Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland,officially the best country in the world

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,802 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

jellyboy wrote: »
    So Ah its official that we are the best country in the world in the Good country guide

Knowing how great the country is (any Country that has Cork men/women in it has to be bloody amazing )

What is it for you that makes Ireland great ?

For me its the humor and the ability to see beyond the stereo typical views that are pedaled in the Media/people etc and see the person and connect with them

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/travel/article-2666132/The-Good-Country-Index-Ireland-crowned-goodest-country-world.html

Definitely a trusted & reliable source

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭Snake

I want to give an answer but I want it to be a good one..

I honestly can't think of anything. Probably a wuest

• Closed Accounts Posts: 615 ✭✭✭jellyboy

Ted_YNWA wrote: »

Its not how the message is carried ,but whats in the message that counts ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Cheers, OP. You've just ruined it all by bragging, good countries don't brag!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

Load of bollocks tbh. But yeah this 'award' it's all because of Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

Ted_YNWA wrote: »

Here's it on the Financial Times
    http://blogs.ft.com/the-world/2014/06/ireland-bags-another-gong-worlds-goodest-nation/

And The Independent (UK)
    http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/home-news/ireland-is-the-best-country-in-the-world-according-to-good-country-index-9557358.html

I have a feeling this won't sit well with people who try and convince everyone and anyone that Ireland is a isolated backwater with nothing going for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭OhHiMark

But, all I ever hear is that we're living in the worst country. Surely people aren't talking through their holes are they?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

As someone who has read the article I don't see how this makes us the best. The best in this case maybe but this seems to suggest that our politions are not self serving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Some of the comments under those articles from our British friends and neighbours are hilarious.

The day in the life of a modern Irishman.

Get up
    Go to mass
    Drop the laundry off at an institution for fallen women
    Attend IRA training camp
    Go to mass
    Oppress some homosexuals
    Go to mass
    Oppress some women
    Send money to IRA
    Go to bed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Some of the comments under those articles from our British friends and neighbours are hilarious.

Get up
    Go to mass
    Attend IRA training camp
    Go to mass
    Oppress some homosexuals
    Go to mass
    Oppress some women
    Send money to IRA
    Go to bed

They forget to add having the odd pint :-)

realies wrote: »
    They forget to add having the odd pint :-)

And eat nothing but potatoes morning, noon and night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 340 ✭✭desultory

Ireland is not the best country in the world, it's not even close to the best country in the world. It's inhabitants just tend to have an attitude of 'ah sure it's a grand little country after all' whilst sipping an afternoon pint.

Travel.

Not saying it's even close to the worst country in the world either but it's very very much mediocre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

desultory wrote: »
    Ireland is not the best country in the world, it's not even close to the best country in the world. It's inhabitants just tend to have an attitude of 'ah sure it's a grand little country after all' whilst sipping an afternoon pint.

Travel.

Not saying it's even close to the worst country in the world either but it's very very much mediocre.

Examples of better ones, you can't come out and say it's not the best country and then not say which are better.

Oh and I want a list of countries that are better that you lived in for at least a year, not places you went for a weekend away or a weeks holidays.

Have no idea if Ireland is the best country or not but I like it so that will do for me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 829 ✭✭✭smellmepower

Grand if you have money and if you have no qualms about licking up to inferior people to get ahead,****e otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Playboy

Get up
    Go to mass
    Attend IRA training camp
    Go to mass
    Oppress some homosexuals
    Go to mass
    Oppress some women
    Send money to IRA
    Go to bed

brilliant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭Captain Farrell

Get up
    Go to mass
    Attend IRA training camp
    Go to mass
    Oppress some homosexuals
    Go to mass
    Oppress some women
    Send money to IRA
    Go to bed

pretty much describes what i saw in 12 years living in Clare and Galway to be honest, just needs a bit of "800 years..rabble rabble.." thrown in to make it complete.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭Maphisto

Travel.

Agree but then I can't think of anywhere better, or anywhere else I'd sooner live. Maybe Polynesia :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,592 ✭✭✭drumswan

Travel.
    Ive spent 7 years travelling and lived in 4 different countries, all which were very nice, but none were as good as Ireland. So Im back.

In my experience its those who havent traveled who tend to run Ireland down.

kfallon wrote: »
    Examples of better ones, you can't come out and say it's not the best country and then not say which are better.

Oh and I want a list of countries that are better that you lived in for at least a year, not places you went for a weekend away or a weeks holidays.

Have no idea if Ireland is the best country or not but I like it so that will do for me!

Canada. Apart from that I didn't spend more than 6 months anywhere else so I can't help you on that one.
    But if you were counting them then Australia, Singapore, USA, Cambodia Portugal all trump it quite easily for me.
    drumswan wrote: »
    Ive spent 7 years travelling and lived in 4 different countries, all which were very nice, but none were as good as Ireland. So Im back.

In my experience its those who havent traveled who tend to run Ireland down.

That's down to a false sense of patriotism and longing for the country and it's familiarity when in reality, there's very little for a lot of people here, maybe you're different but I can't count the amount of people coming back from gap years to say they cannot wait to get back only for a week later to be wondering why they even bothered coming back.

Ah yeah Cambodia why didnt I think of that

Probably because you're already dead set on being extremely over defensive of someone not believing Ireland is the best country in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

kfallon wrote: »

Except if you have Vodafone as internet provider , Jesus wept on the cross for me for suffering them.

Probably because you're already dead set on being extremely over defensive of someone not believing Ireland is the best country in the world.
    You think Im going to have an internet debate on whether Cambodia is a better country than Ireland? lol

I said it trumps it for me, of course you could have a debate why the others aren't better but yeah, pick out the one you think you can win to make yourself seem like you have a point ;) lol indeed.

Is the infant mortality rate that you like then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

This survey presents a fresh challenge for the army of online cranks who move effortlessly between here, twitter and journal.ie.

It goes against their worldview that Ireland is an expensive, nasty, and unfair place ran by an elite of self-serving politicans, keen on trodding on the hopes and dream of the poor auld Plain People of Ireland. But it also presents an opportunity to defend Oireland against braindead and moronic comments by mirror images of themselves firing out gibberish on the comments section of the Daily Mail and Reddit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,993 ✭✭✭Soups123

Its so lonely around the fields of athenry..........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Barely There

I like when people argue about subjective opinions.

I saw a thread over in the Canada forum with a two lads waxing lyrical about how much better Canada (Downtown Vancouver) was than Ireland (their village in Longford). Hah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

In many ways I think it's Ireland's "evenness" that makes lots of people love Ireland, but consequently makes lots of people hate it too.

It's rarely too hot or too cold. Compared to the UK, we're actually not that wet, we get a fairly even amount of rainfall.

The income divide in our society is pretty small, very few people are in a position where they cannot afford to feed themselves. Even though prices are slightly higher than other countries, in comparison to the average income they're quite reasonable.

Irish people aren't hot-headed but at the same time we're not *that* reserved or conservative either. We're pretty easy going and generally laid back about life.

In our politics, there's very little difference between any of the parties. Even Sinn Fein, considered extreme in Ireland, are only a little bit left of FG & FF, when you look at the diversity of parties in other countries.

Our streets are safe. Nobody except the most paranoid feel any need to carry a weapon with them outside, or have a weapon in their home.

You can go for a walk in the countryside and not have to worry about coming across an animal or a force of nature that will kill you.

In short, Ireland is pretty much straight down the middle. We are not a country of extremes, either environmentally, economically or socially. This is probably what makes it so popular with so many people who do come from countries with these extremes. And at the same time is probably what drives some people mad; one man's stable and even society is another man's dead-end rut that he wants to break out of.

I saw a thread over in the Canada forum with a two lads waxing lyrical about how much better Canada (Downtown Vancouver) was than Ireland (their village in Longford). Hah

I'm sorry you had such a bad time travelling. I'm glad you're happy where you are now, some people find happiness in strange places :)

Ah, lovely morning, time for a pint. Lovely evenin ahead too, surely another pint.

I had a lovely time travelling lad. And I like a pint, so what, is this more of your self-loathing? Ive had many pints in many places, ach nil aon tintean mar do thintean fein.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

On your Good Country Index site;

International Peace and Security, #1 being Egypt.... what?
    I had a lovely time travelling lad. And I like a pint, so what, is this more of your self-loathing? Ive had many pints in many places, ach nil aon tintean mar do thintean fein.

You had a time traveling lad?! :o

Could've asked him to do something, like... warn the past of Hitler!

How on earth is it self loathing? There's nothing wrong with Ireland but there's plenty of countries better. You seem to be reading that as me saying it's an awful country. I'm not.

If offended, read again.

If you are genuinely trying to defend it being the number one country in the world then that is some seriously cringey misplaced sense of pride.

Yeah you said Cambodia is better. Big fan of illiteracy are you?

Its far better to me, as I enjoyed the culture and people over there far more than I do in Ireland.
    Yknow funnily enough the first thing I do when I arrive in a country isn't look to see how many people can read my passport for me.

If I removed Cambodia from the list are you going to calm down like a good chap?

Its far better to me, as I enjoyed the culture and people over there far more than I do in Ireland.
    Yknow funnily enough the first thing I do when I arrive in a country isn't look to see how many people can read my passport for me.
    Im sure you absorbed loads of culture in the two weeks you backpacked around alright, I expect your socio-political treatise on Cambodia will be hitting the shelves any day now. Spoofer

Might not be important if you're just visiting a country but pretty damn important if you actually live in that country!

Doesnt matter dude, Ireland is mediocre when you can live somewhere where the average income is about 1 dollar per day, I mean its a no-brainer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭Maphisto

Doesnt matter dude, Ireland is mediocre when you can live somewhere where the average income is about 1 dollar per day, I mean its a no-brainer

That's either tongue in cheek or you're quite young?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭NewCorkLad

WOW placing Cambodia ahead of Ireland as a place to live you have some messed up values. I visited it and loved it as a place to visit great culture and history, however as a place to live dear god no. It is rife with poverty crime and corruption, everywhere you go you are followed by packs of starving, begging children for feck sake. After including that in your list, I dont think we can take anything else you say seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭Carry

seamus wrote: »
    In many ways I think it's Ireland's "evenness" that makes lots of people love Ireland, but consequently makes lots of people hate it too.

It's rarely too hot or too cold. Compared to the UK, we're actually not that wet, we get a fairly even amount of rainfall.

The income divide in our society is pretty small, very few people are in a position where they cannot afford to feed themselves. Even though prices are slightly higher than other countries, in comparison to the average income they're quite reasonable.

Irish people aren't hot-headed but at the same time we're not *that* reserved or conservative either. We're pretty easy going and generally laid back about life.

In our politics, there's very little difference between any of the parties. Even Sinn Fein, considered extreme in Ireland, are only a little bit left of FG & FF, when you look at the diversity of parties in other countries.

Our streets are safe. Nobody except the most paranoid feel any need to carry a weapon with them outside, or have a weapon in their home.

You can go for a walk in the countryside and not have to worry about coming across an animal or a force of nature that will kill you.

In short, Ireland is pretty much straight down the middle. We are not a country of extremes, either environmentally, economically or socially. This is probably what makes it so popular with so many people who do come from countries with these extremes. And at the same time is probably what drives some people mad; one man's stable and even society is another man's dead-end rut that he wants to break out of.

This.
    A wonderful description what makes Ireland attractive to people especially from other countries like myself. Thank you!

Sure, there are things which can you drive up the wall (small-mindedness, eejit politicians, incompetence, drink culture etc.), but the upside is a kind of laissez-faire mentality which makes life in many ways so much more enjoyable and manageable.

But I do understand that a lot of born and bred Irish people don't see it because they are living inside and not looking from an outside experience.

Sometimes I could kick Ireland in the backside but I wouldn't want to live anywhere else.

I even come to love the rain ...

Im sure you absorbed loads of culture in the two weeks you backpacked around alright, I expect your socio-political treatise on Cambodia will be hitting the shelves any day now. Spoofer

Lived there for 4 months 'lad'.
    True enough, I didn't find it to be any kind of a factor. If anything it helped me.

lol, just cos you can make the argument that Cambodia might not be the best country in the world does not take away from Ireland certainly not being the best. I prefer it over Ireland, So so sorry that offends you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Grand if you have money and if you have no qualms about licking up to inferior people to get ahead,****e otherwise.

This sounds more like a description of life than of Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

You can afford to live in Cambodia comfortably because you are a wealthy white westerner. Unfortunately most of the Khmer don't have anywhere near the resources you do. I'm not putting sh*t on you at all by the way, you've nothing to be "guilty" about or anything but it's important to acknowledge that your perspective of a poor country might be very different from that of those who live there.

FTA69 wrote: »
    You can afford to live there comfortably because you are a wealthy white westerner. Unfortunately most of the Khmer don't have anywhere near the resources you do. I'm not putting sh*t on you at all by the way, you've nothing to be "guilty" about or anything but it's important to acknowledge that your perspective of a poor country might be very different from that of those who live there.

He's attempting to take the piss out of me.

I found it to be amazing mostly cos I was paid western wages. I imagine living there on local wages would be tough and perspective would be different.

lol, just cos you can make the argument that Cambodia might not be the best country in the world does not take away from Ireland certainly not being the best. I prefer it over Ireland, So so sorry that offends you.
    You said Cambodia is better country to live in than Ireland. You should probably stop talking, because nobody is taking your opinion on which country is better than another seriously any more.

I said it's better for me, how do you find it so hard to read? Are you from Cambodia?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭mad turnip

maybe its worth posting this link so people know what the rating is based on:
    http://www.goodcountry.org/overall

its not what YOU think of the country, its what the country contributes to the world.
    (The lower the number the better, the rating)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Xeyn

I think it should be noted that this 'Good Country Index' has nothing to do with which country is the most desirable to live in. If you actually look at the scoring system and then what makes up each of the category you'll find it has a lot more to do with governmental policies and how it relates to the world at large. Its not even an index indicating how the country fairs in treating its own citizens.
    Calling Ireland the 'best in the world' using this as a reference is extremely misleading and probably means you dont understand what the index stands for. All we are is number one of the good index, and that for me, is good enough.