Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Going to england for harvest by yourself from ireland

• 11-06-2014 9:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17

Looking to do this this summer. anybody else done this from Ireland?

How do you get to the farm from the airport?
    How do you do the interview?
    What was your experience of being on the harvest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 oasis12

also kinda nervous about going by myself and just sitting in the caravan by myself on a rainy day haha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

I'm not alot of help to you as I've never travelled over for the harvest . But dont be nervous about going it alone , you wont be long meeting buddies and find your own way . It might even be better than getting dragged one way or the other by a gang from home :D

Can you suss out work before you go over and it might take some of the worry out of it , there are a couple of threads here about the harvest in the UK , if you can find them they might be some help aswell . Good luck anyhow I'm sure you'll have a good harvest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

moy83 wrote: »
    I'm not alot of help to you as I've never travelled over for the harvest . But dont be nervous about going it alone , you wont be long meeting buddies and find your own way . It might even be better than getting dragged one way or the other by a gang from home :D

Can you suss out work before you go over and it might take some of the worry out of it , there are a couple of threads here about the harvest in the UK , if you can find them they might be some help aswell . Good luck anyhow I'm sure you'll have a good harvest
    And be sick of machinery by the time you get home :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Reggie. wrote: »
    And be sick of machinery by the time you get home :D

Some lads will never be sick of machinery , and I'd say you know that only too well :D

moy83 wrote: »
    Some lads will never be sick of machinery , and I'd say you know that only too well :D

I DO not endorse this statement :D

Whatever do you mean :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Zr105

Reggie. wrote: »
    I DO not endorse this statement :D

Whatever do you mean :p

Ah here you went and bought a square baler, thats the definition of a lad that loves torturing himself with machinery! :D:D:D

Zr105 wrote: »
    Ah here you went and bought a square baler, thats the definition of a lad that loves torturing himself with machinery! :D:D:D

Can't argue with that :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭yes14

Iv been looking for work over ther.no luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 oasis12

aye ano where bouts in england have u been lookin?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭GRASSorMUCK

oasis12 wrote: »
    Looking to do this this summer. anybody else done this from Ireland?

How do you get to the farm from the airport?
    How do you do the interview?
    What was your experience of being on the harvest

4 harvests from college working on a farm in Cambridgeshire last few years, lots of Irish lads about at harvest really, often recognise harvest lads miles off in shops about 9 or 10 at at night. Dirty oily clothes scruffy beards and tired dazed expressions.
    Most lads would collect you if near by or get train to local town, most farms would have a farm car/van jeep also to borrow.
    Ring a guy up on the phone tell them what you've done what you want to do ask them about what they have to offer... you'll soon get to know what each other is about over 10 or 15 mins
    Long days, singing to your self along to the radio, dust, banter on cb's of any pretty ladies about and such :D... Getting drunk on 2 pints at the end of the day in a spur of the moment session. Usually decent weather, cursing at grease guns for various reasons,
    Try and rob a 3g dongle if you need briadband off someone most places have a tv set-up, though i wouldn't expect tooo many wet days or id be leaving pretty sharpish, there for a short time to earn money not sit about.
    Your best bet this stage is 4xtrahands/gumtree/farmers weekly/straw contractors

Quick google threw up lot of jobs on here so don't st about getting bit late!!
    http://www.gumtree.com/farming-veterinary-jobs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭iano93

http://www.4xtrahands.com/list_jobs.php
    You may have missed the boat this year a lot of jobs on there about a month ago, they are getting scarce now. Upload a CV and profile keep it on the first page and apply to anything thats suitable and wait for the phone to ring (hopefully):D

Great experience well worth going over.... from experience the days spent sitting in a caravan on a wet day are few and far between!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,718 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Guys..
    I'm a fair bit long in the tooth for this but it came across my desk so I thought I'd stick the link up anyway..
    Seasonal and full time positions available apparently..

http://www.hwr.co.nz/our-vacancies/75-seasonal-a-full-time-job-opportunities