Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

21st June (Lomachenko, Dawson, Alexander, Guerrero)

• 22-06-2014 4:05am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭

Lomachenko just showed what all the hype is about. A real all-round display in a fast-paced 12-rounder. More than anything else Russell (who never stopped trying and definitely threw way more punches) just couldn't hit him cleanly whatsoever. He eventually tried with some success to land to the body, but was just outboxed by a class act.

Just heard one judge had it a draw!!!! Nuts.

Russell comes out fairly well from this too. Showed great heart when he kept coming back in the rounds following a bad previous one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭megadodge

Russell threw 209 MORE punches, but only landed 10%.

As you mentioned Lomachenko's feet are brilliant, but when you add in class upper-body movement, a high guard and constant feinting, he must be a nightmare to try and hit.

Went to bed after the Lomachenko fight, but by all accounts and reports I can't wait to see the Guerrero fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,372 ✭✭✭✭walshb

megadodge wrote: »
    Went to bed after the Lomachenko fight, but by all accounts and reports I can't wait to see the Guerrero fight.

I couldn't stay awake. Watching BoxNation now. Alexander fight just starting. Guerrero a couple of hrs away I'd say.

The Lomachenko fight was very good. Both gave a very good display. Lomachenko seemed much more up for it this time. The hands were freer and moving more. He deserved the win, but it was a very competitive fight. The body work from Lomachenko was excellent. It scored and it drained Russell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,986 ✭✭✭Spazdarn

What was the difference between Loma and in the previous fight against Salido?

Anyone know where I can see these fights?

What was the difference between Loma and in the previous fight against Salido?

Anyone know where I can see these fights?

Work rate and intensity/desire for me. Yes, different opponent as well. Salido had a significant weight advantage, but I don't believe that this was the prime reason why Loma didn't deliver. Salido was probably more sluggish and tired due to this huge gain in weight from weig in to fight night. Loma just wasn't letting the hands go enough. There were too many instances where Salido was just throwing shots for the sake of it and these were influencing the judges. Loma was content to do little.

walshb wrote: »
    Work rate and intensity/desire for me. Yes, different opponent as well. Salido had a significant weight advantage, but I don't believe that this was the prime reason why Loma didn't deliver. Salido was probably more sluggish and tired due to this huge gain in weight from weig in to fight night. Loma just wasn't letting the hands go enough. There were too many instances where Salido was just throwing shots for the sake of it and these were influencing the judges. Loma was content to do little.

I saw the previous fight alright, Salido got on top of him, pressured him fairly well, but Loma didn't seem to throw enough... glad to see his output was a great deal better. Russell is no joke so it's a sizeable name on the cv early in his pro career.

Who's next?

I saw the previous fight alright, Salido got on top of him, pressured him fairly well, but Loma didn't seem to throw enough... glad to see his output was a great deal better. Russell is no joke so it's a sizeable name on the cv early in his pro career.

Who's next?

Russell was a real stiff test. Did very well. Very competitive fight, and a great clash of styles. Loma had to really dig deep and work to keep a step ahead, and it was just a step. Not sure how much power Loma has. He doesn't seem to overextend himself when committing to shots.

Love to see Rigo rise 3-4 lbs and meet Loma. Rigo seems to be doing nothing at SBW. No real tests for him. He has has one solid win. One. And that was far from dominant. He stayed a step ahead of Donaire. I would probably pick Loma in that one. Rigo is even less busy than Loma, and Loma I feel would apply real clever pressure and aggression, crowding Rigo, closing distance and bullying him. It would be a fantastic technical clash.

Donaire-Loma would be tasty. A fight that I would favour Loma in. He really has a wonderfully versatile and varied package. Donaire has a punchers chance, that is about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Rigo's performance was very dominant Walsh, he boxed the ears off him for 12 rounds and broke his eye-socket.

FTA69 wrote: »
    Rigo's performance was very dominant Walsh, he boxed the ears off him for 12 rounds and broke his eye-socket.

I disagree. He won, but no way did he bust Donaire up throughout. It wasn't a great fight. Spurts here and there. Some quite close rds. Rigo was just a tad sharper throughout. The official scores, whilst not always reflective of what happens in the ring, were close enough.

He didn't bust him up but he did completely outbox him. Found Rigo's win to be very one sided.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭Johnnythefox4

pac_man wrote: »
    What did people make of Devon Alexanders performance. Not sure he'll be a world champ anytime soon. Very flashy but I think it's evident his power(or lackof) isn't really respected.

Sounds like the perfect opponent for the self appointed "Mayweather Killer" Amir Khan

As much as i loved that fight the other night, I still think Rigo is a step ahead.Maybe when i see Loma in a few more fights, that opinion will change but I think from his 2 previous fights, we can conclude that he still needs experience on how to pace himself over 12 rounds. He left too much in the tank when he fought Salido at the end of that fight and I got the impression the other night that he took a few rounds off(in fairness the fight was fought at a high intensity).

I am calling this purely on their styles at this time. Oh, and the little bit of extra size that Lomachenko has. Loma's defense is top class, and Rigo's limited offensive work would suffer I feel against an opponent that has such fast feet and such good overall movement. I think the whipping left uppercut would be Rigo's best punch against Lomachenko. I haven't seen Rigo really tested against a fighter who can apply such brilliant pressure as Lomachenko. Even when he is not throwing much shots he still keeps you under the cosh. For me it's a dream fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭Johnnythefox4

I like Amir khan fights but I'm not sure these styles are a good match.

Oh I know. It would be an awful fight, but its a safe fight for Khan. Alexander has no power.

What's the craic with Loma and Rigo and some others who seem to have no English? I would warm to them a lot more if their interviews didn't have to be translated. Surely they have some English? It is the most dominant and widespread language on earth. Were they absent when it was being taught in school? With all their traveling and competitions did they not pick much up?

walshb wrote: »
    What's the craic with Loma and Rigo and some others who seem to have no English? I would warm to them a lot more if their interviews didn't have to be translated. Surely they have some English? It is the most dominant and widespread language on earth. Were they absent when it was being taught in school? With all their traveling and competitions did they not pick much up?

Cubans don't speak English at all, even the ones who interact with tourists barely have a couple of words. Ukrainians would spend more time learning Russian. You're right though, English is necessary for a pro boxer these days. Learning it should be as much a priority as part of their training as anything else.

I just find it a little odd that these guys have no English. Fair enough, the average Cuban or Ukrainian I could understand, but these lads must be well traveled and must have had a lot of interaction with English speakers, organizations and rules and customs etc. They would have been a tot more exposed to English than those who stayed put in Cuba and Ukraine. Add this to their going to the States to carve out a career in a country that is dominated by English. Rigo must be in the States a fair few years now. Does he not mix?

It has become my new dream fight. Forget Manny-Floyd, Rigo-Loma is my request. Let's hope it's soon. I can't see Loma staying at FW for ever. Rigo has to move 4 lbs for this to happen.

but these lads must be well traveled and must have had a lot of interaction with English speakers, organizations and rules and customs etc.

They'd head away for a few weeks at a time to a championship in a big squad of their own gym-mates and compatriot trainers and officials etc. They probably have very little interaction with anyone else bar when they go out and do the business. I teach English here twice a week to Bengali immigrants and some of the women are here 25 years without a word of English.

The only way to learn it is by targeted effort really. Canelo has barely a word either although he's trying hard to learn it. If you can't articulate yourself you won't be marketable, sin é. Donaire is an infinitely more marketable fighter because he has fantastic English, likewise with the likes of Cotto or Pacquiao.

They'd head away for a few weeks at a time to a championship in a big squad of their own gym-mates and compatriot trainers and officials etc. They probably have very little interaction with anyone else bar when they go out and do the business. I teach English here twice a week to Bengali immigrants and some of the women are here 25 years without a word of English.

The only way to learn it is by targeted effort really. Canelo has barely a word either although he's trying hard to learn it. If you can't articulate yourself you won't be marketable, sin é. Donaire is an infinitely more marketable fighter because he has fantastic English, likewise with the likes of Cotto or Pacquiao.

I'm not entirely disagreeing with you, but Cotto only started doing interviews in English in the last 2-3ish years and was an enormous draw before that. Roberto Duran is probably one of the most popular boxers of all time and he never speaks English.

At the end of the day it's boxing the people come to watch. With very few exceptions boxing interviews (like most sports interviews) are IMO one-dimensional, predictable, repetitive and dull. I think if a fighter is exciting the fans won't really care what he says. I love watching Canelo box and couldn't give a damn if he never spoke a word of English, his interviews are not why I watch him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,629 ✭✭✭magma69

Pac's English is dreadful. Watch all his interviews with Jimmy Kimmel. Kimmel pretty much has to answer his questions for him as if he's a child incapable of answering. I do agree that having English is a plus but having an exciting style is far more important imo. Provodnikov, Golovkin, Kovalev all have a decent following in the US now despite not being fluent at English.

Rigo could speak English like Stephen Fry and he'd never be a crossover star due to his style.