Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DERMOT & DAVE OFF TO TODAY FM?

• 13-06-2014 11:06am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4

Heard a rumour that the boys are off to Today FM to present the lunchtime show! Fair play to them if that's the case. If it proves to be true who fills the void at 98?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,142 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Based on the surprisingly high accuracy rate of first time posters rumours on here (particularly in relation to the 2FM relaunch), excuse me while I go down the bookies...

It'd make sense for Communicorp to try exploit Dermot's more national profile and also 98 is possible too "big name" heavy as it stands and it certainly isn't working in the JNLRs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 Shammer16

Heard a rumour that the boys are off to Today FM to present the lunchtime show! Fair play to them if that's the case. If it proves to be true who fills the void at 98?

What? The show that was only just recently given to Louise Duffy after Kc went to Red FM? Somehow, I don't think so.

If they were going to Today FM it would more likely be the 2:30 to 4:30 that Tony has only presented a few times in the last few months and even that seems unlikely, for whatever reason T-Bone is off (Hope all is good by the way! :/) I can't see him being replaced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭Radio is for life

One would wonder was it a case of the guys wanting to go or told they have no option. Maybe their time on 98FM has come to a natural end and a fresh audience on Today FM could be a rebirth for them. This of course assumes that Mr One Post above heard this from a reliable source. Who would be replacing them on 98FM? The door is open guys, so CVs at the ready!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,258 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

I heard a rumour that they aren't.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7 Damien McCool

A bit of topic but did today fm ever get a full time replacement for Louise Duffy on the 5-7am show ???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭soc160

A bit of topic but did today fm ever get a full time replacement for Louise Duffy on the 5-7am show ???

Tim Kelly is on now, Teresanne from Spin had on twitter she is up at 4am from next week. Nikki Hayes is back doing her regular slot and Teresanne has filled in at Today FM at weekends so she could be getting in. that's just a 2+2 thing... as for Dermot and Dave. No, just no. Stop these stupid rumours or at least say where you heard...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,158 ✭✭✭✭hufpc8w3adnk65

Would love too see the lads get lunch times and then give Louise Tonys slot (whilst hes out sick ) as the lead into Matt cooper

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,234 ✭✭✭Fresh Pots

Foley this morning making jokes about a dermot and dave announment that he can't talk about. Maybe there is some truth in it.

Fresh Pots wrote: »
    Foley this morning making jokes about a dermot and dave announment that he can't talk about. Maybe there is some truth in it.

What was he saying?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭hallo dare

MrMac84 wrote: »
    What was he saying?

He probably read this thread and decided to run with it! ☺

hallo dare wrote: »

Yeah that was my second thought!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭GSF

hallo dare wrote: »

An in joke for his 10 listeners?

What was he saying?

Just that there was an announcement and its insane and then he asked was he allowed talk about it and the producers said no.

What was he saying?

Here it is, maybe he was just going to rip the piss out of the forums but then again maybe not.

https://soundcloud.com/rayfoleyshow/the-ray-foley-show-podcast-tuesday-17th-june-2014#t=1:54

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,163 ✭✭✭stargazer 68

Dovies wrote: »

Christ louise didn't last long. Good luck to them though. They'll do a good job I'm sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

It doesn't say which slot they will be moving into. I wonder if they might be getting Tony Fenton's slot?

Good move for them and Today FM, bad news for 98FM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭Uepped

Shame on the communicorp suits replacing a radio legend who is very ill at the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 876 ✭✭✭Euphoria Intensifies

Article on TheJournal.ie says they're getting Louise Duffy's slot (can't link it due to not having enough posts).

Great for the lads. Absolutely love their show on 98 and think they'll do really well on Today FM. Hope they bring all the features over! Although it might be a bit early for Mary from Florida haha. Going to miss listening to them in the drive time slot! Won't really be able to listen live to lunchtimes too often. Wonder who'll get that slot on 98 now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭Chip Whitley

Uepped wrote: »
    Shame on the communicorp suits replacing a radio legend who is very ill at the moment.

If he is too ill to work there is not much else they can do.

I like Louise and think she should get a bit more time, so if Tony is going to take an extended break from work then I think the lads would be better suited to 2.30-4.00.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 285 ✭✭Cork_chick_94

Why did they give louise duffy the lunchtime show 10 weeks ago only to announce this today ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,470 ✭✭✭JoeA3

Why did they give louise duffy the lunchtime show 10 weeks ago only to announce this today ???

I think it's Tony Fenton's slot they are taking....or maybe Louise is swapping to the later slot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,793 ✭✭✭FunLover18

Article on TheJournal.ie says they're getting Louise Duffy's slot (can't link it due to not having enough posts).
    JoeA3 wrote: »
    I think it's Tony Fenton's slot they are taking....or maybe Louise is swapping to the later slot?

http://www.thejournal.ie/98fm-dermot-and-dave-today-fm-1524218-Jun2014/
    A radio industry source suggested Whelan and Moore would be taking over the midday to 2.30pm slot currently occupied by Louise Duffy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 ONE THOUGHT PER LINK

Most likely someone from Spin maybe moving across the corridor. Nikki Hayes, Dara Quilty, Ryan & Tracy? I'm not sure. I'm assuming they will have a pair of safe hands in there. But will it be a double header? Hope it's not a "celebrity" that lands the gig anyway!! I wonder what Foley makes of it all? Should be interesting hearing him tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

JoeA3 wrote: »

Maybe they are keeping their options open for the moment, while they see how Tony Fenton's recovery goes.

Dermot and Dave aren't due to start until August so they don't have to make an immediate decision.

I wondered if maybe Fenton himself wants too step back

If so have D&D at 12 and then Louise at 2:30

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭Trebor176

It would be a shame to move Louise so soon after she started her 12-14:30 slot. She hasn't really had enough time to settle in. It's a good show so far, from what I've heard of it. The 14:30-16:30 slot would be a more realistic one for them, in my view.

Dermot and Dave have a big following. Their move would certainly have a knock on effect for 98fm. Just a thought, but what would it be like if they took over the breakfast slot and moved Ian to an afternoon slot? Maybe a fresh breakfast show would be welcomed by some?

I do wish Tony all the best, if God forbid he is ill. It's a shame that he hasn't been on air in so long. Maybe he will return somewhere in time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,084 ✭✭✭✭neris

Any chance darcys high horse will be doing a bolt from todayfm? Give them 10-12. Although breakfast would be good dempseys show hasnt changed much in last 15 or so years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭airbus125

Maybe ray foley in their slot and then aidan and claire back in for breakfast

airbus125 wrote: »
    Maybe ray foley in their slot and then aidan and claire back in for breakfast

Not in a million years would they bring back power and solan, that breakfast show just didn't work. Saying that I don't mind claire when she's on her own but I don't think she was suited to breakfast.

I don't see them moving foley either so soon. The show has only really started to click, it would be mad to move it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭IsThisOneFree

If you ask me, doesn't really matter who they replace them with, 98fm is going down the pan now IMHO ... their first mistake was with the breakfast show, and more recently they chopped and hour off Dermot & Dave to accommodate their new phone in show, which, from the bits I've heard, is just awful to listen to. The presenters are a far cry from being anything like Gerry Ryan. Although maybe that's not they style they're aiming for to be fair.

Dermot & Dave were the only reason I stayed listening to that station at all. Time to move the dial me thinks !!

But well done to them, can't wait to see what their show will be like on today fm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭radioland

If you ask me, doesn't really matter who they replace them with, 98fm is going down the pan now IMHO ... their first mistake was with the breakfast show, and more recently they chopped and hour off Dermot & Dave to accommodate their new phone in show, which, from the bits I've heard, is just awful to listen to. The presenters are a far cry from being anything like Gerry Ryan. Although maybe that's not they style they're aiming for to be fair.

Dermot & Dave were the only reason I stayed listening to that station at all. Time to move the dial me thinks !!

But well done to them, can't wait to see what their show will be like on today fm

What I find strangely about this is that it's another internal move with Comunicorp. Does it mean presenters are interchangeable in group at will ?

Can anyone confirm suggestion here that T Fenton is unwell , not his greatest fan but wouldn't like to think he's unwell. If he is, I wish him the best

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭IsThisOneFree

What I find strangely about this is that it's another internal move with Comunicorp. Does it mean presenters are interchangeable in group at will ?
    In all honesty, I don't know, but my guess would be no. I would imagine that each Radio Station would have to be run independently, and that each have to demonstrate to the Communicorp board that they are viable and profit making. Part of ensuring they make a good profit is attracting listeners [so that they can sell advertising], which they can only do by ensuring they attract DJ's who will be popular with their target market. Otherwise one Radio Station manager could just be lazy and say "well, Radio station X is brining in loads of profit, so it doesn't matter that my station isn't attracting listeners". I'm sure Communicorp (or any other company for that matter) would not be willing to hold onto any of those radio stations if they were being a drain on the overall profits.

As for Tony Fenton, no idea I'm afraid, hope he's OK though

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭jezzer

it was announced in a press release yesterday they are off to present the lunchtime slot on today fm

jezzer wrote: »
    it was announced in a press release yesterday they are off to present the lunchtime slot on today fm

I think the article on the Journal said "a radio insider suggested they were taking over the lunchtime slot". AFAIK there has been no definite quote on the timeslot.

i would imagine if they are moving they would want the coveted lunchtime slot as opposed to the slot they currently occupy, maybe louise duffy isnt working out, anyone know??

what happened to tony fenton? i hope he is ok, he has had very tough times of late with the bankruptcy and all, nice guy and a bit of a legend in radio

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭JM Skipton

Ray Foley said this morning they are definitely taking his old lunchtime slot on Today FM. Foley also went on to have a few sly digs at them one of which was suggesting sarcastically that they should have Mary from Florida on 24 hours a day.

I personally think they will do ok, however they really need to freshen up their ideas I would get rid of "Mary from Florida" and "say stuff that suits the music" both were good when they started but have gone very stale now.

JM Skipton wrote: »
    Ray Foley said this morning they are definitely taking his old lunchtime slot on Today FM. Foley also went on to have a few sly digs at them one of which was suggesting sarcastically that they should have Mary from Florida on 24 hours a day.

I personally think they will do ok, however they really need to freshen up their ideas I would get rid of "Mary from Florida" and "say stuff that suits the music" both were good when they started but have gone very stale now.
    Those features will completely new and fresh too the 3 new provenses they will reach now that they are national tho!

Feel sorry Louise Duffy in that case. Her show had potential. I could see her taking Tony's slot if he is going to be missing for a while. Surely going back to early morning would be a step back for her.

I actually started a thread last year about how Dermot & Dave should take over from Tony: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=82714107

Can't see D&D been the lead into Matt Cooper tho! From their antics too The Last Word is a huge gap!

in fairness, louise duffy is not a wet week in the job so she cant really complain, i agree with foley, mary from florida is a shockingly bad part of the show, i just dont get it, its pure crap! say stuff is still funny but yes it is a bit dated, i think really the lads knew a while back they were leaving and didnt put the same effort into the show and it really came through in their presentation, they have sounded like they dont give a f*ck for a while now

best of luck to them though, not the best thing on the radio by any means but good all the same

what else did foley say about them? its so funny!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 dangerousdee

New here so HI! :)

Really hope Louise doesn't go. Love her on the early mornings and right now on the afternoons.
    Not sure putting D&D on the afternoon is regression or progression. That formula was tried with
    Foley & JP who they let go and replaced with Louise. Don't really see the point in going back to that
    vibe.

New here so HI! :)

Really hope Louise doesn't go. Love her on the early mornings and right now on the afternoons.
    Not sure putting D&D on the afternoon is regression or progression. That formula was tried with
    Foley & JP who they let go and replaced with Louise. Don't really see the point in going back to that
    vibe.
    Hi Louise.... They hardly "let foley go" he left for bumper wages and the breakie show he allways wanted! They "replaced" ray with KC, who was brilliant and very similar too foley in many ways, they then replaced kc with Louise who just hasn't worked out at all

i dont listen but is louise not working out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,882 ✭✭✭statto25

i dont listen but is louise not working out?

The music is good but Louise herself seems poor. Her style seems to be a short link and then into a song again. Its lacks any structure and the links just seems to be there to fill airspace rather than engage the listener. Anne and Lennie are there in studio but are rarely heard from and the show lacks the banter than Foley and K.C had with the others in studio.

is lenny still there? i thought he would have went with KC... lousie is very very new and i was surprised she got the job so quickly, i guess it was down to her profile

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,698 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

is lenny still there? i thought he would have went with KC... lousie is very very new and i was surprised she got the job so quickly, i guess it was down to her profile

Yeah Lenny is still there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 dangerousdee

Hi! Ahem I'm not Louise but thanks! You're a very suspicious lot here aren't you?! Anyhow I'm sure time will tell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,691 ✭✭✭ford fiesta

what profile?

the whole paul galvin thing, although i noticed he's not nearly as prominent since leaving the football