Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tour De Bog 2014, Kildare, Sun June 15th

• 10-06-2014 8:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,185 ✭✭✭

Apologies for the short notice on this folks, the 2nd Tour De Bog cycle in aid of the refurbishment of Rathangan Community Centre takes place in Rathangan Co. Kildare on Sunday next 15th of June, registration from 9.30, roll out at 10.00, there is a short family route and 50km and 100km routes for the older folks.

50km route,

http://ridewithgps.com/routes/2379874

100km route,

http://ridewithgps.com/routes/2379853

Last year's thread is here, I think most people who came along enjoyed their day out (speak up folks), the forecast looks good, if you're free in the general Kildare /Offaly/Laois area on Sunday we'd be delighted to welcome you along.

More info on the Facebook page,

https://www.facebook.com/tourdebog.cycle?fref=ts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭derealbadger

Should be there really enjoyable spin last year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭paddie9

That time of year, everyone was delighted with it didn't make it myself. I'll be there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭macbane66

Highly recommended , Great event last year ( especially the BBQ).

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,723 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

Can we register on the day?
    I really want to take part but have a hectic weekend looming and flying out on holliers early Monday.
    Spoke to a few lads that done last years and was very well run by all accounts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,185 ✭✭✭nilhg

Dcully wrote: »
    Can we register on the day?
    I really want to take part but have a hectic weekend looming and flying out on holliers early Monday.
    Spoke to a few lads that done last years and was very well run by all accounts.

No problem registering on the day, don't worry we'll have you home long before Monday morning:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭circular flexing

This was a great event last year. Unfortunately I'm way out of shape so won't be back this year. Disappointed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,393 ✭✭✭Grassey

If the bbq and weather are promised again I'll be there with others in tow!

Grassey wrote: »
    If the bbq and weather are promised again I'll be there with others in tow!

Looking good on both scores, all more than welcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 270 ✭✭Hani Kosti

Defo will be there, this was my first ever spin on my road bike!
    Lovely route, great people around... and most of all worthy cause!

Be nice to meet some boardsies tomorrow, ill be on a black,white,blue livery Corratec Corones probably wearing red top and white helmet come over and say hello :)

Folks, due to a large funeral on the route we have no option but to delay roll out for half an hour, there'll be plenty of tea and coffee if people have to wait but if you see this in time you can relax for another half an hour.

I'll be in Headstrong gear on a battered auld Trek, any boardsies please say hello, just ask for John.

A big thanks to all who supported us today, given some of the difficulties we had in the runup to the event it was no real surprise that the numbers were smallish, but I think everyone enjoyed the day, even the bits of Offaly pave, and the burgers were going down well at the finish, I hope no one went home hungry anyway.

Nice to meet quite a few boardsies, some (Grassey?) I only got to say hello to as I passed but there were plenty of others in our group, strong cyclists all.

Hopefully Tour De Bog will return again next year, when everyone will be able to see and use the new community centre that today's event is helping to fund.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,393 ✭✭✭Grassey

Yup that was me.

Great spin, nice fast pace from the go!! Burgers were much appreciated.... And the fruit cake!

Good to meet nilhg, derealbadger & dcully!

See ye at the next one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭easygoing39

well run event,marshals at every turn,friendly riders,loads of food at the start,the middle and the end!! Good turn out for the 50km,not so many for the 100km.Weather was perfect aswell.Will put it on my list to do next year

Great day out,well run,marshals doing a fine job.
    Great company for the 100k.