Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Slayer Dublin

• 27-06-2014 4:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4

Got ticket for Slayer for next Tuesday. probably heading up by myself. Wanna see if anyone might be interested in meeting for a few drinks beforehand or even sharing a lift up (heading from Cork). Get back if interested. Cheers
    Tagged:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,150 ✭✭✭Passenger

If you're looking to meet people before the Slayer gig you'll meet plenty of gig goers in any of the Rock bars. Fibber Magees, Bruxelles, Gypsy Rose, etc. You'll get talking to people easily enough in the ground floor bar in The Academy too as there's always a crowd in there before the performance. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭rock whore

heading on my own too. I'll be in town from around 5 for some grub so would happily join any boardsies for a pre gig pint or two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 metman1

Hey rock whore

I'll be in Dublin about the same time if you wanna arrange a meet somewhere. let me know and we can sort details. Cheers

Good stuff, PM sent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Wrongway1985

En route to Dub for tonights gig also on me tod. Never got around to see Slayer over the countless times they gigged here better do so before they lose more original members :)

if you're around before the show pop in to The Oval on the corner of Middle Abbey st & O'connell st

rock whore wrote: »
    if you're around before the show pop in to The Oval on the corner of Middle Abbey st & O'connell st

Cheers I aim to be around sometime after 5, im assuming the show is no support and like most academy gigs Slayer due on for 9?

Yeah, no mention of support acts so prob just Slayer. They've played about 20 songs in the Limelight so hoping for something similar tonight. I've Raining Blood going round in my head all day. :D

Cool have been listening to Seasons in the Abyss album as I see they've been playing more than the usual from it on recent sets. Ive pm'd u there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 metman1

just heading off now so see ye in the Oval later. limelight looked class. Hope tonights even better!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭Vaxxine

Tickets say 7pm, so if there is no support act, is that doors, or Slayer's start time?? :confused::confused:

Doors at 7. Start time should be sometime between 8-9, I'd say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭MetalDog

Managed to get myself a ticket so looking forward to this now.

Doors at 7. Start time should be sometime between 8-9, I'd say

Thank you! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

I've tried Facebook messaging The Academy to get a start time but can't seem to be able to. Don't want to go down at 8 and wait an hour if I can avoid it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭blastman

Academy gigs tend to start early, I'd err on the side of caution if I were you.

Saw them last year there and they were excellent, but I'd already got a ticket to the eels for tonight when this gig was announced, so I'll have to settle for Anthrax tomorrow instead. Enjoy.....

Degag wrote: »
    I've tried Facebook messaging The Academy to get a start time but can't seem to be able to. Don't want to go down at 8 and wait an hour if I can avoid it

Same here, but seeing as doors are at 7 I wouldn't think we'd be waiting 2hours..hopefully not anyway!

Hope everyone has a great night! I'll be the girl in jeans and black tee :D

Vaxxine wrote: »
    Same here, but seeing as doors are at 7 I wouldn't think we'd be waiting 2hours..hopefully not anyway!

Hope everyone has a great night! I'll be the girl in jeans and black tee :D

Academy website has them being on stage around nine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,577 ✭✭✭lord lucan

Cheers I aim to be around sometime after 5, im assuming the show is no support and like most academy gigs Slayer due on for 9?

No support, just a load of ambient trance to get you in the mood before slayer come on! 😜

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,959 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

lord lucan wrote: »
    No support, just a load of ambient trance to get you in the mood before slayer come on! 😜

hahaha, i remember that one well, got on my tits it did.

Pissed i'm not going tonight but gotta work, just had 3wks off so another night may be pushing it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Seem to be just blasting out the black album. The metal opposite of Slayer.

Better than reggae and trance though.

DrumSteve wrote: »

Lol don't think Kerry King will be happy with that!

Any sign of them coming on? Will probably head down around half 8

Lol don't think Kerry King will be happy with that!

Any sign of them coming on? Will probably head down around half 8

Nah still half full tbh.

I think you'll be all right getting there for then.

Definitely better than last years ****e, walked in with through the never playing, thought i was hearing things!

I thought the same when I heard nothing else matters

****ing savage!!

Great gig, although I thought last years was better. Would love to know how many songs they played. Felt like 10+ !

Meant 20+

Tbh I thought they had great energy for what was their 3rd night in a row. Whilst Gary Holt may be no Jeff hannemann he's a beast on stage, his energy was infectious.

Holt is excellent alright. Is it just me or can Bostoph just not play the DB solo in Angel of Death?

The best setlist ive seen them play so far.

Very, very good show.

Bostaph can play it ( I was watching his feet), but to me it seems like he been told to keep it short.

Holt is a boss though and Tom is freakin hilarious.

Again great setlist.

The best setlist ive seen them play so far.

Very, very good show.

Bostaph can play it ( I was watching his feet), but to me it seems like he been told to keep it short.

Holt is a boss though and Tom is freakin hilarious.

Again great setlist.

It sounds ****e though. Tom is awesome alright. Think someone proposed to him at one point or something cause he put up his finger kinda like he was showing a ring!

Did anyone see what the fight was about on KK's side of the stage where the bouncers hauled yer man off through the dressing rooms? Was dying for a pee so just came back when it ended?

It sounds ****e though. Tom is awesome alright. Think someone proposed to him at one point or something cause he put up his finger kinda like he was showing a ring!

Did anyone see what the fight was about on KK's side of the stage where the bouncers hauled yer man off through the dressing rooms? Was dying for a pee so just came back when it ended?

I was over that side but didnt see anything except a very drunk polish man shout the word "classic" about 50 times then try start a fight.

I agree about the DB;its a shame as I thought Bostaph had a smashing gig.

I was over that side but didnt see anything except a very drunk polish man shout the word "classic" about 50 times then try start a fight.

I agree about the DB;its a shame as I thought Bostaph had a smashing gig.
    Bostoph is an excellent drummer and a very competent Double bass drummer but it was the same last year - he can't play that solo for some reason - or he can and it just sounds ****?

While he is excellent as I said, he ain't no Lombardo. I love how Lombardo played Seasons for example - Bostoph pales in comparison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭Diarmuid

I was on the back right and could not hear Holt's solos. Great to hear At Dawn They Sleep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭MetalDog

Great show, and a great set. Liked the new song too in a live setting, even if it didn't do much for me first time I heard it. Tom Araya is starting to look like Billy Connolly as well :)

Bostoph is an excellent drummer and a very competent Double bass drummer but it was the same last year - he can't play that solo for some reason - or he can and it just sounds ****?

While he is excellent as I said, he ain't no Lombardo. I love how Lombardo played Seasons for example - Bostoph pales in comparison.

I seen lombardo play it with them and mess it up too, I guess if you put AOD at the end of the set youre gonna be wrecked by the time its played.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,677 ✭✭✭Zwillinge

I was standing upstairs at the barrier.

The guy jumped the side barrier at KK's side and ran towards the stage, but about 3 bouncer/security lads held him. He put up one helluva fight and was wriggling outta their grasp for a bit before they hauled him off.

KK threw a few plectrums to his friends/GF/wife/people.

Was happy to hear less reggae trance stuff while waiting this time.
    Was a great gig though, had a fantastic time :)

Next time we see Tom he'll be Santa :P

Well I'm partially deaf today but it was a great gig. Had a great view from up on the balcony, couldn't take my eyes off Paul! I was the girl in the red Tool t shirt, so if you were one of the many that complimented me on it..thank you :D

The back drop dedicated to Jeff during AOD was a nice touch. I thought it would have gotten more of a reaction from the crowd tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,454 ✭✭✭EyesClosed

Took me ages to notice that background, I was having more fun watching the crowd killing each other haha

Was it just me or was the mosh pit "quieter" than last year?

TBH I think it was the heat, the place was roasting last night. The pit seemed much better for the slower paced songs like South of Heaven.

Though the Raining Blood/Black Magic medley was epic.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Was it just me or was the mosh pit "quieter" than last year?
    I was watching it from the balcony above both this year and last year and this year was definitely much quieter. A lot of people running out of steam pretty quickly and others just not up for it as much. I can't really blame them, its usually crammed in the Academy and there isn't really much space to even form a pit.

I was in the pit at the Limelight on Monday night and it was great fun. Ankles are a bit sore though... :pac: