Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Neighbours threw glass in to our garden?

• 24-06-2014 12:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭

So we have these neighbours that have a few teenage kids. I am assuming the parents are away as there has been parties 5 out of the last 10 nights. Ranging from 10pm to 4-8am. I was't too bothered at first when I thought it was just a once(or twice) off thing.

Last night was the worst. They started at 10 and kept going until 8am :rolleyes:
    I heard a glass break around 7am, but I assumed it was in their garden. Only spotted it was in mine a few minutes ago. It could have hit someone or the dog :(

I think complaining to them would make things worse? I have no contact for their parents.

Any ideas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭NomadicGray

Put their broken glass through their letter box

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,737 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

Is there a reason why you shouldnt call the police?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭alroley

Tombo2001 wrote: »

would they even do anything though?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭fro9etb8j5qsl2

Fire it back over into their garden and the next time they start up, ring the gardai. Tbh, there's no point confronting a group of rowdy young wans, best off wait until their parents get back and drop them right in it. Oh and take pics for proof/leverage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Only 10 to 8 for a party?, sure that's only a quickie like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 340 ✭✭desultory

Call the Gardai every single time. They'll stop soon enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭fathead82

Make them come over & pick the glass up,call the guards & make a complaint about the noise. The little sh1tebags need to learn a bit of respect for their neighbours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭caustic 1

If the parents haven't done a runner they got to come back sometime then it will be your turn. mmwaaaahhhhaaaaahhhhaaaahaaa,:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭fro9etb8j5qsl2

alroley wrote: »

They will come around and make the teenagers turn the noise down. They would also weed out any underage drinkers. Mostly, the mere prescence of the guards would hopefully be enough to deter the teenagers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭miss no stars

4 more nights!

Seriously though, call in to your local garda station and ask to speak to the the JLO or community officer, explain that teenagers appear to have been home alone for 10 days and have had 5 parties, the last one went on from 10pm to 8am. You were putting up with that but it's now gotten to the point where they're firing glass bottles over the wall at your house. Ask them to call around and have a word with them about keeping their parties under control. The bit about them throwing glass bottles should get them to call around, it's extremely dangerous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

wazky wrote: »
    Only 10 to 8 for a party?, sure that's only a quickie like.
    More like a pre-party really. A warm up session if you like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Can you speak to there parents when they come back ? If that fails contact the Garda and if that fails burn there house down being carefull not to engulf yours at the same time.good luck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Have a house party between the hours of 8am and 10pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭Gannicus

Last night was the worst. They started at 10 and kept going until 8am :rolleyes:
    I heard a glass break around 7am, but I assumed it was in their garden. Only spotted it was in mine a few minutes ago.

Any ideas?

Was it one of your windows or car window etc?

If its not yours scoop it up and leave it in their garden to clean up.

If you want proper revenge then start a facebook group from a new e-mail address and have it very public. Put up there is a massive party with DJ and loads of booze. when a few hundred people show up and thousands of euros worth of damage is done they'll learn their lesson. Make sure you baton down the hatcches in your place too.
    Tombo2001 wrote: »

No. they'd take about 2 hours to show up depending on where you live if at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Burn their gaff down.

When they are homeless and forced to sell their bums for a sandwich, they will know antisocial behaviour isn't tolerated.

Gannicus wrote: »
    Was it one of your windows or car window etc?

If its not yours scoop it up and leave it in their garden to clean up. While you're at it take any rubbish that can't be traced back to you and just cover their garden with it the next tie it goes quiet and dump in the garden too so they get some just desserts

no it was a glass that they had been drinking from.

Ah right. I have some revenge tips for you in my previous post. mwahaha hahahahaha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭lukesmom

I'd go over myself and threaten them if they don't pick up the glass and if they have any more parties that cause a racket then you are calling the cops and filing a complaint as well as telling their parents on their return.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭miss no stars

lukesmom wrote: »
    I'd go over myself and threaten them if they don't pick up the glass and if they have any more parties that cause a racket then you are calling the cops and filing a complaint as well as telling their parents on their return.

Why bother? Just call the gardai and tell their parents when they return. What's done is done, they can reap what they've sewn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Go out and bust their pukey little faces in. When the parents come back, deck them an' all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 815 ✭✭✭animaal

How's your relationship with the parents? If it's good, I wouldn't go calling the gardai unless you really have to. You have to live next to these people, possibly for many yeas to come. Life's too short for a good old-fashioned feud, and this sounds more thoughtless than malicious.

I'd call to the house during the day, be reasonable, just ask if they can keep the noise down at night. You never know, they might be embarrassed at causing hassle, or maybe worried that their parents will be told.

Is it noisy enough for the rest of the neighbourhood to be kept awake, or is it noise through walls between your houses? If it's the latter, it's probably more a reflection on the dodgy building practices over the past decades than on the noise levels. But if there's shouting and/or music that's loud enough to wake the whole neighbourhood, and they refuse to quiten down, the gardai should be able to help.

If you wanna just look after the property and the parties and too much of an annoyance just knock in and say you don't mind them cutting loose a bit while their parents are away but that you don't want the festivities spilling over into your property and that the broken glass issue isn't to be repeated.

Depending on your general relationship with the neighbours (the kids and parents) they should be cool with it and maybe even quieten down a bit for you. It might just put them wide to the fact if it keeps up that their may be reprecussions for them (i.e. their parents when they return)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭wardy2

Blast them with music when they all go to sleep at 8am...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

maybe you could set them up with the guy earlier complaining about his bro's byor being a khunt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭hairycakes

Was there not a film about this recently? Maybe check this out and apply to your situation. Hilarious antics will ensue :-P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,514 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Also if you call the Gardai they will make an official report in case you run into problems with the parents like "little johnie would never do such a thing" which you then have to show them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

If you cant beat them join them

Thanks for all the replies!
    animaal wrote: »
    How's your relationship with the parents? If it's good, I wouldn't go calling the gardai unless you really have to. You have to live next to these people, possibly for many yeas to come. Life's too short for a good old-fashioned feud, and this sounds more thoughtless than malicious.

I'd call to the house during the day, be reasonable, just ask if they can keep the noise down at night. You never know, they might be embarrassed at causing hassle, or maybe worried that their parents will be told.

Is it noisy enough for the rest of the neighbourhood to be kept awake, or is it noise through walls between your houses? If it's the latter, it's probably more a reflection on the dodgy building practices over the past decades than on the noise levels. But if there's shouting and/or music that's loud enough to wake the whole neighbourhood, and they refuse to quiten down, the gardai should be able to help.

Don't really know them too well, but yeah, I definitely don't want to start a feud!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

I wouldn't wait for their parents to come home as it could be a situation of "oh my little angel would never do that so piss off".

Don't know how you let it happen after the first night. Everyone has a party now and again where I live and you just put up with it because you know you'll have your own at some point but 5 out of 10 nights??

Call Gardai and treat them like a pizza. If they're not there in 30 minutes call again and again and again. Get the name of person answering each time.

Might seem like a dickish thing to do for something relatively small but they're not taking down Pablo Escobar every night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭le la rat

Call and have a word with the teenagers. If they keep it up then contact the guards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Rhys Essien

wardy2 wrote: »
    Blast them with music when they all go to sleep at 8am...

+1.

Get yourself a Daniel O'Donnell CD,crank up the volume,put on repeat and head out for the day.

Alternatively,Get yourself a set of bag pipes and start practicing for the day.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,315 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

The parents have brought up brats that behave like this, so I wouldn't be hoping for much there. They didn't lick their disdain for their neighbours off the stones.

Broken glass, call the guards - 'it came from next door and they are away, maybe someone is breaking in'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭beveragelady

Go to the party!
    Dress in your frumpiest clothes and call over, full of smiles and polite chit-chat. Ask for cups of tea. If you can talk a few of your least party-orientated neighbours into joining you, so much the better. You'll drive the coolness out of that party-gaff so quickly they'll all be writing letters to Arthur from Mailbag before they know what's hit them.
    Seriously though, this is what I'd do.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8 fuzzle

lie to them and say that the glass had hit the dog and you had it in the vets all day. you had to take time off work because of being kept awake and that you have lost money from it.

tell them, if they have another party, that you will be coming into the house to collect any "lost earnings" and "money to pay for the vets bill" when their parents return.

They wont cop that you're lying, and it will DEFINITELY do the trick.

there wont be any parties if you do that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Got a video camera? Record examples what's going on and then have a word with the parents when they get back, does the house any neighbours apart from you? Maybe be worth knocking a few doors if the parents refuse to take any complaint seriously. Or ask the community Guard to have a word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

Why are irish people so afraid of speaking up/approaching people??

I see these threads pop up again and again, you don't have to be mean about it, you have every right to let them know that's not ok! I would be straight over to them tbh. They might cop on a bit

I'm not exactly one to be walked all over, but in all honesty, they might not even realise they're being idiots. They are teenagers after all.

How about calling over to them, being sound about it, saying "listen lads, I know ye are just enjoying yourselves but there's glass in my garden and you were fairly loud last night. Can you please sort the glass, and remember your neighbours when you're being loud".

Most normal decent teens would just say "ah feck, yeh sorry", and be more well behaved next time.

If they're still being dicks, then take it further.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

You'd swear some people on here were never young and got up to a bit of mischief.

Call over to them, ask them to calm it down a bit. If you are met with resistance or backchat, then threaten telling the parents or the guards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

I second the above by Whoopsie and Degag.

Lets be honest, money is on that they will be little dicks about it. But give them the chance. Also, it's the easy way to sort things out. If they don't... call the guards. You don't mind someone having the odd late night party. Sure you need fun in your life. But not reuglarly.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

lukesmom wrote: »

I don't think I've ever heard a more middle class threat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Pull the esb fuse ( location in external meter cabinet ) on them the next night they are partying, that will quieten them. Throw a shot of broken glass back into their garden see if they like it. Play them at their game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭yes there

I don't think I've ever heard a more middle class threat.

Lets not confuse middle class with being a complete and utter knob.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

The area the OP lives in will dictate how he handles it

I live in a nice area and I'm a she :p