Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PW Meet up: Saturday July 19th THE PINT @ 6pm

• 03-07-2014 3:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,491 ✭✭✭

Hi folks,

As mentioned in this weeks podcast (Cheap pop!), FFPW are staging what looks like an excellent show in Liberty Hall Theatre, slap bang in the city centre. It's the perfect chance to have a meet-up before the show, enjoying some top class wrestling and have a few drinks.

If you would like to meet your fellow PW Boards members, we will be in The Pint on Eden Quay at 6pm (It's next door to the venue and the show kicks off at 7pm). It's the same night as UFC so if you're heading to the O2 by all means feel free to drop in and say hello!

Tickets for the show are only €10 and it should be an excellent night. We have always talked about having more meet ups and this is a great opportunity to have one. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

In.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭Hashtag_HEEL

I'd love to go, but I've a ufc party planned. Sorry lads. Fingers crossed we'll have more meet ups in future!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

Of course, I'm working that night. :mad: Haven't been to an Irish show in forever.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

I heard a rumour KENTA would be there! :pac:

in all honesty though this sounds like it would be brilliant and is a great opportunity for what im sure is many of the lads who post here but dont get to go to actual wrestling shows and you will be supporting Irish wrestling as an added bonus so win win. Doesent sound like its too expensive too, actually sounded like great value imo listening to TBC on the podcast (cheap pop!) so if I was in Ireland i'd def be there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Thread stickied until after the 19th.

Good luck with it. Hope ye get a good few in attendance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,801 ✭✭✭✭beakerjoe

Im debating whether to go.

Misses Joe is having a tough time of it with the baby on the way but I may very well attend. Leave it with me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,491 ✭✭✭thebostoncrab

Bring her along and name the baby after who ever wins the Irish Jnr Heavyweight belt that night! :D

The names Shockmaster, Liger and Aldo Montoya have been the front runners so far

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 15,577 Mod ✭✭✭✭Furious-Red

Hmmmm tempted but all depends on work sadly since i might be out next saturday too . But as a lot of people have said have not been to an irish show in years . Think the last one was an NLW show in Naas at least 4 years ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭Deadlie

July nineteenth, July Nineteenth...
    There's something about that date...

Oh yeah! Its the day the ice age ended.
    And also the day of my cousins wedding. Enjoy it anyway, I'll see you lot next time!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

Any other weekend out of the year I would be at that show. Just I have UFC tickets.

I may have to drop out since i've seen the work rosters for the next two weeks. Naturally i'm down for Saturday evening.

Hopefully I can swap shifts.

Looks like Devitt might be on the show. All speculation and rumour but it'd be awesome if we got him for that one show. Definitely want to meet him.

Even if he's not there, Luther Ward and El Ligero are on the card

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,448 ✭✭✭Garseys

Feck the one weekend where I'm committed to something else. Sorry lads! Hope it's a blast!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭sockmo

Brilliant!, should i wear a "Hello I'm sockmo" nametag? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 389 ✭✭LisaLee

I might pop along ;)

sockmo wrote: »
    Brilliant!, should i wear a "Hello I'm sockmo" nametag? :D

I'm the narcissistic son of a b!tch with hashtag_heel printed on shirts and baseball caps .

I'll be the guy with a Sockmo name tag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭sockmo

I'll be the guy with a Sockmo name tag

Confusing! in that case, Ill be the guy in all the hastag_heel merch :)

Have we got a list of the attendees for this? Might be in about 6:30-6:40

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,108 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

Hey guys I'd be mad to go but I have tickets to the the UFC. If the meet up makes it to the late hours I'll defo make an appearance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

After chatting to the boys on the Boards.ie podcast I can definitely say they're a sound bunch and I'll defo be there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,713 ✭✭✭Cianan2

Guess I'll be Omack's valet to this so... Doors are 6:30 so what time we meeting up?

Omackeral wrote: »
    After chatting to the boys on the Boards.ie podcast I can definitely say they're a sound bunch and I'll defo be there.

I smell an Omackeral Heel turn here ....

Meeting in The Pint at 6

Should be down, some time just after six. How many of us can be expected?

Should be around 10 of us by the looks of things

Sounds deadly!

If you're trying to find me, look for the tattooed guy with a Zack Ryder t shirt

Guess who joined us lads :p

315221.jpg

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,520 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

Ahhhhhhhh

I just screamed like a little girl!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators Posts: 24,135 Mod ✭✭✭✭Angron

While the picture was loading, I was expecting it to be McGregor or something, but that is much better!

Did Devitt wrestle?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

I assume you conducted an in depth interview during that picture that included exact plans about how he will debut after his successful NXT run we will be hearing on the next podcast.

Would assume the show was a success especially with himself showing up

Devitt and Heel.

Had a fantastic time at the show and meet-up!

Devitt didn't wrestle, just came along as a spectator. Myself, HH, and two of my mates were all going "will we, won't we, how do we approach him?". Cue my wife then asking which one was Fergal, and just walking up and leading us four marks to him and she asked him for the pics :p

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators Posts: 24,135 Mod ✭✭✭✭Angron

I'd say that was brave of her, but seeing as she didn't know which one he was I don't think it counts as bravery :P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

Can anyone run down the card? I really gutted I couldn't make it.

rovert wrote: »
    Can anyone run down the card? I really gutted I couldn't make it.

Phil the Thrill bt Captain Deadwood

LL Valentine, Michael Mayhem and some dude in pink bt JDP, Dangerous Dave Forde and TJ Meehan in a 6 man tag.

The Woods Brothers Vs The Soldiers of Fortune went to a No Contest

Katie Harvey bt Siren and Peppa in a 3way elimination match

Tron bt Lucha Lee Bray& A.N. Other in a handicap match

Tucker bt B-Cool, Sammy D and Maxer Brennan in a Fatal 4 Way for the Junior Heavyweight Title.

El Ligero bt Luther Ward in an Extreme Rules match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭FFPW Office

Did you guys enjoy the show?I'm sure you all understand why Devitt didn't wrestle but did you enjoy it regardless? Positives and negatives would be great. Seemed like a great atmosphere from our point of view and a great crowd. We will be back at Liberty Hall in October.

Of course, meeting Devitt was just a nice bonus for us and unless he was advertised I didn't expect to see him in a match :)

Show was great, last FFPW show I attended was Poetry Slam in Smythfield. Few pros and cons from last night:

+4 way was great, I'm a fan of all the guys and have raved about Tucker since the old Boston Crab podcast days.

+there was a great mix on the card so the matches didn't seem all same same

+Just personal preference and I understand it's the wrestlers choice more so, but I hope Ward keeps wrestling as Ward and retires the Omen gimmick. He seemed like a million bucks last night and there was an extra spark to him. Made him look and sound like the real deal.

+Always great to see imports, especially on the level of El Ligero who I never get sick of seeing wrestle.

+the ring set up was perfect, not a bad view in the house

- not having a ring bell kinda took away from the finishes of the matches. Like when Tucker won for example, we weren't sure if he actually won or if it was now an elimination match until the result was announced, hearing the bell would have made us pop for the victory

-the first match was hindered by the constant "let me hear you one more time!" from Dawkins, there was only so many times I could cheer before thinking "Ok, get to the wrestling", especially for the opening match; he is talented enough in the ring, and over enough, to not rely on it.

- the Tron squash match went on a little too long for my liking, but that's more personal preference than anything.

I really enjoyed myself and I'm looking forward to the October show, was a great night, I couldn't fault match quality and none of the guys appeared to phone it in; they all wanted to make it a good show and it more than delivered, but more than anything, it made me miss training sessions and has given me the kick to attended classes again so you'll be seeing me in Bray shortly ;)

Like TBC said, Devitt being there was a bonus. I knew he wouldn't be wrestling with out advertisement. Was cool to see him just chilling and watching his mates put in a fantastic show.

As for my thoughts I've a few positives and negatives.

Positives:
    The ring set up was unusual but great. You could see everything perfectly from anywhere.

The Irish Junior Heavyweight match was top notch. Be cool was definitely robbed. He was by far one of the best characters on the show. (Taking nothing away from anyone else they were all great!)

The entrance themes were great! Dawkins, Phill, Katey Harvey and Be Cool had the obvious best.

The women's match was fairly good. Was delighted to see Pollyanna over for the show (even if she was booed out of the building)

Ward was fantastic! His promo was great, his fighting in the crowd was hilarious. His stand off with kazza G was phenomenal. Ligero was brilliant too, great wrestler and a good foil for the baddies.

Negatives:

No ring bell. It made things a bit difficult to know when there's a finish or even a start.

Dead bones Dawkins constant shouting. It came across as annoying by times but I suppose he popped the crowd for the open so I can't fault him on that.

The lads Tron murdered being openly called jobbers. Just because I felt bad for them and obviously kayfabe.

The use of any song by nickelback :P

All in all it was a great show and a fun night for all involved. I might go to the next liberty hall show, it would be too fun to miss out on.

Whens the next show? Fingers crossed i can make that one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 389 ✭✭LisaLee

Angron wrote: »
    I'd say that was brave of her, but seeing as she didn't know which one he was I don't think it counts as bravery :P

Think it was more ballsy than bravery :P

He was a really lovely guy :)

I hate working for a living :(

Looks like good times were had.

Whens the next show? Fingers crossed i can make that one

It's in October, I'm sure FFPW Front Office will be posting the date

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭FFPW Office

17th of October is the next Liberty Show.

Ohhhhh a Friday night :D

A great show it has to be said. I'm officially a Sammy D mark. The main event was unreal and got to have a beer with Luther Ward after the show. Cool guy. Here he is getting his clock cleaned by El Ligero...

Maybe we should make this the official future thread for all meet ups? For arranging and showing interest.

Obviously the next landmark idea for a meet-up is August 17th in the Woolshed for the SummerSlam Beach party. What do you guys/gals think?

https://www.facebook.com/events/675679129188900/