Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Early Prison release .

• 02-07-2014 9:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭

I am writing this on behalf of my girlfriend . Her brother is essentially a career criminal. He assaulted 3 different people , and the third time, he was committed to an open prison in October to serve a sentence for a year. he really is a scumbag imo. Haven't met the chap but from what ive heard he is a total knacker.

Thing is he is getting released for the weekend into the custody of his parents.

They don't want him back at all. After all the stress he has caused them they want nothing to do with him . And rightly so. They sent him to a decent private school costing them an arm and a leg, the gob****3 left and didn't even sit his jc.

Outside of those 3 assaults he has committed other heinous crimes, breaking and entering, theft, he even broke his parents window after being kicked out and assaulted them both.

Words fail me to describe him.

The jail is simply dumping him into the custody of the parents and saying deal with it . And they have said no they do not want him, but he is being sent home anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 Gertrude2

A prisoner getting temporary release has to give an address at which they'll be iiving but, assuming he's an adult, his parents do not have to let him in the door.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

How old is this lad?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

Have them write to the governor of the prison stating he is not welcome at their home and they don't want their address used in connection with him. They should consider getting a safety or barring order against him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭beaner92

Zambia wrote: »
    How old is this lad?

He is 21

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭beaner92

Gertrude2 wrote: »
    A prisoner getting temporary release has to give an address at which they'll be iiving but, assuming he's an adult, his parents do not have to let him in the door.

Thing is from what i gather the way the system is they dont even bother confirming whom or where he is going so he could have a friend put down an address and say he is going there, and go to his parents house, break in and beat them up for not taking him in.

He has beat them up before.

I was really appalled at this fact. Like they are old people like over 50 . Its really something that shocks me .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 320 ✭✭lighterman

beaner wrote: »
    Like they are old people like over 50

fit for the grave sure:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

lighterman wrote: »
    beaner wrote: »
    Like they are old people like over 50

fit for the grave sure:D

Damn!! No chance for me so...:D

OP - if this charmer turns up, tell your in-laws don't open the door, but call the Gards straight away.

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,774 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

Moderator: please see here for an instructional on how to use the [noparse]
    [/NOPARSE] tags.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,737 ✭✭✭Bepolite

You've had good advice above, so I'll chime in with some potentially bad advice.

While I understand his parents reluctance to have him, he's their son and they have a measure of blame in how he's turned out. They need to be doing everything they can to get him back on track. The likelihood is he will settle down somewhat over the next few years.

'Scumbags' are generally that way for a reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

Bepolite wrote: »
    You've had good advice above, so I'll chime in with some potentially bad advice.

While I understand his parents reluctance to have him, he's their son and they have a measure of blame in how he's turned out. They need to be doing everything they can to get him back on track. The likelihood is he will settle down somewhat over the next few years.

'Scumbags' are generally that way for a reason.

Parents are pretty constrained in how to deal with violent children. Somehow, I don't think the naughty step would sort this lad out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,087 ✭✭✭Pro Hoc Vice

discus wrote: »
    Parents are pretty constrained in how to deal with violent children. Somehow, I don't think the naughty step would sort this lad out.

Maybe it's use 15 year ago would.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭lulu1

I would say the parents hearts are broken having to turn their back on their own son I'm sure it was not an easy decision to make. I am glad i am not in their shoes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

lulu1 wrote: »
    I would say the parents hearts are broken having to turn their back on their own son I'm sure it was not an easy decision to make. I am glad i am not in their shoes

Didn't seem to be much hassle dumping him off instead of helping him sort himself out

Bit like people dump puppies when they grow up a little bit
    beaner92 wrote: »
    They sent him to a decent private school costing them an arm and a leg, .

unhappy the free dumping ground dropped the doggy back to yer door ?
    The jail is simply dumping him

dumped back to this bundle of joy :

Haven't met the chap but:

They don't want him back at all.

And rightly so.

the gob****3

The jail is simply dumping him

gctest50 wrote: »

Are you on smack? Have you ever had to live with lads like that? Life is a constant worry, you always have to watch your belongings and your back. You can't talk to them like an adult, because they don't respond to that. Rational argument is wasted on them, violence is all they know. I've lived and worked with some horrible characters - believe me at this age you are wasting your time.

Am I on heroin ? is that what you're asking me or what is it ?

no , i'm not on heroin

can't have a chat without getting personal ?
    Originally Posted by Discus

Mathepac, are you on smack?

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=85422069&postcount=93

No problem, I'll assume your advice on taking the dangerous criminal back into the house still stands, as you've lived with one, yeah?

And.... where did i give i advice ?

I made the point he was dumped, now he is being dumped back.

As you pointed out yourself - maybe too late now - i wouldn't know - you need to be professional for that sort of "diagnosis"
    believe me at this age you are wasting your time

Here i made it a bit clearer - the part i was pointing out :
    Originally Posted by beaner92viewpost.gif

Haven't met the chap but:

They don't want him back at all.

And rightly so.

the gob****3

Out of interest - is the tone of the post due to bearing a bit of a grudge because of failing to gain respect and "having to watch your back" and "constantly worrying" ?

Must have been terrible living like that

Life is a constant worry, you always have to watch your belongings and your back. You can't talk to them like an adult, because they don't respond to that.

Gctest can he be released to your address?

Zambia wrote: »
    Gctest can he be released to your address?

send him to Australia where they dumped all the criminals maybe ?

feel bad for the Aus. Aboriginal people though the way we dump all the crap in their country

Odd the non-Aus.-Aboriginal women turned out pretty fine too though

- teh genetics n environmentz is teh funny

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

Didn't seem to be much hassle dumping him off instead of helping him sort himself out

Bit like people dump puppies when they grow up a little bit

unhappy the free dumping ground dropped the doggy back to yer door ?

That's a lot of judgement from a high place. I'd be pretty confident that you haven't a notion what you are talking about though. Not all kids respond to the naughty step as Nanny 911 would have you believe. Some people just go bad and cannot be helped because they won't allow it. The stress of trying to live with someone like this can drive parents, and other siblings, to breaking point and destroy families. Sometimes the best thing for everyone is to cut them loose.

Let's be clear here, we aren't talking about some teenager who goes out drinking and doesn't come home. We're talking about a guy who has committed enough crime to be placed in prison, which is not an easy task at a young age. He has likely physically threatened and assaulted his family at home more than once, and that's to say nothing of the verbal abuse they'd probably have to put up with regularly.

Now maybe you think they should keep living like that but I don't. He's an adult and he has made his choices. As far as I can see they are perfectly justified in cutting him out of their lives completely.

send him to Australia where they dumped all the criminals maybe ?

feel bad for the Aus. Aboriginal people though the way we dump all the crap in their country

Odd the non-Aus.-Aboriginal women turned out pretty fine too though

- teh genetics n environmentz is teh funny

Gc that is a very sad response. Lets leave it there.

You have a nice day