Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2014 Stephen Roche GP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,138 ✭✭✭buffalo

I've just been told that the most famous Orwell Wheeler will be attendance on the night, the eponymous Stephen Roche!

Does he need an introduction? Giro winner, Tour winner, World Champ... all in the one year! And the rest of his palmarès boasts victories at Paris-Nice, Tour de Romandie, Critérium International, and of course, the toughest race of all time, the Rás!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭Carpenter

If he does show it will be the first time in years

Carpenter wrote: »
    If he does show it will be the first time in years

We've had Nico Roche, Laurence Roche and Pedro Delgado over the last three years, but it's going to be good to have the man himself on hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,220 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Got any more details about the underage/novice races (e.g. laps, cats) or will it be decided on the night based on turnout?

Lumen wrote: »
    Got any more details about the underage/novice races (e.g. laps, cats) or will it be decided on the night based on turnout?

I'm promised it'll be the biggest and best yet!

I'm assuming it'll be a similar format to recent editions - split them by age/seriousness, and then a lap, or a half-lap for the younger. It's open to anyone with a bike and a helmet from ages 3-16.

Last year we had one participant with stablisers, so it's a very inclusive event. And to add to the sense of occasion Roche will be the starter for the youth races, so it may just be a night for a former Tour winner to meet a future one.

buffalo wrote: »
    We've had Nico Roche, Laurence Roche and Pedro Delgado over the last three years, but it's going to be good to have the man himself on hand.

Laurence is there every year sure the mum lives there

Carpenter wrote: »
    Laurence is there every year sure the mum lives there

Yes.

We've finalised the prize list, with six primes throughout the racing to discourage riders from hiding in the bunch. Not that there's much shelter in the Roche GP!
    • 1st 8 overall
    • 1st 2 unplaced A2s
    • 1st 2 unplaced A3s
    • 6 primes on laps 3, 6, 10, 15, 20 and 25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭Hmmzis

We've finalised the prize list, with six primes throughout the racing to discourage riders from hiding in the bunch. Not that there's much shelter in the Roche GP!
    • 1st 8 overall
    • 1st 2 unplaced A2s
    • 1st 2 unplaced A3s
    • 6 primes on laps 3, 6, 10, 15, 20 and 25

Will riders have to count the laps themselves or will there be a bell at the start of a prime lap? And does one have to finish the whole race to actually collect a prime?

Thing is, I might go for a prime but that might mean I'll get dropped and pulled before the finish.

Hmmzis wrote: »
    Will riders have to count the laps themselves or will there be a bell at the start of a prime lap? And does one have to finish the whole race to actually collect a prime?

Thing is, I might go for a prime but that might mean I'll get dropped and pulled before the finish.

If you win a prime, you get it. If you get dropped and pulled, they're not going to go back and try figure out who came second. :)

There'll be a lap count on the truck at the finish line with the laps, try keep an eye on it, or set your Garmin to tell you how many laps you've done. The announcer also yells a lot before a prime lap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 NKOLS

Is sign on for this closed or can you pay on the day ?

NKOLS wrote: »
    Is sign on for this closed or can you pay on the day ?

No pre-reg, just show up tomorrow and sign-on with your CI licence as normal.

Stephen Clancy of Team Novo Nordisk is back in the country for the Nationals (I presume), and will be racing tomorrow night. So that's at least one pro whose wheel you can sit on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,263 ✭✭✭✭Borderfox

Is that the one in the estate?

Borderfox wrote: »
    Is that the one in the estate?

Yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭marvin80

What time is it starting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭Diarmuid

marvin80 wrote: »
    What time is it starting?
    This year's event, once again includes a full programme of races for youth riders starting at 19.00 with riders in the senior race for A1/A2/A3 riders due to be flagged off at 19.45. We're going all out this year to make the novice races the biggest and best yet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭Konkers

This was a great spectacle last year (first race i saw since blinking and missing king kelly fly through clonmel for the bunch sprint of the ras many many years ago......... Would recommend that you go along as a spectator. Will miss it cos I'm on other side of world with work otherwise I would be heading up there with my two little fellas. Go along and add to atmosphere.........

Although I've never been a spectator, I've been told it is indeed a thrill to watch! The circuit is only 1.3km around, just a little bit longer than Corkagh Park, so the race will pass you every 1.5-2 minutes, and you can watch it unfold.

Still hoping the rain holds off, but come watch anyway! And encourage any youngsters and bring along any kids to take part in the youth races too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭TheNah

Dan Martin in 2010.

Stephen was @ the airport today (wonder was he doing a runner)or has L2P anything to do with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭smithslist

Raining here in Dublin city centre since lunch time :( Anyone got an weather update from closer to race circuit??

smithslist wrote: »
    Raining here in Dublin city centre since lunch time :( Anyone got an weather update from closer to race circuit??

Rain here:mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,971 ✭✭✭fat bloke

What time is the youth race - as in the little kiddies lap?

fat bloke wrote: »

7pm, main event at 7.45pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,460 ✭✭✭lennymc

fat bloke wrote: »

you're too old to enter it fat bloke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Harrybelafonte

Is it still raining over that end of the city?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,971 ✭✭✭fat bloke

lennymc wrote: »
    you're too old to enter it fat bloke.

Hey. Goddamn snot-nose kids whoopin' me in the club league every Thursday. This is payback.

Good race and a great win and I bow before you buffalo SR was there which was a big surprise I was talking to Lawrence and I think he was surprised as well .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭Hmmzis

First of all, an enormous thanks to all my club mates who made the race happen. Absolutely brilliant fun and what a buzz it was whizzing around the course. :)

As for my race, well... I need to go back to preschool and refresh my counting skills. Fecked up the primes well and proper. Was late for the 3rd lap prime but attacked shortly after that and two lads joined the fun. We stayed out until lap 9 or 10 (at that time I was sure it was lap 10 but since I didn't get the prime it must have been either lap 9 or lap 11). Then the bunch got us and I was struggling to get my breath back. Started getting stitches and calves were toying with cramps. Then for some reason the pace dropped off and I was able to recover. Didn't see the winning break going but it did feel a bit strange that there were mostly A3 numbers in front of me.

When the announcer shouted "6 laps to go" the pace went up a bit but it calmed down quite quickly. The last 2 or 3 laps were a bit of stop and go. Lads going, cover attempts and such. In the last lap on the back straight a club mate went for it, some lads tried chasing but sat up almost immediately. One guy in a dark and orange kit did a good chase attempt and I decided to follow it. Was a bit late to catch him at the end but the decision to go for it was very lucky for me. The move I did was about 100m from the hairpin corner and I divebombed it and once I was clear and started accelerating I heard carbon scraping on tarmac - pileup! "What a lucky move that was from me" I thought to myself. Went sprinting towards the line but couldn't catch the guy in front, so he took the last A3 prize. Still, got first unplaced Orwell rider :) :cool:

Got to stand on the podium with Stephen Roche himself and also got to shake his hand. Will be back next year or the year after (depends on how we do with marshalling slots).

Hope the guys involved in the crash are all ok and no injuries came from it.

The winner's father was kind enough to send on this to me:

10344413_783404271692712_7206448547715359890_o.jpg

Cracking race, and James Davenport was a worthy winner. Break of seven formed, and he jumped from that with about 4 laps to go. Such was the force of his breakaway that he ended up at the back of the main bunch! I just noticed in the photo above that nobody is watching Davenport - he was hiding at the back of the bunch and nearly everyone missed him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭bellinter

It certainly is a great race for the spectators. I know because I became one last night after around 13 laps. Once I got it into my head that I didnt have much more in the tank that was me finished.

Brilliant event though. I am aiming for 14 laps next year!

Full results, including at least one boardsie:

Senior race:
    1st, James Davenport, South Dublin CC;
    2nd, Eoin Morton, UCD;
    3rd, Brian Ahern, Orwell;
    4th, Andrew Stanley, DUCC;
    5th, Stephen Clancy, Novo Nordisk;
    6th, Darragh Long, NRPT;
    7th, Mick Fitzgerald, Velorevolution;
    8th, Mark Dowling, Dunboyne.

A2:
    1st, Dave O'Reilly, South Dublin CC;
    2nd, Dave O'Connor, Park Wheelers.

A3:
    1st, Fionn Sheridan, Orwell;
    2nd, Paul Coffey, Blanch Wheelies.

1st unplaced Orwell:
    Valdis Andersons.

Primes:
    Lap 3: Fintan Ryan, NRPT;
    Lap 6: Damien Creighton, Blanch Wheelies;
    Lap 10: Paul Coffey, Blanch Wheelies;
    Lap 15: Eoin Morton, UCD;
    Lap 20: Darragh Long, NRPT;
    Lap 25: Andrew Stanley, Dublin University;

Youth races:
    Under 16

1st, Adam Stenson, LCRC;
    2nd, Patrick Goszczyk, Inspiration;
    3rd, Ryan Byrne, Wexford Wheelers.

Under 14
    1st, Liam Curley, SERC;
    2nd, Shane Higgins, Black Rose;
    3rd, Cian May, LCRC.

Under 12
    1st, Lara Gillespie;
    2nd, Cael Chanders;
    3rd, Victoria Chanders.

Novices:
    1st, Roisin Twomey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭LennoxR

Went down for a look last night. Very entertaining to watch especially if you move around a little during the race and see at different points how the race is progressing.

Fascinating to see riders spit one by one (and finally in big bunch) out the back and were eliminated. Such a savage sport (meant in the literal sense of the word). Also the pain etched in the winner James Davenport's face as he made his break with about 4 laps to go. As he passed the finish of each lap his mouth was open in absolute agony and his shoulders rolled from side to side for maximum effort.

As a spectator I had no idea there'd been a crash before the end.

Just very well done to all involved and a real eye opener about how hard criterium racing actually is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭Zyzz

Wow the young talent is really coming into the A1/A2 racing..

UT-600x400.jpg