Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do many wear shorts working in hot weather?

• 20-06-2014 2:26pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭

I find it impossible to wear shorts in hot weather, no matter how hot it gets.
    When the temp is 35+ the French wear shorts. It makes it easier to spot the Irish farmer with the big Irish head on them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

sheebadog wrote: »
    I find it impossible to wear shorts in hot weather, no matter how hot it gets.
    When the temp is 35+ the French wear shorts. It makes it easier to spot the Irish farmer with the big Irish head on them!

Yep any chance I get. Wear them milking if I can

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

The thing that bugs me about shorts are the pockets.

They are either are too small to be practical, or are in the wrong place! I constantly fear loosing phone or worse still, the wallet! Some have pockets down lower with a zip or a velcro closed flap, but if I put the phone, wallet or anything heavy in there, they are moving around and are VERY annoying!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Damo810

Muckit wrote: »

They are either are too small to be practical, or are in the wrong place! I constantly fear loosing phone or worse still, the wallet! Some have pockets down lower with a zip or a velcro closed flap, but if I put the phone, wallet or anything heavy in there, they are moving around and are VERY annoying!

You need to get yourself a fanny pack! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

Yep, shorts, No shirt, boots. Happy days.
    There's a lot of cows coming bulling for some reason at the moment :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭sheebadog

Damo810 wrote: »
    You need to get yourself a fanny pack! :pac:

What's a fanny pack?

It's what ya see the yanks wearing. Its a pouch that you strap around your waist. Also called a bum bag. The yanks call their bum their fanny. They are funny like that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,217 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

wearing waterproof trousers after washing the milk tank, i am melting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 518 ✭✭✭farmersfriend

I haven't got the legs to carry off the whole shorts thing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,718 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

If I'm out on the road for work I'll wear the shorts.. zip the legs back on in the office - wouldn't like to intimidate the ladies :P

Not on the farm.. nettles are too unforgiving :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Usually wear mens 3/4 lengths as they have more pockets than ladies ones.
    The daisy dukes come out in really hot weather! Also have a very handy pair of trousers that have zips right up the front of my leg from ankle to mid thigh.

I use the hiking trousers where the legs zip out..
    Lots of pockets, some zipped, light and UV protection

these trespass ones are great..
    http://trespass.ie/mens/mens-winter/mallik-men-s-trousers.html

mallik_bark_angle_2.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭GRASSorMUCK

Shorts are handy in that you don't feel tooo bad if putting on over-alls if doing something dusty/oily or mucky on a hot day

.Kovu. wrote: »
    Also have a very handy pair of trousers that have zips right up the front of my leg from ankle to mid thigh.

Oh my..
    What exactly is that zip handy for ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

When I was in oz working bush in 40 to 50oc funny annof the best things to put on we're big thick CAT loose fit work pants, long sleeve loose shirt and big thick wooly socks with really good work boots. You would be far cooler than a pair of shorts. If your willing to spend a few bob on boots look into a brand called Steel blue boots, expensive but worth it.

_Brian wrote: »
    Oh my..
    What exactly is that zip handy for ?

Can't even find a pair like them online for a photo! The zip basically opens the trousers up to mid thigh, so turns them into a form of shorts I guess, but can have it whatever length open I like. Ah ffs, I'm making an ass of trying to explain them.:pac:

When I was in oz working bush in 40 to 50oc funny annof the best things to put on we're big thick CAT loose fit work pants, long sleeve loose shirt and big thick wooly socks with really good work boots. You would be far cooler than a pair of shorts. If your willing to spend a few bob on boots look into a brand called Steel blue boots, expensive but worth it.

Same with me when I was working in the bush.

I'm in the nip when lm working in the bush :-)

Tip for ye.
    Get her a voucher for a bikini wax for her birthday. Sometimes the subtle hints don't work :) I did that and never encountered the problem again :D

Tip for ye.
    Get her a voucher for a bikini wax for her birthday. Sometimes the subtle hints don't work :) I did that and never encountered the problem again :D

Ask a genuine question and ye bring it down to that! :)

sheebadog wrote: »
    Ask a genuine question and ye bring it down to that! :)

The warm weather changes us farming folk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭C0N0R

Been wearing shorts the past week at the silage, but my legs are as brown as me boots so it doesnt look to bad, still everyone else has been sweating it out in jeans. Get some funny looks when you go in for the tea. im used to it from new zealand. Shorts with overalls is a nice refreshing combo I find! My shorts are rugby shorts so quite short and hard wearing. No pockets though.

Tip for ye.

Be prepared for her to give you a BS&C voucher for your own birthday ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Real men don't wear shorts in hot weather. Cat/snickers work trousers in all types weather

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭munkus

I find these are the job. Can't wait for the good weather to get them on.

jeans_zpsd159f7a3.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

munkus wrote: »
    I find these are the job. Can't wait for the good weather to get them on.
    jeans_zpsd159f7a3.jpg

That ^^^^^ reminds me of this vvvvvv:D

We must all have heatstroke. In 26 posts we went from weather to waxes and now we're all singing YMCA in our heads.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Zr105

We must all have heatstroke. In 26 posts we went from weather to waxes and now we're all singing YMCA in our heads.:eek:

Ah your just annoyed as your gona have a farmers tan line below your knee with the cast :p:p tis not heat stroke at all! Tis jus the good weather, sure didnt ya hear today, its as addictive as heroin!

Zr105 wrote: »
    Ah your just annoyed as your gona have a farmers tan line below your knee with the cast :p:p tis not heat stroke at all! Tis jus the good weather, sure didnt ya hear today, its as addictive as heroin!

Ah it's not too bad, I go red and then white again. Only my back tans.

Bit of Sally Hanson spray tan over the cast and I'll be grand!

Be prepared for her to give you a BS&C voucher for your own birthday ;)

Or she might buy you this to wear on the beach,
    http://media.her.ie/wp-content/uploads/cdn/default/0001/36/56e5a8e78b7b6697dd53aaa25a31b71d5770a10c.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

How the feck does that work ? He must have the back sack and crack done aswell

_brian!! I did NOT need to see that, can we get back to shorts or something. At least there wasn't mankinis and those .....those...THINGS to be seen!:eek::eek:

Don't be acting all innocent kovu

Reggie. wrote: »
    Don't be acting all innocent kovu

I bet my internet search history is a bit more innocent than whatever brian had to search for to get that:rolleyes:

(*does quick history search* bugger, I'd forgotten about the full zip fronted trouser searching earlier)

I bet my internet search history is a bit more innocent than whatever brian had to search for to get that:rolleyes:

(*does quick history search* bugger, I'd forgotten about the full zip fronted trouser searching earlier)

Always run browser in private mode and through a proxy server site... or so I heard someone mention

Actually getting back to the original shorts post. I recall a story from last year in Utah where a father was really annoyed by his teenage daughters insistence on wearing hotpants. So one evening when they went out to a restaurant, he turns up in hotpants like his daughter.:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Rugby shorts usually very good. Two decent pockets as well. Now some people think the pockets are for keeping your gum-shield or spare contacts in, but they are really for the tube of "Deep Heat". Nothing settles a bolshie Prop or Hooker like a quick rub of deep Heat in the eye during the scrum...................:)

(Wingers just keep a box of fags and a lighter, cause who ever passes to them anyway?)

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Rugby shorts usually very good. Two decent pockets as well. Now some people think the pockets are for keeping your gum-shield or spare contacts in, but they are really for the tube of "Deep Heat". Nothing settles a bolshie Prop or Hooker like a quick rub of deep Heat in the eye during the scrum...................:)

(Wingers just keep a box of fags and a lighter, cause who ever passes to them anyway?)

Oh ooh bitchy

Nekarsulm wrote: »

I had to read that bolded part far too many times before I realised what you were talking about.
    Bedtime for me I think!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Best shorts ever are the SportIf USA ones - don't know if you can get them here but these are really good quality and have loads of pockets and are very hard wearing - originally designed for sailing as far as I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭huwboy

yeah rugby shorts are usually good about the place (tough, hardwearing and stand up to hundereds of washings), but depends a biton what job i'm on with. other hot weather thing for me is a good old shearing vest, you can buy them fairly cheap and they last quite well, comfortable as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭joejobrien

You can always cut the legs off your jeans when they rip. You will now have designer ones :D:D

Broke out the shorts today! So much better than the old jeans in this weather!

Shame on you :p

Reggie. wrote: »
    Shame on you :p

Your just jelous sure :D:D!

Was at your favourite past time today aswell! Well i was raking for it :D

I don't see how his favourite past time fits in with raking but sure, each to their own;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

gozunda wrote: »
    Best shorts ever are the SportIf USA ones - don't know if you can get them here but these are really good quality and have loads of pockets and are very hard wearing - originally designed for sailing as far as I know.

Sounds good, but if they're to do with sailing I'm suspecting Coveney may have a pair, and I just couldn't be going there.

I don't see how his favourite past time fits in with raking but sure, each to their own;)

He means baling ;)

Got a call today and looks like the little square is gonna be broken out of the shed :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Sounds good, but if they're to do with sailing I'm suspecting Coveney may have a pair, and I just couldn't be going there.

No idea if Coveney has a pair :D but that aside I think they were originally designed to be hard wearing for those who actually sailed boats - got some in the states a few years back and they are still nearly as good as new and have taken a fair bashing as work wear...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

gozunda wrote: »
    No idea if Coveney has a pair :D but that aside I think they were originally designed to be hard wearing for those who actually sailed boats - got some in the states a few years back and they are still nearly as good as new and have taken a fair bashing as work wear...

He wouldn't come out and talk to us so I suppose that answers that :D