Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hay

• 11-06-2014 9:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭

Anyone goin to try make a bit , mite cut two lightish paddocks tomorrow

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 243 ✭✭allbuiz

Anyone goin to try make a bit , mite cut to lightish paddocks tomorrow

Cut 8 a/c today, the fingers are all crossed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 826 ✭✭✭ABlur

Yeah Evelyn really cheered me up with next weeks weather forecast! Going to pull out the 5'6", pump the haybob tyres and burn diesel next week on hols from work!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

I might chance an acre in front of the house . There was fierce heavy dew last night though , is it a bit early I wonder ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭bikes

mowing 20 acres Saturday,if weather turns ill make wrap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Robson99

Hope to make 8 acres for da nags. Next week looking good. Can always wrap if it goes again me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

I think it's too early as there does be a heavy dew most nights. Ground still abit wet underneath too I reckon. Best of luck to those who have the balls to try tho.

Reggie. wrote: »
    I think it's too early as there does be a heavy dew most nights. Ground still abit wet underneath too I reckon. Best of luck to those who have the balls to try tho.

Too early after the heavy rain or too early in the summer??

Robson99 wrote: »
    Too early after the heavy rain or too early in the summer??

Both. The grass would be full of water still. And the soil underneath will be wet too. Don't forget the weather can change very quickly this time of year. Still alot of dew at night which will prolong the whole process

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Going to chance a couple of acres. One paddock never got grazed this spring so need to knock it anyway. Another one got ahead of sheep in April.

Have another few acers, but will leave that I think for later.

sea12 wrote: »
    Going to chance a couple of acres. One paddock never got grazed this spring so need to knock it anyway. Another one got ahead of sheep in April.

Have another few acers, but will leave that I think for later.

Yeah sure if it doesn't work out you can always wrap it.

moy83 wrote: »
    I might chance an acre in front of the house . There was fierce heavy dew last night though , is it a bit early I wonder ?

Square baler out

Both. The grass would be full of water still. And the soil underneath will be wet too. Don't forget the weather can change very quickly this time of year. Still alot of dew at night which will prolong the whole process

Longest days of the year this next week so I wouldnt worry about a bit of dew

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

too early for what, we mightnt get much of a run for hay this year. Ive knocked everything that was standing here. the pits being filled first and everything after that i'l be raking out tomorrow for hay. there was a nice turn on it even by this evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,489 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Jaysus lads weather very settled looking and warm for next 7 days knock it to feck and don't be waiting for it to rain again!!.good weather dosnt happen. To often in this country.i knocked 25 acres for fil this evening,old meadows but green ,should make smashing hay.

Yeah but if ya dont get clear skies and sun the dew stays in the grass unless you get a decent wind

Very true. Should b good stuff

Yeah but if ya dont get clear skies and sun the dew stays in the grass unless you get a decent wind

You can get dew right through the summer but you may not get a fine week of weather. Seen the finest of hay made at the end of May a couple of years back, when we got a fine week

Sure this week last year the country was smothered with hay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭gazahayes

Square baler out

If it turns into hay it will :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Gonna knock a 5 acres here after I get the last 4 acres of silage done

If it turns into hay it will :o

Wonder would I be mad to get mine ready aswell

Nothing wrong with having it ready either way

That is true. Have a load of twine from last year. Got very hard to get bales of twine at o e time last year everywhere was sold out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 574 ✭✭✭ZETOR_IS_BETTER

Looks like a good week coming up for hay lads and ladies. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭jd06

Does anyone here turn twice in de one day

jd06 wrote: »

I have done it a couple of years ago when I was trying to hurry it up and the weather was starting to turn

Only do it if you have to as it costs money each time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 TMSHope

Is there much good weather coming from hay? I have been looking on rte and bbc websites for forecasts and both are saying rather cloudy over the weekend with scattered showers and bbc has next week all cloudy on their website. I want to make if I can too but this is concerning me, I don't anything saying we will have a really fine week ahead with plenty of sunshine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Plant cabbage the day you mow hay, you'll get one of them!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭kingstown

Coolmore Stud cutting for hay yesterday.

kingstown wrote: »

That must be some sight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Plant cabbage the day you mow hay, you'll get one of them!!!

These cabbages

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭kingstown

That must be some sight

they will bale it up sunday / monday regardless - bale it green and dry in in the large sheds to save it indoors

Does be some outfit at that hay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Passed a good few fields with just the headlands taken out for silage, the rest left standing and ready for hay weather!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

Are you far from them?
    Young fella being brought down to see it during the weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭bikes

according to accuweather in my area its giving dry for the next 2 weeks from saturday

Are you far from them?
    Young fella being brought down to see it during the weekend.

Where do you head for to see it. 3 chaps here would love to see it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

Where do you head for to see it. 3 chaps here would love to see it

Young fella is getting in and I can't even get in. He's best buds in playschool with a son of one of the managers in Ballydoyle. That place is like Fort Konx.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Zr105

jd06 wrote: »

Have done it at times here, to behonest it really depends on the day wether its worth it or not, if the sun is beating down hard it can help but on a duller day not going to be much help really IMO

Break out the haybobs, Evelyn is after giving the green light!! :D

Muckit wrote: »
    Break out the haybobs, Evelyn is after giving the green light!! :D

Donedeal is after going mental selling haybobs

I'm thinking now is the time to flog mine!

Muckit wrote: »
    I'm thinking now is the time to flog mine!

FIL sold two new ones today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭hedgecutting eddie

30 acres cut today

Cut 5 acres this evening. Got a breakdown with tractor and delayed me doing another bit. Might knock another bit tomorrow evening .

Always the way

Yea a bit of dirty diesel. Has happened a few times. Really need to take off tank and wash it out. But sur know yourself u get it going each time and is put on the long finger.

Did it block at the line to the filter

Yep it did