Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liquid milk contract

• 29-06-2014 3:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭

With the poor liquid price would we better off not signing and keep our options open

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

milkprofit wrote: »
    With the poor liquid price would we better off not signing and keep our options open

Can ye change to winter milk contract?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Can ye change to winter milk contract?

NO and yes I'm shouting

To which ones?

Only joking, No more winter contracts available in Glanbia.

What's a liquid contract worth these days?

Very little I'd imagine? Would anyone be looking to get into it?
    Friend of mine left it this yrmear after 5 yrs of no contract. Was just getting base price and was packing cows with maize and beet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Their is going to be an announcement apparently in autumn outlining a winter milk scheme for winter 2015 that is going to top anything available at the present time our so i've been told will happily sign my milk contract when i see this document outlining what they seem to be promising

jaymla627 wrote: »
    Their is going to be an announcement apparently in autumn outlining a winter milk scheme for winter 2015 that is going to top anything available at the present time our so i've been told will happily sign my milk contract when i see this document outlining what they seem to be promising

Are you in winter?

Not at the present time but will be next winter

What made you go into winter milk?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

Supposed to be a better winter bonus scheme next year. For munufacturing milk suppliers.

If you dont sign you have the option of going elsewhere uf a better scheme is availabe.

If you sign youll take what you get and jump trough whatever hoops they dream up.

What made you go into winter milk?
    With quotas going I see it as a no brainer to have a spilt calving herd between winter and spring, the way I see it, it will allow us/make it worthwhile to milk on my late spring calving cows over the winter when their autumn ladies already their to be milked along with this I plan to carryover cows from spring to autumn calving and vice versa as we plan on doubling maybe tripling numbers over the next few years and it will help facilitate this without losing my shirt waiting for heifers to come through the system....I can also see big deductions for spring calving herds if strict seasonality penalties come in for May/June milk also

I wouldn't be a fan off switching cows between the Tao systems.
    Policy here now us 3-4 serves and out the door after that if they don't hold.
    Believe me you will get sick of having to feed calves every day if the yr.we had cows slipping from one season to the other and they cost a bome. They don't react to feeding like a fresh cow and lay down fat then.
    Plan to have 8-10 week calving her. I hope to milk double what I am now too some time but I definitely won't be letting cows that slip stay

I wouldn't be a fan off switching cows between the Tao systems.
    Policy here now us 3-4 serves and out the door after that if they don't hold.
    Believe me you will get sick of having to feed calves every day if the yr.we had cows slipping from one season to the other and they cost a bome. They don't react to feeding like a fresh cow and lay down fat then.
    Plan to have 8-10 week calving her. I hope to milk double what I am now too some time but I definitely won't be letting cows that slip stay

In a perfect world 8-10 week calving intervals would be the way to go, after having a disastrous breeding season here with repeats at first thought it was down to an ibr outbreak have had 4 cows go down with phuemonia resulting in them being dried off/nearly dying got lab results back last week all cows where clear for ibr/lepto/Bvd etc vet doesn't have any explanation, thinking now it might be schmallenberg as we had a milk sample come back positive am blooding cows in morning too see having read up on it schmallenberg can cause a 75% decrease in,in-calf rates which is inline with the amount of repeats that has occurred here so basically my compact spring calving herd is now a distant memory

Feck that is not good at all. Shame that is. Had 35% of overall served repeat here. And 10% of them repeated again.
    You could get it back in a yr or two with some hard work

Feck that is not good at all. Shame that is. Had 35% of overall served repeat here. And 10% of them repeated again.
    You could get it back in a yr or two with some hard work

Any other year and it would of been a disaster but due to quota issues it might be a very small blessing having cows calving later, had 80% repeat to 1st service and 60% of them repeated again with around 40% of the herd on their 3rd plus service been a pure sickener doing ai this year with all the repeats...

Along with costing a bomb. I've a first calvers repeat 5 timesm different AI man today he does the semen sales for Wexford. He said it felt like here cervix never tightened up and was kind of floppy

Used sexed on selected cows for the first month too, hoping I might have 5 cows hold out of the 35 sexed I used not good, let the stock bulls out with them this morning to take care of the rest as the a.i bill for the year was heading north of 5 grand

Did those cows that repeated after sexed hold next serve? Friend served 40 heifers to sexed. 10 were hormoned and 32 held

A lot repeated second serve as well used sexed on the heifers would say 50% held to sexed will know the real rate when I scan next week