyed all of my jobs so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,470 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Nemeses wrote: »
    How does your CV look?

I tried that. I ended up with size 6 font. Now I have a "resume" which just highlights the best bits and focusses on the last 7 years. I'm pretty certain most employers don't want to know I worked in supervalu in 1995. :)

Nemeses wrote: »
    How does your CV look?

If I ever need to use one I just edit it and use the relevant jobs for the position I'm applying for

21/25

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 478 ✭✭Stella Virgo

that was some move .....:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

3. Still in college and my grades managed to get me some work around the college like helping the postgraduates with research, working in first year labs and now do a work placement in programming. Nobody else will even look at me though.

Actually just remembered, I worked for H. Williams Supermarkets before they went bang, anyone remember them ?

21/25

that was some move .....:D

Haha, they weren't in that order, jaysus it would be good progress though

21/25

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Two full time jobs, probably a dozen or more part time, and hundreds of occasions where I volunteered my services to help a fellow citizen out of a jam purely out of the goodness of my heart, and absolutely no money was ever exchanged whatsoever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭Nemeses

If I ever need to use one I just edit it and use the relevant jobs for the position I'm applying for

That's not the AH response I was expecting...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

It's cool that you've had such experience across a wide range of industries, must have kept life interesting over the years.

I've had two, one part time in college and what I do now.

It's cool that you've had such experience across a wide range of industries, must have kept life interesting over the years.

I've had two, one part time in college and what I do now.

The good thing about it is that if I ever need any work done on my Car or any building or electrical work done, I can do it myself and save a fortune.

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭Sugar Free

Excluding part time jobs during university, I've worked in two companies. Moving to a third soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

1, and I'm still there :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 lillen

Left school in 2010 and I've had 5 full time jobs since, switching role within the company I'm working for next week so that'll make it six.

Two first ones were in the fast food industry, rest of them in IT.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭Tomohawk

I just know I will go to college again no.9? I aim to concentrate on the Creative Arts next for work and to pass the time mainly music and video.

I worked in Dunnes as a shelfstacker for a year while at college no.3 in my teens, loved that job, plenty of money for a young fella while my friends were all down the pub or whatever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,983 ✭✭✭Raminahobbin

I had one part time job in college, then joined Dunnes for 10 days and hated it, so I got my current job. Been here seven years now. It suits me while I continue to study part time, although hopefully only one year or so left at it though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

4 jobs since '98
    1 - Fuel injection engineer (Forecourt attandent)
    2 - retail (Woodies)
    3 - Logistics (Heat Merchants)
    4 - IT Administrator

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭Tomohawk

In order from 1983 onwards:

Part-time Shop Assistant
    Part-time Kitchen Porter
    Full-TimeShipping Operator in Fashion Manufacturer
    Full-Time Shipping Operator / Van Drivers Assistant
    Part-time Shop Assistant
    Full-time Shop Assistant
    TV and Film Production Runner
    Computer Graphics Designer
    Microfiche Photographer

Playback Studio Technician
    Cassette Tape Production Technican
    Trainee Sound Engineer
    Furniture Restoration/ Sales Assistant
    Genealogy Database Operator/ Photographer
    Jewellery Sales Assistant
    Boom Op/Cameraman/Video Editor/Tippling Gadabout!
    Record Shop Sales Assistant
    Multimedia Evaluation Engineer
    Sound Studio Technical and Recording Manager

Video Cameraman Weddings
    Film, TV, Radio, Animation College Technician
    Freelance Sound Studio Recording Engineer
    Restaurant Startup Manager
    Trainee Vespa Mechanic
    Van Driver Courier
    Media Supplies Delivery Driver
    Motorbike Mechanic/ Shop Manager
    Retail Delivery Driver
    Independant Radio Producer Documentaries
    Motorbike Courier
    Film Extra
    Unemployed again...2014!

The shortest was 3 days, the longest about 3.5 years...I was on the dole for a year or 2 during this period too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭gugleguy

7. Mostly North American multinationals. First one of those 7 in an Irish property management company as an 'accounts junior' . Unsurpassed up to the present day for pure dog eat dog and snark. One reason why I changed my carreer path from accounting to I.T.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭Anonymou

Tomohawk wrote: »
    I just know I will go to college again no.9? I aim to concentrate on the Creative Arts next for work and to pass the time mainly music and video.

I worked in Dunnes as a shelfstacker for a year while at college no.3 in my teens, loved that job, plenty of money for a young fella while my friends were all down the pub or whatever.

Only time I have ever heard anyone say they loved working in Dunnes!Worked there myself last Christmas for a few weeks when they hire a load of extra staff for the month or so,great money for a student like myself but dont think I'd ever go back,it was just about bearable for the couple of weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Since 95', aged 16, eleven. Includes one summer job, and a few weekend jobs during school and college.

Three periods of not working or at school college during that time, totaling less than 18 months. A month or two after I first moved here where I just chilled out, went out with friends, and toured around. A second for three months were I left a job with out having another lined up due to the stress it was causing me. Finally a period of one year after getting made redundant, before finally getting part time work and then on a course a few weeks later. Continued that part job through out the course, and for about a month into my current fulltime job which I have been at for two years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,807 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

Post-university? Here goes:

Sales Executive (18 months)
    Sales Executive (4 months)
    Sales Executive (2 months)
    Staff Writer (2 years)
    Senior Writer (1 year)
    English Copyediting Specialist (1 year)
    Acting Editor (1 month thus far... fingers crossed)

Pre-university I had four different stockroom jobs in the retail industry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

Oh gad my CV was woeful up to five years ago - bits and pieces in loads of areas. This was ok during the "boom" when you could flit from place to place, but then when things got bad, my CV was looking pretty crap. Nothing solid. Then I got a job five years ago (when things were really bad) and stayed there and worked my way up some bit, so there's a decent chunk of consistency at this point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

I must have gone wrong somewhere as I only had one employer for 42 years. I did plenty of different jobs as I started as a gopher and worked my way to senior management through 6 or 7 departments.

I loved every minute of it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭mojesius

11 jobs since I left school 13 years ago, although most were part time while I went to college. Most were in various restaurants/ bar work, as well as promotions job, another job involving drinking a watermelon filled with cocktail every night for 3 months in Cyprus, then i was an office goafer, a call centre supervisor, and my current job, which i suppose you'd describe as internal technical support. As long as i dont have to talk to customers again (i have been in customer facing jobs for 16 years), I'm grand. I'm in the company 3.5 years, in my current job a year. I'll probably leave next year and do a bit of travelling, then hopefully do something new.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭ShiftStorm

I'm 29, had my first job at 14 and since then I've been a:
    babysitter
    shop worker
    deli assistant
    customer sales rep in a bank
    tour guide
    TEFL teacher
    French grinds teacher
    secondary school substitute
    student support worker
    bicycle-taxi driver
    office manager twice
    administrator thrice (3 years in my current role)

Spot the odd one out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,706 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Restaurant cleaner (summer)
    Electronics contractor assistant (part time)
    Factory worker (summer)
    IT intern (summer)
    Factory worker (summer)
    Factory worker (summer, same place as above)
    Take away delivery driver
    Call centre
    Developer

I also worked as a bank porter, barman and on a building site before I finished school. I'm 29.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭oak5548

0 jobs since 2011

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭Maphisto

Left school in 1976 - 4 jobs:

Banking
    Civil Service
    Car Jockey for a Casino
    Post Office

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭The Peanut

Maphisto wrote: »
    Left school in 1976 - 4 jobs:

Banking
    Civil Service
    Car Jockey for a Casino
    Post Office

Would have loved to question you on job 3 whilst interviewing for job 4. Job 3 so out of sync with other 3 jobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,195 ✭✭✭Corruptedmorals

4, now on job 5.

Retail Dunnes
    Retail/admin Dunnes
    Retail Penneys
    Medical admin emergency dept
    Medical secretary private clinic

I am out of school 7 years, only the latter is legit full-time. I graduated after job 1, retrained after job 3 as the degree wasn't helping. Also a combined total of just less than 2 years not working. Doing okay now for the worst affected age group of the recession, finally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭looking_around

3, since school, but one was a temp and don't really count.

x-mas work argos.
    Part time at a PC/phone repair shop.
    Part-time camchat.

Going back to college in September in hopes of actually getting something decent/respectable. That isn't computer work because I can't do that full-time, fecking awful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

I can count all the jobs on my non existent third hand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭Chattastrophe!

Wash-up person in a restaurant
    Waitress in a coffee shop
    Waitress in a different coffee shop
    Sales assistant in an old ladies clothes shop
    Customer service person in the local county council (mostly dealing with housing complaints)
    Finance assistant
    Auditor
    Finance assistant again

Also various unofficial stuff like babysitting and market research over the years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Only had 3 jobs since leaving school, but have been employed the full ten years since that. 3rd is sort of shakey though. Will be looking for job no 4 soon.

The Peanut wrote: »
    Would have loved to question you on job 3 whilst interviewing for job 4. Job 3 so out of sync with other 3 jobs.

I see what your getting at. I generally left that off of CVs and stuff. It was evenings part time and I did it while still in the civil service so no gaps :)

It was great fun. Our dream was for 2 Rollers to come in together and once the owners had disappeared inside we'd race them round the block :D

3, since school, but one was a temp and don't really count.

x-mas work argos.
    Part time at a PC/phone repair shop.
    Part-time camchat.

Going back to college in September in hopes of actually getting something decent/respectable. That isn't computer work because I can't do that full-time, fecking awful.

Is camchat what I think it is?;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭Miss.Mayhem

I've had 5 jobs, all full-time, since I left school 13 years go. I was in one job for over 7 years and I've done some volunteer work too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

I think 3/4, temping in the summer. Spend most of my time paying people so I can do work, i.e. studying :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭looking_around

Maphisto wrote: »
    Is camchat what I think it is?;)

Most likely :cool:

Kewl :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,374 ✭✭✭InReality

3 jobs since college ~15 years. 1 year ( fired ! ) , 6 years and 6 years plus about a year unaccounted for :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,809 ✭✭✭Frigga_92

6 jobs since I left school 9 years ago.
    Couple of short contracts, next one for 3 years, next one for 15 months (made redundant :( ), next one for 6 months and then I moved across country and in my current job 3 and a half years.
    Not bad and they've all been in the same area, just different types of law, so I've built up a load of experience in small offices and the biggest in the country.