Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gardai stopping me?

• 14-06-2014 5:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46

Right first off I'm not typing this to bash Gardai or anything but want something cleared up. Today I was driving my car I was pulled up waiting to pull out of a housing estate when next thing was a squad car pulled up beside me the Garda himself didn't get out of his vehicle just let down the window and asked me my name, address, did I hold a full licence ( i do hold a full licence) and did I have insurance now I don't mind answering these questions if I came to a checkpoint or whatever the case maybe but not for the first time this has happened on both occasions I was going about my business and don't need that sort of thing. Anyone on here ever get this hassle it's pretty annoying especially when I'm not in the wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭magentis

What ya drivin?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭LizzyBennet

I think half the time they are just trying to find someone to give a ticket to they have a set number to hit they tried it on me one day tried to tell me i was in the wrong when I know i wasn't, half the time they are hoping you will roll over and they can pin something silly on you and give you a ticket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 Bob123321

magentis wrote: »
    What ya drivin?

Haha knew that would be the first question which in my opinion is irrelevant to be honest everyone should be treated he same it's a Toyota Corolla.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 640 ✭✭✭PLUG71

Hoody up or baseball cap on?

Modified car or just a car they would be surprised to find a young fella driving?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

why can't they just sit at the barracks and leave us motorists alone? Fancy wanting to check that you were driving legally. Is
    that what we pay them for?

(yes it is!)

To be honest I drive a Hot Hatch, i'm 42 and I still get pulled :mad:

PLUG71 wrote: »
    Hoody up or baseball cap on?

Modified car or just a car they would be surprised to find a young fella driving?

Modified and yes it's all legal!

Bob123321 wrote: »
    Modified and a Corolla is a young fellas car.

Wether us petrol heads like it or not certain things cops see draw a red flag instantly!

Look at it this way, if your car was stolen by some little twat and the cops seeing the car but never bothered to give the driver a tug how would you feel then?

Cops stopping you if your legal should'nt bother you.

Flash for cash vans are a diffrent subject worth getting p1ssed about!!

Wether us petrol heads like it or not certain things cops see draw a red flag instantly!

Look at it this way, if your car was stolen by some little twat and the cops seeing the car but never bothered to give the driver a tug how would you feel then?

Cops stopping you if your legal should'nt bother you.

Flash for cash vans are a diffrent subject worth getting p1ssed about!!

It doesn't bother me once or twice but if you keep getting stopped it's obviously annoying like...

They were obviously looking for some one fitting you and your cars description. It's quicker and easier for them to ask a few questions and rule you out, rather than pull you in and waste your time and theirs.

No doubt it to be quite honest... looking for someone like me? doing what exactly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

On the basis that you just sat the LC, is it a safe assumption that you're young?

If so then no harm in being asked about insurance, license etc. at any time as you fit the basic profile of a non insured, L plate driver, your demenour etc. at answering questions was probably enough to persuade him that you were genuine, but if your answers were suspect he'd probably check you in more detail.

I think people should be checked much more often and in more detail, given that a taxi driver in Swords is awaiting sentance for no drivers license since an expired provisional in 1985, BTW everything else was forged as well
    http://www.sundayworld.com/top-stories/news/taxi-driver-hadn-t-held-driving-licence-since-pro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

I wish I got pulled :(

Spook_ie wrote: »
    On the basis that you just sat the LC, is it a safe assumption that you're young?

If so then no harm in being asked about insurance, license etc. at any time as you fit the basic profile of a non insured, L plate driver, your demenour etc. at answering questions was probably enough to persuade him that you were genuine, but if your answers were suspect he'd probably check you in more detail

Again everyone seems to make it personal should everyone not the the same treatment...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭carzony

Don't worry about being stopped. They target younger drivers, especially those driving golfs, civics and generally ''noisy cars''. I remember when I bought my civic back in 2012. I must have gotten stopped once a day for weeks.

A lot of garda actually told me the reason they stopped me was because of the type of car I was driving.

carzony wrote: »
    Don't worry about being stopped. They target younger drivers, especially those driving golfs, civics and generally ''noisy cars''. I remember when I bought my civic back in 2012. I must have gotten stopped once a day for weeks.

A lot of garda actually told me the reason they stopped me was because of the type of car I was driving.

Far from worried and I know the story...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

Again everyone seems to make it personal should everyone not the the same treatment...

They probably do pull everyone that fits the profile, you'll be allright as you age :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Maybe they were looking for someone in a similar car?

biko wrote: »
    Maybe they were looking for someone in a similar car?

No he asked me did i see a red car speeding around but my cars not red so in my opinion maybe that was just an excuse as he had nothing on me, and nobody in my area has the same car as me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

If it happens again ask them why they stop you.
    You are obliged to tell them name etc but you can also ask questions.

biko wrote: »
    If it happens again ask them why they stop you.
    You are obliged to tell them name etc but you can also ask questions.

I know i'm going to get there names and badge numbers from now on and i will ask why am i being stopped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

your young and your driving a a modified car.....
    what mods have you got on it?

like it or not, young and modified, in a lot of peoples eyes means, boy racer, break the limits... which may or may not be the case, but that is the perception
    also add to the fact that according to insurance stats you are most likely to be in an accident...
    the Garda are just keeping any eye on you and your car, they are treating you the exact same as everybody else in your age and car category

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,315 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

I know i'm going to get there names and badge numbers from now on and i will ask why am i being stopped.

Good plan, if you want to piss them off.
    Just answer their questions and be a bit more zen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭FISMA

... I don't mind answering these questions if I came to a checkpoint or whatever the case maybe...

Okay, consider it a rolling checkpoint.

robtri wrote: »
    your young and your driving a a modified car.....
    what mods have you got on it?

like it or not, young and modified, in a lot of peoples eyes means, boy racer, break the limits... which may or may not be the case, but that is the perception
    also add to the fact that according to insurance stats you are most likely to be in an accident...
    the Garda are just keeping any eye on you and your car, they are treating you the exact same as everybody else in your age and car category

Don't agree whatsoever and especially with the "they are treating you the exact same way as everybody else in your age and car category" this is not true. And i'm most likely to be in an accident? what about elderly drivers possibly the worst and most vulnerable of all road users but saying that it's not solving my issue.

FISMA wrote: »
    Okay, consider it a rolling checkpoint.

No... because its not.

spurious wrote: »
    Good plan, if you want to piss them off.
    Just answer their questions and be a bit more zen.

I don't want to piss anyone off I just want to go about my business without being harassed about insurance, tax, nct etc... which I've stated and proved to them on a couple of occasions. But if you class it as pissing them off well... what are they doing to me?

Got the result in the end...

good idea...give em hell....(and a reason to check you out a bit more thoroughly......):rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,994 ✭✭✭Taylor365

I drive a Subaru and never get stopped...even with no plates!

Get rid of that heap and get a Subaru.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 303 ✭✭rotun

Got the result in the end...

Bit more detail here chief..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭V.W.L 11

i was getting stopped about 4/5 times a week for a good few months all over the city one time,car was completely legal and unmodified,they kept using section 23 misuse of drugs act to search me the car and my passengers,never once found anything except a bag of my mrs underwear she just bought in the boot,but that aside despite all this hassle i never once got a ticket,it came to the stage where they knew the car as standard as it was and i knew them by their first names,havent been stopped in a very long time now thank god

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

Given the widespread problem of unlicensed learners driving about unaccompanied and also without L plates, its actually refreshing to hear of the Gardai doing some checks once in a while.

Unfortunately OP being young and driving a modified car is going to draw a lot of unwanted attention. Its not particularly fair, but im amazed that you are surprised by it and didnt expect it. In my early 20s i used to get pulled over a fair bit when driving a completely standard saloon Civic. Fast forward to my late 20s and the only time I have been pulled in my Type R was when the Garda apologied and told me he pulled the wrong car (i know exactly who they were looking for, and with good reason!). You just fit a demographic unfortunately that is going to draw attention.

I don't want to piss anyone off I just want to go about my business without being harassed about insurance, tax, nct etc... which I've stated and proved to them on a couple of occasions. But if you class it as pissing them off well... what are they doing to me?

With all due respect its not harrasment it just part of life!

What mods are on your car?

Did you declare the mods to your insurance?

Do you really want them to look closer at you and maybe contacting your insurance regarding your mods?

Let it go bud its not worth it!

Just sit and smile knowing you are legal :D

V.W.L 11 wrote: »
    i was getting stopped about 4/5 times a week for a good few months all over the city one time,car was completely legal and unmodified,they kept using section 23 misuse of drugs act to search me the car and my passengers,never once found anything except a bag of my mrs underwear she just bought in the boot,but that aside despite all this hassle i never once got a ticket,it came to the stage where they knew the car as standard as it was and i knew them by their first names,havent been stopped in a very long time now thank god

Your car was obviously flagged for its previous owners antics!

i bought it from a penisoner!!!

what on earth is a penisoner?

bit of a cock up with the old typing finger ,what?

corktina wrote: »
    what on earth is a penisoner?

bit of a cock up with the old typing finger ,what?
    nope,predictive text on the phone,now i'm on the computer its a PENSIONER :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

It doesn't bother me once or twice but if you keep getting stopped it's obviously annoying like...

But you gave only been stopped twice according to the first post?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭andy t

so he just pulled up & asked questions !

you could of had no licence or insurance & just winged it so,haha

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

Spook_ie wrote: »
    I think people should be checked much more often and in more detail

Yep, lets get the Government in on absolutely everything we do, morning, noon and night. I hope they bring in a law that makes us go down to the Garda station every single day and have them look over our cars and papers.....

.....Just in case like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭coolisin

So what was the result OP!

Your car may have previous "intel" on it. (Not from you! But a Previous owner)
    You may have fitted a description to somebody acting suspicious in an area. They just stopped to see how you'd react.
    Maybe the gaurd lives in the estate and was wondering what you where up too, sure abusing his power a little but good for the residents all the same.

I know its annoying but for your own sake do not go down the hard man route of whats your badge number your going to piss them off and before you know it your perfectly legal car could be searched for drugs.

I was stopped once for something similar asked what I was doing so far away from home, why had I come this way rather then the most direct route from my address on my DL.
    Why was I on my own.

Don't take it personally they just asked some questions, for the community move on from it and dont worry about it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

coolisin wrote: »
    I know its annoying but for your own sake do not go down the hard man route of whats your badge number your going to piss them off and before you know it your perfectly legal car could be searched for drugs

Spot on.

In fact, the opposite response is required. Despite being annoyed, the OP should be courteous, friendly and comply with them as best he can. Dealing with the Guards in this manner will make them far less likely to stop you in future once they've realised you're a good lad. Its always the best policy to be as nice and as cooperative with Guards as you possibly can. Acting the hard man will only bring you more hassle.

Sometimes it can also help to play the "bit of an eejit" card. Put on a real bogger accent and pretend you're a little bit thick and they'll conclude that you're harmless and send you on your way.

Taylor365 wrote: »
    I drive a Subaru and never get stopped...even with no plates!

Get rid of that heap and get a Subaru.

Heap? it's the best Corolla in my county at least from a heap Subaru's are a terrible looking car no interest in them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 502 ✭✭✭BeerSteakBirds

carzony wrote: »

kind of like stopping brown skinned people at airports ?

Heap? it's the best Corolla in my county at least from a heap Subaru's are a terrible looking car no interest in them.
    Dude Corrola's are fugly :D

djimi wrote: »
    Given the widespread problem of unlicensed learners driving about unaccompanied and also without L plates, its actually refreshing to hear of the Gardai doing some checks once in a while.

Unfortunately OP being young and driving a modified car is going to draw a lot of unwanted attention. Its not particularly fair, but im amazed that you are surprised by it and didnt expect it. In my early 20s i used to get pulled over a fair bit when driving a completely standard saloon Civic. Fast forward to my late 20s and the only time I have been pulled in my Type R was when the Garda apologied and told me he pulled the wrong car (i know exactly who they were looking for, and with good reason!). You just fit a demographic unfortunately that is going to draw attention.

I'm not surprised by it as I've been stopped on numerous occasions but I just want to go about what I'm doing it was in broad daylight, It wasn't nighttime and I was driving around the town with a full car or anything like that... I wasn't exactly doing anything out of the ordinary

Dude Corrola's are fugly :D

Not mine

Not mine
    Lets see it then:rolleyes:

But you gave only been stopped twice according to the first post?

Well yes in this car but few times before in my old one too...