Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best type of sprayer?

• 19-06-2014 11:17am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭

Just wondering what do ye think is the best type to be going for and any to be avoided, decided I could do with one as nice few fields coming on with docks, crow foot etc. and going to reseed as much as possible in nest few years so that too, neighbour always did if here but doesn't take money for it only if ya pelt it in the cab and basically run off ha, cousin is in the same boat and said he'll go halves with me on it, modest size one would do me, 800/1000l? Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 288 ✭✭Tipperarymike

I have no idea what the best sprayer is Simx but I was in the same boat as you a couple of weeks ago. Was constantly borrowing one of my neighbour, he had a 400 litre one so decided to buy one for myself. I bought one in Waterford, it is an Osella, think they are Italian. I went down to look at a second hand Hardi but when I saw the 800 litre Osella I liked what I saw. It has a fine galvanised dipped frame, looks plenty sturdy and I think when you get in to that sort of weight of an 800 litre full and maybe going along the road with it, that is important. I have only sprayed maybe 15 acres so far with it and done the ditches with Grazon, so far so good but in saying that, twould be bit early to be having problems!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

Jarmack are cheap and cheerful I have one now about 6-7 years. No issue's, simple uncomplicated sprayer for 1000-1200 euro. Get one with galvanised boom and a self fill. I have it set to a 2WD tractor ticking over in 2nd gear a 320L tank will do 5 acres, I just adjust the ampunt of spray to that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,387 ✭✭✭Sami23

I have it set to a 2WD tractor ticking over in 2nd gear a 320L tank will do 5 acres, I just adjust the ampunt of spray to that

That seems very light or else I'm completely overdoing it.
    I usually go with 400lts on 2 acres including a bit of overlapping just to be sure :D

What is everyone else doing, say Lts of water per acre :confused:

By the way mines a 400Ltr Jarmet, can't be faulted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

I wouldn't advise lads to go mad buying a big tanked sprayer for grassland. 300-400L would be more than ample I would imagine for most lad's needs. You may have 100acres, but how many acres realistically will you spray in the year, 30?
    I only have a 200L (44gal). I would prefer a wider boom rather than a bigger tank.

A good clean ibc for filling is a Godsend. Set it up with a ballcock and attach garden hose. It can be filling as you are spraying. I have mine mounted on a stand, but self fill I presume will suck out of it if placed on the ground?

Galvanised booms are a great job on the new sprayers.

Sami23 wrote: »
    I usually go with 400lts on 2 acres including a bit of overlapping just to be sure :D

You will get away with 60L/acre I think it is % acres it will do have to look up notebook. It is a great idea to have a note book with fertlizer spread rates and spray coverage rates in it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Zr105

100ltr/acre is grand, it's about 250/ha which is at the lower end of the recommended water volume for the majority of grassland sprays,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭larrymiller

Youl need nct soon!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭jay gatsby

That is overdoing it water wise, as someone else said 100ltires/acre will be fine. Tillage men would say this was still excessive but particularly with docks and if you're not spraying all day every day a decent drop of water is helpful

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭sheebadog

200l water/ha is what I use.
    Unless otherwise stated on tin.

The only time you really need a lot of water is if spraying meadows which are strong and have a lot of weed at bottom of sward. Then you need 100-150L/Acre. You need to turn up the pressure to get the spray down to the bottom of the sward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

I have an old hardi sprayer, all I can say is parts are mad dear :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

dharn wrote: »
    I have an old hardi sprayer, all I can say is parts are mad dear :mad:

You haven't tried to buy parts for a RAU sprayer obviously! Extortion is the only word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Just picked up an 800l jarmet from whites up north the other day. Nowhere else was coming within an asses roar of their price for an 800l.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Timmaay wrote: »
    Just picked up an 800l jarmet from whites up north the other day. Nowhere else was coming within an asses roar of their price for an 800l.

Would you mind pm me the price please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭noworries2004

Got a 800Lt Jarmet from whites in Portadown 2 yrs ago. Excellent sprayer for doing 30-40 acres of spraying a year.
    Cost around 1450 euro delivered to Cork. Also had pump for filling included.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭nhg

Thinking about buying a handy size tractor mounted sprayer ourselves. We were thinking a 600L with 12' galvanised boom.

All our fields & paddocks are mostly 5 acre size with two 6 acre ones. We don't grass measure but grass management is important to us. We'd like to spray paddocks to clean up the weeds when needs be and are in year 2 of a reseeding project on the farm where we reseed 10 to 15 acres a year. So it would also be used for spraying off the old grass and post emergence spray. We have a quad sprayed for spraying around the ditches, roadways etc.

Priced both a Jarmet at €1950 and a Delta Force at €2250 any opinions/advise please.