Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stuck in a rut/Hating Ireland and life

• 10-06-2014 7:37pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7 gonzosoon89

Sorry for this rant and too sound so negative but long story short

I am 24 years old in a full time job,have been working ten years and have become stuck in a rut

On the outside everything looks great,job,decent car etc but on the inside i am slowly dying and have become bitter about this place

I have been keeping the head down and managed to save up 63k since i started saving when i was 14

been looking at houses when it dawned on me

Nearly every house i viewed i soon realize this place is a kip and doesn't reward anybody for working hard...One of my colleagues recently bought a house after saving for 13 years, when he soon found out that two couples living either side of him ( one Irish,one foreign ) were both on the dole and receiving rent allowance

Where is the justice in that you work hard all your life to provide a decent place to live for your family then when you reach your goal off buying a place you end up beside some people who live there for free

No one gets rewarded for hard work in this country, and these houses are in decent areas

I'm just sick of the weather, the government ,the work ethic,mass immigration etc

Everything looks good looking in ,but as i said im slowly dying and this is noway to live

Friday i am handing in my notice in work and flying to America with my life savings, i have no visa, just an esta holiday visa

Some people will think i sound insane ,but i can't justify giving over my life savings to not get anything back in return and live in this non rewarding country..

I have no family here except for my nanny,my dog died a few months ago so there is nothing keeping me here

Off i go, wish me luck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

The best of luck. Maybe try and get a visa first though - life will be easier.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7 gonzosoon89

The best of luck. Maybe try and get a visa first though - life will be easier.

Can't i have a criminal record over something very stupid/minor i done when i was 18 which i regret everyday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I don't think you've thought this through.

For a start, how are you going to get the dough to the states? Carryon?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 340 ✭✭desultory

24 with that much savings? You're a winner in my eyes. Best of luck on your travels man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,585 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Can't i have a criminal record over something very stupid/minor i done when i was 18 which i regret everyday

If you take your current approach to starting a new life in America you are going to regret that too.

If you are going to leave then leave, but do it right!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

America...are ye mad Gonzosoon......?

South of France is your only man ;)

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

Just remember, you'll be the foreigner when you get there!

Good luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Wish you the best of luck, I find myself feeling the same quite often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,628 ✭✭✭brevity

You have 63K in savings?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7 gonzosoon89

Chucken wrote: »
    Just remember, you'll be the foreigner when you get there!

Good luck

I have no problem with foreigners, just stating that one of the couples living beside my friend for free are foreign,as with the other couple on the otherside who happen to be Irish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

Do not go to the United States to work without an appropriate visa.

Chances are you'd be nabbed before you even get there (if flying direct from Dublin or Boston).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭TheBegotten

This is coming from an 18 year old, so heed it at your peril. Why did you start working at 14? how have you managed to stay in work so long? That's pretty impressive. There are lads your age with masters degrees looking for work. If you want my advice, set yourself up well wherever you land, try and get your qualifications/skills/whatever is relevant to your line of work, and have some fun. Ireland doesn't really reward people like you because it doesn't seem to suit our economy to have people working too hard, oddly enough. Good luck, but be careful about that visa. They have no problem deporting people and it won't be so easy a second time round.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 117 ✭✭Elektronske

I have no family here except for my nanny,my dog died a few months ago so there is nothing keeping me here

Off i go, wish me luck

I'm surprised you stuck it here as long as you did. Many people stay only because of family and financial commitments such as mortgages etc.

Let go, get out, press the reset button, and never look back.

Fair well and forever fair ye well.

donvito99 wrote: »
    Do not go to the United States to work without an appropriate visa.

Chances are you'd be nabbed before you even get there (if flying direct from Dublin or Boston).

Like he just got nabbed here?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

If the US doesn't work out, you have a choice of 27 countries in the EU that are not Ireland - also worth thinking about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

So, the master plan is to live illegally in a country that is notoriously difficult for doing just that?

What'll you do when you get sick? Working in a low paid job without any insurance or rights will make Ireland look like Utopia.

Forget about how others are getting their homes too, it's irrelevant to you and your life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 Man In The Nip

Good luck OP, don't blow all you're hard earned savings either. I'd think hard about what I'd do with 63k, mind you.

Unfortunately, you're right though. The inherently lazy, unmotivated, often mistaken for "working class" wasters are the only ones rewarded in Ireland. Something about their "human rights" being violated because one might question their lack of personal responsibility and incompetence.

Welcome to the new middle class. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 JGo1

I did kind of the same thing when I was 24, except I knew why I was unhappy. I hated my job so I packed it in, and went back to college for a career change. You will be surprised how quick you will burn through your savings and the truth is you can't do much in life without money. Sure you can go on the dole for life and have a house for free but you will have no purpose in life and the only thing you will live for is collecting your dole and going to the pub. Maybe you should try figure out if it is your job you don't like and look at changing career or starting your on business. Thats my two cents anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

Try and get a job abroad. The socialist policies in this country are disgusting.

You are not going to make it easy for yourself without a visa though. Would you not consider somewhere else that your previous record wont discriminate against you? Is there such a place???

But I wish you the very best if luck and hope you find what you are looking for.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 354 ✭✭pO1Neil

desultory wrote: »
    24 with that much savings? You're a winner in my eyes. Best of luck on your travels man

And a criminal who robbed a bank when he was 18.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

Every poster on this thread with less than 10 posts, is most likely the OP.

Rumbled

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

Sorry for this rant and too sound so negative but long story short

I am 24 years old in a full time job,have been working ten years and have become stuck in a rut

On the outside everything looks great,job,decent car etc but on the inside i am slowly dying and have become bitter about this place

I have been keeping the head down and managed to save up 63k since i started saving when i was 14

been looking at houses when it dawned on me

Nearly every house i viewed i soon realize this place is a kip and doesn't reward anybody for working hard...One of my colleagues recently bought a house after saving for 13 years, when he soon found out that two couples living either side of him ( one Irish,one foreign ) were both on the dole and receiving rent allowance

Where is the justice in that you work hard all your life to provide a decent place to live for your family then when you reach your goal off buying a place you end up beside some people who live there for free

No one gets rewarded for hard work in this country, and these houses are in decent areas

I'm just sick of the weather, the government ,the work ethic,mass immigration etc

Everything looks good looking in ,but as i said im slowly dying and this is noway to live

Friday i am handing in my notice in work and flying to America with my life savings, i have no visa, just an esta holiday visa

Some people will think i sound insane ,but i can't justify giving over my life savings to not get anything back in return and live in this non rewarding country..

Off i go, wish me luck

I think you'd be a fool to buy any house with your savings, rent yes, buy no. Walking into something you don't have your heart, will feel like a graveyard of your dreams.
    Everything looks good looking in
    when he soon found out that two couples living either side of him ( one Irish,one foreign ) were both on the dole and receiving rent allowance

And you think they're happy? You think they wouldn't envy your savings? Who knows why they're on the dole. Why the hearsay of other people and rabble of other people affect you?

Also whereever you go, there you are. You can't run from yourself, not to pry but is there anything else, something more intrinsic going on? Women? Sex Life? Do YOU feel you have a great job or have you been TOLD you have a great job?

Food for thought. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

64k!...kid, the world is your oyster!

Most people, really 99% of the world, will never have that kind of money in any bank account anywhere.

Take your time, travel, experience the world, learn a language, have some fun ffs. Chill.

Last thing in the world I'd be doing is heading over to the US.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

Rumbled

Rumpleforeskinned?

You'll most likely be as miserable there as you are here if you don't get the visa etc
    Why don't you go to the UK or somewhere in europe instead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭mockingjay

I think you need look at your other options here. You have achieved a lot at such a young age, and I admire you for that. However, before you make a rash decision to emigrate, why don't you ask your boss for a sabbatical/3 month break, travel to the States or around Europe since you have savings, and then make your final decision. The grass is always greener on the other side, and America can be pretty isolating and expensive as well. Also, you don't really know how you'll feel leaving your Nanny! But I do wish you the best of luck, it is a big decision, and as you have achieved so much so young, I think you're ready for the next phase of your life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Jonny Blaze

Surely those things and your pay cheque are your rewards? I mean what exactly do you think you should be getting for your hard work?

I'll give you that though! ;)

After working for 8-10 years myself I was first made unemployed when I was your age (sick now that I think about it), I was always one of the hardest working people in wherever I was. Im the kind of person who literally can't sleep at night unless things were taken care of at work but this work ethic didn't get me anywhere back then.

Now I've had six years of unemployment (including getting a four year degree which I worked my ass off for) and Im still no closer to getting a job.

Not to mention that I have none of those things you seem to be taken for granted.

Point of fact, I am very close to becoming homeless due to rent increases, lack of rent allowance and a dearth of properties to move into.

While I was in college I worked summer jobs and even volunteered when I couldn't find paid work.

Did an unpaid internship after graduating that I walked 7 miles daily to and from (2.60 on the bus each way is too much when you're living on a score a week).

Bottom line, I've worked hard, or tried to, all my life and I have absolutely nothing to show for it.

Maybe relax and try to appreciate the things you do have.

Or walk a mile in someone less fortunate's shoes.

Never mind VISA's, Don't do what every other feckin headless Paddy does.

Go to Scandinavia, great quality of life, and worth it for the fit Blonde wemin alone.

Am I the only one that noticed the OP was banned after 3 posts ?

Now he's banned

Oh well!

edit: yes you were :p

At least the OP can be consoled with the fact that at least something is efficient in this country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Hardly see a need to keep this open.