Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Giving a loan of a tractor to someone

• 01-07-2014 2:19am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭

Family friend asked for a loan of a tractor and trailer to gather some timber he was cutting.

I was driving it home from where he was cutting and it lost power alarmingly. Looking like the clutch is gone.
    The understanding was that he was just going to fill the trailer with timber and drive it around as he was gathering.
    He told me after he used it to pull the trees as he was cutting to make them fall in the right direction. He is not a tractor man so probably pulled all the trees while in the high torque in the high ratio and probably half clutched burning the ****e out of it. Very angry now. Feeling very stupid for having giving it. It's a lesson to everyone here. Don't ever give a loan of a tractor or machine to anyone think of your excuses now and store them in your brain for the rest of your life at the ready for that day when a close friend or neighbour harmlessly asks you for a loan of something mechanical. Don't be caught on the hop like me. Looking at a bit of aggro now over coming days. I have his trailer load of timber he ain't getting it until I get a new clutch fitted and paid for. But I need it like a hole in the head and it is a friendship jettisoned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

I'll give you me tractor if you let me f*** your wife. Should bring to a grinding halt any future requests. Jesus, you borrow a man or woman's machine you treat it with respect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,542 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

ken wrote: »
    I'll give you me tractor if you let me f*** your wife. Should bring to a grinding halt any future requests. Jesus, you borrow a man or woman's machine you treat it with respect.

Some people don't know the limits to some machines and don't realise they are doing damage at times

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

20silkcut wrote: »
    Family friend asked for a loan of a tractor and trailer to gather some timber he was cutting.

I was driving it home from where he was cutting and it lost power alarmingly. Looking like the clutch is gone.
    The understanding was that he was just going to fill the trailer with timber and drive it around as he was gathering.
    He told me after he used it to pull the trees as he was cutting to make them fall in the right direction. He is not a tractor man so probably pulled all the trees while in the high torque in the high ratio and probably half clutched burning the ****e out of it. Very angry now. Feeling very stupid for having giving it. It's a lesson to everyone here. Don't ever give a loan of a tractor or machine to anyone think of your excuses now and store them in your brain for the rest of your life at the ready for that day when a close friend or neighbour harmlessly asks you for a loan of something mechanical. Don't be caught on the hop like me. Looking at a bit of aggro now over coming days. I have his trailer load of timber he ain't getting it until I get a new clutch fitted and paid for. But I need it like a hole in the head and it is a friendship jettisoned.
    would hardly be loosing power if its the clutch would it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭20silkcut

would hardly be loosing power if its the clutch would it?

Engine is not missing a beat or losing revs. Should have said losing forward momentum rather than power.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭Zoo4m8

DONT BORROW, DONT LEND...
    My standard reply when asked (whether it be tool or tractor) is " ah sure I'll do it for ye when I get a chance" , no offence caused and as borrower usually can't be bothered waiting he takes himself off to scrounge off some other poor sod.
    Now they have all got fed up with me and I haven't been asked for a couple of years...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Lads can be cheeky , the father would give out anything and well over half the time stuff isn't right when it comes back . On clutches alone I can remember two tractors coming back with hardly a bite left in the pedal . And his jeep came back with the clutch burned out and the spare wheel missing off the cattle trailer !
    People dont care usually when they haven't paid for something themselves

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

I borrowed tractors here numerous tines over the last two yrs when mine wasn't right. Only for the neighbours I'd be screwed but I don't think any of then would be interested in driving the new one. It would take most too long to get used to as nothing around here like it. But it depends on who your lending to.
    If you know there careful operators then no prob. We have borrowed yokes of neighbours and if any thing broke it damaged. We repair before we give back or either buy the part and let them put it in themselves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭stop thelights

I feel your pain!

We have one fella constantly trying to borrow stuff off us but we usually try and try do the work for him. One time loader came back with a cracked joystick. 250 euro to put right and be said when told that it worked fine for him. After that we had to drive it!

When you driving a machine everyday it's very easy to spot when something is wrong. I hopped on the loader after him and I knew straight away what was wrong. In damage over the years it's prob not high maybe 1000 but its the fecking cheek to deny it and keep coming back aaaahhhh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

Lent my tractor and dump trailer to a neighbour for "a few hours".
    Tractor came back a week later with no diesel in it, holds 250l.
    Turned out he had another contractor in doing work and didnt want to pay him for hiring tractor and trailer.
    Dont lend anything anymore.

td5man wrote: »
    Lent my tractor and dump trailer to a neighbour for "a few hours".
    Tractor came back a week later with no diesel in it, holds 250l.
    Turned out he had another contractor in doing work and didnt want to pay him for hiring tractor and trailer.
    Dont lend anything anymore.

Same as .
    A lad took our tractor and dump trailer , he was told it was low on hydaulic oil and to put a can into it . Came back with no dsl , less oil and the pump fukced from tipping the dump trailer while it was low on oil .

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,752 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Margins are gone too tight and repairs are gone too expensive for this crack. Tell them main dealer will hire out a tractor for €600 a week.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

blue5000 wrote: »
    Margins are gone too tight and repairs are gone too expensive for this crack. Tell them main dealer will hire out a tractor for €600 a week.

Ain't that the truth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Hate asking for loans of anything and generally don't, got lend of uncle by marriage tractor to push up silage the last two days, lad driving very careful type, but after about 6 load it wouldn't move, called out mechanic, synchro stuck, two sensors and a callous later the bill was €350 and I paid it, he offered to pay but not letting him, told me if stopped on him a month ago so must be getting to have to change synchro stage anyway, I wouldn't ask any neighbours for a tractor though, loan very little off anyone except a silage trailer off a friend but he gets mine when he needs so I see being fair, know lads that have neck enough to ask for everything if ya were harmless enough, only got lend of tractor as I couldn't justify buying another tractor as don't have the work for it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭Phil_Lives

I remember a falling out with a neighbour over an ancient borrowed tractor.
    Neighbour got tractor back and starter motor was knackered and presented father with invoice for repair.
    Father, who was a mechanic had to explain that worn bushes in a starter couldn't be blamed on the last user of the tractor as they would have worn over many, many years. Ill-feeling there for a long while after from mechanically ignorant neighbour.
    Best advice is "neither a lender, nor borrower be".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭C0N0R

Know someone who lent a tractor to a lad to push up his silage, had his young lad driving it, rolled it off pit and then tried to tell the guy he got it off that its cause the brakes were ****e on it. Brakes were spot on when the tractor was picked up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭kerryjack

Hate to borrow stuff myself but older generation had no problem borrowing stuff but like previous posters have said machinery and diesel have gone very expensive,20 years ago Down here if you started drawing in round bales you might have 4 or 5 neighbors with heaps of ****e in the field drawing in with you but that's all changed now for the worst i would think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,803 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Lent a tractor and trailer once to a lad and he made sh*t of the trailer, straining it and overloading it. Made a hole with the spikes at the corner of the tool shed, no apology or explanation. He made a feeble 'attempt' at repairing the trailer, a cat would weld it better. Then asked me for a loan of my chainsaw, had to nip that one in the bud.
    Another neighbour was a dab hand at clipping and breaking mirrors.
    And of course no-one will do you the courtesy of filling it back up with diesel again.

Neither borrower nor lender be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭Viewtodiefor

Lots of posts here against lending. Have to say the total opposite here often lend stuff and often borrow machines from neighbours etc would be lost if couldn't do it. Either way! If fairness never any hassles

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

Can I get a lend of your tractor?

Can you tell me where I'd get a lend of someone to fix it.

That usually stops requests

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

I don't mind giving a hand using my tools, but no way I'm letting anyone use the tools of my trade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

All depends, some lads you wouldn't risk letting them have a crow bar, others you know will treat a machine right. Heard of a fellow who was so sick of people borrowing his Ifor Williams flat trailer, that he sold it. Said he never had it when he wanted it anyway......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Mulumpy

Im not very mechanically minded so never have much luck with anything ive borrowed over the years. I find it often ends up cheaper to get someone in and less agro. Only thing is I find dont know the neighbours as well as used to nowadays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 Ger Byrne 1

i hate lending anything out
    It always comes back broken and mostly only find out when i go use it again

i hate lending anything out
    It always comes back broken and mostly only find out when i go use it again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭ravima

anyone think of insurance implications??

Tommy is a farmer and owns a tractor. He has it insured. It is insured for Tommys business as a farmer.

Tommy gives a loan of it to Paddy, who uses it for his business as a contractor, but assumes that as he has a loan of it, Tommy's insurance will cover him. Well, Paddy & Tommy, it won't!!

Tommy's tractor is insured for TOMMY'S business and NOT for any one elses!!!

If you are loaning a tractor/digger/mechanically propelled vehicle, make sure that the borrower insures it under his/her policy.

In the example above, if Paddy has an accident, Tommy's insurers MUST deal with any Third party claim under Road Traffic Act, but have rights of recovery (ie they can sue to recover any payments made) against Tommy and Paddy. given that Tommy is a farmer, he probably has assets and maybe paddy doesn't. That means that at the end of the day, Tommy pays up!!!

BEWARE!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

Lent tractor to the brother once - it came back with the seat broken. That's the last time he ever got anything off me!

kerryjack wrote: »
    Hate to borrow stuff myself but older generation had no problem borrowing stuff

It was alright for them, all they probably had was a Fergie 20 or some other yoke built like a pair of old boots that you'd have to be a right eejit to break or do any damage to. Break a light or something on a modern tractor and it's going to cost €€€€ and from what I've found not everyone is inclined to 'fess up and pay to replace it. Some lads would break iron and are just careless with anything that's not their own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭ellewood

Jezus lad id hate to be living near some of ye, when i started a few years ago there was no way i was going spending 20-30K on a tractor it was was spent on stock first as that was what was going me make me money (allegedly anyways:D) + it was only the odd time cause i didnt want asking too much. First winter in 09 i had loads of stock but ran out of silage so neighbour gave me his brand new 5470 i think and trailor to go get bales, Trying to clean out strawbedded sheds with 135 and box- he offered loader to empty, nothing ever broke when had it but if it did id pay to repair i think thats the way it should be.

So this year when his loader broke and he got a loan of my loader to feed cattle, happy days
    And when his tractor broke and he wanted my tractor to go agitating i was only to happy to be able to return the favour

Swings and roundabouts lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,546 ✭✭✭visatorro

ellewood wrote: »
    Jezus lad id hate to be living near some of ye, when i started a few years ago there was no way i was going spending 20-30K on a tractor it was was spent on stock first as that was what was going me make me money (allegedly anyways:D) + it was only the odd time cause i didnt want asking too much. First winter in 09 i had loads of stock but ran out of silage so neighbour gave me his brand new 5470 i think and trailor to go get bales, Trying to clean out strawbedded sheds with 135 and box- he offered loader to empty, nothing ever broke when had it but if it did id pay to repair i think thats the way it should be.

So this year when his loader broke and he got a loan of my loader to feed cattle, happy days
    And when his tractor broke and he wanted my tractor to go agitating i was only to happy to be able to return the favour

Know what you mean. Lads just don't want to get burnt twice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭Viewtodiefor

Your post on this thread has restored my faith in good human nature. Jeeze I couldn't believe all the negative posts!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

That neighbour is worth diamonds. My two neighbours dead sound lots of give and take and respect. We have all agreed that yes is yes and no is no. Yet I have one across the road who has reported me twice to the council, the dickhead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭severeoversteer

my mechanic normally borrows some of my gear for his farm work, he fixes the gear and services it while its at his place so its a win win for both sides

borrowed a dump trailer a year ago because we needed an extra tractor drawing as we already had all our dumptrailers in use

we treated it the same as our own but on the very first load drove down the road and 2 of the four tyres ripped to shreads

had to buy 2 brand new tyres for it and it wasn't even my trailer, the tyres were shook when I got it but im not the type of man to not fix something that goes wrong on my watch

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,585 ✭✭✭jca

All is fine when your dealing like for like. The problems start when the sly farmers son breaks your machine and sneaks it back to you without accepting responsibility. Very annoying.

I really wish we had neighbours like that but over the years I think the father was too good to them and at this stage they nearly feel entitled to take what they need from the yard and none of the "borrowers " are ever to give a hand at silage , hay , bog or calving .
    There are two lads that I give a block of silage or bales to if they are stuck and they would be the only ones to give something back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

Gave a friend of mine rang on a Sunday for a loan of my jeep to launch his boat a few yrs ago, when I came back to go milking that night there was big dent/scratch on the back door. When I asked about it nxt time I was talking to him he said he nothing about it. Also had a dump trailer which was constantly being borrowed, came back once with two flat wheels, sold it in the end. But couldn't do without it, so bought another one, now always keep any rubbish/tiding from the yard in it, so if anyone borrows it now they have to get rid of the load themselves, at least I get something out of it this way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭kerryjack

Mulumpy wrote: »
    Im not very mechanically minded so never have much luck with anything ive borrowed over the years. I find it often ends up cheaper to get someone in and less agro. Only thing is I find dont know the neighbours as well as used to nowadays.

ya that's whats happens if you dont need your neighbors for anything and become so independent in doing everything ourselves has become a serious problem in rural Ireland it has a name rural isolation the only place i meet my neighbors now is in lidl and aldi

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

Fortunate in that we have two farming neighbours here that we can call on when we are stuck be it for man power or machine

• Closed Accounts Posts: 743 ✭✭✭GrandSoftDay

Have a couple of good neighbours here along with a few middling ones. One in particular comes every couple of weeks for the cowbox, I wouldn't mind but he bought a new tractor a few months back that won't do s hundred hours in the year but never thought to buy a cowbox. I'd rather not be borrowing or lending stuff to be honest. There's been. 4 lights broken by 2 different people on the cowbox in the last few months and neither of them said it to me. Fair annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,527 ✭✭✭on the river

That neighbour is worth diamonds. My two neighbours dead sound lots of give and take and respect. We have all agreed that yes is yes and no is no. Yet I have one across the road who has reported me twice to the council, the dickhead

Love the honesty frazzledhome

Have a couple of good neighbours here along with a few middling ones. One in particular comes every couple of weeks for the cowbox, I wouldn't mind but he bought a new tractor a few months back that won't do s hundred hours in the year but never thought to buy a cowbox. I'd rather not be borrowing or lending stuff to be honest. There's been. 4 lights broken by 2 different people on the cowbox in the last few months and neither of them said it to me. Fair annoying.

Oh the lights on the trailer are often burst , it fukcing amazes me how many donkeys manage to unhitch a trailer and forget to unplug the lights before pulling off . Id love to tie a string from the plug to their balls , they wouldnt forget to unplug them then :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

This loaning crack is a bollix if a job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,271 ✭✭✭TireeTerror

If it wasnt for friends, I would have been stuck a good few times in the past, likewise if I can help anyone out I will.

Only this week I borrowed a horsebox to move my horse, got a flat tyre, rather than get the puncture fixed I just got a brand new tyre fitted. I feel better having done it and also if the need to borrow it again occurs then there shouldn't be a problem. Its just down to respect really.

If you bend it, you mend it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Here we rarely borrow rarely lend.
    Personally I'd treat stuff if borrow better that my own gear but would prefer if I could get the owner of the gear to do it as they know it's limits etc.
    One black mark against me is a whacker plate I borrowed that stopped working on me...haven't a bog notion why.

ganmo wrote: »
    Here we rarely borrow rarely lend.
    Personally I'd treat stuff if borrow better that my own gear but would prefer if I could get the owner of the gear to do it as they know it's limits etc.
    One black mark against me is a whacker plate I borrowed that stopped working on me...haven't a bog notion why.
    And your guaranteed that it will stop/break on you if you borrow it off someone

moy83 wrote: »
    Oh the lights on the trailer are often burst , it fukcing amazes me how many donkeys manage to unhitch a trailer and forget to unplug the lights before pulling off . Id love to tie a string from the plug to their balls , they wouldnt forget to unplug them then :D

Or the safety cable, after the jockey wheel goes down and handbrake on:(
    Bending the drawbar is another one, breaking the trailer key in the lock. It's not just tractors.
    Seen a neighbour un-load a pallet of 25kg meal bags off another lad's cowbox to get a lend of it. But it works 2 ways, same lads were sharing a pto shaft for a diet feeder all winter!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

Or the safety cable, after the jockey wheel goes down and handbrake on:(
    Bending the drawbar is another one, breaking the trailer key in the lock. It's not just tractors.

gave a lad loan of ifor flat trailer recently, had just fitted a new hitch to trailer, came back with new safely cable burst..i know it s a small thing but fcuk me..span new

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

But it works 2 ways, same lads were sharing a pto shaft for a diet feeder all winter!

That's just a social thing surely? Feck me, having to go to a lads place every day to borrow a PTO shaft! Would you not just buy your own shaft, and call for a chat some other time!

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Feck me, having to go to a lads place every day to borrow a PTO shaft!

Mane-ness.:rolleyes: Buy your own goddamn shaft FFS.

It's like borrowing someone's kettle whenever you want to make tea.

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    That's just a social thing surely? Feck me, having to go to a lads place every day to borrow a PTO shaft! Would you not just buy your own shaft, and call for a chat some other time!

You'd you believe that's how they started sharing, one of em did buy one, a ch***se heap of sh1te that lasted about 2 bbs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

I hate borrowing or lending machinery. If I have to get the loan of a tractor, I'd prefer they'd drive it aswell. Nobody knows machinery like the owner.
    Grand to help some neighbours, In fairness, but the person that's taking the piss, borrowing week in, week out. That's a different matter.