Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Accident Query

• 27-06-2014 12:46am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭

Am I required to report to my insurance company a single car accident where I hit a farmers wall and made minor damage to said wall. I've only third party insurance so my car is my own burden (though it is scrap now).

I was driving late, tired I lost control of the car and spun and hit the wall, no one else was involved. I accept it was completely my fault and take responsibility for it.

Important Background to the Accident:
    I'd no mobile so couldn't call for a tow at the time but thankfully a guard car come across me and helped me. They were v professional and helpful. They also took my insurance details from the disk just in case the farmer was going to claim for wall repair which I'm fine with as I acknowledge it was my fault.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Did someone report you to say a guard car appeared?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭socco

Did someone report you to say a guard car appeared?

No they were passing by on way back to station.

socco wrote: »
    No they were passing by on way back to station.
    Talk about coincidence.

I know how it sounds but that's genuinely the case. They were as surprised to see me as I them. 2 of them were just finishing a shift which is why they were heading back to the station. (3 guards in the car).

Did you do much damage to the wall?

The walls still standing fine its not in any structure danger of falling but there were a few dents noticeable. Again I acknowledge this was completely my fault. I've just not been in an accident before so not sure if i should report this.

Best talk to the farmer in the morning, did the guards drop you home?

No they called a tow truck for me. I got a lift home with the tow truck. The guards did take my number and details though.

They were a sound gang, go to the farmer in the morning anyway. More than likely he be grand about it. what car have you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

Report it to your insurers for notification purposes. I would also speak to the farmer and explain what happened. If you don't and he subsequently notices the damage, he may contact Gardai to see if they are aware of anything and they have your insurance details. Late notification brings a heap of bother