Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wet lumpy turf

• 21-06-2014 8:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭

Ive been footing my turf for the past week now and noticed there's quite alot of these fat, wet lumpy sods of turf that easily break apart due to the wetness, most of them i get stacked and i was wondering how long does it take these to dry, the dry turf with a crust is no bother but these are a pain in the arse...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

mick145 wrote: »
    Ive been footing my turf for the past week now and noticed there's quite alot of these fat, wet lumpy sods of turf that easily break apart due to the wetness, most of them i get stacked and i was wondering how long does it take these to dry, the dry turf with a crust is no bother but these are a pain in the arse...

Get them up off the ground and you won't know them again drawing home time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,633 ✭✭✭TheBody

Get them as dry as you can and throw them to the back of the shed if they are still damp when you are drawing the rest home. They will dry out in the shed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭mick145

Thanks the replies guys.
    Another question I want to ask is if the turf is fairly dry, and it starts raining will that effect the turf in the long run and will it be able to be footed after the rain has cleared?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Thanks the replies guys.
    Another question I want to ask is if the turf is fairly dry, and it starts raining will that effect the turf in the long run and will it be able to be footed after the rain has cleared?

Once there is a crust on the turf it won't affect it at all. It will only effect the bog underneath as in you able to get into it to draw it out

TheBody wrote: »
    Get them as dry as you can and throw them to the back of the shed if they are still damp when you are drawing the rest home. They will dry out in the shed.

Don't put wet turf into a shed unless it's an open shed as it will not dry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,457 ✭✭✭✭Base price

When we are drawing turf home we throw any wet/lumpy ones to one side and collect them on the final run. We tip them out in the yard and stack them until dry. A bit of hassle but worth it.

Reggie. wrote: »
    Don't put wet turf into a shed unless it's an open shed as it will not dry
    we use a hayshed to store turf, if you put dry turf on wet turf will it dry quick?

Leave the wet ones to one side. When you have all the dry turf in, fire the wet ones on top and to the back of your heap. That way they will be open to the air to dry out and you will get to them last.

Thanks for the replies everyone, have one more question,
    If there isnt much of a gap between 2 sods of turf on a stack does it make much of a diffrence to the drying of it?

Not really

It depends. If the turf are reasonable dry when you footed them, then you are probably ok. If they were wet, then it doesn't help if no air can circulate around them. It's a pain in the ass but sometimes you may need to re-foot them and have the wet sides exposed to help them dry out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,018 ✭✭✭Ray Donovan

Have my turf home and covered in plastic in front of partially built shed. (No roof). Didnt throw it in yet. Anyways plastic blew off last night and soaked turf. What's the best thing I could do? Thinking of taking off plastic for a few hours every dry evening and covering it again before I go to bed. Would this work?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Have my turf home and covered in plastic in front of partially built shed. (No roof). Didnt throw it in yet. Anyways plastic blew off last night and soaked turf. What's the best thing I could do? Thinking of taking off plastic for a few hours every dry evening and covering it again before I go to bed. Would this work?

Get a old lorry taurpalin heavier than plastic Once the wind can circulate it should be fine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

ye strip it but in fairness if the turf was dry when it was drawn home a drop of rain would no little or no harm.

On Friday night it rained heavy. by lunch time on Saturday the gravel was drive from sun and breeze. the turf would be the same

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,018 ✭✭✭Ray Donovan

Fair play to ye lads, ye're putting my mind at ease.

I'll strip it this evening for a few hours when I get home if it's dry.

Throw the silage cover back over it then and mabye leave the bottom of the pile a bit open so the air can get in around it. It was well dry when I brought it home last week.