Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who's the daddy .?

• 24-06-2014 10:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭

Have ye ever took notice of all cross breed dogs for sale on donedeal and the rest of the for sale sights and dog offered for rehoming on madra and all the pounds; a very high percentage of them are sheepdog crosses. Is it not time to do something about this. Farmers are shouting about dogs arter sheep but it ok for there dogs to wander free to sow there wild oats. What do ye think .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,804 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

Why are farmers being blamed?

They aren't the only one's who own border collies etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭snipe49

Blay wrote: »
    Why are farmers being blamed?

They aren't the only one's who own border collies etc.
    Belive me they are mostly to blame for most of it. There are some very responceble ones who make sure there dogs are under controle. But most just look on them as working dogs that left to do there own thing when there not working. And if there not up to it there brought to town mart day and left there to fend for them selfs. At any point 75 % of dogs in pounds and rehoming centers are collie or collie crosses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭sheebadog

snipe49 wrote: »
    Have ye ever took notice of all cross breed dogs for sale on donedeal and the rest of the for sale sights and dog offered for rehoming on madra and all the pounds; a very high percentage of them are sheepdog crosses. Is it not time to do something about this. Farmers are shouting about dogs arter sheep but it ok for there dogs to wander free to sow there wild oats. What do ye think .

Who do you blame for all the wild cats?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Belive me they are mostly to blame for most of it. There are some very responceble ones who make sure there dogs are under controle. But most just look on them as working dogs that left to do there own thing when there not working. And if there not up to it there brought to town mart day and left there to fend for them selfs. At any point 75 % of dogs in pounds and rehoming centers are collie or collie crosses.

Unbelievable! In 40 years I have never heard of this happening (left at the mart)
    If a farmer has an old dog who is now unable to work, it lives out its life in retirement/guard dog.
    If their dog bites someone or chases cattle or sheep, they will get a Grand Prix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭truedoom

Belive me they are mostly to blame for most of it.

Proof please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,035 ✭✭✭sniperman

well on 3 of my permissions the farmers have their dogs running free,on a number of occasions i found one dog in particular 3 or 4 fields from its house,i had to bring it back,was appreciated,but same thing happens again,and its a 3 year old collie dog,yes i agree,alot of farmers dogs are allowed to roam free and breed,but there are others to blame also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭aaakev

sheebadog wrote: »
    Who do you blame for all the wild cats?

Every ass hole in the country who feels the need to let their "pet" roam free. They are good for one thing though, target practice. ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

aaakev wrote: »
    Every ass hole in the country who feels the need to let their "pet" roam free. They are good for one thing though, target practice. ..

Also good for testing out new front bumper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭aaakev

Haha ill leave that one to your front bumper!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,695 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Lads,

While i appreciate there is leeway to discuss most things, however vaguely related to shooting or hunting, i'm failing to see how farmers, and their dogs are a hunting or shooting topic.

The theme of the thread seems to be a farming issue or even Animal/Pet issue, but it has nothing to do with hunting. As i don't want to land this on either of the other forums as it may break their charter i am temporarily closing this thread, and will discuss it with the Mods there. If they accept it, i'll move it there or if the OP wants to contact me and explain how this topic relates to hunting/shooting i may re-open the thread.

For the time being thread closed.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo