Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

mum threatened by 'scumbag'

• 09-06-2014 10:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,337 ✭✭✭

looking for some advice if possible. My mum and dad are pensioners who are well known in the community they have lived in for over 40 years. But the next door neighbors son has always been a little 'scumbag'. He has had numerous run ins with the Garda over the years and he's now 21 and has pushed it to far in my opinion. Last weekend he climbed into my mums back garden to retrieve a football, she asked him to get out of the garden and he told her he wouldnt until she asked him nicely. She then said that she would call the Garda if he didn't get out of the garden... He then told her that is she did he would 'burn her house down'. Since then she hasnt felt at ease at all... she has already left two messages with the community Garda who she knows well, but he has yet to get back to her.
    Im looking for advice on what can be done. Its all well and good for someone to advise to confront him myself, but im afraid of any repercussions that might come.
    Any advice would be great as his parents are constantly verbally abused by him and its not the family that my mum has the issue with as she gets on well with the rest of the family

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,620 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

If a 21 year old is making threats like that then she needs to bypass the community Garda and report it as a crime to the real cops. The community Garda would typically adopt a gentle 'softly does it' approach which by the sounds of it will have no effect on that little pr1ck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 320 ✭✭lighterman

coylemj wrote: »
    If a 21 year old is making threats like that then she needs to bypass the community Garda and report it as a crime to the real cops. The community Garda would typically adopt a gentle 'softly does it' approach which by the sounds of it will have no effect on that little pr1ck.

Real cops? Are community gardai in the same league as batman and superman.

Community gardai are no different that any other guards other than they are in a different unit therefore I'm sure they can use their own initative and will know if the softly does it approach will work or not.

Therefore OP I would advise you to wait for the community garda to contact you and I'm sure your neighbour will be getting a knock on the door but at the same time the majority of these people don't be affected by the guards but unfortunately with every process you have to start at the beginning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,620 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

lighterman wrote: »
    Real cops? Are community gardai in the same league as batman and superman.

No, they're in the same league as Dixon of Dock Green whereas what the OP's parent's situation requires is firm action i.e. haul that little bully into court to charge him with threatening behaviour.

If he's now 21 and has been a 'scumbag' (OP's description) for so long then it's time to call a halt to the kid glove approach and process him like the criminal he is. The community Garda approach would be to have a word with the parents to rein him in and possibly talk to the individual himself. Both approaches from the OP's description would be totally futile given his history.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 320 ✭✭lighterman

coylemj wrote: »
    No, they're in the same league as Dixon of Dock Green whereas what the OP's parent's situation requires is firm action i.e. haul that little bully into court to charge him with threatening behaviour.

If he's now 21 and has been a 'scumbag' (OP's description) for so long then it's time to call a halt to the kid glove approach and process him like the criminal he is. The community Garda approach would be to have a word with the parents to rein him in and possibly talk to the individual himself. Both approaches from the OP's description would be totally futile given his history.

I'll put it another way. Regular and community gardai are no different. If the scum bag needs to be prosecuted the community Garda can so the same job as a regular.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,337 ✭✭✭positivenote

thanks for the replies thus far. The 'individual' in question has been charged as far as I know numerous times but doesnt seem to have been affected in any way by the prosecutions. The last incident was where the paper named him to have been imprisoned having been caught receiving stolen goods, but he was still walking around the neighborhood.
    My mum has left numerous messages with the community guard but is still awaiting a response. It really is a shame that there is no sufficient deterrent to individuals like this who have to ability to unsettle the life, and minds, of individuals who are perfectly content with all other aspects of their lives and community.

ps: there is no point in anyone contributing responses along the lines of threaten the little so and so, as my mum and dad arent those kind of people.
    thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

Is there any reason why you can't call out to the Gard yourself? Either that or escalate it to the station superintendent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

Call the station and look to make a report. The community Garda could be on holiday or anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

OP, see section 3 of the Criminal Damage Act 1991 in relation to threats to damage property.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Send some large men to have a word with him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,337 ✭✭✭positivenote

just to update. The youngfella involved knocked in to mams house tonight and gave her a hug and said he was so sorry for being a scumbag to her. She said he had tears in his eyes and that he genuinely looked upset.
    Mam is a little worried now because she left numerous messages for the community garda, who is due back to work tomorrow, incase he calls up before she gets a chance to let him know that the youngfella apologized… Im trying to tell her to stop worrying about it as he still needs to realize the seriousness of what he said.
    thanks for advice

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,774 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

Send some large men to have a word with him
    Moderator: Please read the forum charter. It is against the forum and site rules to advocate criminal behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Ashbx

If your parents got on well with his family, could they not go in and just have a word with his parents and tell them what he has done!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭NormalBob Ubiquitypants

Ashbx wrote: »
    If your parents got on well with his family, could they not go in and just have a word with his parents and tell them what he has done!

Maybe his parents can confiscate his playstation and send him to his room. :pac: