Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Future UFC Hall of Famers??

• 24-06-2014 12:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭

Saw a similar thread in another MMA forum and it was quite interesting. The UFC Hall of Fame currently only has a dozen or so inductees. So let's have a stab at filling it up. In our own little world anyway.

Only stipulation is that you nominate fighters based on their acheivents to date and try to avoid the glaringly obvious like Dana White, GSP, Anderson Silva.

I'll get the ball rolling with two picks of my own.

TUF alumni Joe Lauzon gets my vote purely for being one of the most exciting fighters in the sport with more (I think) 'of the night' bonuses than other fighter in the organisation. And probably the most amazing UFC debut ever.

TUF 3 winner Michael Bisping. Some would call him a gatekeeper to the top tier of the middleweight division but he did a huge amount to promote the sport and the organisation in the UK and also by extension, here in Ireland.

Next??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭3wayswitch

John_D80 wrote: »
    And probably the most amazing UFC debut ever.

I actually never saw that fight before, wow! If anybody else missed it it's currently free on the UFC site: http://www.ufc.com/media/ufc-63-lauzon-pulver-free

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭Davei141

Gleison Tibau. 21 fights in easily the most stacked division full of killers and always has been competitive against quality fighters. I can see him overtaking Tito Ortiz for the most fights ever in the UFC too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,323 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

First name that springs to mind is Frankie Edgar

Maybe not everyone's idea of HOF material but Sean Sherk is not only a former Champion but he's never lost to anyone who wasn't at some point of was to become in the future a World Champ!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

no Tank Abbot? he was entertaining at the least

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

I'd love to see Lauzon get a spot, but I really don't see it happening. As much as he deserves it, I don't consider him enough of a household name.

Might end up going to somebody like Diego Sanchez who realistically should be 0-6 in his last 6 fights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭John_D80

Davei141 wrote: »
    Gleison Tibau. 21 fights in easily the most stacked division full of killers and always has been competitive against quality fighters. I can see him overtaking Tito Ortiz for the most fights ever in the UFC too.

Good call. It's guys like this who NEED to be immortalised in a HOF for the sake of the sports legacy.

Btw, just checked Wikipedia now. According to it, in terms of UFC fights it's 27-21 to Ortiz, so yes it is very possible Tibau will overtake him. That would pretty much guarantee him future entry into the HOF IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,870 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

Khabib nurgemolegov for sure. I know.... I spelt it arseways

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

I always thought Rich Franklin deserved a spot in the hall of fame.

I don't like Dana Whites' recent idea though. He wants to induct the entire cast of TUF 1 into the hall of fame. I know that season had an integral part to play in the current success of the sport, but having the entire cast in the HOF is a bit much. Maybe the actual show could be given a spot on the wall but not each individual cast member.

El Guapo! wrote: »
    I always thought Rich Franklin deserved a spot in the hall of fame.

I don't like Dana Whites' recent idea though. He wants to induct the entire cast of TUF 1 into the hall of fame. I know that season had an integral part to play in the current success of the sport, but having the entire cast in the HOF is a bit much. Maybe the actual show could be given a spot on the wall but not each individual cast member.

Or maybe Forrest and Steffen bonnar. Their fight was the highlight of season 1 and it grew from there

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    Khabib nurgemolegov for sure. I know.... I spelt it arseways

He's a top fighter, but UFC Hall of Fame? Really??

I think he's a long long way off that tbh.

Or maybe Forrest and Steffen bonnar. Their fight was the highlight of season 1 and it grew from there

They're already in.

He's a top fighter, but UFC Hall of Fame? Really??

I think he's a long long way off that tbh.

Ye but we're talking about future hall of famers aren't we!!

:D:D
    My bad!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭adamski8

Based on what they have done.

I wouldn't pick any of the above bar franklin and edgar maybe. Tibao? Just for racking up ufc appearances? I dont think so. Jon jones for sure, probably shogun and henderson if they arent already

:D:D
    My bad!

Stipulation in OP was based on what they have done, not potential etc. So you were right

adamski8 wrote: »
    Stipulation in OP was based on what they have done, not potential etc. So you were right

Correct. My bad!!!

But I will come back here in 10 years and say I told you so :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭unknown13

Sean Sherk deserves to be in the Hall of Fame. Held the Lightweight title and has four losses in his career, they were to Matt Hughes, BJ Penn, George St. Pierre and Frankie Edgar.

unknown13 wrote: »
    Sean Sherk deserves to be in the Hall of Fame. Held the Lightweight title and has four losses in his career, they were to Matt Hughes, BJ Penn, George St. Pierre and Frankie Edgar.

Wasnt he involved in some drug test failures, should disqualify him imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 201 ✭✭EvanCornwallis

The entire TUF 1 cast ? madness !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭unknown13

adamski8 wrote: »
    Wasnt he involved in some drug test failures, should disqualify him imo.

Ban was reduced and result of the Franca fight was upheld. Bonnar has been done twice for drugs and is in the Hall of Fame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Tim Boetsch :P

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Edgar has got to be in it imo, his fights with Maynard are the stuff of legends.

Also Frank Shamrock :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,795 ✭✭✭dulux99

Has to be BJ Penn. Absolute killer in his day. What I loved about him, was when he was at his most dominant at LW, he couldn't wait to go upto WW to fight GSP. Fair enough he was battered, but you never saw the likes of GSP, Silva, Liddell or Jones doing that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭John_D80

What about non-fighters?? Refs, coaches, broadcasters, even ring girls could get in!!

I heard once that Mike Goldberg turned down a lot of very lucrative job offers to stay with the UFC way back in the days when the organisation was barely surviving from show to show. I know a lot of people don't like him but his is the real voice of the UFC imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

completely forgot John McCarthy, himself and Dana fell out a while ago but are cool again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

Kalib Starnes :D

Doubtful but I think Chris lytle deserves imo cause AFAIK he was never knocked out or submitted in all his fights.He had a few doctor stoppages due to cuts but wasn't ko'd.

70 plus fights between boxing and MMA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,961 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

bj penn the most obvious one
    I just assumed he was in it already

chris lytle, rarely in a bad fight, tough as they came

rich franklin

khabib nurma a future hall of famer, no doubt about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭Mean Laqueefa

Dana White danawhite 16m

New UFC hall of famer. Pat Miletich!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,024 ✭✭✭✭ShaneU

The early fighters are going in first it seems.