Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Will we become a nation of smelly folk?

• 28-06-2014 11:15am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭

With the water charges coming in I'm going to assume people will cut back, showers, baths, cooking, tea, washing cars, washing clothes etc

I know I'll be cutting back on showers everyday...so should we expect a smelly nation?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

What do you mean 'become'? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

I'm going to wash myself in the rain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭Umadbrah?

No I'm not poor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Barely There

THEZAPPA wrote: »
    With the water charges coming in I'm going to assume people will cut back, showers, baths, cooking, tea, washing cars, washing clothes etc

I know I'll be cutting back on showers everyday...so should we expect a smelly nation?

No, I'd imagine most people won't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭Nemeses

Sure go to your local swimming pool... FREE SHOWERS!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I appreciate where water comes from, so no.

I live beside the sea so im sorted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Sponge baths and the piss pot under the bed would work wonders with saving water :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 627 ✭✭✭House of Blaze

The biggest impact (beyond the bill) that the water charges will have on me is facing the dilemma of whether to soak my pans after dinner or not..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Arnold Layne

As long as we don't succumb to golden showers as an alternative

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

cut back on tea? You high op?

Turning the tap off while brushing teeth and the shower off while lathering up will probably save enough water.

I'll probably just start going to the gym more though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭dellas1979

But a shower can take 1/2 minutes. 1/2 minutes of water. Maybe 4/5 if you'd to wash/condition longer hair.

I wonder about the washing clothes and things though. I know a lady who washes her towels after using them once (after coming out of the shower). I never understood this...as in, you are clean anyways. Just hang the towel up and you'll get another use out of it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

Turning the tap off while brushing teeth and the shower off while lathering up will probably save enough water.

I'll probably just start going to the gym more though.

Won't the gyms raise their membership rates so they can pay their charges?

dellas1979 wrote: »
    But a shower can take 1/2 minutes. 1/2 minutes of water. Maybe 4/5 if you'd to wash/condition longer hair.

I wonder about the washing clothes and things though. I know a lady who washes her towels after using them once (after coming out of the shower). I never understood this...as in, you are clean anyways. Just hang the towel up and you'll get another use out of it!

ewwww deeerty!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,588 ✭✭✭ahnowbrowncow

Muise... wrote: »

I thought businesses already pay water charges?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

Do you eat your dinner by candlelight, OP?
    Or wear 3 jumpers and 2 overcoats around the house in winter?
    Do you live in a caravan to avoid LPT?

If not, why on earth would you cut down on showers and all the rest you mention?

The extra tenner a year will be fine. Their prices fluctuate so much that it won't feel like I'm paying for the water :P
    Also the showers in a gym are far better than the ****ty electric one in my gaff. Takes 3/4 minutes of running to get it consistent.

I thought businesses already pay water charges?

Ah. I rent, but I do save money on electricity by using the gym shower more than the one at home. I'm already in the habit of turning off the water when I do the soapy thing. Not looking forward to queuing for a shower in chlorine-reeking togs if this water charge deluge happens.

What gym is that? I've never had to queue :P

The hypothetical gym if the doomsday water charge scenario comes to pass. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭THEZAPPA

Valetta wrote: »
    Do you eat your dinner by candlelight, OP?
    Or wear 3 jumpers and 2 overcoats around the house in winter?
    Do you live in a caravan to avoid LPT?

If not, why on earth would you cut down on showers and all the rest you mention?

I certainly do :L

I've fairly long hair so takes a while to shampoo condition and wash it out. Plus water for shaving so yes I'll be cutting back for sure.

My reasoning isn't to cut back on all the rest but when you think about it we do all use a fair bit of water on a daily basis. They say average per adult is 145 litres a day. There are 4 grown adults in mine :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,902 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

The biggest impact (beyond the bill) that the water charges will have on me is facing the dilemma of whether to soak my pans after dinner or not..

You could soak them in your own p*ss...

2 birds, 1 stone and all that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭Umadbrah?

They already pay for water...businesses have always paid for water

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭dellas1979

Nemeses wrote: »
    ewwww deeerty!

:) Economics and environment m'dear.
    Average person doesnt need a 10 minute shower.
    Or wash a (first use) towel after you come out of the shower clean.
    Or leave taps on.

And for those that do, yes they will charge the **** outa ya ;) but the person will still complain.

The hypothetical gym if the doomsday water charge scenario comes to pass. :p

Just avoid the council-run gyms. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,877 ✭✭✭purplecow1977

Jesus some of them are high enough as it is! :eek:

OP, I don't think people are going to start being smelly, no.
    The people who are already smelly will still be smelly.

Those of us who aren't, will probably just become a bit more savvy at saving water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

National protest idea: No one wash. At all, for at least a month. Then all hang around the Dail. I dunno about ye but if I were to go a week without a shower, Id peel the upholstery on my car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 590 ✭✭✭Leonidas BL

Sure who'd notice with the smell of sh1te from farmers anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭Duiske

Nemeses wrote: »
    Sure go to your local swimming pool... FREE SHOWERS!

€5.00 to get into pool to avail of "free" shower. Rough calculation for 5min electric shower at home, incl new water charge, would be about €0.20.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

Umadbrah? wrote: »
    They already pay for water...businesses have always paid for water

Majority of people dont know that. So they(business) can use it as an excuse to up prices. One business will do it and the rest will follow.

Duiske wrote: »
    €5.00 to get into pool to avail of "free" shower. Rough calculation for 5min electric shower at home, incl new water charge, would be about €0.20.

Yeah, But you get to exercise too!

Duh...

Duiske wrote: »

€12 for a swim in my gym!Unless you buy membership!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

National protest idea: No one wash. At all, for at least a month. Then all hang around the Dail. I dunno about ye but if I were to go a week without a shower, Id peel the upholstery on my car.

On any given day there is already a group of smelly people protesting something outside the dail. Does it make a difference? No.

Having lived in a country where there were water charges, it was interesting to see some of the ingenious ways people saved water. Like the urinals in pubs. In Ireland the urinals are usually on a timer and they automatically flush every 15 minutes or so to keep them clean. However, what if no-one uses a urinal during the 45 minutes of say a football game? The water is wasted. Where I was, each urinal had a little sensor that detected when someone was peeing into it, and when they finished, it automatically flushed just that one urinal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,987 ✭✭✭mikeym

Only time will tell.

Theres nothing worse than sitting next to a smelly person on a bus/train.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,733 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

syklops wrote: »

Having lived in a country where there were water charges, it was interesting to see some of the ingenious ways people saved water. Like the urinals in pubs. In Ireland the urinals are usually on a timer and they automatically flush every 15 minutes or so to keep them clean. However, what if no-one uses a urinal during the 45 minutes of say a football game? The water is wasted. Where I was, each urinal had a little sensor that detected when someone was peeing into it, and when they finished, it automatically flushed just that one urinal.
    But wouldn't that mean that the urinal would flush about 10 times during half-time, compared with an Irish one that would only flush once?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭fedor.2.

I appreciate where water comes from, so no.

Cringe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

osarusan wrote: »
    But wouldn't that mean that the urinal would flush about 10 times during half-time, compared with an Irish one that would only flush once?

Yes, but it also means the urinal is fresh every time a customer uses it. It doesn't have pee from 9 other people in it when someone goes to use it.

syklops wrote: »
    Yes, but it also means the urinal is fresh every time a customer uses it. It doesn't have pee from 9 other people in it when someone goes to use it.

But this thread is about the water charges & presumably saving water :P

I've saved water by not washing my socks....

Tis great craic altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

All these extra charges have an effect on business don't they? Surely they will have to increase the amount they charge to make ends meet.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Yellowblackbird

It will probably become a standard hilarious prank that when you're in someone's house you secretely turn on one of their taps without them knowing and leave it running. Oh the fun and laughter for everyone as they swear revenge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,469 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

Maybe bathhouses will start popping up around the place.

Sure who'd notice with the smell of sh1te from farmers anyway.
    Is that a question or a statement?

Maybe bathhouses will start popping up around the place.
    Communal baths :eek: