Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The future of current holiday destinations -ISIS plans

• 30-06-2014 12:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,359 ✭✭✭

Might wanna start rethinking about those trips to the Cos del xyz

article-2674736-1F43721400000578-726_634x406.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

jon1981 wrote: »

Great story, compelling and rich.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

Good luck to them - last I checked, them 1.5m Iraqi volunteers were sweeping through them in Iraq.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

I know they're jihadists but ISIS is the coolest name ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,896 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Anyone have a snappy name for the second reconquista?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

Well that's that then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭Mahogany Gaspipe

In my book the font they use isn't doing them any favours, they wouldn't muster up less support using comic sans tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,359 ✭✭✭jon1981

TheZohan wrote: »
    Great story, compelling and rich.

Sorry is "rich and compelling analysis" allowed in After Hours ? :D

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Looks like them areas

Are the Danger zone!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,001 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

I keep thinking of Archer any time I hear about them. Archer would sort them out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭solomafioso

Sorry is "rich and compelling analysis" allowed in After Hours ? :D

Sometimes, but sensationalist headlines from Dailymail are always allowed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

Sounds like a new console or something.

The Nintendo ISIS
    Or XBOx ISIS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Seems that they want to revive both the Austro-Hungarian and Ottoman Empires.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,359 ✭✭✭jon1981

KungPao wrote: »
    Sounds like a new console or something.

The Nintendo ISIS
    Or XBOx ISIS

you think Nintendo might be trying to "head off" the competition with a snazzy title?

. . . Too much?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

P_1 wrote: »
    Seems that they want to revive both the Austro-Hungarian and Ottoman Empires.
    Let them try to take Vienna again! For those of you who don't know much history, the reason you're still enjoying your booze and bacon is because vienna withstood an Ottoman siege in 1529 thereby halting 100 years of Ottoman extension into europe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

Let them try to take Vienna again! For those of you who don't know much history, the reason you're still enjoying your booze and bacon is because vienna withstood an Ottoman siege in 1529 thereby halting 100 years of Ottoman extension into europe.

This means nothing to me
    Oh Vienna!

It involved Polish knights?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,879 ✭✭✭Jude13

This means nothing to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,879 ✭✭✭Jude13

Muise... wrote: »
    This means nothing to me
    Oh Vienna!

Damn you !!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,768 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

Winged Hussars - apparently had one of the coolest effects charging into battle [Source Wheatcroft on that era].

Of course we might ask for our Atheist brethren to reason with them - send in Dawkins!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I think they're map is slightly out of date by a few hundred years. I don't see the spanish turning Muslim, most of the festivals down the south of the country are celebrating the time they defeated the Muslims and enshrined Catholicism in Spain.

ScumLord wrote: »
    I think they're map is slightly out of date by a few hundred years. I don't see the spanish turning Muslim, most of the festivals down the south of the country are celebrating the time they defeated the Muslims and enshrined Catholicism in Spain.

Also why don't they want Sicily?

Even they think it's too corrupt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

Fun fact: Isis is the name of the Thames as it flows through Oxford.

They seem to have decided to map out their caliphate according to the "high-water maps" of islamic rule in particular countries - even if this occured in different places at different times.

Isis can lick my salty balls. They are cave-dwellers intent on inflicting hate and general ****iness on the people of the middle-east.

The Poles saved Europe on a number of occasions I believe. A great bunch of lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Got a source which isn't the Daily Fail?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

The Ottomans weren't that particular brand of nut. Not that I'd advise pointing out that fact within swords distance of one of the current loo-la's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Anyone have a snappy name for the second reconquista?

iSIS 5

We could get a new Episode of Deadliest Warrior now , ISIS vs Fine Gael

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Looks like they want Crimea!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭comongethappy

The Poles saved Europe on a number of occasions I believe. A great bunch of lads.

Biggest cavalry charge in history I think?
    (Could be wrong)

20,000+ armoured horses.

Poland really saved Europe's bacon that day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

a week of Dresden scale bombing runs would cool their courage

It would be interesting to know what they think the Koran says in regard to trying to run a large Empire sans air power.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,768 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

Nodin wrote: »
    It would be interesting to know what they think the Koran says in regard to trying to run a large Empire sans air power.
    To be fair, there were numerous Islamic empires that encompassed parts of the Global that ran quite well for 100s of years. The Khanates, Ottamans, various Arabic ones etc. There issues with technology, AFAIR from authors like Berand Lewis were not due an internal issues but a failure to match Western innovations. Given the changes in world politics since then, that might no longer be an issue.

Manach wrote: »
    To be fair, there were numerous Islamic empires that encompassed parts of the Global that ran quite well for 100s of years. The Khanates, Ottamans, various Arabic ones etc. There issues with technology, AFAIR from authors like Berand Lewis were not due an internal issues but a failure to match Western innovations. Given the changes in world politics since then, that might no longer be an issue.

So ISIS have a secret air force?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

Someone needs to let ISIS know that Mullah Omar already declared himself Caliph........

Also, the other Sunni groups already hate them due to attacks on them. I don't see them lasting to long, as they seem to have pissed off everyone, even Al Qaeda, who have rejected them.

Manach wrote: »
    To be fair, there were numerous Islamic empires that encompassed parts of the Global that ran quite well for 100s of years. The Khanates, Ottamans, various Arabic ones etc. There issues with technology, AFAIR from authors like Berand Lewis were not due an internal issues but a failure to match Western innovations.
    The medieval Islamic cultures were the ones that did all the innovation, while europe was in a dark age, they were making massive leaps in mathematics, inventing gunpowder, proper steel, compound bows, the list goes on and on. I think the only thing Europeans seem to have in our favour is that we're good at fighting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

Caught a dose of ISIS last time I was in the costa de xyz.

Have to sleep on yer hands in case ye scraub the head off yer Imam. It's a bastard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭urabell

The medieval Islamic cultures were the ones that did all the innovation, while europe was in a dark age, they were making massive leaps in mathematics, inventing gunpowder, proper steel, compound bows, the list goes on and on. I think the only thing Europeans seem to have in our favour is that we're good at fighting.

It's like when James Beattie had that really good year in the premier league, they havn't done anything productive since then or before then.

Nodin wrote: »
    So ISIS have a secret air force?

It's one guy in a clapped out Cessna with an AK pointed out the window.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Amsterdam ok? Yeah, class.

urabell wrote: »
    It's like when James Beatty had that really good year in the premier league, they havn't done anything productive since then or before then.
    No, it's pretty strange how a society can get to a certain stage of development and then just stop watching the cultures around them advance in their stead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭bop1977

ixoy wrote: »
    I keep thinking of Archer any time I hear about them. Archer would sort them out.

Send in ODIN. Tehy will sort out those ISIS fellas.

No, it's pretty strange how a society can get to a certain stage of development and then just stop watching the cultures around them advance in their stead.

Societies and cultures hit the wall when they close themselves off to outside influence and expertise. ISIS (though not a society) and their ilk will be a smudge before long because they are inward looking haters.

It says something when Al Qaeda won't associate your you, becasue you're giving them a bad name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭comongethappy

bop1977 wrote: »
    Send in ODIN. Tehy will sort out those ISIS fellas.

Pfffft....Odin..... Just a bunch copycats!
    Look at them there, all dressed in their turtlenecks.

Archer didnt invent the turtleneck, but he was the first to recognize its potential as a tactical garment. The tactical turtleneck. The tactalneck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Hopefully every bearded nutter in the west will be joining the happy band in that great big sand pit which can then be turned into glass by a nuke.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

The Irish army would defeat these guys in a pitched battle-that's how sh1t they are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

We await Colonel Phil Hogan's (Riding Nth and Sth) for our communique. Here in the manner of Cpt. Mainwaring:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

I'm surprised they don't want Bangladesh and Indonesia. Islamic manifest destiny FTW!!!