Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Frankel Package at Goffs

• 15-06-2014 2:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭

A foal by Frankel is set to go under the hammer at Goffs tomorrow. He is out of the Black type producer Crystal Gaze who will be offered along side of him. and she is currently in foal to Frankel.
    2 Frankel foals and a Black type mare for the price of one. I say the winning bid goes to the Qutari's for £1.3 million($2,205,489)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 551 ✭✭✭bellybuster12

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭irish_major

1.15 million

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭FIVE2_THREE

A foal by Frankel is set to go under the hammer at Goffs tomorrow. He is out of the Black type producer Crystal Gaze who will be offered along side of him. and she is currently in foal to Frankel.
    2 Frankel foals and a Black type mare for the price of one. I say the winning bid goes to the Qutari's for £1.3 million($2,205,489)

Well I was around the number just had the wrong people. Coolmore took the package for £1,150,000. I know they sent about 10 mares to Frankel last season so they are heavily invested in him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭Dubron

Capella Sansavero was sold for £1,300,000 to Sheikh Fahad (I think?) at the same sale. Id rather have the two Frankel foals and the mare for £1.15 million!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,931 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Dubron wrote: »
    Capella Sansavero was sold for £1,300,000 to Sheikh Fahad (I think?) at the same sale. Id rather have the two Frankel foals and the mare for £1.15 million!
    Insane money for what the horse has done (won a listed race after half the field pulled out and beat an O'Brien horse in the race before that that didn't look fully fit).

Don't understand why more people don't just buy horses in training with some kind of form behind them. Denis Hogan bought a horse in the sales (Ridestan) for 2k and has got himself a winner already and with more to come. Johnny Murtagh bought Regal Power (a horse that had already won) for 1.5k and has gotten a winner with more to come. There's lads paying 6 figure sums for horses that don't win much more than what horses 1/100th of that price cost are making.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭Dubron

Insane money for what the horse has done (won a listed race after half the field pulled out and beat an O'Brien horse in the race before that that didn't look fully fit).

Don't understand why more people don't just buy horses in training with some kind of form behind them. Denis Hogan bought a horse in the sales (Ridestan) for 2k and has got himself a winner already and with more to come. Johnny Murtagh bought Regal Power (a horse that had already won) for 1.5k and has gotten a winner with more to come. There's lads paying 6 figure sums for horses that don't win much more than what horses 1/100th of that price cost are making.

Capella Sansavero only cost the the lads 25 grand last year! Fully expect him to go close tomorrow but even if he wins I still wouldn't have thought he'd be worth what they paid. Regulation was sold for £80,000 there tonight, crazy money for an exposed 5yo gelding.